[OCG] 04/16/2015 OCG rulings

04/16/2015
Assorted rulings:

Q: While the effect of a Pixie Ring activated by the opponent is active, can you target the monster with the lowest ATK the opponent controls for an attack with an Elemental HERO Wildheart?
A: The effect of Pixie Ring is an effect that affects monsters.
Therefore, a monster unaffected by Trap Cards like Elemental HERO Wildheart or a monster affected by Forbidden Lance can target the monster with the lowest ATK the opponent controls even if the effect of Pixie Ring is being applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6124&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You have activated the effect of Gagaga Cowboy that modifies ATK this turn.
If that Gagaga Cowboy attacks a monster that was affected by the effect of Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand, how is that effect applied?
A: In that case, during the Damage Step, the part of the effect that increases the ATK of Gagaga Cowboy by 1000 is applied, but the part of the effect that decreases the ATK of the opponent’s monster is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6301&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Queen of Thorns is being applied, can the effect of Ghostrick Lantern be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Ghostrick Lantern to Special Summon itself from the hand can be activated.
Since Ghostrick Lantern is not a Plant-Type monster, the player that activates the effect of Ghostrick Lantern pays 1000 LP.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6653&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Abyss-scale of the Kraken that negates monster effects be activated while Macro Cosmos is being applied?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Abyss-scale of the Kraken that negates monster effects can be applied.
In that case, the part of the effect that negates the effect monster’s effect is applied normally, but as a result of the effect of Macro Cosmos Abyss-scale of the Kraken is not sent to the Graveyard and is banished instead.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7404&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Is it mandatory to apply the effect of Hysteric Sign that adds an Elegant Egotist to the hand when it is placed from the hand in the Spell & Trap Zone in order to be activated?
A: When Hysteric Sign is activated by placing it from the hand in the Spell & Trap Zone (or when it is set in the Spell & Trap Zone and it is flipped face-up), it starts a chain, and the effect that adds an Elegant Egotist to the hand must be performed.
Therefore, if there are no copies of Elegant Egotist in your Deck or Graveyard to add to the hand, Hysteric Sign cannot be activated.
(Furthermore, the effect of Hysteric Sign that adds up to 3 “Harpie” cards from the Deck to the hand can be activated even if you have no copies of Elegant Egotist in your Deck or Graveyard)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7511&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Does the effect of Dragonecro Nethersoul Dragon that reduces ATK and Special Summons a token activate if it is destroyed in battle?
A: Even in that case, the effect activates.
Therefore, providing Dragonecro Nethersoul Dragon is destroyed in battle and sent to the Graveyard, its effect activates in the Graveyard at the End of the Damage Step.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7613&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Rebound that draws a card is activated, is the effect of Synthetic Seraphim applied?
A: The effect of Synthetic Seraphim is only applied when a Counter Trap Card is activated.
In the proposed scenario, when the effect of Rebound that activates in the Graveyard is applied, since it is not considered that a Trap Card was activated, the effect of Synthetic Seraphim is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8125&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Neos Wiseman destroyed a Flash Knight in battle.
In this case, what happens with the effect that inflicts damage and increases LP?
A: Even in the proposed scenario, the effect of Neos Wiseman activates.
First, the Flash Knight destroyed in battle is added to the Extra Deck face-up at the End of the Damage Step.
Next, the effect of Neos Wiseman is activated.
Even in this case, the effect resolves normally, inflicting damage to the opponent equal to the ATK of Flash Knight (= 1800) and increasing LP by the DEF of Flash Knight (= 600)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8138&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control a face-up Masked HERO Dark Law that was affected by Forbidden Lance.
In that case, if the opponent activates Mirror of the Ice Barrier in a chain to the activation of Masked HERO Dark Law that banishes a card, is that effect applied?
A: The effect of Mirror of the Ice Barrier is not an effect that is applied on monsters that activate their effects.
While the effect of Mirror of the Ice Barrier is being applied, the corresponding “•” effect is applied at the time your cards are banished by a monster effect activated by your opponent.
Therefore, even in the proposed scenario, the effect of the Mirror of the Ice Barrier activated by the opponent is applied normally.
Since a card in the opponent’s hand is banished by the effect of your Masked HERO Dark Law, the “•” effect of Mirror of the Ice Barrier that banishes 2 random cards from the opponent’s hand is applied.
(In this case, 2 cards are banished from the hand of the player who activated the effect of Masked HERO Dark Law, which is you)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8351&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Spatial Collapse was being applied, Royal Decree was activated. In this case, can players control 6 or more cards?
Also, if Royal Decree is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon afterwards, so that the effect of Spatial Collapse is applied again, how does this resolve?
A: If the effect of Royal Decree is applied, since the effect of Spatial Collapse is negated, both players can control 6 or more cards, activate cards or effects and set cards.
Also, if afterwards Royal Decree is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon, the effect of Spatial Collapse is applied once again and each player who controls 6 or more cards must send cards to the Graveyard until they control 5 cards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8770&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the card sent to the Graveyard by a Gravekeeper’s Servant the opponent controls is Penguin Knight, does its effect activate?
A: The card sent from the Deck to the Graveyard when an attack is declared as a result of Gravekeeper’s Servant is not treated as being sent to the Graveyard by a card effect.
Therefore, the effect of Penguin Knight does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10995&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Gemini monsters in the hand or that are in face-down Defense Position on the field be used as Fusion Materials at the time First of the Dragons is Fusion Summoned by activating Polymerization?
A: Gemini monsters in the hand or that are in face-down Defense Position on the field are not treated as Normal Monsters.
(Therefore, unles there are 2 other Normal Monsters, Polymerization cannot be activated)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10987&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the 2 Spell and Trap Cards targeted by Xing Zhen Hu be activated in a chain to its activation?
Also, in that case, if 1 of the 2 targeted Spell and Trap Cards remains set, how does this resolve?
A: The Spell and Trap Cards targeted by the effect of Xing Zhen Hu can be activated in a chain to its activation.
Also, in that case, if only 1 of the 2 targeted Spell and Trap Cards remains face-down at the time of the resolution of the effect of Xing Zhen Hu, only the set card becomes unable to be activated by the effect of Xing Zhen Hu.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11247&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effects of Queen of Thorns and DNA Surgery declaring Plant-Type are being applied.
In this case, if a non-Plant-Type monster would be Special Summoned from the hand, can a player Normal or Special Summon it without paying LP?
A: No, they cannot.
Even in the proposed scenario, since a non-Plant-Type monster would be Normal or Special Summoned from the hand, 1000 LP must be paid for each monster that is Normal or Special Summoned even if the Types of monsters on the field is being treated as Plant-Type by the effect of DNA Surgery.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12815&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Double Spell be activated targeting an Overlay Regen in the opponent’s Graveyard?
A: Yes, it can.
Also, in that case, that Overlay Regen can be attached as an Xyz Material to an Xyz Monster on the field.
Furthermore, Double Spell does not become an Xyz Material and it is sent to the Graveyard after its effect finishes resolving.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12295&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent activated a Cursed Seal of the Forbidden Spell in a chain to the activation of your Galaxy Cyclone.
As a result, that activation was negated, and the effect that prevents you from activating that Spell Card and cards of the same name was applied.
Can you activated the effect of that Galaxy Cyclone in your Graveyard that destroys 1 face-up Spell or Trap Card during that Duel?
A: During the Duel in which the effect of Cursed Seal of the Forbidden Spell was applied, the Galaxy Cyclone that had its activation negated cannot be activated, but the activation of the effect of Galaxy Cyclone in the Graveyard can be performed normally (providing it is not the turn in which that Galaxy Cyclone was sent to the Graveyard).

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14061&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons