[OCG] 06/22/14 Rulings

06/22/2014
Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike:

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Elemental HERO Shadow Mist
•The effect that adds 1 “Change” Quick-Play Spell Card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target. This effect can also be activated during the Damage Step)
•The effect that adds 1 “Elemental HERO” monster from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (This effect does not target. This effect can also be activated during the Damage Step)

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Mask Change Second
•Discarding 1 card from your hand is a cost to activate this effect. (This card itself cannot be discarded as a cost)
•This effect targets 1 face-up monster you control.
•This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
•The part of the effect that sends the targeted monster to the Graveyard and the part of the effect that Special Summons a “Masked HERO” monster from your Extra Deck are not considered to happen simultaneously.

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Form Change
•This effect targets 1 face-up “HERO” monster you control.
•This card cannot be activated during the Damge Step.
•The part of the effect that sends the targeted monster to the Graveyard and the part of the effect that Special Summons a “Masked HERO” monster from your Extra Deck are not considered to happen simultaneously.

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Mask Charge
•This effect targets 1 “HERO” monster and 1 “Change” Quick-Play Spell Card in your Graveyard for a total of 2 targets.
•This effect can also be activated targeting a “HERO” Fusion Monster in yuour Graveyard. (In that case, the targeted Fusion Monster is added to the Extra Deck instead of being added to the hand. The targeted “Change” Quick-Play Spell Card is added to the hand normally)
•Even if 1 of the 2 targeted cards is no longer in the Graveyard when this effect resolves, the remaining card in the Graveyard is still added to the hand.

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Contrast HERO Chaos
•Treating this card as an “Elemental HERO” monster and being unable to Special Summon this card except by Fusion Summon is not treated as an effect.
•The monster effect that treats this card’s Attribute as LIGHT is a Continuous Effect.
•The monster effect that negates the effect of a card is a Quick Effect. (This effect targets 1 face-up card on the field. This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step)
•Even if this card was Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon, this card cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard afterwards by effects like Monster Reborn.

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Masked HERO Koga
•Being unable to Special Summon this card except by the effect of “Mask Change” is not treated as an effect.
•The monster effect that increases this card’s ATK by 500 for each mosnter the opponent controls is a Continuous Effect.
•The monster effect that reduces the ATK of a monster is a Quick Effect. (Bansishing 1 “HERO” monster in your Graveyard is a cost to activate this effect. This effect targets 1 face-up monster on the field.)
•This card can only be Special Summoned by the effects of Mask Change, Mask Change Second, and Form Change. Even if this card was Special Summoned, this card cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard afterwards by effects like Monster Reborn.

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Masked HERO Kamikaze
•Being unable to Special Summon this card except by the effect of “Mask Change” is not treated as an effect.
•The monster effect that prevents this card from being destroyed in battle is a Continuous Effect.
•The monster effect that makes the opponent only be able to attack once during each Battle Phase is a Continuous Effect.
•The effect that draws 1 card is a Trigger Effect.
•This card can only be Special Summoned by the effects of Mask Change, Mask Change Second, and Form Change. Even if this card was Special Summoned, this card cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard afterwards by effects like Monster Reborn.

Structure Deck – Hero’s Strike: Masked HERO Dark Law
•Being unable to Special Summon this card except by the effect of “Mask Change” is not treated as an effect.
•The monster effect that banishes the opponent’s cards that would be sent to the Graveyard is a Continuous Effect.
•The effect that banishes cards from the opponent’s hand is a Trigger Effect. (This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step)
•This card can only be Special Summoned by the effects of Mask Change, Mask Change Second, and Form Change. Even if this card was Special Summoned, this card cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard afterwards by effects like Monster Reborn.

==========

06/22/14
Assorted rulings:

Q: If Polymerization resolves and sends Elemental HERO Shadow Mist to the Graveyard as a Fusion Material monster, can the second effect of Elemental HERO Shadow Mist be activated?
A: The effect can be activated in this case. However, the effect cannot activate while Polymerization is still resolving, so it will activate once the Fusion Monster is Special Summoned. (For example, if your opponent wants to activate Torrential Tribute in response to the Fusion Summon, the effect of Elemental HERO Shadow Mist will be Chain Link 1 and Torrential Tribute will be Chain Link 2.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13315&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Is it possible to Fusion Summon Contrast HERO Chaos with Miracle Fusion? In addition, is it possible to banish Contrast HERO Chaos and an EARTH monster in the Graveyard with Miracle Fusion, as Fusion Material monsters for Elemental HERO Gaia?
A: Contrast HERO Chaos is always treated as an “Elemental HERO” monster. It is possible to Fusion Summon it with Miracle Fusion. In addition, it is also possible to banish it and an EARTH monster in the Graveyard with Miracle Fusion as Fusion Material monsters for Elemental HERO Gaia.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13310&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While face-up on the field, Contrast HERO Chaos is also treated as LIGHT, so it is treated as both LIGHT and DARK Attribute. When resolving Shaddoll Fusion and using Contrast HERO Chaos and a “Shaddoll” monster as Fusion Material monsters, could you then Fusion Summon either El Shaddoll Midrash or El Shaddoll Nephilim?
A: Since Contrast HERO Chaos is treated as both a LIGHT and a DARK monster while face-up on the field, it can be used as either a LIGHT or DARK Fusion Material monster for Shaddoll Fusion. Therefore, it can be used as the DARK material for El Shaddoll Midrash or the LIGHT material for El Shaddoll Nephilim.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13309&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose a Level 6 Mobius the Frost Monarch has its Level reduced to 5 by Level Eater. If that Mobius the Frost Monarch is targeted with Mask Change Second, could you then Special Summon either a Level 6 Masked HERO Vapor or Level 8 Masked HERO Acid with it?
A: If a monster targeted by Mask Change Second has its Level changed, Mask Change Second will Special Summon a monster with the same Attribute and a higher Level than the targeted monster as it was on the field. In this case, since Mobius the Frost Monarch is Level 5 while on the field, you can Special Summon either Masked HERO Vapor or Masked HERO Acid.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13314&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose a LIGHT Elemental HERO Neos Alius is treated as DARK by DNA Transplant. If that Elemental HERO Neos Alius is targeted with Mask Change Second, could you then Special Summon either a LIGHT Masked HERO Koga or DARK Masked HERO Dark Law?
A: If a monster targeted by Mask Change Second has its Level changed, Mask Change Second will Special Summon a monster with the same Attribute and a higher Level than the targeted monster as it was on the field. In this case, since Elemental HERO Neos Alius is DARK while on the field, you can only Special Summon Masked HERO Dark Law.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13313&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the opponent adds a card(s) from their Deck to their hand using either Cardcar D or Reinforcement of the Army, is it possible to activate the second effect of Masked HERO Dark Law to banish 1 random card from the opponent’s hand?
A: After the opponent resolves the effect of Cardcar D, since they added cards from their Deck to their hand, it is possible to activate the effect of Masked HERO Dark Law to banish 1 random card from the opponent’s hand. Similarly, when the opponent adds a Warrior-Type monster to their hand with Reinforcement of the Army, it is possible to activate the effect of Masked HERO Dark Law to banish 1 random card from the opponent’s hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13305&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the opponent has added a card(s) from their Deck to their hand this turn outside of the Draw Phase, when can the effect of Masked HERO Dark Law be activated to banish 1 of those cards at random?
A: This effect can only be activated after resolving an effect in which the opponent added a card(s) from their Deck to their hand this turn outside of the Draw Phase. It cannot be activated at a later point in time that turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13306&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a player successfully attacks with a monster, and then afterward their opponent Special Summoned Masked HERO Kamikaze, can the attacking player still attack with a second monster?
A: The effect of Masked HERO Kamikaze prevents the opponent from attacking with more than 1 monster during each Battle Phase. In this case, its effect was not applying during the first attack, so it is possible for the player to attack with a second monster after it is Special Summoned. (However, afterwards it will not be possible to attack with a third monster.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13308&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a player successfully attacks with a monster while their opponent controls Masked HERO Kamikaze, can that player proceed to attack with a second monster that is unaffected by card effects, such as by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, a Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomiant with 3 or more materials, etc.?
A: The effect of Masked HERO Kamikaze which prevents the opponent from attacking with more than 1 monster during each Battle Phase is not an effect that affects the opponent’s monsters. Therefore, it will not be possible for the opponent to attack with a second monster while this effect is applying (even a monster unaffected by card effects).
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13307&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Forbidden Lance is chained to Form Change, targeting the same monster that was targeted with Form Change, how will Form Change resolve?
A: If the Fusion Monster targeted with Form Change becomes unaffected by Spell/Trap effects with Forbidden Lance, it will not be possible to return it to the Extra Deck when resolving Form Change. Therefore, no “Masked HERO” monster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck either.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13312&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Raigeki Break is chained to Form Change, targeting the same monster that was targeted with Form Change, how will Form Change resolve?
A: If the Fusion Monster targeted with Form Change is destroyed by a chained Raigeki Break, it will not be possible to return it to the Extra Deck when resolving Form Change. Therefore, no “Masked HERO” monster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck either.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13311&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the last effect of Elemental HERO Core be used to Special Summon a monster like Elemental HERO Gaia, even though Elemental HERO Gaia cannot be Special Summoned except by Fusion Summon?
A: Since the effect of Elemental HERO Core ignores the Summoning conditions of the targeted monster, it can be used to Special Summon a monster like Elemental HERO Gaia.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13304&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the last effect of Elemental HERO Core be used to Special Summon a monster like Elemental HERO Gaia, if that Elemental HERO Gaia was sent from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard by the effect of Success Probability 0%?
A: The effect of Elemental HERO Core allows you to ignore the Summoning conditions of the targeted monster, but it must have been Fusion Summoned and then sent to the Graveyard. An Elemental HERO Gaia that was sent from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard by the effect of Success Probability 0% cannot be Special Summoned with the effect of Elemental HERO Core.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13303&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving the first effect of Elemental HERO Stratos, can I choose to destroy 0 Spell/Trap Cards on the field?
A: As long as you control at least 1 “HERO” monster other than Elemental HERO Stratos when resolving this effect, you cannot choose to destroy 0 Spell/Trap Cards on the field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13302&keyword=&tag=0

Q: The opponent controls 3 “Elemental HERO” cards when they activate R – Righteous Justice. In the following situations, is it possible to chain Starlight Road? 1: The opponent controls 1 other Spell/Trap Card while I control 2 Spell/Trap Cards. 2: The opponent controls 2 other Spell/Trap Cards while I also control 2 Spell/Trap Cards.
A: 1: Since 2 Spell/Trap Cards you control will be destroyed by R – Righteous Justice, it is possible to chain Starlight Road. 2: R – Righteous Justice will not necessarily destroy 2 cards you control. It does not target, and the opponent has the option of destroying their Spell/Trap Cards as well. It is not possible to chain Starlight Road.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13301&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons