[OCG] 05/29/2014 Rulings

05/29/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If Dark Magician is targeted with The Eye of Timaeus, is it possible to Fusion Summon Dark Paladin?
A: Yes, it is.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13264&keyword=&tag=0

Q: By its own effect, Elemental HERO Prisma has changed its name to Dark Magician, and is then targeted with The Eye of Timaeus. If Book of Moon is chained, so that Elemental HERO Prisma is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does The Eye of Timaeus resolve?
A: An Elemental HERO Prisma that has changed its name to Dark Magician can be targeted with The Eye of Timaeus. However, if Book of Moon is chained, so that Elemental HERO Prisma is changed to face-down Defense Position, and name reverts to the original. Because it is not treated as a “Dark Magician” monster, Elemental HERO Prisma is not sent to the Graveyard, and no Fusion Monster is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13268&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is being applied, is it possible to activate the effect of Kuribandit during the End Phase?
A: Even while the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is being applied, it is possible to activate the effect of Kuribandit during the End Phase. In that case, since Thunder King Rai-Oh makes it impossible to add a card from the Deck to the hand except by drawing, even if a Spell/Trap Card is excavated by Kuribandit, all 5 excavated cards have to be sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13269&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Wiretap is activated in a chain to Artifact Sanctum, even though the activation is negated, is it possible to activate the second effect of Artifact Sanctum to destroy 1 card on the field?
A: A card whose activation is negated by Wiretap is not destroyed, but shuffled into the Deck. Thus, you cannot activate the second effect of Artifact Sanctum to destroy 1 card on the field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13267&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Suppose a “Stardust” monster does not exist on the field, but a player tries to Synchro Summon Stardust Dragon. If the effect of Thunder King Rai-Oh is activated to negate that Summon, is it possible to chain Shooting Star?
A: In this case, since Stardust Dragon is not considered to be on the field yet, Shooting Star cannot be chained to Thunder King Rai-Oh.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13257&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Rank-Up-Magic Admiration of the Thousands is activated, must the same number of Xyz Monsters with the same Rank be targeted from each player’s Graveyard? For example, if you target 2 Xyz Monsters in your own Graveyard, do you also have to target 2 Xyz Monsters in your opponent’s Graveyard?
A: To activate Rank-Up-Magic Admiration of the Thousands, at least 1 Xyz Monster from each Graveyard must be targeted, but you do not have to target the same number of monsters from each Graveyard. For example, you cannot select 0 monsters in your Graveyard and 2 monsters in your opponent’s Graveyard, but you can select 1 monster in your Graveyard and 3 in your opponent’s.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13258&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When an opponent’s monster declares an attack on a face-up Attack Position monster you control, and you activate Doble Passe. If you also then chain Magic Cylinder, how would Doble Passe resolve?
A: In this case, if Magic Cylinder is chained to Doble Passe, the attack is negated, which means the attacking monster and the attack target cease to exist as such. Therefore, you cannot inflict damage to your opponent equal to the attack target’s ATK, and the attack does not become a direct attack. Note however that the monster that was attacked can still attack directly during your next turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13261&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When an opponent’s monster declares an attack on a face-up Attack Position monster you control with 0 ATK, can you activate Doble Passe?
A: Yes, you can. Since it is not possible to inflict any damage, the attack in progress does not become a direct attack, and therefore the two monsters battle normally. Note however that your monster, if it remains face-up on the field, can still attack directly during your next turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13260&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Black Rose Dragon is Synchro Summoned, using Blackwing – Steam the Cloak as a material. In this case, if the effect of Black Rose Dragon to destroy all cards on the field is activated, as well as the effect of Blackwing – Steam the Cloak to Special Summon a Token, how do you resolve the chain?
A: The effect of Blackwing – Steam the Cloak will activate as Chain Link 1, and if you activate the effect of Black Rose Dragon, it will be Chain Link 2. Therefore, after Black Rose Dragon destroys every card on the field, you will Special Summon 1 Steam Token to your side of the field.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13262&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Guardian Eatos is activated by sending Celestial Sword – Eatos to the Graveyard as a cost, is it possible to activate the effect of Celestial Sword – Eatos?
A: If the effect of Guardian Eatos is activated by sending Celestial Sword – Eatos to the Graveyard as a cost, the effect of Celestial Sword – Eatos cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13265&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Construction Train Signal Red activates its effect and damage calculation is performed, is it possible to use the effects of Honest or Neo-Spacian Grand Mole during this battle?
A: When resolving Construction Train Signal Red, you proceed to and perform damage calculation with its effect. Therefore, it is not possible to activate effects like Honest or Neo-Spacian Grand Mole.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13266&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Vanity’s Emptiness is chained to Legend of Heart, how does Legend of Heart resolve?
A: In this case, it is not possible to Special Summon any monsters, nor do you banish any “Legendary Dragon” Spell Cards from your Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13259&keyword=&tag=0
(Note: This contradicts the English card’s text.)

Q: Even if there is only 1 monster face-up on the field, can the last effect of Sabatiel – The Philosopher’s Stone be activated?
A: Yes, the effect can be activated. In this case, that 1 monster will be the monster on the field with the highest ATK, so it gains ATK equal to its own ATK.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13263&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons