[OCG] 07/17/15 Promo Card Rulings

Such power.

Promo Card Rulings

VJMP-JP106 Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight
• The effect that allows you to Normal Summon this card without Tributing while your opponent controls more monsters than you is neither an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (Summoning it this way does not create a chain. Also, it is not possible to Normal Set this card this way.)
• The effect that Special Summons a “Black Luster Soldier” monster from your hand or Graveyard if this card is Tributed is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. You can activate this effect during the Damage Step.)
• The effect that allows you to banish this card from your Graveyard in place of a required Tribute for a “Black Luster Soldier” monster’s Ritual Summon is neither an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
• When banishing this card from your Graveyard as 1 of the required Tributes for a “Black Luster Soldier” monster’s Ritual Summon, it is banished as a Level 7 monster. You cannot Ritual Summon a Level 8 or higher monster just by banishing this card.

WJMP-JP025 Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier
• The effect that activates when this card is Normal or Special Summoned is a Trigger Effect. (It can be activated during the Damage Step. Returning 1 targeted card to the Graveyard and banishing the other occur simultaneously.)
• This effect targets 1 of your banished LIGHT or DARK monsters to return to the Graveyard, and 1 card your opponent controls to banish.
• The effect that activates when this card destroys a monster by battle is a Trigger Effect. (It activates at the end of the Damage Step, and targets 1 Level 7 or lower Warrior-Type monster in your Graveyard.)
• If Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier and a monster with equal ATK battle, and both monsters are destroyed by battle, you cannot activate the effect of adding a monster to your hand.

VF15-JP001 Performapal La Panda
• The Pendulum Effect of this card creates a chain. (It does not target. You can only activate it during your Main Phase.)
• The Pendulum Scale of Performapal La Panda is increased by its own effect as long as it remains face-up on the field.
• If the Pendulum Scale of Performapal La Panda is 12, you cannot activate this effect.
• The monster effect of this card is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target.)
• You can activate this effect not only when an attack is declared targeting a Pendulum Monster you control, but also when a replay occurs and a Pendulum Monster you control is targeted for an attack.
• You can activate the effect of Performapal La Panda even if Performapal La Panda itself is targeted for an attack.
• You cannot activate the effect of Performapal La Panda if a face-down Pendulum Monster is targeted for an attack.

Assorted Rulings (07/17/15)

Q: If Galloping Gaia the Fierce Knight or Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight attack a Defense Position monster, will the effect of Spiral Spear Strike apply?
A: The effect of Spiral Spear Strike only applies if Gaia the Fierce Knight, Swift Gaia the Fierce Knight, or Gaia the Dragon Champion attack a Defense Position monster. It will not apply if Galloping Gaia the Fierce Knight or Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight attack.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16337&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my opponent controls a monster, even if I don’t control any monsters, can I Normal Summon Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight without Tributing?
A: While your opponent controls a monster, and you don’t control any monsters, since your opponent still controls more monsters than you, you can Normal Summon Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight without Tributing.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16276&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my opponent and I both control 1 monster, can I Normal Summon Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight without Tributing?
A: No, you cannot. In this scenario, since each player controls 1 monster, it is not a situation in which your opponent controls more monsters than you.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16275&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight is Tributed, which monsters can it Special Summon?
A: The effect of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight cannot Special Summon a Special Summon-only monster from the hand. Therefore, the effect of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight can only Special Summon Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier from the hand. Furthermore, the effect of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight cannot Special Summon a Special Summon-only monster from the Graveyard that was not properly Special Summoned beforehand. Therefore, the effect of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight can only Special Summon Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier, or a previously properly-Special Summoned Black Luster Soldier, Black Luster Soldier – Super Soldier, or Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Beginning from your Graveyard. Since Black Luster Soldier – Envoy of the Evening Twilight cannot be Special Summoned except by its own Summoning procedure, it cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16279&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight is Tributed while in my hand, or in face-down Defense Position, can I activate its effect that Special Summons a “Black Luster Soldier” monster from my hand or Graveyard?
A: Yes, you can.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16277&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the turn my opponent activates The Monarchs Stormforth, if my opponent Tributes an Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight in my Monster Zone for a Tribute Summon, can I activate its effect that Special Summons a “Black Luster Soldier” monster from my hand or Graveyard?
A: If your opponent Tributes your Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight, you can activate its effect that Special Summons a “Black Luster Soldier” monster. (The effect of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight is activated by its owner.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16278&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Ritual Summoning Black Luster Soldier, can I apply the effects of 2 copies of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight in my Graveyard and banish both of them?
A: When Ritual Summoning Black Luster Soldier using Black Luster Ritual, since you must Tribute monsters whose total Levels equal 8 or more, you can banish 2 copies of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight from your Graveyard for the Ritual Summon. Also, when Ritual Summoning Black Luster Soldier using Super Warrior Ritual, since you must Tribute monsters whose total Levels equal exactly 8, you cannot banish 2 copies of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight from your Graveyard for the Ritual Summon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16274&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Ritual Summoning Black Luster Soldier, can I apply the effects of Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight as well as Djinn Disserere of Rituals in my Graveyard and banish both of them?
A: In this scenario, you can banish Awakened Gaia the Fierce Knight as a Level 7 monster as one of the required Tributes, and Djinn Disserere of Rituals as a Level 1 monster as one of the required Tributes. Since their combined Levels equal 8, you can Ritual Summon Black Luster Soldier this way.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16273&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier be activated by targeting a LIGHT or DARK monster that was banished face-down?
A: No, it cannot. (Even if the face-down banished monster is known to be a LIGHT or DARK monster, it cannot be targeted by this effect.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16272&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier be activated while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying? Also, if the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier is activated, but Imperial Iron Wall is chained, how does its effect resolve?
A: While the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier cannot be activated when it is Normal or Special Summoned. If Imperial Iron Wall is chained to the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier, the part of the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier that returns the targeted banished LIGHT or DARK monster to the Graveyard is applied normally, but the part of the effect that banishes the targeted card on the field is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16267&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier be activated while the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying? Also, if the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier is activated, but Macro Cosmos is chained, how does its effect resolve?
A: While the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier can still be activated when it is Normal or Special Summoned. (Returning the targeted banished monster to your Graveyard and banishing the targeted card on the field will both occur normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16266&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier is Normal or Special Summoned, its effect is activated by targeting one of my banished LIGHT or DARK monsters, and 1 face-up monster on the field. If Book of Moon is chained, and that targeted monster is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier resolve?
A: Even in this situation, the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier resolves normally. (Returning the targeted banished monster to your Graveyard and banishing the targeted card on the field will both occur normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16270&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier is Normal or Special Summoned, its effect is activated by targeting one of my banished LIGHT or DARK monsters, and a face-up monster my opponent controls. If Enemy Controller is chained, and I gain control of that targeted monster, how does the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier resolve?
A: In this scenario, the part of the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier that returns the targeted banished LIGHT or DARK monster to the Graveyard is applied normally, but the part of the effect that banishes the targeted card on the field is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16269&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier is Normal or Special Summoned, its effect is activated by targeting one of my banished LIGHT or DARK monsters, and a Spell/Trap Card my opponent controls. If Mystical Space Typhoon is chained, so that the targeted Spell/Trap Card is destroyed, how does the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier resolve?
A: In this scenario, the part of the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier that returns the targeted banished LIGHT or DARK monster to the Graveyard is applied normally, but the part of the effect that banishes the targeted card on the field is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16268&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When the first effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier is activated, but my opponent chains Burial from a Different Dimension so that the targeted banished LIGHT or DARK monster is returned to the Graveyard, how does the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier resolve?
A: In this situation, the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier cannot return the targeted banished monster to the Graveyard, and the targeted card your opponent controls is not banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16271&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier destroys a Pendulum Monster, Token, or Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by battle, can its second effect be activated?
A: Even in these scenarios, you can activate the effect that returns a Level 7 or lower Warrior-Type monster in your Graveyard to your hand. (Furthermore, the effect resolves normally.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16265&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I have no monsters in my Graveyard, but my opponent controls a Swift Gaia the Fierce Knight that I own. If my Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier attacks that Swift Gaia the Fierce Knight, destroys it by battle, and sends it to my Graveyard, can I activate the second effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier?
A: In this scenario, since Swift Gaia the Fierce Knight will be in your Graveyard at the end of the Damage Step, you can activate the effect of Black Luster Soldier – Sacred Soldier.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16264&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Performapal La Panda whose Pendulum Scale has become 5 by its own effect is in the Pendulum Zone. If Pendulum Shift is activated, declaring 8 and targeting Performapal La Panda, what does its Pendulum Scale become?
A: In this scenario, the Pendulum Scale of Performapal La Panda will become 8 by the effect of Pendulum Shift until the end of this turn. During the next turn, once the effect of Pendulum Shift stops applying, the Pendulum Scale of Performapal La Panda will return to 5.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16260&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Performapal La Panda whose Pendulum Scale has become 5 by its own effect is in the Pendulum Zone. If the effect of Performapal La Panda is negated by Forbidden Scripture, what happens to the Pendulum Scale of Performapal La Panda?
A: In this situation, the Pendulum Scale of Performapal La Panda will no longer be increased by its own effect. (It will return to the original value of 3.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16261&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the monster effect of Performapal La Panda is activated, but Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device are chained so that Performapal La Panda is no longer face-up on the field when its effect resolves, does its effect still apply?
A: When resolving the effect of Performapal La Panda, even if Performapal La Panda itself is no longer face-up on the field, its effect resolves normally and negates the attack. (A replay does not occur.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16263&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the monster effect of Performapal La Panda is activated, but Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device are chained so that the Pendulum Monster that was targeted for an attack is no longer face-up on the field when the effect of Performapal La Panda resolves, does its effect still apply?
A: When resolving the effect of Performapal La Panda, even if the Pendulum Monster that was targeted for an attack is no longer face-up on the field, the effect resolves normally and negates the attack. (A replay does not occur.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16262&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons