[OCG] 04/09/15 Rulings

This week’s fresh batch of OCG rulings.

Q: The effect of Ghost Fairy Elfobia is activated by revealed a Level 9 WIND monster. While the effect is being applied, can the effect of Vennominaga the Deity of Poisonous Snakes that places a Hyper-Venom Counter on it when be activated?
A: The effect of Ghost Fairy Elfobia prevents monsters with a higher Level than the revealed monster from activating their effects, but as long as Vennominaga the Deity of Poisonous Snakes is face-up in a Monster Zone, it is unaffected by other card effects. Therefore, if Vennominaga the Deity of Poisonous Snakes inflicts battle damage to the opponent this turn, the effect that places a Hyper-Venom Counter on it activates normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9929&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When either myself or my opponent Special Summons Lava Golem, can I activate Dark Renewal?
A: When you Special Summon Lava Golem by Tributing 2 of your opponent’s monsters, you cannot then activate Dark Renewal. In addition, if your opponent Tributes 2 of your monsters to Special Summon their Lava Golem to your side of the field, you can activate Dark Renewal. (This means that you will target the Lava Golem in your own Monster Zone and 1 Spellcaster-Type monster on your side of the field.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9048&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Red-Eyes B. Chick is Special Summoned by the effect of Kinka-Byo, and then Torrential Tribute is activated so that all monsters on the field are destroyed, will Red-Eyes B. Chick be banished?
A: If Kinka-Byo and the monster Special Summoned by its effect are both destroyed at the same time by Torrential Tribute, the effect that banishes the Special Summoned monster is not applied. In this case, Red-Eyes B. Chick is not banished, and is sent to the Graveyard normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8391&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During my previous turn, Drill Warrior was banished by its own effect. During my next Standby Phase, the effect that Special Summons Drill Warrior and adds a monster to my hand is activated, but then Skill Drain is chained, how does the effect resolve?
A: Special Summoning Drill Warrior and adding a monster to your hand are both separate parts of this one effect. Even if the effect of Skill Drain is applying, you can add 1 monster from your Graveyard to your hand normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10804&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Thunder King Rai-Oh is face-up on the field, can Fire Formation – Tenki be activated?
A: Even if Thunder King Rai-Oh is face-up on the field, Fire Formation – Tenki can be activated. In this case, since it is not possible to add a card from your Deck to your hand, the effect of adding a Level 4 or lower Beast-Warrior-Type monster from your Deck to your hand cannot be applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10803&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Book of Moon is chained to Misfortune, changing the targeted monster to face-down Defense Position, will the effect of Misfortune be applied?
A: When resolving Misfortune, if the targeted monster is face-down, the effect of inflicting damage is not applied. Even in that case, the monsters of the player who activated Misfortune cannot attack this turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10108&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Misfortune is activated by targeting Elemental HERO Sparkman (1600 ATK), but Shrink is chained so that the original ATK of Elemental HERO Sparkman is halved, how does Misfortune resolve?
A: The ATK halved by Shrink is treated as the new original ATK. In this case, since the original ATK of Elemental HERO Sparkman becomes 800, the damage inflicted by Misfortune is half of that, in other words 400.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9098&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Spell Shattering Arrow destroys monsters that are treated as Equip Cards in the Spell & Trap Zone, or Pendulum Monsters in the Pendulum Zone, will damage still be inflicted?
A: The effect of Spell Shattering Arrow destroys all face-up Spell Cards on the opponent’s side of the field. Monsters treated as Equip Cards and Pendulum Monsters in the Pendulum Zone are treated as Spell Cards, so if they are destroyed by Spell Shattering Arrow, the opponent takes 500 damage for each of them.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8396&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Xyz Encore is activated by targeting Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomyniad with 3 or more Xyz Materials, how does it resolve?
A: The effect of Xyz Encore which detaches all Xyz Materials from the targeted monster is not considered an effect that affects that monster. (Therefore, all Xyz Materials are detached from Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomyniad.) Since Number 86: Heroic Champion – Rhongomyniad has no Xyz Materials, it is no longer unaffected by all other card effects, so the part of the effect that returns it to the Extra Deck also applies normally, and if possible, any monsters among the detached Xyz Materials are Special Summoned in Defense Position and their Levels are reduced by 1.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6890&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the first effect of Formation Union be used to equip Heavy Mech Support Platform to a monster other than a Machine-Type monster?
A: Since the Union effect of Heavy Mech Support Platform only allows it to be equipped to a Machine-Type monster, Formation Union cannot be used to equip it to a monster other than a Machine-Type monster.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8213&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the second effect of Formation Union be used to Special Summon a Union monster that was equipped to Union Rider by the effect of that Union Rider?
A: A Union monster equipped by the effect of Union Rider is not treated as having been equipped by the effect of a Union monster, so it cannot be Special Summoned by the second effect of Formation Union.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6387&keyword=&tag=0

Q: By its own effect, Relinquished becomes equipped with Machina Gearframe. Can that Relinquished now be targeted by Combination Attack?
A: If Relinquished is equipped with a Union monster by the effect of that Relinquished, and that Union monster was not equipped by that Union monster’s own effect, the effect of Combination Attack cannot be applied. Therefore, in this situation, Relinquished cannot be targeted by Combination Attack.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8206&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Darkfall be activated while the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying? In addition, if Macro Cosmos is activated in a chain to Darkfall, how does Darkfall resolve?
A: Even if the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, Darkfall can be activated. In that case, since the monsters that would be sent to the Graveyard are banished instead, the part of the effect that sends additional monsters with the same name from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard is not applied. (The result is the same if Macro Cosmos is chained to Darkfall.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7836&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Tasuke Knight is in my Graveyard and I have 0 cards in my hand, and I also have a Set Magic Cylinder in my Spell & Trap Zone, can I activate each one when an opponent’s monster declares an attack?
A: If you wish to activate the effect of Tasuke Knight and Magic Cylinder when your opponent’s monster declares an attack, first you must decide whether or not to activate the effect of Tasuke Knight in your Graveyard, and only then can Magic Cylinder be activated in a chain. In this situation, as long as no further cards are chained, Chain Link 1 will be the effect of Tasuke Knight, and Chain Link 2 will be Magic Cylinder. (The effect of Magic Cylinder negates the attack and inflicts damage to your opponent equal to the attacking monster’s attack. Then, Tasuke Knight is Special Summoned from the Graveyard, and then the Battle Phase ends.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11197&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my Dewdark of the Ice Barrier declares a direct attack using its own effect, and then I activate Call of the Haunted to Special Summon a Level 3 or higher monster, what happens to the attack?
A: In this case, if you use Call of the Haunted to Special Summon a Level 3 or higher monster, it is no longer possible for Dewdark of the Ice Barrier to attack directly using its effect. Therefore, a replay occurs, and you can choose an opponent’s monster as the new attack target, or you can choose to stop the attack.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9624&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons