[OCG] 06/23/16 Rulings

Most of these could have been published with the first round..

06/23/16 Rulings

Q: Magnet Field is face-up in my Field Zone, and a face-up Attack Position Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon is on my opponent’s field. In this situation, if my Beserkion the Electromagna Warrior attacks my opponent’s Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon, can I activate the second effect of Magnet Field?
A: In this scenario, since your Beserkion the Electromagna Warrior battled your opponent’s Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon that was not destroyed by battle, you can activate the effect of Magnet Field at the end of the Damage Step. (Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon is returned to its owner’s Extra Deck, not their hand. If the monster that wasn’t destroyed by battle is a Synchro or Xyz Monster rather than a Fusion Monster, the result is the same.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6289&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Dark Magic Succession add Dark Burning Magic to my hand?
A: Dark Magic Succession can add any Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to your hand that lists the name Dark Magician and/or Dark Magician Girl in its text. The text of Dark Burning Magic states that you can activate it if you have a monster on your field whose original name is either Dark Magician or Dark Magician Girl, and is therefore included as a Spell/Trap Card with the name Dark Magician and/or Dark Magician Girl in its text. Therefore, the effect of Dark Magic Succession can add Dark Burning Magic to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11925&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Dark Magic Succession add Dark Burning Attack to my hand?
A: Dark Magic Succession can add any Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to your hand that lists the name Dark Magician and/or Dark Magician Girl in its text. The text of Dark Burning Attack states that you can activate it if you have a “Dark Magician Girl” monster on your field, but here that refers to any monster with “Dark Magician Girl” in its name rather than Dark Magician Girl specifically. Therefore, the effect of Dark Magic Succession cannot add Dark Burning Attack to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10739&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Magician’s Rod add Dark Magic Succession to my hand?
A: The effect of Magician’s Rod can add any Spell/Trap Card from your Deck to your hand that lists the name Dark Magician in its text, such as Dark Magic Attack, Dark Magic Curtain, and Miracle Restoring. Since the text of Dark Magic Succession states that you can add a Spell/Trap Card with the names Dark Magician or Dark Magician Girl in their own text, Dark Magic Succession itself is included as a Spell/Trap Card with the name Dark Magician in its text. Therefore, the effect of Magician’s Rod can add Dark Magic Succession to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11727&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Oilman is equipped by its own effect to a face-up XY-Dragon Cannon on my field. In this case, can the effect of Heavy Mech Support Platform that equips it to a Machine-Type monster on my field be activated by targeting that XY-Dragon Cannon?
A: Oilman is a Union monster that states “A monster can only be equipped with 1 Union monster at a time.” In this scenario, if a monster is already equipped with Oilman by the effect of Oilman, the effect of Heavy Mech Support Platform cannot be activated by targeting it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6281&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Two copies of Heavy Mech Support Platform are equipped by their own effects to a face-up X-Head Cannon on my field. In this case, if X-Head Cannon would be destroyed by battle or card effects, can I apply the effect of Heavy Mech Support Platform that destroys it instead?
A: In this scenario, if an X-Head Cannon that is equipped with 2 copies of Heavy Mech Support Platform would be destroyed by battle or card effect, the effects of both copies of Heavy Mech Support Platform will be applied at the same time. (Both copies of Heavy Mech Support Platform are destroyed instead.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6298&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s X-Head Cannon equipped with Y-Dragon Head has attacked during this Battle Phase. Can I activate Combination Attack by targeting my opponent’s X-Head Cannon?
A: In this scenario, since your opponent’s X-Head Cannon is a monster that attacked during this Battle Phase and is equipped with a Union monster, you can activate Combination Attack. In that case, Y-Dragon Head is Special Summoned to your opponent’s Monster Zone, and the targeted X-Head Cannon can attack again. It should be noted that the battle position that Y-Dragon Head is Special Summoned in is determined by the player who activated Combination Attack.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6335&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Two copies of Heavy Mech Support Armor are equipped by their own effects to a face-up YZ-Tank Dragon on my field. In this case, if YZ-Tank Dragon attacks, can I activate Combination Attack?
A: In this scenario, you can activate Combination Attack by targeting your YZ-Tank Dragon that is equipped with 2 copies of Heavy Mech Support Armor. In that case, both copies of Heavy Mech Support Armor are Special Summoned, and YZ-Tank Dragon can attack again during this Battle Phase. It should be noted that you cannot activate Combination Attack unless you have enough available Monster Zones to Special Summon all of the equipped Union monsters. (For example, if you only had 1 available Monster Zone in this scenario, since you would not be able to Special Summon both copies of Heavy Mech Support Armor, so you cannot activate Combination Attack.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6107&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The second effect of Union Hangar is activated, and B-Buster Drake is equipped to A-Assault Core. During the same turn, if A-Assault Core attacks, can I activate Combination Attack?
A: Union monsters that are equipped by the effect of Union Hangar cannot be Special Summoned that turn, not just by their own effects but also by the effects of other cards. In this scenario, A-Assault Core cannot be targeted with Combination Attack.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7266&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The second effect of Union Hangar is activated, and B-Buster Drake is equipped to A-Assault Core. During the same turn, Roll Out! is activated, and C-Crush Wyvern is also equipped to A-Assault Core from my Graveyard. In this situation, if A-Assault Core attacks this turn, can I activate Combination Attack?
A: Even if a monster was equipped by the effect of Union Hangar, so that it cannot be Special Summoned this turn, if another Union monster was equipped by Roll Out!, then Combination Attack can be activated. In this scenario, you can target A-Assault Core with Combination Attack, and in that case, only C-Crush Wyvern will be Special Summoned and A-Assault Core is able to attack again. (B-Buster Drake remains equipped to A-Assault Core.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12828&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the second effect of AtoZ-Dragon Buster Cannon, targeting my banished ABC-Dragon Buster and XYZ-Dragon Cannon. If my opponent chains Burial from a Different Dimension, returning XYZ-Dragon Cannon to the Graveyard, how does the effect of AtoZ-Dragon Buster Cannon resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of AtoZ-Dragon Buster Cannon, if the targeted XYZ-Dragon Cannon has been returned to the Graveyard by the effect of Burial from a Different Dimension, it is not Special Summoned. Only the remaining ABC-Dragon Buster is Special Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=4630&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I have 2 or less available Monster Zones, can I activate the second effect of ABC-Dragon Buster?
A: The effect of ABC-Dragon Buster that Special Summons Union monsters targets the 3 Union monsters. When using the effect, if you do not have 3 or more available Monster Zones including the Zone that would be made available by Tributing ABC-Dragon Buster, the effect itself cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=19145&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the second effect of ABC-Dragon Buster, targeting my banished A-Assault Core, B-Buster Drake, and C-Crush Wyvern. If my opponent chains Ojama Trio, so that I only have 2 available Monster Zones, how does the effect of ABC-Dragon Buster resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of ABC-Dragon Buster, if you only have 2 available Monster Zones, you will choose 2 of the 3 targeted monsters and Special Summon them. Since there is no space in your Monster Zone to Special Summon the remaining monster, it is sent to the Graveyard. (For example, if you choose to Special Summon B-Buster Drake and C-Crush Wyvern, A-Assault Core would be sent to the Graveyard.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12475&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to the activation of Swords of Revealing Light, and Swords of Revealing Light is destroyed. In that case, which effects of Swords of Revealing Light are applied?
A: The effect of Swords of Revealing Light that flips all of your opponent’s monsters face-up is only applied when the card first resolves, and even if Swords of Revealing Light is destroyed by a chained Mystical Space Typhoon, this effect is still applied normally. (Your opponent’s face-down monsters will be flipped face-up.) Note that the effect of Swords of Revealing Light that prevents your opponent’s monsters from attacking is only applied while it remains face-up on the field, and will not be applied if Swords of Revealing Light is destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=111&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to the activation of Swords of Concealing Light, and Swords of Concealing Light is destroyed. In that case, which effects of Swords of Concealing Light are applied?
A: The effect of Swords of Concealing Light that changes your opponent’s monsters to face-down Defense Position is only applied when the card first resolves, but since Swords of Concealing Light is a Continuous Spell Card, this effect is not applied if Swords of Concealing Light is destroyed by a chained Mystical Space Typhoon. (Your opponent’s monsters are not changed to face-down Defense Position.) Note that the effect of Swords of Concealing Light that prevents your opponent’s monsters from changing their battle positions is only applied while it remains face-up on the field, and will not be applied if Swords of Concealing Light is destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=5385&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons