Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 07/25/22 Rulings Update

Macro Cosmos refresher.

 

Edit: A few more were added.

 

Q: When Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle, etc. is destroyed, the effects of Banisher of the Light, Banisher of the Radiance, Macro Cosmos, Dimensional Fissure, or Dimension Shifter are applying. In this case, can I place it in the Spell & Trap Zone as a Continuous Spell?
A: Even in that case, you can apply the effect of Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle and place it in the Spell & Trap Zone as a Continuous Spell. If you do not apply the effect, it will be banished by the effect of Banisher of the Light, etc.
The same applies when the following monsters are destroyed
– Advanced Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle
– Crystal Beast Sapphire Pegasus
– Advanced Crystal Beast Sapphire Pegasus
– Crystal Beast Cobalt Eagle
– Advanced Crystal Beast Cobalt Eagle
– Crystal Beast Amber Mammoth
– Advanced Crystal Beast Amber Mammoth
– Crystal Beast Emerald Tortoise
– Advanced Crystal Beast Emerald Tortoise
– Crystal Beast Topaz Tiger
– Advanced Crystal Beast Topaz Tiger
– Crystal Beast Amethyst Cat
– Advanced Crystal Beast Amethyst Cat
– Crystal Beast Rainbow Dragon
– Pumprincess the Princess of Ghosts

Source

 

Q: Can Chimeratech Fortress Dragon be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck by banishing Cyber Dragon and 1+ Machine monsters if cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead by the effect of Macro Cosmos? Also, if the effect of Macro Cosmos is negated by Jinzo, can Chimeratech Fortress Dragon be Special Summoned by sending Jinzo to the Graveyard?
A: While the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, any cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead. In such a situation, you cannot Special Summon Chimeratech Fortress Dragon from the Extra Deck because you cannot send cards to the Graveyard as part of the Special Summoning procedure.
Even if the effects of Macro Cosmos are negated by the effect of Jinzo, if Jinzo is sent to the Graveyard, the effect of Macro Cosmos will cause it to be banished instead. Therefore, in situations where Jinzo and Macro Cosmos are both face-up on the field, Jinzo cannot be sent to the Graveyard for a Special Summoning procedure.
The same applies when Special Summoning the following monsters
– Elder Entity N’tss
– Ultimaya Tzolkin
– Gigarays Gandora the Dragon of Destruction
– Trap Eater, Timaeus the Knight of Destiny
– Dystopia the Despondent
– Secret Six Samurai – Rihan
– Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon

Source

 

Q: If I control a face-up Macro Cosmos and Chaos Hunter, how are their effects applied? Also, if my opponent controls a face-up Macro Cosmos and I control a face-up Chaos Hunter, how are their effects applied?
A: If the effect of your Chaos Hunter is applying, your Macro Cosmos will still banish any cards that would be sent to either player’s Graveyard. In situations where the effect of your Chaos Hunter and the effect of your opponent’s Macro Cosmos are applying, cards sent to either player’s Graveyard are not banished by Macro Cosmos.
While the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, cards are banished by the effect of that Macro Cosmos. Therefore, if an effect that prevents a player from banishing cards is applied to the player that controls Macro Cosmos, that Macro Cosmos will not banish any cards.
The same result occurs if the following effects are applied instead of Macro Cosmos:
– Dimension Shifter
– Banisher of the Radiance
– Banisher of the Light
– Virtual World Kyubi – Shenshen
– Dimensional Fissure

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos, etc. is applying, so that cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead, can I activate the second effect of Jet Synchron or the effect of Rescue Cat?
A: Since cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead and cannot be sent to the Graveyard as a cost, the second effect of Jet Synchron and the effect of Rescue Cat cannot be activated. The same applies to activating the following:
– Second effect of Honest
– Pendulum Effect of Clear Wing Fast Dragon
– Last effect of Traptrix Rafflesia
– Second effect of Eldlich the Golden Lord
– First effect of Mathmech Circular
– Second effect of Therion “King” Regulus
– Effect of Maxx “C”
– First effect of Tri-Brigade Fraktall
– Second effect of Mirrorjade the Iceblade Dragon

Source

 

Q: I control There Can Be Only One, Zombie World, and a Zombie monster. My opponent controls a Virtual World Kyubi – Shenshen. In this situation, can I activate Apophis the Swamp Deity?
A: Yes, you can activate it. When it resolves, you can also Special Summon it as a monster and negate the effects of face-up cards your opponent controls.
Furthermore, since the Special Summoned Apophis the Swamp Deity becomes a Zombie monster due to the effect of Zombie World, and you now control 2 monsters with the same Type, Apophis the Swamp Deity is sent to the Graveyard immediately after its Chain Link resolves. At this time, if the effect of Virtual World Kyubi – Shenshen is applying, Apophis the Swamp Deity is banished instead of sent to the Graveyard. If the effect of Virtual World Kyubi – Shenshen was negated when the Chain Link resolved, Apophis the Swamp Deity is sent to the Graveyard normally.
The same result occurs if the following effects are applied instead of Virtual World Kyubi – Shenshen:
– Macro Cosmos
– Banisher of the Radiance
– Banisher of the Light.

Source

 

Q: Two copies of Mist Valley Thunder Lord activate their effects in a Chain, and two copies of Mist Valley Thunderbird are returned to my hand. After the current Chain resolves, will the effects of both copies of Mist Valley Thunderbird activate?
A: After the current Chain resolves, the Trigger Effects of each Mist Valley Thunderbird will activate as Chain Link 1 and Chain Link 2, respectively. Next, your opponent will decide whether or not to activate an effect as Chain Link 3.

Source

 

Q: If I have 1 card or less in my Deck, or if the effect of my opponent’s Protector of the Sanctuary is applying, can I activate the first effect of Frozen Rose?
A: Yes, you can. When resolving the Chain Link, the effect “During the End Phase of this turn, draw 2 cards, then discard 1 card.” will be in effect. When applying the effect during the End Phase, if you have 1 card or less in your Deck, you will be unable to draw and will lose the Duel. Also, when applying the effect during the End Phase, if the effect of your opponent’s Protector of the Sanctuary is applying, you will not draw or discard any cards.

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos, etc. is applying, so that cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead, can I activate the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring by discarding it?
A: Cards discarded as a cost will end up being banished instead of sent to the Graveyard, but you can still discard them as costs to activate effects. The resolution of the effect activated this way is applied normally.
However, as an exception, for effects such as that of Tempest, Dragon Ruler of Storms that is activated by discarding cards to the Graveyard, the cards discarded as cost must be sent to the Graveyard, so the effect cannot be activated if Macro Cosmos is applying.
In addition to Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring, the following effects can be activated if the effect of Macro Cosmos, etc. is applying:
– Effect of Giant Pairfish
– Second effect of PSY-Frame Circuit
– Effect of Ghost Reaper & Winter Cherries
– First effect of A-to-Z Dragon Buster Cannon
– First effect of Darklord Amdusc
– Second effect of Cyber Dragon Nachster
– First effect of Witchcrafter Potterie

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos, etc. is applying, so that cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead, can I activate the effect of The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode that Special Summons The Winged Dragon of Ra from the hand or Deck?
A: Yes, you can. The Tributed The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode ends up being banished by the effect of Macro Cosmos instead of sent to the Graveyard, but the effect is applied normally, and The Winged Dragon of Ra is Special Summoned.
The same applies when activating the following effects instead of The Winged Dragon of Ra – Sphere Mode:
– First effect of Superheavy Samurai Flutist
– Monster effect of Crystal Master
– Second effect of Juragedo
– Third effect of Paladin of Felgrand
– Second effect of Jet Warrior

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos, Dimension Shifter, etc. is applying, so that cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead, can I activate Polymerization and perform a Fusion Summon?
A: Yes, you can. When the effect resolves, Fusion Materials are banished instead of sent to the Graveyard, but the monster is still Fusion Summoned from the Extra Deck.
The same applies when performing a Fusion Summon with the following effects:
– Power Bond
– Shaddoll Fusion
– Branded Fusion
– Ancient Gear Hunting Hound
– Fusion Substitute
– D/D Swirl Slime
– Performapal Trump Girl
– Performapal Splash Mammoth
– Performapal Trump Witch
– Curse of Dragonfire

Source

 

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos, Dimension Shifter, etc. is applying, so that cards that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead, can I activate the effect of a Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu in my hand?
A: Yes, you can. If an effect that banishes cards that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying when the effect resolves, when sending a “Virtual World” card of a different card type than the one targeted from your Deck to the Graveyard, the card is banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Since a card was not sent to the Graveyard by this effect, the effect finishes resolving without performing the Special Summon or any further part of the effect. However, even in that case, you cannot Special Summon any monsters for the rest of the turn, except Level/Rank 3 or higher monsters.
The same applies when activating the effects of the following cards:
– Virtual World Roshi – Laolao
– Virtual World Xiezhi – Jiji
– Virtual World Kirin – Lili

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.