Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 05/01/21 Ruling Update

People will still ask you if D.D. Crow negates handtraps.

 

Q: Cyber Angel Benten was Tributed and sent to the Graveyard to activate the effect of Drytron Alpha Thuban. The effect of D.D. Crow is chained to the effect of Drytron Alpha Thuban, targeting the Cyber Angel Benten in the Graveyard. After this Chain resolves, can the effect of Cyber Angel Benten be activated?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Cyber Angel Benten cannot be activated. If Cyber Angel Benten was Tributed and sent to the Graveyard, its effect can only be activated in the Graveyard. In other words, in this example, if it stops being in your Graveyard after it was Tributed and sent to the Graveyard but before its effect can be activated, the effect cannot be activated.
However, if the Tributed Cyber Angel Benten is banished directly due to an effect such as Macro Cosmos, you can activate its effect while it is banished. But in this case, if Cyber Angel Benten stops being banished between the time it was Tributed and banished and the time its effect can be activated, such as by the effect of Burial from a Different Dimension, the effect cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow to the effect of Ritual Beast Tamer Lara, and banishes the Spiritual Beast Apelio targeted by its effect, is that Spiritual Beast Apelio still Special Summoned?
A: If a Spiritual Beast Apelio targeted by the effect of Ritual Beast Tamer Lara is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, the Special Summon does not occur.

Source

 

Q: If a monster whose control was switched by Change of Heart or Snatch Steal attacks a face-down Defense Position Blast Sphere, will that attacking monster be equipped? If it is equipped, which player takes damage from the effect of Blast Sphere? Also, during which player’s Standby Phase is the effect of Blast Sphere activated?
A: Even if a monster whose control was switched attacks Blast Sphere, Blast Sphere is equipped to the attacking monster. The timing to activate the effect of Blast Sphere that destroys the equipped monster and inflicts damage will be during the Standby Phase of the opponent’s next turn, from the perspective Blast Sphere’s owner. Therefore, even if the owner regains control of the switched monster, the equipped monster is destroyed during the opponent’s next Standby Phase, from the perspective of Blast Sphere’s owner, and damage is inflicted to that opponent.

Source

“Blast Sphere’s owner” is how the ruling describes it, but is probably more accurately “the player who activated the effect of Blast Sphere”. The scenario assumes Blast Sphere is controlled by its owner.

 

Q: While the effect of Skill Drain is applying, can the effects of monsters on the field still be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effects of monsters on the field can be activated. While the effects of monsters on the field are being negated, that does not mean the effects of monsters cannot be activated. However, if the effect of Skill Drain is applying when resolving an effect, and the monster that activated the effect is face-up on the field, the effect is negated and not applied.

Source

 

Q: What happens if the card targeted by Paleozoic Dinomischus is no longer on the field when the effect resolves?
A: In that case, the effect finishes resolving after you discard 1 card from your hand.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of a Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu in my hand, targeting a Virtual World Xiezhi – Jiji I control, but my opponent chains Dragmatika Punishment and destroys that Virtual World Xiezhi – Jiji. Since Virtual World Xiezhi – Jiji is no longer on the field when the effect of Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu resolves, how is that effect applied?
A: In this scenario, since the targeted card is no longer on the field, you do not send a “Virtual World” card from your Deck to the Graveyard, you do not Special Summon Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu from your hand, and you do not add any “Virtual World” card from your Deck to your hand. (Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu remains in your hand.) However, even in this case, you can only Special Summon Level/Rank 3 or higher monsters for the rest of the turn.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of a Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu in my hand, targeting a Virtual World Xiezhi – Jiji I control, but my opponent chains Crackdown and gains control of that Virtual World Xiezhi – Jiji. Since Virtual World Xiezhi – Jiji is controlled by my opponent when the effect of Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu resolves, how is that effect applied?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Virtual World Mai-Hime – Lulu is applied. At the time the effect resolves, the targeted monster must be in the Monster Zone, but it makes no difference whether it is your Monster Zone or your opponent’s.

Source

 

Q: I activate the effect of Scrap Raptor, targeting a Megalosmasher X I control. When the effect resolves, if I apply the effect of Lost World and destroy a Dinosaur monster in my hand/Deck instead, so that Megalosmasher X is not destroyed, can I still Normal Summon an additional “Scrap” monster this turn with the effect of Scrap Raptor?
A: Even if the targeted monster cannot be destroyed when resolving the effect of Scrap Raptor, you still apply the part of the effect that allows you to Normal Summon an additional “Scrap” monster that turn.

Source

 

Q: A Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare in my Spell & Trap Zone was Set by the effect of Traptrix Genlisea, so that it will be banished when it leaves the field. In this situation, if I activate that Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare, can I Set it again using the effect of Traptrix Utricularia? If it can be Set again, is it still banished when it leaves the field?
A: In this scenario, the activated Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare can still be Set again with the effect of Traptrix Utricularia instead of being sent to the Graveyard. In that case, the re-Set Traptrix Trap Hole Nightmare is no longer treated as having been Set by the effect of Traptrix Genlisea, so it is no longer banished when it leaves the field.

Source

 

Q: A Sky Striker Mobilize – Engage! in my Spell & Trap Zone was Set by the effect of Sky Striker Mecha Modules – Multirole, so that it will be banished when it leaves the field. If the activation of that Sky Striker Mobilize – Engage! is negated by Solemn Judgment, is Sky Striker Mobilize – Engage! banished?
A: In this scenario, the activated Sky Striker Mobilize – Engage! is not banished. A Spell/Trap Card whose activation was negated is not treated as leaving the field. Therefore, the effect “banish them when they leave the field” is not applied and it is sent to the Graveyard normally.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.