Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 08/20/22 Rulings Update

Among other things, Konami provides detailed insight on how to determine battle damage, featuring new cards from Amazing Defenders.

(The Amazing Defenders ruling post will be posted at a later time.)

 

Q: Can Mistaken Arrest be activated while the effects of Mistake, Droll & Lock Bird, or Thunder King Rai-Oh are applying?
A: It can be activated, and its effect is applied. If the effect resolves, even if the effects of Mistake, Droll & Lock Bird, or Thunder King Rai-Oh stop applying, neither player can add cards from the Deck to the hand except by drawing until the end of the next turn.

Source

 

Q: If I activate the effect of Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance to Tribute Summon it, can I also apply the effect of Kshatri-La Berth and Normal Summon without Tributing?
A: No, you cannot. If you apply the effect of Kshatri-La Berth to Normal Summon without Tributing, the Normal Summon is no longer considered a Tribute Summon. If you resolve the effect of Bahalutiya, the Grand Radiance, you need to Tribute Summon it, so you cannot Normal Summon it without Tributing using the effect of Kshatri-La Berth.

Source

 

Q: If I activate 1 “Purery” Quick-Play Spell, can I activate the second effects of Epurery Happiness, Epurery Beauty, and Epurery Plump?
A: When you activate 1 “Purery” Quick-Play Spell, if your opponent does not chain any cards or effects, you can activate the second effects of either Epurery Happiness, Epurery Beauty, or Epurery Plump. Effects that activate when another card or effect is activated must be chained directly to the corresponding card or effect, and cannot be activated if chaining to that effect is not possible.
When you activate 1 “Purery” Quick-Play Spell, you must first check whether or not your opponent wants to chain any cards or effects. The first time they do not chain, you can directly chain the effects of either Epurery Happiness, Epurery Beauty, or Epurery Plump.

Source

 

Q: How is damage calculated if Mikanko of the Oohime equipped with Double-Edged Sword battles in the following situations?
(A) When attacking directly.
(B) When it is in Defense Position and attacked by Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon.
(C) When it battles Number C96: Dark Storm and both monsters are in Attack Position.
(D) When it battles an opponent’s Mikanko of the Oohime and both monsters are in Attack Position.
(E) When it battles an opponent’s Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon and both monsters are in Attack Position.

A: Battle damage is determined by considering different types of effects in the following order.

01: Inflicts double battle damage.
02: Battle damage is taken by both players.
03: Battle damage you take is also inflicted to your opponent / your opponent takes any battle damage you would take instead.
04: Battle damage is treated as effect damage.
05: The player gains Life Points instead of taking battle damage.
06: Battle damage becomes 0.
07: Battle damage is halved.
08: Battle damage is doubled.
09: Battle damage becomes X (X being a predetermined value).
10: You do not take battle damage if it is more or less than X.

Furthermore, Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon is a “01” effect, Double-Edged Sword is a “02” effect, Number C96: Dark Storm and Mikanko of the Oohime are both “03” effects, and Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon is a “08” effect. Specifically, the damage in their scenarios is calculated as follows:
(A) Your opponent takes battle damage equal to the ATK of Mikanko of the Oohime twice.
(B) If the DEF of Mikanko of the Oohime is lower than the ATK of Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon, the controller of Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon takes double battle damage twice. If the DEF of Mikanko of the Oohime is higher than the ATK of Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon, the controller of Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon takes damage equal to the difference in values twice.
(C) The controller of Number C96: Dark Storm takes damage equal to the difference in ATK twice, while the controller of Mikanko of the Oohime takes damage equal to the difference in ATK once. (If the effect of Number C96: Dark Storm or Mikanko of the Oohime make the opponent take battle damage, the effect of the other monster is not applied to that damage.)
(D) Both players take damage equal to the difference in ATK once. (If the effect of one Mikanko of the Oohime makes the opponent take battle damage, the effect of the other is not applied to that damage.)
(E) The controller of Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon takes damage equal to the difference in ATK twice. (Since Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon does not inflict any damage to the opponent, the battle damage is not doubled.)

Furthermore, the following monsters with the effect “your opponent takes any battle damage you would have taken from battles involving this card instead” are also “03” effects.
– Amazoness Swords Woman
– Daigusto Sphreez
– Speedroid Skull Marbles
– Number 92: Heart-eartH Dragon

Source

* Note regarding their order of effects. “01” and “08” look like the same thing, but they’re not. Blue-Eyes Chaos MAX Dragon and Metalfoes Orichalc are the only “01” effects. They inflict damage that is equal to twice the difference in values being compared, but it’s not treated as damage that is being “doubled”.

 

Q: If Daigusto Sphreez (ATK 2000) and Blackwing Armor Master (ATK 2500) battle, which player takes battle damage?
A: Battle damage is determined by considering different types of effects in the following order.

01: Inflicts double battle damage.
02: Battle damage is taken by both players.
03: Battle damage you take is also inflicted to your opponent / your opponent takes any battle damage you would take instead.
04: Battle damage is treated as effect damage.
05: The player gains Life Points instead of taking battle damage.
06: Battle damage becomes 0.
07: Battle damage is halved.
08: Battle damage is doubled.
09: Battle damage becomes X (X being a predetermined value).
10: You do not take battle damage if it is more or less than X.

Furthermore, Daigusto Sphreez is a “03” effect, and Blackwing Armor Master is a “06” effect. As a result, neither player takes any battle damage. Daigusto Sphreez cannot be destroyed by battle due to its own effect. Also, the effect of Blackwing Armor Master that places a Wedge Counter on a monster can be activated at the end of the Damage Step.

Furthermore, the following monsters with the effect “you take no battle damage from attacks involving this card” are “06” effects.
– Kikinagashi Fucho
– Bloom Diva the Melodious Choir
– Go! – D/D/D Divine Zero King Rage
– Superheavy Samurai Scarecrow
– D/D/D Supersight King Zero Maxwell
– Number 2: Ninja Shadow Mosquito
– Abyss Actor – Comic Relief
– Spell Striker
– Melffy Mommy
– Rocket Warrior
– Nini the Mirror Mikanko
– Sylvan Mikorange
– Hare the Sword Mikanko

Source

 

Q: There is a monster in my Monster Zone with the effect “your opponent takes any battle damage you would have taken from battles involving this card instead”, and it is equipped with Double-Edged Sword. When that monster battles, if the effect of my opponent’s Performage Damage Juggler is applied that reduces the next battle damage they take to 0, what happens?
A: Battle damage is determined by considering different types of effects in the following order.

01: Inflicts double battle damage.
02: Battle damage is taken by both players.
03: Battle damage you take is also inflicted to your opponent / your opponent takes any battle damage you would take instead.
04: Battle damage is treated as effect damage.
05: The player gains Life Points instead of taking battle damage.
06: Battle damage becomes 0.
07: Battle damage is halved.
08: Battle damage is doubled.
09: Battle damage becomes X (X being a predetermined value).
10: You do not take battle damage if it is more or less than X.

Furthermore, Double-Edged Sword is a “02” effect, the monster with the “your opponent takes any battle damage you would have taken from battles involving this card instead” effect is a “03” effect, and Performage Damage Juggler is a “06” effect.
In this scenario, first consider the effect of Double-Edged Sword, then consider the effect of your monster with the “your opponent takes any battle damage you would have taken from battles involving this card instead” effect for the damage you would take. As a result, your opponent would take battle damage twice during 1 damage calculation (the overlap of a “02” effect and “03” effect can cause a player to take battle damage twice). However, since the two instances of battle damage occur at the same time, the final outcome is that your opponent takes 0 damage due to the effect of Performage Damage Juggler.

Source

 

Q: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Fortress Dragon or Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon, is it possible to send monsters to the Graveyard that cannot be used as material for a Fusion Summon due to the effects of Gnomaterial or CONTAIN! applying? Also, if the effect of Mecha Phantom Beast Raiten was applied, can I send monsters to the Graveyard to Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon or Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon?
A: In both situations, you can Special Summon those monsters by sending materials to the Graveyard. Monsters sent to the Graveyard as part of the Summoning procedure written in the text of Chimeratech Fortress Dragon and Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon are treated as Fusion Materials, but not treated as materials for a Fusion Summon.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.