[OCG] 06/16/16 Rulings

Brushing up on Unions before the Structure Decks hit tomorrow.

06/16/16 Rulings

Q: If I activate Gate of Magical Contact, but then chain Full Salvo so that my hand has no cards in it, how will the effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Gate of Magical Contact, if you have no cards in your hand, you cannot add a Spell Card from your hand to your opponent’s, so you cannot then add a Level 7 or 8 DARK monster from your Deck to your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6277&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Dimension Reflector be activated by targeting a monster with 0 ATK?
A: Yes, it can. The effect of Dimension Reflector Special Summons it as a monster with 0 ATK and DEF, then, when the monster effect of Dimension Reflector activates and resolves, it will inflict 0 damage to your opponent.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10359&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Dimension Guardian is activated by targeting Lord Gaia the Fierce Knight. If my opponent chains Royal Decree, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when Dimension Guardian resolves, its effects will be negated by Royal Decree, but even in this case, it continues to target Lord Gaia the Fierce Knight. Thus, if the effect of Royal Decree stops applying, the effect of Dimension Guardian will start applying.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7267&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Attack Position Kiwi Magician Girl is on my field, and Magician’s Protection is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if my opponent’s Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon attacks my Kiwi Magician Girl, and Kiwi Magician Girl is destroyed by battle, will the effect of Magician’s Protection be applied?
A: In this scenario, as long as you have a face-up Spellcaster-Type monster in your Monster Zone, the effect of Magician’s Protection will be applied even during damage calculation. In this case, the difference between the ATK of Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon (3000) and Kiwi Magician Girl (1800) is 1200, so you take 600 battle damage, then Kiwi Magician Girl is sent to the Graveyard. (Now, because you no longer have a Spellcaster-Type monster on your field, the effect of Magician’s Protection stops applying.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=124&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Metalhold the Moving Battlement is treated as a monster by its own effect, and is equipped with Gold Gadget and Silver Gadget. In this situation, if Skill Drain is activated and the effects of Metalhold the Moving Battlement are negated, what happens to each of its effects?
A: The only effects of Metalhold the Moving Battlement treated as monster effects are the effects that increase its ATK by the total original ATK of the equipped monsters, prevent your opponent’s monsters from attacking other monsters on your field, and prevent your opponent from targeting other monsters on your field with card effects. Therefore, if the effect of Skill Drain is applying, the ATK of Metalhold the Moving Battlement returns to 0, and your opponent will be able to target your other monsters for attacks or with card effects, however the monsters treated as Equip Cards on Metalhold the Moving Battlement will remain equipped to it. (Afterward, if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying, the effects of Metalhold the Moving Battlement will no longer be negated, and its ATK is increased again.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6291&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Magnet Reverse by targeting a Morphtronic Smartfon in my Graveyard that was sent there after being Special Summoned by its own procedure. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow, banishing the targeted Morphtronic Smartfon, how does Magnet Reverse resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the target for Magnet Reverse was selected in the Graveyard, but that target is banished when Magnet Reverse resolves, the effect is not applied. (In this case, Morphtronic Smartfon is not Special Summoned.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11899&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Magnet Force this turn. In this situation, can either player activate a second copy of Magnet Force?
A: During the turn the effect of your Magnet Force is applying, you cannot activate a second Magnet Force, however your opponent can activate their copy of Magnet Force. In that case, since the effect of each copy is applied, all monsters on the field that are originally Rock or Machine-Type become unaffected by both players’ monster effects, except those monsters’ own effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6111&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated Magnet Force this turn. In this situation, if Forbidden Lance is activated by targeting a face-up Alpha the Magnet Warrior on my field, will Alpha the Magnet Warrior be affected by monster effects?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Forbidden Lance is applied, Alpha the Magnet Warrior becomes unaffected by the effect of Magnet Force, so it will be affected by other monsters’ effects.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11947&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Is it possible to activate 2 copies of Tribute Burial in the same turn?
A: After activating Tribute Burial, if you have not performed a Tribute Summon by applying the effect, you cannot activate a second copy of Tribute Burial. After activating Tribute Burial, if you perform a Tribute Summon by applying the effect, you are now able to activate a second copy of Tribute Burial that turn. (As long as you use an effect such as Double Summon this turn, you can then apply the effect of the second Tribute Burial.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6419&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I apply the effect of Tribute Burial to Tribute Summon a monster, the Tribute Summon is negated by Solemn Warning. During the same turn, if I use the effect of Double Summon to Normal Summon once again, can I apply the effect of Tribute Burial?
A: Even if the Tribute Summon that is performed by applying the effect of Tribute Burial is negated, the effect of Tribute Burial is considered to have been applied, and cannot be used again if you Normal Summon a second time using an effect such as Double Summon. Note that if you Normal Summon a second time using Double Summon, if you activated a second copy of Tribute Burial, you can apply the effect of that Tribute Burial.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6249&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I apply the effect of Dark Sanctuary so that Spirit Message “I” is Special Summoned as a Normal Monster by the effect of Destiny Board. During my Battle Phase, can Spirit Message “I” attack an opponent’s face-up Attack Position Gazelle the King of Mythical Beasts?
A: If the effect of Dark Sanctuary is applied and Spirit Message “I”, etc. is treated as a Normal Monster, although it cannot be targeted for an opponent’s attack, Spirit Message “I” can still declare attacks. In this scenario, damage calculation is performed normally, and the difference between the ATK of Gazelle the King of Mythical Beasts (1500) and Spirit Message “I” (0) is inflicted to you as battle damage. Since Spirit Message “I” is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, the second effect of Destiny Board will be applied and send all copies of Destiny Board and “Spirit Message” cards on your field to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=92&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Special Summoning an XYZ-Dragon Cannon by its own procedure, can I banish a face-down Defense Position X-Head Cannon, Y-Dragon Head, or Z-Metal Tank from my field?
A: When Special Summoning XYZ-Dragon Cannon by its own procedure, you can banish a face-down Defense Position X-Head Cannon, etc. on your field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6644&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates Raigeki Break targeting a face-up Y-Dragon Head in my Monster Zone, but I chain Formation Union and choose the effect that equips a Union monster on my field to an appropriate target, what happens? Furthermore, when my opponent activates Raigeki Break targeting an equipped Y-Dragon Head in my Spell & Trap Zone, but I chain Formation Union and choose the effect that Special Summons an equipped Union monster, what happens?
A: If Raigeki Break is activated targeting a Y-Dragon Head in the Monster Zone, but Formation Union is chained, and Y-Dragon Head becomes an Equip Card, the effect of Raigeki Break does not apply. Furthermore, if Raigeki Break is activated targeting an equipped Y-Dragon Head in the Spell & Trap Zone, but Formation Union is chained, and Y-Dragon Head is Special Summoned as a monster, the effect of Raigeki Break does not apply.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6648&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Caius the Mega Monarch is Tribute Summoned, and its effect is activated by targeting a Heavy Mech Support Platform treated as an Equip Card in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this case, how does the effect of Caius the Mega Monarch resolve?
A: In this scenario, the targeted Heavy Mech Support Platform is banished by the effect of Caius the Mega Monarch, and 1000 damage is inflicted to your opponent. In addition, since the banished Heavy Mech Support Platform is a DARK Monster Card, the part of the effect that banishes all additional copies of it from your opponent’s hand, Deck, Extra Deck, and Graveyard is applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12294&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Blackwing – Oroshi the Squall and Blackwing – Jetstream the Blue Sky were used to Synchro Summon Assault Blackwing – Sayo the Rain-Shroud, and it is treated as a Tuner monster by its own effect. Afterward, if Assault Blackwing – Sayo the Rain-Shroud is banished until the End Phase by the effect of my opponent’s Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, will it still be treated as a Tuner monster by its own effect when it returns to the field?
A: In this scenario, if Assault Blackwing – Sayo the Rain-Shroud was Synchro Summoned using “Blackwing” monsters as Synchro Materials, and then banished until the End Phase by the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, it will no longer be treated as a Tuner monster when it returns to the field. (The effect that treats it as a Tuner monster cannot be applied again.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6656&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons