[OCG] 07/07/16 Rulings

Frog rulings on the horizon. (Except Frog the Jam.)

07/07/16 Rulings

Q: B-Buster Drake and C-Crush Wyvern are used as Xyz Material to Xyz Summon Evilswarm Exciton Knight. When the effect of Evilswarm Exciton Knight is activated, and C-Crush Wyvern is detached and sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of C-Crush Wyvern that Special Summons a Union monster from the hand be activated?
A: In this scenario, if a C-Crush Wyvern that has become an Xyz Material is detached and sent to the Graveyard, it is not treated as being sent from the field to the Graveyard. Thus, the effect of C-Crush Wyvern that Special Summons a Union monster from the hand cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12866&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Mistake is face-up on my opponent’s field, and its effect that prevents both players from adding cards from the Deck to their hand is applying. In this case, can I activate Union Hangar?
A: While the effect of Mistake is applying, even though you cannot add cards from your Deck to your hand except by drawing, you can activate Union Hangar. In that case, the activation of the card will be completed without applying the effect that adds a LIGHT Machine-Type monster from your Deck to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9606&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Honor of the Eyes of Blue was activated by targeting a face-up Jack’s Knight on my opponent’s field. If Book of Moon is then activated, and Jack’s Knight is changed to face-down Defense Position, what happens to the applied effect?
A: After applying the effect of Honor of the Eyes of Blue, if the targeted monster is changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect preventing that monster from attacking is no longer applied. (In this scenario, if Jack’s Knight is changed to face-up Attack Position again, it can attack normally during the Battle Phase.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9616&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When ABC-Dragon Buster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by its own procedure, can I banish A-Assault Core, etc. that are in face-down Defense Position?
A: When Special Summon ABC-Dragon Buster by its own procedure, A-Assault Core, etc. that are in face-down Defense Position can be banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6131&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When ABC-Dragon Buster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by its own procedure, can I banish B-Buster Drake, etc. that are treated as Equip Cards in my Spell & Trap Zone?
A: When Special Summon ABC-Dragon Buster by its own procedure, B-Buster Drake, etc. that are treated as Equip Cards in your Spell & Trap Zone can be banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6495&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When ABC-Dragon Buster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by its own procedure, can the Special Summon be negated by the effect of Solemn Strike?
A: When Special Summon ABC-Dragon Buster by its own procedure, Solemn Strike can be activated to negate the Special Summon. In that case, when ABC-Dragon Buster is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, it is not considered to have been sent from the field to the Graveyard, so it cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of a card like Monster Reborn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6216&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I have 4 banished Union monsters; A-Assault Core, B-Buster Drake, C-Crush Wyvern, and Heavy Mech Support Armor. Among them, the Heavy Mech Support Armor was banished by the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss. In this situation, if I activate the effect of ABC-Dragon Buster that Special Summons 3 of my banished LIGHT Machine-Type Union monsters, can I target the Heavy Mech Support Armor?
A: The effect of ABC-Dragon Buster that Special Summons 3 of your banished LIGHT Machine-Type Union monsters can also target a LIGHT Machine-Type Union monster that was banished temporarily by the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7679&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During this turn, I activated the effect of Swap Frog that allows me to Normal Summon an additional “Frog” monster, but did not yet perform the additional Normal Summon. In this situation, if I also have Atlantean Heavy Infantry face-up on my field, can I still Normal Summon an additional Level 4 or lower Sea Serpent-Type monster?
A: In this scenario, you can choose to apply the effect of either Swap Frog or Atlantean Heavy Infantry that allows you to perform an additional Normal Summon. (But you cannot apply both to perform 2 additional Normal Summons.) Note that if you already performed an additional Normal Summon with the effect of Atlantean Heavy Infantry, you cannot activate the third effect of Swap Frog.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12842&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Serial Spell be chained to Red-Eyes Fusion?
A: If Red-Eyes Fusion is activated, you cannot Normal or Special Summon monsters during the same turn, except by its effect. Furthermore, if Serial Spell is activated, its effect becomes the same as the effect of the Normal Spell card it is chained to. (The effect of Serial Spell does not mean you are activating the same Normal Spell Card twice.) Therefore, Serial Spell cannot be chained to Red-Eyes Fusion.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9608&keyword=&tag=-1

This seems to be a reversal of the older Serial Spell vs. Dark Magic Curtain ruling.

Q: Two copies of Simorgh, Bird of Ancestry are face-up on my field, and their effects that allow WIND monsters to be Normal Summoned with 1 less Tribute are applying. In this situation, if I Tribute Summon a Level 7 or higher WIND monster, can it be Summoned or Set without Tributing?
A: Even if there are 2 copies of Simorgh, Bird of Ancestry on your field, you cannot Normal Summon or Set Level 7 or higher WIND monsters without Tributing. (The number of Tributes required to Normal Summon/Set WIND monsters is only reduced by 1.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=25&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Phantom of Chaos has gained the name and effects of Steelswarm Caucastag. If Phantom of Chaos is Tributed to Tribute Summon a Steelswarm Girastag, can the effect of Steelswarm Girastag be activated?
A: In this scenario, since Phantom of Chaos is treated as Steelswarm Caucastag, Steelswarm Girastag can be Tribute Summoned with 1 Tribute by Tributing it, and the effect of Steelswarm Girastag can also be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8385&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of my opponent’s Mischief of the Yokai is applied, and a Worm King whose Level is reduced by 1 as a result is face-up on my field. In this case, if I activate the effect of Worm Queen by Tributing Worm King, of which Level Reptile-Type “Worm” monsters can I Special Summon?
A: The cost to activate the effect of Worm Queen is to Tribute 1 Reptile-Type “Worm” monster, and the effect Special Summons a Reptile-Type “Worm” monster from your Deck with a Level less than or equal to the Tributed monster’s original Level. Therefore, in this scenario, since the effect of Worm Queen is activated by Tributing the Level 8 Worm King, you can Special Summon a Level 8 or lower Reptile-Type “Worm” monster from your Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8128&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Super-Ancient Dinobeast is face-up on my field. In this situation, if my opponent activates Monster Reborn and Special Summons a Dinosaur-Type monster from my Graveyard to their field, can I activate the effect of Super-Ancient Dinobeast that allows me to draw a card?
A: The effect of Super-Ancient Dinobeast can be activated when a Dinosaur-Type monster is Special Summoned from your Graveyard. In this scenario, even if your opponent Special Summons a Dinosaur-Type monster from your Graveyard to their field by the effect of Monster Reborn, you can activate the effect of Super-Ancient Dinobeast.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9220&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Set monster in my Monster Zone and a Set Spell/Trap Card in my Spell & Trap Zone are both destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by Icarus Attack, can I activate Metalfoes Counter?
A: Even if a Set card(s) on your field is destroyed, since it was destroyed by battle or card effect, you can activate Metalfoes Counter.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6132&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I Normal or Special Summon a Metalfoes Goldriver to my field, my opponent activates Bottomless Trap Hole. If Metalfoes Goldriver is destroyed and banished, can I still activate Metalfoes Counter?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Bottomless Trap Hole is applied, Metalfoes Goldriver is banished as a result, but was still destroyed while on your field. Therefore, you can activate Metalfoes Counter.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7466&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons