Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 08/03/21 Ruling Update

Due to circumstances that will remain vague, I will not have time to post the full rulings (FAQs + Q&As) for Burst of Destiny, so here are the Burst of Destiny Q&As, as well as some other random rulings that have been posted in the past few weeks at the bottom.

 

Q: During the End Phase of a turn that a Fusion Monster was sent to my Graveyard from outside of the Monster Zone, can I activate the effect of Ecclesia, the Virtuous in White that adds it from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: Yes, you can. Even if a Fusion Monster is sent to your Graveyard from outside of the field, as in the following examples, it means a Fusion Monster was sent to your Graveyard that turn.
● When a Fusion Monster is sent from your Extra Deck to the Graveyard by an effect such as Nadir Servant.
● When the Special Summon of a Fusion Monster such as Elder Entity N’tss is negated and it is sent to the Graveyard.
● When a Fusion Monster treated as an Xyz Material is sent to the Graveyard.
Also, you can return banished monsters to the Graveyard with effects such as Burial from a Different Dimension, but this is not treated as sending a card to the Graveyard. (The effect of Ecclesia, the Virtuous in White cannot be activated during the turn that a banished Fusion Monster returned to the Graveyard.)

Source

 

Q: After Albion the Branded Dragon was sent from my field to the Graveyard, I activated Foolish Burial and sent Ecclesia, the Virtuous in White from my Deck to the Graveyard during the same turn. During the End Phase of that turn, can I activate the effect of Ecclesia, the Virtuous in White that adds it from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: Yes, you can. Ecclesia, the Virtuous in White must be in your Graveyard during the End Phase of a turn that a Fusion Monster was sent to your Graveyard, but does not need to be in your Graveyard when the Fusion Monster is sent to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: I have no cards in my hand, the only card I control is a WATER Xyz Monster that has Acty of the Icejade as an Xyz Material, and the only card in my Graveyard is Tremolat of the Icejade. If the Xyz Monster is destroyed by battle or card effect, can I activate the effect of Tremolat of the Icejade and Special Summon the Acty of the Icejade that was sent to the Graveyard?
A: Even in this case, the activation requirements for the effect of Tremolat of the Icejade were met, and there is a monster in your Graveyard that can be Special Summoned at the time the effect can be activated, so you can activate the effect.

Source

 

Q: My opponent activates the effect of either Flundereeze × Robina or Flundereeze and the City of Dreams. When the Winged Beast monster is Normal Summoned using that effect, can I activate Forced Back to negate the Summon?
A: When the effects of Flundereeze × Robina or Flundereeze and the City of Dreams are activated as Chain Link 1 and a Normal Summon is performed using those effects, you can negate the Normal Summon with Forced Back. If the above effects were activated as Chain Link 2 or higher and the Normal Summon is performed, Forced Back cannot be activated. (Since another chain link resolves immediately after the monster is Normal Summoned, another effect cannot be activated at that timing.)

Source

 

Q: If the effect of Skill Drain is applying and a Flundereeze × Robina on the field is destroyed, will it be banished by its own effect or sent to the Graveyard?
A: Even in this case, Flundereeze × Robina is banished by its own effect. The effect that banishes it when it leaves the field is not considered an effect that applies on the field. Therefore, even if it leaves the field while its effects are negated, Flundereeze × Robina is banished instead.

Source

 

Q: If I Tribute a Flundereeze × Robina and Flundereeze × Eaglen I control to Tribute Summon a Flundereeze × Snowl, and those monsters are banished by their own effects, can I then activate their effects that add them to my hand?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of a Gunkan Suship Uni on the field, targeting itself (Level 5). When the effect resolves, can I add a Gunkan Suship Shari from my Deck to my hand without changing Levels?
A: In this case, if the Level of Gunkan Suship Uni was 5 when resolving the effect, you must change the Level to 4. After that, you can add a Gunkan Suship Shari from your Deck to your hand.

Source

 

Q: Can Machina Ruinforce be Special Summoned by the effect of Machina Overdrive?
A: No, it cannot. Machina Ruinforce is a Special Summon monster (a monster that cannot be Normal Summoned/Set), and can only be Special Summoned by its own Summoning procedure.

Source

 

Q: Can I target a monster with an original ATK of either 0 or ? when activating the effect of Mimetizing Man-Eater Bug?
A: Yes, you can also target a monster with an original ATK of 0 or ?. Those monsters will be destroyed, but Mimetizing Man-Eater Bug does not gain any ATK from its own effect. As a result, you cannot change its Type to the destroyed monster’s original Type.

Source

 

Q: If a King of the Sky Prison in my hand is being revealed by the effects of Respect Play or Contract with Don Thousand, and I activate its effect that Special Summons it from my hand, can I then also Set a Spell/Trap from my Deck?
A: Even in this case, since this effect was activated while King of the Sky Prison was being revealed in your hand, you can apply the part of the effect that Sets a Spell/Trap from your Deck.

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls a Fusion Summoned Masquerade, the Crimsongleam Dragon, and its effect that makes me pay 600 Life Points to activate a card effect is applying. In this situation, how many Life Points do I have to pay to activate Solemn Warning?
A: In this case, when you activate a card effect, the effect of Masquerade, the Crimsongleam Dragon will be applied and you must pay 600 Life Points. (This is not the cost of activating Solemn Warning.) You then pay 2000 Life Points, the cost of activating Solemn Warning. (Therefore, you cannot activate Solemn Warning if your Life Points are less than 2600.)

Source

 

Q: My opponent controls 2 Fusion Summoned copies of Masquerade, the Crimsongleam Dragon, and each of their effects that make me pay 600 Life Points to activate a card effect is applying. In this situation, how many Life Points do I have to pay to activate a card effect?
A: In this case, you cannot activate any card effects without paying 1200 Life Points. (You cannot activate any card effects if your Life Points are less than 1200.)

Source

 

Q: A Zoroa, the Magistus Daimon in my opponent’s Monster Zone is equipped with a Vahram, the Magistus Divinity Dragon (Synchro Monster) in their Spell & Trap Zone, and the effect that prevents me from activating the effects of cards with the same Monster Card type as the cards in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone is applying. In this situation, if an Old Entity Hastorr (Synchro Monster) treated as an Equip Card by its own effect leaves the field, will its effect that takes control of an opponent’s monster activate?
A: It does not activate. The effect of Old Entity Hastorr that takes control of an opponent’s monster is the monster effect of a Synchro Monster. Since it is not an effect that activates while it is equipped, it is not treated as the effect of an Equip Spell.

Source

 

Q: A Zoroa, the Magistus Daimon in my opponent’s Monster Zone is equipped with a Artemis, the Magistus Moon Maiden (Link Monster) in their Spell & Trap Zone, and the effect that prevents me from activating the effects of cards with the same Monster Card type as the cards in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone is applying. In this situation, if I have my own Artemis, the Magistus Moon Maiden treated as an Equip Card in my Spell & Trap Zone, can I activate its effect that adds a “Magistus” monster from my Deck to my hand?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Artemis, the Magistus Moon Maiden that adds a “Magistus” monster from your Deck to your hand is treated as the effect of an Equip Spell, not a Link Monster’s effect.

Source

 

Q: I Synchro Summon a Cupid Pitch using a Tuner such as Mystic Macrocarpa Seed whose Level was reduced from 3 to 2 by its own effect, or a Road Synchron whose Level was reduced by 2 for the Synchro Summon. When the Synchro Summon is successful and the effect of Cupid Pitch activates, how many Levels will it change?
A: In the above cases, both Mystic Macrocarpa Seed and Road Synchron were used as Level 2 Tuners, so Cupid Pitch will gain or lose 2 Levels from its own effect.

Source

 

Q: If I Special Summon Evil★Twin Ki-sikil and Evil★Twin Lil-la with the effect of Evil★Twin’s Trouble Sunny, can I activate each of their effects?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Evil★Twin Ki-sikil can be activated if you control a “Lil-la” monster. (You do not need to already control a “Lil-la” monster the moment the Special Summon occurs.) The effect of Evil★Twin Lil-la works the same way. If you activate the effects of both Evil★Twin Ki-sikil and Evil★Twin Lil-la, they form a chain in any order.

Source

 

Q: I activate Branded in Red, targeting a Despian Quaeritis in my Graveyard. When the effect resolves, the Fusion Monster Despian Quaeritis returns to the Extra Deck instead of the hand. Afterward, can I apply the effect that performs a Fusion Summon?
A: In this case, the targeted Despian Quaeritis was not returned to your hand, so you cannot apply the effect that performs a Fusion Summon.

Source

 

Q: When I apply the effect of Flundereeze and the Unknown Wind to perform a Tribute Summon, what kind of cards can I send to the Graveyard for the Tribute Summon?
A: When you perform a Tribute Summon of a monster that requires 2 Tributes using the effect of Flundereeze and the Unknown Wind, the effect of this Continuous Spell is applied to 1 monster you control and 1 card your opponent controls, and sends them to the Graveyard for the Tribute Summon.
Therefore, this effect cannot be applied to monsters that are unaffected by Spell effects, such as Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV6 or a monster affected by Forbidden Lance. (You cannot select these monsters to send to the Graveyard when performing the Tribute Summon.)
However, it is possible to apply this effect to monsters that will not be sent to the Graveyard when they leave the field, such as Tokens or a Quillbolt Hedgehog that was Special Summoned by its own effect. The same is true in situations where the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying. (When the effect is applied to Tokens, they disappear when they leave the field. In the case of Quillbolt Hedgehog and Macro Cosmos, the monster is banished as a result.)
Also, since this is not Tributing, this effect can be applied to monsters that cannot be Tributed such as Summoner Monk or Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair, and send them to the Graveyard for the Tribute Summon.

Source

 

Q: When resolving the effect of Ursarctic Drytron, can I Special Summon Ursatron, the Celestial Polar Illuminaship by banishing a face-down Ursarctic Big Dipper or Drytron Fafnir on my field?
A: Yes, you can.

Source

 

Q: I activate Night Flight and return a Guardian of the Golden Land treated as a monster by its own effect to my hand. In this case, am I unable to activate the effects of Guardian of the Golden Land?
A: Even in that case, neither player can activate Guardian of the Golden Land or the effects of cards with the same name for the rest of the turn. (Neither effect of Guardian of the Golden Land can be activated.)

Source

 

Q: When my opponent’s monster declares an attack, I activate Reloaded Cylinder and Set a Magic Cylinder from my Deck. In this case, can I activate that Magic Cylinder after the chain resolves?
A: It cannot be activated. You can activate Reloaded Cylinder when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, but since the timing when an attack is declared ends when the chain finishes resolving, you can no longer activate the Set Magic Cylinder. Therefore, if you want to activate the Set Magic Cylinder when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, you must activate Reloaded Cylinder before the attack is declared.

Source

 

Q: What kind of Spells/Traps can be added to the hand with the second effect of Break the Destiny?
A: A Spell/Trap that lists a monster’s name in its text means that it must have a specific card name written in its text. The second effect of Break the Destiny can add a Spell/Trap from your Deck to your hand with Destiny End Dragoon or a “Destiny HERO” monster’s name specifically listed in its text. The following cards fall in that category:
● Clock Tower Prison (a Spell with Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster specifically listed in its text)
● D – Tactics (a Trap with Destiny End Dragoon specifically listed in its text)
● D – Force (a Spell with Destiny HERO – Plasma specifically listed in its text)

Source

 

Q: Can I target an Xyz or Link Monster with 0 ATK when activating Giant Star Fall?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, the part of the effect that makes the monster’s ATK become 0 is not applied, but the parts of the effect that prevent that monster’s effects from activating, prevent it from being destroyed by battle, and halve any battle damage players take from battles involving that monster, are applied normally.

Source

 

Q: An Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by its own effect returns to my hand due to the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device. In that case, will the effect of Criosphinx activate?
A: Even if an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster returns to your hand, the effect of Criosphinx will activate.

Source

 

Q: A Harpie Conductor and a Phantom of Chaos that gained the name and effects of Harpie Channeler are face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if that Phantom of Chaos returns to my hand due to the effect of my opponent’s Compulsory Evacuation Device, can I activate the effect of Harpie Conductor?
A: In this scenario, if a Phantom of Chaos with the name of a “Harpie” monster returns to your hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device, you can activate the effect of Harpie Conductor.

Source

 

Q: When my opponent’s monster declares an attack, I activate the effect of Amaze Attraction Viking Vortex equipped to my own monster. If I chain the second effect of Amazement Attendant Comica and target that Amaze Attraction Viking Vortex, can I equip it to a monster my opponent controls?
A: Even in this case, you can activate the effect of Amazement Attendant Comica, and when it resolves, you can equip Amaze Attraction Viking Vortex to an opponent’s monster. The effect of Amaze Attraction Viking Vortex resolves afterward, but since it was already activated as the “● You” effect, you will apply the “● You” effect even if it is equipped to an opponent’s monster when the effect resolves. The part of the effect that negates the attack is applied normally, and you will gain control of the monster that is equipped at the time of resolution (in other words, your opponent’s monster that was equipped by the effect of Amazement Attendant Comica).

Source

 

Q: I added Mythical Beast Jackal from my Deck to my hand with the effect of Piri Reis Map, and the effect that prevents me from activating the effects of cards with the added monster’s name is applying. In this case, can I activate Mythical Beast Jackal as a Spell to my Pendulum Zone that turn?
A: Unless you successfully Normal Summoned Mythical Beast Jackal, you cannot activate a Mythical Beast Jackal as a Spell to your Pendulum Zone. (The activation of Mythical Beast Jackal to your Pendulum Zone is also treated as activating the effect of Mythical Beast Jackal.)

Source

 

Q: My ZW – Sylphid Wing is equipped to my monster, and the equipped monster’s ATK is increased by a total of 2400 due to the effects that increase its ATK by 800 and 1600 respectively. If ZW – Sylphid Wing is then destroyed, what happens to the gained ATK?
A: In this case, the monster that was equipped will continue to gain 1600 ATK. The effect of ZW – Sylphid Wing that increases the equipped monster’s ATK by 800 is only applied as long as ZW – Sylphid Wing remains equipped, so when ZW – Sylphid Wing is no longer equipped, the ATK increase is no longer applied. The effect of ZW – Sylphid Wing that increases the equipped monster’s ATK by 1600 is applied at the time that effect resolves, so it will continue to apply even if ZW – Sylphid Wing is no longer equipped.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.