[OCG] 07/20/17 Rulings

I hope everyone is adjusting to the new rules nicely.

07/20/17 Rulings

Q: If a face-up Toon Kingdom in my Field Zone is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, will monsters such as Toon Mermaid be destroyed by their own effects? Also, if Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to the activation of Toon Kingdom, and Toon Kingdom is destroyed, will those monsters be destroyed by their own effects?
A: If a face-up Toon Kingdom that is already in the Field Zone is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, it is treated as Toon World when destroyed, so monsters such as Toon Mermaid are destroyed by their own effects. However, if Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to the activation of Toon Kingdom, the effect of Toon Kingdom that treats it as Toon World is not applying yet, so monsters such as Toon Mermaid are not destroyed by their own effects.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15866&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I chain Raigeki Break to the activation of my opponent’s Toon Kingdom, can I target my opponent’s Toon Ancient Gear Golem?
A: If you chain Raigeki Break to the activation of Toon Kingdom, the effect that prevents Toon monsters from being targeted by card effects is not applying yet, so you can target your opponent’s Toon Ancient Gear Golem.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15864&keyword=&tag=-1

That only took 2 years…

Q: When I activate Monster Reborn targeting a monster other than a “Noble Knight” monster, the activation is negated by the effect of Magic Jammer. During this turn, can I activate the effect of Merlin that Special Summons a “Noble Knight” monster from the Deck? Also, if the effect of Monster Reborn was negated by the effect of The Fabled Unicore instead, what happens?
A: If the activation of your Monster Reborn that targeted a monster other than a “Noble Knight” monster was negated by Magic Jammer, you can activate the effect of Merlin that Special Summons a “Noble Knight” monster from the Deck during the same turn. However, if the effect of that Monster Reborn was negated by the effect of The Fabled Unicore instead, you cannot activate the effect of Merlin during this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14622&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Gateway to Chaos is activated, can the effect of Pitch-Black Power Stone be chained and place a Spell Counter on Gateway to Chaos?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Pitch-Black Power Stone that places a Spell Counter on a card is chained to Gateway to Chaos, that Gateway to Chaos has not resolved yet and cannot be targeted.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14131&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: This turn, I activated Super Rush Headlong, targeting my face-up Rescue Rabbit and declaring EARTH, while my opponent activated their own Super Rush Headlong, targeting their face-up Behemoth the King of All Animals and declaring EARTH. If my Rescue Rabbit attacks that Behemoth the King of All Animals, how is the effect of each Super Rush Headlong applied?
A: The effect of Super Rush Headlong that destroys the opponent’s battling monster does not start a Chain. At the start of the Damage Step, the effect of the turn player’s Super Rush Headlong is applied, so your opponent’s Behemoth the King of All Animals is destroyed. Since your opponent no longer controls a battling monster, the effect of their Super Rush Headlong cannot be applied, and your Rescue Rabbit is never destroyed by it. (Damage calculation is not performed, and the Damage Step ends.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16587&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Trickstar Light Stage that targets a Set card in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone and prevents my opponent from activating it until the End Phase. During the same turn, what happens if I activate Bait Doll and target that Set card?
A: If Bait Doll is activated and targets a Set card that the effect of Trickstar Light Stage was applied to, reveal the targeted card as usual. If it is not a Trap Card, return it to its original state and shuffle Bait Doll into your Deck after it finishes resolving. If the targeted card is a Trap Card, it cannot be activated due to the effect of Trickstar Light Stage, so the timing is incorrect and it will be destroyed by the effect of Bait Doll. (Once again, Bait Doll is shuffled into your Deck after it finishes resolving.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6115&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate Twilight Twin Dragons, but then chain Needlebug Nest so that I have 3 or less cards in my Deck, how does Twilight Twin Dragons resolve? Furthermore, if I activate the second effect of Twilight Twin Dragons when it is sent to the Graveyard by the effect of a “Lightsworn” monster, but then chain Needlebug Nest so that I have 3 or less cards in my Deck, how does the effect of Twilight Twin Dragons resolve?
A: Even if you have 3 or less cards in your Deck when Twilight Twin Dragons resolves, you still add the targeted monster to your hand. After that, send the rest of your Deck to the Graveyard. Also, if you have 3 or less cards in your Deck when the second effect of Twilight Twin Dragons resolves, you still add the targeted monster to your hand, then banish the rest of your Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14046&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Quantum Cat treated as a monster by its own effect is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, my opponent activates Swords of Concealing Light. As a result, when Quantum Cat is Set, can I activate the effect of a Performapal Five-Rainbow Magician in my Graveyard that places it in my Pendulum Zone?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Swords of Concealing Light is applied, a Quantum Cat treated as a monster by its own effect will be Set in the Spell & Trap Zone as a Trap Card again, and you can activate the monster effect of Performapal Five-Rainbow Magician that places it in your Pendulum Zone.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6227&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a card is Set in my Spell & Trap Zone, I activate the effect of a Performapal Five-Rainbow Magician in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains Anti-Spell Fragrance, what happens?
A: The effect of Performapal Five-Rainbow Magician that places it in your Pendulum Zone is not considered the activation of a Spell Card. Even if Anti-Spell Fragrance is chained, the effect of Performapal Five-Rainbow Magician resolves normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6489&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Performapal Odd-Eyes Synchron targeting an Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon on my field?
A: Since Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon does not have a Level, it cannot be targeted with the Pendulum Effect of Performapal Odd-Eyes Synchron.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8464&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Surface, Special Summon a White Moray from my Graveyard in Defense Position, and activate its effect that treats it as a Tuner for the rest of this turn. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes White Moray to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if White Moray is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, the effect is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11575&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: At the end of the Battle Phase, I activate the effect of Kamion, the Timelord that returns a card on my opponent’s field to the Deck. When it resolves, can I return a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster?
A: When resolving the effect of Kamion, the Timelord, you can choose a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster to return to the Deck. In that case, the monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of the Main Deck, but your opponent still takes 500 damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9143&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the second effect of Amazoness Call, targeting an Amazoness Queen on my field. If my opponent chains Enemy Controller and takes control of Amazoness Queen, how does the effect of Amazoness Call resolve?
A: Even if your opponent has taken control of the monster targeted with the second effect of Amazoness Call when that effect resolves, the effect is applied normally. In this scenario, monsters on your field other than the targeted monster cannot attack this turn. (If you regain control of that Amazoness Queen this turn using an effect such as Remove Brainwashing, etc., then it can attack all monsters on your opponent’s field once each.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8468&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Trigate Wizard is in the Extra Monster Zone, and I have no monsters in my Main Monster Zones. In this situation, can I activate Recoded Alive?
A: In this scenario, since Trigate Wizard is in your Extra Monster Zone and none of its Link Arrows point to your Main Monster Zones, no further monsters can be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. Therefore, you cannot activate Recoded Alive by targeting a Link 3 or lower Cyberse-Type monster in your Graveyard, but you can target that Trigate Wizard in your Extra Monster Zone. (The effect of Recoded Alive will banish Trigate Wizard, and the “Code Talker” monster will be Special Summoned from your Extra Deck.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8376&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Degenerate Circuit is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I Tribute a Vortex Trooper to Tribute Summon a Whirlwind Machine Streaborg face-up, what happens to that Vortex Trooper?
A: In this scenario, since a monster Tributed for the Tribute Summon of Whirlwind Machine Streaborg is returned to the hand instead of being sent to the Graveyard, that monster is banished instead due to the effect of Degenerate Circuit.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8826&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: At the start of the Damage Step, when my Varreload Dragon attacks my opponent’s Firewall Dragon, I activate the effect of Varreload Dragon and take control of Firewall Dragon. During the next turn, if activate Interdimensional Matter Transporter and banish Firewall Dragon, what happens during the End Phase?
A: In this scenario, upon reaching your End Phase, Firewall Dragon will return to your side of the field, but it will immediately return to its owner’s control. (Also, Firewall Dragon will not be sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Varreload Dragon.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13264&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: At the start of the Damage Step, when my Varreload Dragon attacks my opponent’s Firewall Dragon, I activate the effect of Varreload Dragon and take control of Firewall Dragon. Before the End Phase of the next turn, if I activate Owner’s Seal so that Firewall Dragon returns to my opponent’s field, what happens during the End Phase of the next turn?
A: In this scenario, even if the effect of Owner’s Seal returns Firewall Dragon to its owner’s field, the effect of Varreload Dragon is applied. In this case, that monster is sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase of the next turn as usual.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8143&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: At the start of the Damage Step, when my Varreload Dragon attacks my opponent’s Linkslayer, I activate the effect of Varreload Dragon and take control of Linkslayer. Before the End Phase of the next turn, if activate Book of Moon and change Linkslayer to face-down Defense Position, what happens during that End Phase?
A: Monsters taken control of with the effect of Varreload Dragon are sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase of the next turn. However, in this scenario, the monster you took control of (Linkslayer) was then changed to face-down Defense Position, so the effect that sends it to the Graveyard during the End Phase of the next turn is not applied and you will continue to control that opponent’s monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11263&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Pot of Desires and banish 10 cards from the top of my Deck, including Metaphys Asymmetry and Metaphys Nephthys. In this case, if Metaphys Dimension is face-up on my field, can I activate its effect that targets and banishes 1 card on my opponent’s field?
A: The second effect of Metaphys Dimension cannot be activated when a card is banished face-down. (You cannot activate the effect even if “Metaphys” cards are included in the cards that were banished face-down.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13985&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Soul Charge and Special Summon a Metaphys Tyrant Dragon and Mystery Shell Dragon from my Graveyard, but my opponent activates Bottomless Trap Hole and banishes both monsters. In this case, if Metaphys Dimension is face-up on my field, can I activate its effect that targets and banishes 1 card on my opponent’s field?
A: Even if your “Metaphys” cards and non-”Metaphys” cards are banished at the same time, you can activate the second effect of Metaphys Dimension.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13839&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I banish Beast King Barbaros from my field to activate Battle Over the World Legacy, how much ATK and DEF does the targeted monster lose?
A: Beast King Barbaros has an original ATK of 3000 and original DEF of 1200. If you banish it to activate Battle Over the World Legacy, the opponent’s targeted monster loses ATK and DEF accordingly. Even if the original ATK of Beast King Barbaros is treated as 1900 while on the field due to its own effect, it does not affect the resolution.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10100&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a Normal Summon is performed using the effect of Rival Arrival, can I activate Solemn Judgment and negate the Summon?
A: When Rival Arrival is activated, the Normal Summon is performed immediately after it resolves. Therefore, if Rival Arrival was activated as Chain Link 1, Solemn Judgment can be activated to negate the Summon. (If Rival Arrival was activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, the Summon is performed while still resolving a Chain, and Solemn Judgment cannot negate it.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13640&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Altar of the Mind’s Eye is face-up in the Field Zone. If my opponent’s Amazoness Swords Woman attacks my face-up Attack Position Blue-Eyes White Dragon, what happens to the battle damage?
A: In this scenario, your Blue-Eyes White Dragon battles your opponent’s Amazoness Swords Woman, and the 1500 damage your opponent would take is inflicted to you due to the effect of Amazoness Swords Woman. However, since the effect of Altar of the Mind’s Eye is applying, that damage becomes 1000.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13734&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my Jetroid is targeted for an attack, can I apply its effect and activate a Blasting Wire from my hand?
A: Blasting Wire is a card that targets another card in the same column as it while Set. Therefore, you cannot activate it from your hand when applying the effect of Jetroid.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14617&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.