[OCG] 05/18/17 Weekly Rulings Update

New rulings that give Tokens mysterious powers.

05/18/17 Rulings

Q: My opponent activated Magician Navigation, Special Summoning a Dark Magician from their hand, then a Dark Magician Girl from their Deck. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Cracking Dragon?
A: Since the 2 Special Summons performed by the effect of Magician Navigation do not happen simultaneously, you can activate the effect of Cracking Dragon. In this scenario, the effect is activated in response to the Special Summon of Dark Magician Girl, so when the effect of Cracking Dragon resolves, Dark Magician Girl loses 1200 ATK and your opponent takes 1200 damage.
Incidentally, if Magician Navigation was activated as Chain Link 1, the effect of Cracking Dragon can be activated and resolved as described above, but if Magician Navigation was Chain Link 2 or higher, you cannot activate the effect of Cracking Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13874&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Mistake is face-up on the field, can I activate Emerging Emergency Rescute Rescue? Also, if Mistake is chained to Emerging Emergency Rescute Rescue, how does its effect resolve?
A: You cannot activate Emerging Emergency Rescute Rescue while the effect of Mistake is applying. Also, if the effect of Mistake is applying when Emerging Emergency Rescute Rescue resolves, the effect of Emerging Emergency Rescute Rescue is not applied. (Do not reveal any monsters from your Deck.)

This is a reversal of what was originally published when Code of the Duelist released, as posted by us here: https://ygorganization.com/ocg-code-duelist-rulings/

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20907&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I attacked my opponent’s Injection Fairy Lily with Performapal Odd-Eyes Minotaur. In this case, if the effects of both of those monsters are activated during damage calculation, how is the Chain built?
A: The effect of Performapal Odd-Eyes Minotaur that can be activated during damage calculation is a Trigger Effect, whereas the effect of Injection Fairy Lily is a Quick Effect. Therefore, in this scenario, you will first choose whether or not to activate the effect of Performapal Odd-Eyes Minotaur, and if you do, your opponent can chain the effect of Injection Fairy Lily to it. The effect of Performapal Odd-Eyes Minotaur cannot be activated by chaining to the effect of Injection Fairy Lily.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14151&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the monster effect of Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon, targeting an opponent’s D/D/D Superdeath King Whitest Armageddon, gaining its name, effects, and ATK equal to its ATK. In this situation, what happens if Skill Drain is activated afterward and the effects of Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon are negated?
A: In this scenario, when the effects of Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon are negated, the ATK increase from its effect disappears, so its ATK returns to 3300. However, Odd-Eyes Venom Dragon will continue to have the name and effects of D/D/D Superdeath King Whitest Armageddon until the End Phase.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14916&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent Pendulum Summons a Wisdom-Eye Magician and Dragonpulse Magician, I activate the monster effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Whitest Armageddon. When resolving the effect, which Pendulum Monster can my opponent choose?
A: In this scenario, there are 2 Pendulum Monsters on your opponent’s field when the effect of D/D/D Superdeath King Whitest Armageddon resolves, so your opponent can choose either one. If Wisdom-Eye Magician is chosen, since Dragonpulse Magician is a Normal Monster, its effects cannot be negated. Conversely, if Dragonpulse Magician is chosen, the effects of Wisdom-Eye Magician are negated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18042&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Abyss Actor – Superstar, and Set an Abyss Script – Abyss Entertainment from my Deck. If I activate that Abyss Script – Abyss Entertainment, what happens during the End Phase?
A: Abyss Script – Abyss Entertainment is a Continuous Spell Card, so it will remain face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone after activation, but due to the effect of Abyss Actor – Superstar, it is still sent to the Graveyard during the End Phase.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10046&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Skill Drain is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, if White Aura Whale is Special Summoned from the Graveyard and treated as a Tuner monster by its own effect, will it continue to be treated as a Tuner?
A: Even if the effect of Skill Drain is applying, and the effects of the Special Summoned White Aura Whale are negated, it is still treated as a Tuner by the effect that Special Summoned it from the Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11937&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Quiet Life is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, I Special Summon a Gilasaurus from my hand with its effect. After the second effect of Gilasaurus activates and resolves, how will the effect of Quiet Life be applied?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Quiet Life that prevents a player from Normal Summoning this turn is first applied to you because you Special Summoned Gilasaurus from your hand by its own effect. If your opponent chooses to Special Summon a monster from their Graveyard when the second effect of Gilasaurus resolves, the effect of Quiet Life will apply to them as well. If your opponent chooses not to Special Summon a monster, the effect of Quiet Life is not applied to them.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8173&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent Normal Summoned a Beast King Barbaros without Tributes this turn. During the Battle Phase, when Beast King Barbaros attacks my Destiny HERO – Dasher, Forbidden Scripture is activated. In this case, can I chain the effect of my Destiny HERO – Dreamer in my Graveyard?
A: The effect of Destiny HERO – Dreamer is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard during damage calculation. In this scenario, before your opponent activates Forbidden Scripture, you decide whether or not you will activate the effect of Destiny HERO – Dreamer, and your opponent can chain Forbidden Scripture. The effect of Destiny HERO – Dreamer cannot be activated by chaining to Forbidden Scripture.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13064&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my opponent’s Battle Phase, I activate the effect of Escalation of the Monarchs. Furthermore, I chain Heavy Dust Storm and target 2 of my opponent’s Spell/Trap Cards to destroy. In this situation, when I perform a Tribute Summon by the effect of Escalation of the Monarchs, can I Tribute Escalation of the Monarchs and Heavy Dust Storm to Tribute Summon Vision HERO Witch Raider?
A: Vision HERO Witch Raider is a Level 8 monster that requires 2 Tributes, but you can also Tribute Trap Cards on your field as well as monsters when Tribute Summoning it. In this scenario, when the effect of Escalation of the Monarchs is applied and the Tribute Summon is performed, there are 2 Trap Cards on your field, so you may Tribute them to Tribute Summon Vision HERO Witch Raider face-up.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16359&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent Normal Summons a Performapal Odd-Eyes Synchron and activates its effect, targeting an Odd-Eyes Mirage Dragon in the Graveyard. If I chain Call of the Haunted, and Special Summon Number 29: Mannequin Cat from my Graveyard, can I then activate its effect that Special Summons a monster from my hand, Deck, or Graveyard?
A: In this scenario, Number 29: Mannequin Cat is Special Summoned by the effect of Call of the Haunted in Chain Link 2, and is face-up on the field when a monster is Special Summoned to your opponent’s field by the effect of Performapal Odd-Eyes Synchron, so you can then activate the effect of Number 29: Mannequin Cat that Special Summons a monster from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17023&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates the effect of a Defense Position Summoner Monk that Special Summons a Level 4 monster from the Deck. If I chain Return to the Frontlines, and Special Summon a Number 41: Bagushka from my Graveyard in Defense Position, will the effect of Summoner Monk be negated?
A: The effect of Number 41: Bagushka that changes monsters to Defense Position and negates effects activated by monsters in Defense Position is a Continuous Effect. In this scenario, since the effect of Number 41: Bagushka is applying when the effect activated by a Defense Position Summoner Monk resolves, the effect of Summoner Monk is negated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16596&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Metal Fiend Token that was Special Summoned by the effect of Fiend Sanctuary is face-up on my opponent’s field, and Magician of Black Chaos is face-up on my field. In this situation, if I activate Chaos Scepter Blast, can I choose the Metal Fiend Token as the card to banish?
A: Monster Tokens cannot be banished face-down. In this scenario, you cannot choose the Metal Fiend Token when resolving the effect of Chaos Scepter Blast; you must choose Magician of Black Chaos.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=19209&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: At the start of the Damage Step when my Eater of Millions battles a Token, can I activate its effect that banishes the opponent’s battling monster face-down?
A: Since Tokens cannot be banished face-down, the effect of Eater of Millions that banishes the opponent’s battling monster at the start of the Damage Step cannot be activated when it battles a Token.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=20689&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.