[OCG] 04/01/15 Dark Magician of Chaos Rulings

The following rulings will be applied starting April 1, 2015.

Q: If the first effect of Dark Magician of Chaos is activated during the End Phase, but Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device are chained so that Dark Magician of Chaos is no longer face-up on the field when its effect resolves, does the effect apply?
A: In this case, even if Dark Magician of Chaos is no longer face-up on the field when its effect resolves, the effect is applied normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15327&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Skill Drain is applying, Dark Magician of Chaos is Normal or Special Summoned. If Harpie’s Feather Duster is then activated, so that the effect of Skill Drain is no longer applying during the End Phase, can the first effect of Dark Magician of Chaos be activated?
A: Even if Dark Magician of Chaos is Normal or Special Summoned while Skill Drain is applying, if Skill Drain is no longer applying during the End Phase, then the effect of Dark Magician of Chaos can be activated normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15331&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Call of the Haunted is activated during the End Phase, and Dark Magician of Chaos is Special Summoned from the Graveyard, can its first effect be activated immediately? If my opponent activates Torrential Tribute, how does each effect resolve?
A: The effect of Dark Magician of Chaos does not activate when it is Normal or Special Summoned. In this situation, if Dark Magician of Chaos is Special Summoned by the effect of Call of the Haunted during the End Phase, its effect does not activate immediately after it is Special Summoned. Therefore, if your opponent activates Torrential Tribute when Dark Magician of Chaos is Special Summoned, it is destroyed and its effect cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15329&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During the turn Dark Magician of Chaos was Normal or Special Summoned, if my opponent activates Enemy Controller and takes control of it until the End Phase, will both players be able to activate its first effect?
A: During the turn it was Normal or Special Summoned, if your opponent takes control of your Dark Magician of Chaos, they can choose whether or not to activate its effect in the End Phase. If the opponent chooses to use the effect, then even after the effect of Enemy Controller expires and you regain control of Dark Magician of Chaos, you will not be able to use its effect at that time. On the other hand, if the opponent does not use the effect, once you regain control of Dark Magician of Chaos during that End Phase, you can activate its effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15330&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Dark Magician of Chaos is Special Summoned in face-down Defense Position by the effect of Burst Rebirth, then becomes face-up due to the effect of Ceasefire, can its first effect be activated during the End Phase?
A: Even in this case, because Dark Magician of Chaos was Special Summoned this turn, its effect can be activated during the End Phase. Note that if Dark Magician of Chaos is Special Summoned by the effect of Burst Rebirth, but left in face-down Defense Position, its effect cannot be activated during the End Phase.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15328&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Phantom of Chaos was Normal or Special Summoned this turn, and it uses its effect to gain the name, ATK, and effects of Dark Magician of Chaos, can the copied effect of Dark Magician of Chaos be activated during the End Phase?
A: No, it cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15326&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Dark Magician of Chaos destroys my opponent’s Flash Knight by battle. After damage calculation, what happens to the destroyed Flash Knight?
A: Even if Dark Magician of Chaos destroys a Pendulum Monster by battle, its effect will activate. (The destroyed Flash Knight is banished.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15322&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Dark Magician of Chaos destroys my opponent’s Gene-Warped Warwolf by battle. When the effect of Dark Magician of Chaos activates after damage calculation, if Divine Wrath is chained to it, what happens to the destroyed Gene-Warped Warwolf?
A: In this case, since the activation of the effect is negated, Gene-Warped Warwolf is not banished by the effect of Dark Magician of Chaos. Even so, since Gene-Warped Warwolf was destroyed by battle, it is sent to the Graveyard normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15325&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, Dark Magician of Chaos destroys my opponent’s Mythical Gryphon by battle. After damage calculation, what happens to the destroyed Mythical Gryphon?
A: While the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, cards cannot be banished. In this case, the second effect of Dark Magician of Chaos will still activate and start a chain, but it does not resolve. In the above situation, since Mythical Gryphon was destroyed by battle, it is sent to the Graveyard normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15323&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While treated as a monster after being activated, Embodiment of Apophis is attacked by Dark Magician of Chaos and destroyed by battle. After damage calculation, will Embodiment of Apophis be banished by the effect of Dark Magician of Chaos?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Dark Magician of Chaos will activate. (The destroyed Embodiment of Apophis is banished.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15324&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Dark Magician of Chaos is present in my Monster Zone, and it is used as a material for a Synchro Summon, is it sent to the Graveyard? In addition, if Dark Magician of Chaos is used as material for an Xyz Summon, and then detached from the Xyz Monster, what happens to it?
A: The third effect of Dark Magician of Chaos that banishes it applies not just when it is destroyed by battle or card effects, but when it is used as material for a Synchro Summon. Furthermore, if Dark Magician of Chaos is used as material for an Xyz Summon, its third effect does not apply. (Even if it is later detached from the Xyz Monster, its third effect will not be applied.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15319&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While face-up in the Monster Zone, Dark Magician of Chaos becomes treated as an Equip Spell Card by the effect of Relinquished and placed in the Spell & Trap Zone. Then, if Mystical Space Typhoon is activated and Dark Magician of Chaos is destroyed, what happens to Dark Magician of Chaos?
A: Even in this case, if Dark Magician of Chaos is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, it will be banished by its third effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15320&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Skill Drain is applying, if the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device is applied to a Dark Magician of Chaos face-up in the Monster Zone, what will happen to Dark Magician of Chaos?
A: Even in this case, if Dark Magician of Chaos leaves the field because of the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device, it will be banished instead by its third effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15321&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Imperial Iron Wall is applying, if Dark Magician of Chaos is destroyed by the effect of Torrential Tribute, what will happen to it?
A: While the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, cards cannot be banished. Therefore, in this situation, when Dark Magician of Chaos is destroyed by the effect of Torrential Tribute, its last effect is not applied and it is sent to the Graveyard normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15318&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons