[OCG] 06/05/2014 Rulings

06/05/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If Shaddoll Falcon is flipped face-up, can it use its effect to Special Summon El Shaddoll Midrash or El Shaddoll Nephilim?
A: Yes, you can target a Fusion Monster with Shaddoll Falcon’s effect, so El Shaddoll Midrash or El Shaddoll Nephilim can be Special Summoned.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13282&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a monster was Special Summoned face-down with The Shallow Grave, and that monster is attacked by El Shaddoll Nephilim, will the second effect of El Shaddoll Nephilim activate at the start of the Damage Step? Also, if a monster was Special Summoned by Monster Reborn and then later changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon, and that monster is attacked by El Shaddoll Nephilim, will the second effect of El Shaddoll Nephilim activate at the start of the Damage Step?
A: A monster Special Summoned face-down by The Shallow Grave is still treated as a Special Summoned monster. Likewise, a monster Special Summoned by Monster Reborn and then later changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon is still treated as a Special Summoned monster. Thus, in both cases, if the monster is attacked by El Shaddoll Nephilim, the second effect of El Shaddoll Nephilim will activate at the start of the Damage Step.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13281&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a monster was Special Summoned to your opponent’s side of the field from the Extra Deck and then later changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon, is it possible to activate Shaddoll Fusion and still use monsters in the Main Deck as Fusion Materials when resolving it?
A: A monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck, but then changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon, is no longer treated as having been Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. (However, it does remain treated as a Special Summoned monster.) Therefore, in this case, Shaddoll Fusion cannot use monsters in the Main Deck as the Fusion Materials. If you do not already have monsters on the field or in the hand available to be used as the Fusion Materials, Shaddoll Fusion cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13285&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose that the opponent controls only 1 monster that was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. I activate Shaddoll Fusion, and the opponent chains Book of Moon to change their Special Summoned monster to face-down Defense Position. In this case, is it still possible to use monsters in the Main Deck as Fusion Materials for Shaddoll Fusion?
A: A monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck, but then changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon, is no longer treated as having been Special Summoned from the Extra Deck. In this example, since a monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck no longer exists on the opponent’s side of the field when resolving Shaddoll Fusion, monsters in the Main Deck cannot be used as Fusion Materials. You must use monsters you control or in your hand as Fusion Materials. (If you cannot, Shaddoll Fusion does not resolve.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13284&keyword=&tag=0

Q: After resolving, when Shaddoll Roots becomes an Effect Monster and is Special Summoned to a Monster Card Zone, what happens when it is targeted by Effect Veiler?
A: The effect that allows Shaddoll Roots to be substituted for any Attribute Fusion Material for the Fusion Summon of a “Shaddoll” monster is negated. The sentence, “This card is also still a Trap Card.” is not treated as a monster effect, so Effect Veiler will not negate that.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13271&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Set Call of the Haunted is targeted by Mystical Space Typhoon, and Call of the Haunted is chained targeting Stellarknight Altair, is it possible to activate the effect of Stellarknight Altair afterwards?
A: If Call of the Haunted is activated as Chain Link 2 and Stellarknight Altair is successfully Special Summoned, then its effect can be activated after this chain resolves.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13277&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Stellarknight Delteros is successfully Xyz Summoned, and the turn player also does not perform any action, is the turn player then able to activate the effect of Stellarknight Delteros to destroy a card on the field before their opponent has a chance to use an effect like Raigeki Break?
A: When Stellarknight Delteros is successfully Xyz Summoned, the opponent is unable to activate cards or effects in response to the Summon as long as Stellarknight Delteros has Xyz Material. If the turn player also does not wish to activate any cards/effects at this time, the game state opens and the turn player may make the next play. Thus, they may activate the effect of Stellarknight Delteros to destroy a card on the field before the opponent is able to activate any cards/effects.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13276&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose an opponent’s Airknight Parshath attacks Stellarknight Altair, and Stellarknight Altair is destroyed by battle. After damage calculation, when the effect of Airknight Parshath activates, is it possible to chain Celestial Factor, by sending the destroyed Stellarknight Altair to the Graveyard?
A: In this case, it is not possible to send the destroyed Stellarknight Altair to the Graveyard to activate Celestial Factor before it is sent to the Graveyard by battle. (You can still activate Celestial Factor by sending a different “Tellarknight” monster to the Graveyard.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13272&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose the effect of D.D. Crow is activated, and Celestial Factor is chained. How does Celestial Factor resolve?
A: Celestial Factor will negate the activation of D.D. Crow’s effect. Note that you cannot draw a card afterwards.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13274&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose the effect of Golden Ladybug is activated, and Celestial Factor is chained. How does Celestial Factor resolve?
A: Celestial Factor will negate the activation of Golden Ladybug’s effect, and Golden Ladybug is destroyed and sent from the hand to the Graveyard. Then, the effect to draw a card is applied normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13273&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose the effect of Warrior Lady of the Wasteland is activated, and Celestial Factor is chained. How does Celestial Factor resolve?
A: Celestial Factor will negate the activation of Warrior Lady of the Wasteland’s effect. Note that you cannot draw a card afterwards.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13275&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Star Seraph Scepter is Summoned, and then uses its first effect to add Star Seraph Sovereign from the Deck to the hand, is it possible to activate the effect of Star Seraph Sovereign that Special Summons it from the hand at that time?
A: In this case, since Star Seraph Sovereign was not in the hand when Star Seraph Scepter was Summoned, it is not possible to activate the effect of Star Seraph Sovereign that Special Summons it from the hand at that time.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13280&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Star Seraph Scepter is Summoned, and then uses its first effect to add a “Star Seraph” monster from the Deck to the hand, but I also activate the effect of a Star Seraph Sovereign in my hand at the same time by chaining to Star Seraph Scepter, is it possible to activate the effect of a Star Seraph Sovereign that is added to my hand by the effect of Star Seraph Scepter afterwards?
A: In this case, if Star Seraph Scepter is Chain Link 1 and the Star Seraph Sovereign in your hand is Chain Link 2, you will first Special Summon Star Seraph Sovereign by its effect and draw 1 card, then add the second Star Seraph Sovereign to your hand by the effect of Star Seraph Scepter. Because you Special Summoned a “Star Seraph” monster during the previous chain, the timing for the second Star Seraph Sovereign that was added to your hand is still correct, and you can activate its effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13279&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Skill Drain is active when Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomiant is Xyz Summoned using 3 or more monsters as Xyz Material, are its effects negated? Also, if Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomiant is Xyz Summoned using 3 or more monsters as Xyz Material, and Skill Drain is later activated, are its effects negated?
A: If Skill Drain is active when Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomiant is Xyz Summoned, all of its effects determined by the number of Xyz Materials it has are negated, even if you use 3 or more monsters as Xyz Materials. If Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomiant is Xyz Summoned using 3 or more monsters as Xyz Material, and Skill Drain is later activated, Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomiant is unaffected by Skill Drain and its effects are not negated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13283&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If The Monarchs Storm Forth is used, and a monster on the opponent’s side of the field is Tributed for the Tribute Summon, is that Tributed monster treated as being sent to the Graveyard by a card effect?
A: No, a monster Tributed this way is not treated as being sent to the Graveyard by a card effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13278&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Sapphira the Dragon Princess is Ritual Summoned, but before the End Phase it changes control to the opponent’s side of the field because of Enemy Controller, is it possible to activate the effect of Sapphira the Dragon Princess during the End Phase?
A: In this case, the opponent is able to activate the effect of Sapphira the Dragon Princess before applying the effect of Enemy Controller to return control of the monster to the other player. In this case, once control of Sapphira the Dragon Princess returns to the turn player, its effect cannot be activated again.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13270&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons