[OCG] 07/17/14 Rulings

07/17/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If the opponent Special Summons more than 1 monster at the same time, such as with Soul Charge, Rekindling, or a Pendulum Summon, is it possible to activate Dark Renewal?
A: Even if the opponent Special Summons more than 1 monster at the same time, it will be possible to activate Dark Renewal. In that case, you will only target 1 of those monsters and 1 Spellcaster-Type monster you control.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13356&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the opponent activates Scapegoat and Special Summons a Token, is it possible to activate Dark Renewal?
A: When the opponent Special Summons a Token, it will be possible to activate Dark Renewal by targeting 1 Token and 1 Spellcaster-Type monster you control. When resolving Dark Renewal, the targeted Spellcaster-Type monster is sent to the Graveyard, but the Token disappears, and it will not be possible to Special Summon a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster from your Deck or Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13360&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Jowgen the Spiritualist is on the field, is it possible to activate Dark Renewal?
A: Even if Jowgen the Spiritualist is on the field, you can activate Dark Renewal. If you target Jowgen the Spiritualist with Dark Renewal, then it will be sent to the Graveyard when Dark Renewal resolves, and you can Special Summon a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster from your Deck or Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13359&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose a player controls 1 Spellcaster-Type monster, but has no DARK Spellcaster-Type monsters in their Graveyard or Deck. Can they activate Dark Renewal when the opponent Normal or Special Summons a monster?
A: In that case, Dark Renewal can still be activated. When resolving Dark Renewal, the targeted monsters will be sent to the Graveyard as usual. If the Spellcaster-Type monster that player controlled was also a DARK monster, it can then be Special Summoned from the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13354&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Forbidden Lance is chained to Dark Renewal, targeting one of the monsters targeted with Dark Renewal, how does Dark Renewal resolve?
A: In this case, only the monster that can be affected by Spell/Trap effects will be sent to the Graveyard by Dark Renewal (in which case you will not be able to Special Summon a DARK Spellcaster-Type monster from your Deck or Graveyard).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13357&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Raigeki Break is chained to Dark Renewal, targeting one of the monsters targeted with Dark Renewal, how does Dark Renewal resolve?
A: In this case, if one of the targeted monsters is destroyed before Dark Renewal resolves, it resolves without effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13358&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Macro Cosmos or Banisher of the Radiance are on the field, will a Pendulum Monster on the field be placed face-up in the Extra Deck if it is destroyed?
A: While the effects of Macro Cosmos or Banisher of the Radiance are being applied, if a Pendulum Monster on the field is destroyed, it will be banished instead of returning to the Extra Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13364&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Dimensional Fissure is on the field, will a Pendulum Monster in a Monster Zone be placed face-up in the Extra Deck if it is destroyed?
A: While the effect of Dimensional Fissure is being applied, if a Pendulum Monster in a Monster Zone is destroyed, it will be banished instead of returning to the Extra Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13363&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Dimensional Fissure is on the field, will a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone be placed face-up in the Extra Deck if it is destroyed?
A: While the effect of Dimensional Fissure is being applied, if a Pendulum Monster in a Pendulum Zone is destroyed, it will not be banished and will be returned to the Extra Deck, since it is treated as a Spell Card while in a Pendulum Zone.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13362&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Timegazer Magician is treated as a Machine-Type monster because of DNA Surgery, can it and Cyber Dragon be sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon?
A: When a Pendulum Monster would be sent from the field to the Graveyard, it is placed face-up in the Extra Deck instead. It is not possible to send a Pendulum Monster to the Graveyard to Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon, therefore, you cannot use Timegazer Magician being treated as a Machine-Type monster and Cyber Dragon to Special Summon it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13355&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Warrior Lady of the Wasteland is targeted by the second effect of Breakthrough Skill, and later that turn it is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, will its effect be negated?
A: The second effect of Breakthrough Skill will negate the effects of the targeted monster that activate or apply on the field that turn. Therefore, if an effect activates in the Graveyard, such as that of Warrior Lady of the Wasteland, it will not be negated and will apply normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13365&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Even if a player has no “Lightsworn” monsters in their Deck, can they activate the first effect of Raiden, Hand of the Lightsworn?
A: Even in this case, that effect can be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13351&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a face-down Masked HERO Kamikaze is attacked, but not destroyed by battle because of its effect, can the opponent then declare attacks with any additional monsters?
A: In this case, the opponent cannot declare attacks with any more monsters during that Battle Phase.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13353&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Normal Spell Card that was sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude is no longer in the Graveyard during the Main Phase of that player’s next turn, can the effect of that Normal Spell Card still be activated?
A: No, it cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13361&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose there are multiple Traps in a player’s Spell & Trap Zone and hand. Can that player chain Fake Trap to Eradicator Epidemic Virus, if Trap Cards are declared?
A: In this case, Fake Trap can be chained to Eradicator Epidemic Virus. In that case, Fake Trap is destroyed instead of any Trap Cards on the field, but Trap Cards in the hand are destroyed as usual.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13352&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons