[OCG] 05/28/15 Rulings

More “attack me” rulings, and an assortment of others.


05/28/15 assorted rulings:

Q: If the effect of Performage Trapeze Magician is activated which allows a monster to attack twice during each Battle Phase this turn but destroys it at the end of the Battle Phase, can the effect of Stardust Dragon be chained to it?
A: The effect of Performage Trapeze Magician does not destroy the targeted monster when it resolves. Therefore, the effect of Stardust Dragon cannot be chained to it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=217&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon is destroyed by battle with Dark Ruler Ha Des, and is placed face-up in the Extra Deck, will the effect of Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon that places it in the Pendulum Zone be negated by the effect of Dark Ruler Ha Des?
A: The effect of Dark Ruler Ha Des does not negate the effects of Pendulum Monsters that have been destroyed by battle and placed face-up in the Extra Deck. Therefore, the effect of Odd-Eyes Rebellion Dragon that places it in the Pendulum Zone can be activated and applied normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10697&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I have 2 copies of Volcanic Doomfire face-up on my side of the field. In this case, how can my opponent’s monsters attack during my opponent’s Battle Phase?
A: In this scenario, the effects of both copies of Volcanic Doomfire are applied. Therefore, during the Battle Phase of this turn, when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, the player that controls both copies of Volcanic Doomfire selects which copy becomes the attack target, and the attack is carried out.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=274&keyword=&tag=0

Q: The effect of Forbidden Lance is applying, and an opponent’s monster that is unaffected by Spell/Trap effects attacks a Synchro Monster. When the attack is declared, if I activate Synchro Deflector, how does it resolve?
A: In this scenario, since the attacking monster is unaffected by the effects of Trap Cards due to Forbidden Lance, its attack cannot be negated by the effect of Synchro Deflector. In that case, the part of the effect that destroys 1 monster on your opponent’s side of the field cannot be applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12315&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Number 57: Tri-Head Dust Dragon that makes an opponent’s Monster or Spell & Trap Zone unusable is activated, but when resolving this effect there is a card in the selected zone, what happens?
A: When resolving the effect of Number 57: Tri-Head Dust Dragon, if your opponent has activated Call of the Haunted and Special Summoned a monster in the selected zone, or activated Dust Tornado and Set a new card in the selected zone, the effect of Number 57: Tri-Head Dust Dragon will still be applied, but the card in that zone will remain in place. (Then, if that card later leaves the field, the selected zone cannot be used again.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=244&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I have 2 copies of Ancient Gear Castle on my side of the field, each with 1 counter on them. Can I Tribute Summon an Ancient Gear Golem by substituting both copies of Ancient Gear Castle with 1 counter on each of them for the required Tributes?
A: Since Ancient Gear Golem requires 2 Tributes to Tribute Summon, when using the effect of Ancient Gear Castle to substitute itself for the Tributes, there must be 2 or more counters on it. Therefore, in this scenario, you cannot use 2 copies of Ancient Gear Castle that each only have 1 counter on them.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7974&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I have Elemental HERO Inferno equipped with Ring of Magnetism, and Elemental HERO Terra Firma face-up on my side of the field. During my opponent’s Battle Phase, if I activate Terra Firma Gravity, which monster can my opponent’s Level 4 or lower monsters attack?
A: In this situation, any Level 4 or lower monsters on your opponent’s side of the field that can attack must select Elemental HERO Terra Firma as their attack target. However, while the effect of Ring of Magnetism is applying, if a Level 4 or lower monster attacks, the attack target will become Elemental HERO Inferno equipped with Ring of Magnetism rather than Elemental HERO Terra Firma.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8386&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I have Evil HERO Lightning Golem equipped with Ring of Magnetism, and Evil HERO Malicious Fiend face-up on my side of the field. In this case, if my opponent conducts their Battle Phase, which monster can my opponent’s monsters attack?
A: In this situation, any monsters on your opponent’s side of the field are switched to Attack Position and must select Evil HERO Malicious Edge as their attack target. However, while the effect of Ring of Magnetism is applying, if an opponent’s monster attacks, the attack target will become Evil HERO Lightning Golem equipped with Ring of Magnetism rather than Evil HERO Malicious Edge.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7477&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my Number 49: Fortune Tune is sent from the field to the Graveyard, even if I only have 1 Level 3 monster in my Graveyard, or even if I do not have any Level 3 monsters in my Graveyard, how will the effect of Number 49: Fortune Tune resolve?
A: If Number 49: Fortune Tune is sent from the field to the Graveyard, even if you have 1 or no Level 3 monsters in your Graveyard, its effect activates and creates a chain. (However, since you cannot target 2 Level 3 monsters, no targets are selected, and the effect is not applied.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10038&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate Shining Silver Force in a chain to The Paths of Destiny?
A: The effect of The Paths of Destiny determines whether or not a player will take damage or gain Life Points based on the result of the coin toss, which is performed when the effect resolves. Shining Silver Force cannot be chained to a Trap Card if it is uncertain that the effect will inflict damage.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8370&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate Shining Silver Force in a chain to Skull Invitation?
A: After Skull Invitation resolves, each time a card(s) is sent to the Graveyard, its owner takes 300 damage per card. Since Skull Invitation does not inflict any damage when it resolves as a card, Shining Silver Force cannot be chained to it.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8378&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Destiny HERO – Double Dude is treated as an Equip Card equipped to Relinquished, and is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, can its effect that Special Summons 2 Double Dude Tokens be activated during my next Standby Phase?
A: If Destiny HERO – Double Dude is treated as an Equip Card and destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, you can still activate its effect that Special Summons 2 Double Dude Tokens during your next Standby Phase.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11652&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Amazoness Sage attacks, but is destroyed by battle, will its effect activate at the end of the Damage Step?
A: No, it will not activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7419&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate the effect of Light End Dragon when it battles an opponent’s monster, but I chain Enemy Controller and take control of the opponent’s monster that it is battling, how does the effect of Light End Dragon resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Light End Dragon, if you have taken control of the opponent’s monster that it was battling with Enemy Controller, the part of the effect that makes Light End Dragon lose 500 ATK and DEF is applied, but the part of the effect that makes the other monster lose 1500 ATK and DEF until the end of this turn is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9133&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate the effect of Light End Dragon when it battles an opponent’s monster, but my opponent chains Enemy Controller and takes control of Light End Dragon, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Light End Dragon, if your opponent has taken control of your Light End Dragon with Enemy Controller, the part of the effect that makes Light End Dragon lose 500 ATK and DEF is applied, but the part of the effect that makes the other monster lose 1500 ATK and DEF until the end of this turn is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9123&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Naturia Beetle (ATK 400/DEF 1800) is targeted with Rush Recklessly, what happens to its ATK and DEF?
A: If the effect of Rush Recklessly is applied to Naturia Beetle, it gains 700 ATK, so its ATK and DEF will be 1100 and 1800, respectively. The effect of Naturia Beetle that switches its original ATK and DEF will be applied afterward, and its ATK and DEF are recalculated. In this case, after the original ATK and DEF of Naturia Beetle are switched, the ATK increase from Rush Recklessly is reapplied. Therefore, Naturia Beetle will have 2500 ATK and 400 DEF.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I have Naturia Forest face-up in my Field Zone. If the following chain is created, and the activation of my opponent’s cards are negated more than once, will the effect of Naturia Forest activate more than once as well?
Chain Link 1: My opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon.
Chain Link 2: The effect of my Naturia Beast.
Chain Link 3: My opponent’s Divine Wrath.
Chain Link 4: My Solemn Judgment.
A: In this scenario, even if you negate the activation of your opponent’s cards more than once on the same chain, the effect of Naturia Forest will only activate once after the chain resolves. (Therefore, you will only add 1 Level 3 or lower “Naturia” monster from your Deck to your hand.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=38&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow to my Resonator Engine, so that one of the monsters targeted by Resonator Engine is no longer in the Graveyard, how does its effect resolve? Also, if my opponent chains Big Burn to my Resonator Engine, so that neither of the monsters targeted by Resonator Engine are in the Graveyard, how does its effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Resonator Engine, even if one of the targeted monsters is no longer in the Graveyard, you will still add a Level 4 monster from your Deck to your hand normally. When the part of the effect that returns the targets to the Deck is applied, the remaining target in the Graveyard is returned to the Deck. Also, if both of the targeted monsters are no longer in the Graveyard, you will still add a Level 4 monster from your Deck to your hand normally. (But the effect that returns the targeted monsters to the Deck cannot be applied.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11355&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I activate Portable Battery Pack by targeting a Batteryman C and Batteryman D in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow, and banishes the targeted Batteryman C, how does Portable Battery Pack resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Portable Battery Pack, even if one of the targeted monsters is no longer in the Graveyard, the other targeted monster is still Special Summoned. (In this case, it means only Batteryman D is Special Summoned.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8587&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate the effect of Necro Defender by targeting a face-down Defense Position monster on my side of the field?
A: You can target a face-down Defense Position monster with the effect of Necro Defender. In that case, its effect is applied normally, and even if the targeted monster is attacked and flipped face-up during your opponent’s next turn, it will not be destroyed by battle.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10971&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons