Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 06/13/22 Rulings Update

Some recent updates.

 

Q: When resolving Rank-Up-Magic Soul Shave Force, Raidraptor – Force Strix (DARK) is Special Summoned to a zone The Phantom Knights of Rusty Bardiche points to, then Cyber Dragon Infinity (LIGHT) is Special Summoned by using it as a material. In this case, can I activate the effect of The Phantom Knights of Rusty Bardiche that destroys a card on the field?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of The Phantom Knights of Rusty Bardiche is a Trigger Effect that can be activated in the Monster Zone, and in order to activate this effect, The Phantom Knights of Rusty Bardiche must be in the Monster Zone at the correct timing after the activation requirements are satisfied.
In the above situation, the requirement to activate the effect is Special Summoning a DARK Xyz Monster to a zone The Phantom Knights of Rusty Bardiche points to, satisfied by Special Summoning Raidraptor – Force Strix. After Xyz Summoning, The Phantom Knights of Rusty Bardiche is still in the Monster Zone, so its effect can be activated.

Source

 

Q: When I activate the effect of Red Supernova Dragon that banishes itself and all cards my opponent controls, my opponent chains the effect of Fullmetalfoes Alkahest. If Red Supernova Dragon is placed in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone due to the effect of Fullmetalfoes Alkahest, how does its own effect resolve?
A: The effect of Red Supernova Dragon banishes itself and all cards the opponent controls, from the perspective of the player who activated the effect. However, in this case, Red Supernova Dragon is banished because it is included in “cards your opponent controls”, and not banished as “this card”, so it is not treated as being banished by its own effect. Therefore, the effect that Special Summons it during your End Phase will not activate.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Red Supernova Dragon that banishes itself and all cards my opponent controls. If Red Supernova Dragon is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, what happens?
A: The effect is still applied in this case, and the face-down Defense Position Red Supernova Dragon and all cards your opponent controls are banished. (Red Supernova Dragon is banished face-up.) Also, during your next End Phase, the effect that Special Summons it will still activate.

Source

 

Q: After Cyberdark End Dragon is equipped with a monster by its own effect, I also equip it with Super Strident Blaze. In this situation, if my opponent controls 3 monsters, can my Cyberdark End Dragon attack monsters 3 times?
A: Yes, it can. To attack 3 times, first attack twice using the effect of Cyberdark End Dragon, and at the end of the Damage Step of the second attack, you activate and apply the effect of Super Strident Blaze. You cannot activate the effect of Super Strident Blaze at the end of the Damage Step of the first attack.

Source

 

Q: I control 2 copies of Simorgh, Bird of Ancestry, and each one’s effect that allows me to Tribute Summon WIND monsters with 1 less Tribute is applying. In this situation, if I Normal Summon a Level 7 or higher WIND monster, can I Normal Summon it without Tributing?
A: No, you cannot. Even if you control 2 or more copies of Simorgh, Bird of Ancestry, only 1 Tribute is reduced when Tribute Summoning.

Source

 

Q: Can the effects of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring or Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained to the activation of Exchange of the Spirit?
A: Neither effect can be chained. The effect of Exchange of the Spirit swaps each player’s Deck and Graveyard. It is not treated as an effect that adds a card from the Graveyard to the hand, Deck, or Extra Deck, nor one that sends a card from the Deck to the Graveyard.

Source

 

Q: If an Embodiment of Apophis Special Summoned by its own effect (Reptile-Type) or a Quantum Cat activated by declaring Reptile-Type and Special Summoned are sent to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Viper’s Grudge that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower Reptile monster from my Deck?
A: If Embodiment of Apophis or Quantum Cat were destroyed by battle, you can activate the effect of Viper’s Grudge. (If a Reptile monster in the Monster Zone is destroyed by battle, the effect can be activated because a “Reptile monster you control is destroyed by battle”.)
If Embodiment of Apophis or Quantum Cat are sent to the Graveyard by any means other than being destroyed by battle, you cannot activate the effect of Viper’s Grudge. (In order to activate the effect when a “Reptile monster you control is sent to the Graveyard”, the monster must be Reptile-Type both in the Monster Zone and in the Graveyard. In the above situation, Embodiment of Apophis and Quantum Cat are treated as Reptile monsters while in the Monster Zone, but not treated as monsters in the Graveyard so they have no Type.)

Source

 

Q: While the effect of El Shaddoll Winda is applying, can I activate the first effect of an Exosister Malfa in my hand? If I can activate it, how does it resolve?
A: You can activate the effect. In this case, the effect of Exosister Malfa resolves normally. (The number of Special Summons occurring is 1, and it is treated as an effect Special Summoning 2 monsters at the same time.) The same also applies in situations where you can only Special Summon once due to the effect of Summon Limit.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.