Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 06/26/22 Rulings Update

Ash Blossom is making a list and checking it twice.

 

Q: Winged Kuriboh LV9 is face-up on the field, and its effect that banishes Spells that have been activated is applying. In this situation, if I send a Spell to the Graveyard as the cost to activate a card effect, is it banished? Also, if a Spell is sent to the Graveyard during the resolution of an effect, is that card banished?
A: While the effect of Winged Kuriboh LV9 is applying, if a Spell Card is face-up on the field as a result of being activated, that Spell is banished when it would be sent to the Graveyard. On the other hand, Spell Cards that are Set or were placed face-up on the field by a method other than being activated are not banished, and are sent to the Graveyard normally.
Therefore, a Spell Card placed on the field by activating it cannot be sent to the Graveyard as the cost of activating another effect. (Since it cannot be sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be used to pay the cost of activating said effect.)
Also, if a Spell Card placed on the field by activating it would be sent to the Graveyard by resolving another card effect, that card is banished instead of sent to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: When the effect of Musical Sumo Dice Games that is already unaffected by Spell/Trap effects due to the effect of Forbidden Lance is activated at the start of the Battle Phase, I chain and activate Dice Re-Roll. After Dice Re-Roll resolves, when I perform the die roll with the effect of Musical Sumo Dice Games, can I re-roll the die with the effect of Dice Re-Roll?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Dice Re-Roll does not affect monsters.

Source

 

Q: When destroying a “Crystal Beast” monster in my Monster Zone with the effect of either Crystal Protection or Crystal Miracle, I apply the effect of that “Crystal Beast” monster and place it face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone as a Continuous Spell. Afterward, Crystal Protection / Crystal Miracle is sent to the Graveyard, but since a “Crystal Beast” monster was placed in my Spell & Trap Zone, can I activate the effect of Crystal Protection / Crystal Miracle in the Graveyard?
A: No, you cannot. Effects that can be activated in the Graveyard when the conditions are met, such as the second effects of Crystal Protection and Crystal Miracle, can only be activated if those cards are already in the Graveyard when their activation conditions are met.
In the above scenario, the effect of Crystal Protection / Crystal Miracle is applied while that card is still in the Spell & Trap Zone, and a “Crystal Beast” monster is placed in the Spell & Trap Zone then. After the Chain finishes resolving, Crystal Protection / Crystal Miracle is sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, a “Crystal Beast” monster is not placed in the Spell & Trap Zone while Crystal Protection / Crystal Miracle is in your Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: When Special Summoning a Rainbow Dragon Overdrive, can I banish a Crystal Beast Token?
A: You can banish a Crystal Beast Token in your Monster Zone for the Special Summon. The Crystal Beast Token will disappear as a result, but Rainbow Dragon Overdrive is Special Summoned successfully.

Source

 

Q: Can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be chained to the activation of Spellbook of Judgment?
A: Yes, it can. The effect of Spellbook of Judgment adds “Spellbook” Spell Cards from the Deck to the hand and Special Summons a Spellcaster monster from the Deck during the End Phase, rather than during the resolution of Spellbook of Judgment. However, such an effect is still considered one that adds cards from the Deck to the hand or Special Summons a monster from the Deck.
If the following effects are activated outside of the Damage Step, you can also chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring to them:
– Maxx “C”
– First effect of Infernoble Knight Captain Roland
– First effect of Crystal Girl
– Second effect of PSY-Framelord Lambda
– First effect of Majester Paladin, the Ascending Dracoslayer
– Third effect of Gravekeeper’s Supernaturalist
– First effect of Majespecter Cat – Nekomata
– Second effect of Ankuriboh
– Monster effect of Raremetalfoes Bismugear
– Monster effect of Dragodies, the Empowered Warrior
– Second effect of Byssted Magnumut
– Super Rejuvenation
– Frozen Rose

Source

 

Q: While Clockwork Night is on the field, I activate Oasis of Dragon Souls and Special Summon a monster from my Graveyard. What will be the Special Summoned monster’s Type?
A: It becomes a Wyrm monster.

Source

 

Q: I sent Amazoness Golden Whip Master and Amazoness Silver Sword Master to the Graveyard as Fusion Materials to Fusion Summon Amazoness King Liger. In this case, can I activate the effects of Amazoness Golden Whip Master and Amazoness Silver Sword Master that place them in my Pendulum Zone from the Graveyard when an “Amazoness” monster is Special Summoned to my field?
A: Yes, you can. During the process of performing a Fusion Summon, sending Fusion Material monsters to the Graveyard and Special Summoning the Fusion Monster do not occur simultaneously. In the above situation, Amazoness King Liger is Special Summoned while Amazoness Golden Whip Master and Amazoness Silver Sword Master are in the Graveyard, which satisfies the requirement for activating their effects.

Source

 

Q: A Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom that gained the name and effects of Victory Viper XX03 by its own effect, along with an Option Token that was Special Summoned by its effect, are face-up in my Monster Zone. During the End Phase of this turn, when the effect of Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom stops applying and it reverts to its original name and effects, what happens to the Option Token?
A: It remains on the field. Afterward, the Option Token’s Type, Attribute, Level, ATK, and DEF will always be the same as those of Supreme King Dragon Starving Venom.

Source

Note: This is a reversal, by the way. Along with adding this one, they removed 2 invalid rulings describing Victory Viper XX03’s effect copied by Majestic Star Dragon and Neo-Spacian Dark Panther, respectively.

 

Q: A Windwitch – Crystal Bell whose name is treated as Gradius by its own effect, and a Gradius’ Option that was Special Summoned by selecting it, are face-up in my Monster Zone. During the End Phase of this turn, when the effect of Windwitch – Crystal Bell stops applying and its name reverts to Windwitch – Crystal Bell, what happens to Gradius’ Option?
A: It remains on the field. Afterward, the ATK and DEF of Gradius’ Option will always the same as those of Windwitch – Crystal Bell.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.