[OCG] 04/08/18 Weekly Rulings Update

Including the newest manga promo.

Q: The Phantom Knights of Tomb Shield on my field that was Special Summoned as a Normal Monster by its own effect is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon. In this situation, if I activate Polymerization and Fusion Summon First of the Dragons, can I include The Phantom Knights of Tomb Shield in face-down Defense Position as one of the materials?
A: The Phantom Knights of Tomb Shield that is treated as a monster by its own effect does not stop being treated as a Normal Monster when changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Book of Moon. In this scenario, when Fusion Summoning First of the Dragons, The Phantom Knights of Tomb Shield can be used as a material even while in face-down Defense Position.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11245&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Tiamaton the Steel Battalion Dragon that Special Summons it from my hand, if my opponent chains Emergency Provisions and sends cards from their Spell & Trap Zone to the Graveyard so that there are no longer 3 or more cards in a single column, what happens?
A: As in this scenario, even if there are no longer 3 or more cards in a single column when the effect of Tiamaton the Steel Battalion Dragon resolves, it is Special Summoned normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9297&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit, I chain Called by the Grave and target that Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit. If my opponent then chains Back to the Front, and Special Summons that Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit from the Graveyard, how does Called by the Grave resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Called by the Grave, the targeted monster is banished from your opponent’s Graveyard, and monsters with that monster’s name have their effects negated for the rest of the turn. In this scenario, since Ghost Ogre & Snow Rabbit was Special Summoned by the effect of Back to the Front and is no longer in the Graveyard, it cannot be banished by Called by the Grave, so no part of the effect of Called by the Grave can be applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10677&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Monster Reborn Reborn, targeting an Alpha the Magnet Warrior, Beta the Magnet Warrior, and Gamma the Magnet Warrior in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains Ojama Trio and Special Summons 3 Ojama Tokens to my field, so that I have no vacant Main Monster Zones remaining, how does Monster Reborn Reborn resolve?
A: As in this scenario, if there are no available Monster Zones to Special Summon in when resolving Monster Reborn Reborn, its effect is not applied. (In this case, all 3 targeted monsters remain in the Graveyard.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10293&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Dark Magician the Dragon Knight is face-up in my Extra Monster Zone, and its effect prevents Spell/Trap Cards on my field from being destroyed by my opponent’s card effects. In this situation, if Chicken Game is face-up in my Field Zone, can it be destroyed by its own effect?
A: The effect of Chicken Game can be activated by either player during their own Main Phase, and is treated as an effect of whoever activated it. In this scenario, if you activated the effect of Chicken Game that destroys it, it is not your opponent’s card effect, so Chicken Game is destroyed normally. If your opponent activated the effect of Chicken Game, it will be treated as your opponent’s effect, so that Chicken Game in your Field Zone is not destroyed due to the effect of your Dark Magician the Dragon Knight.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8115&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I have a face-up Attack Position Vampire Grimson and a face-down Defense Position monster on my field. In this situation, if my opponent activates Raigeki Break and destroys my face-down Defense Position monster, can I apply the effect of Vampire Grimson and pay 1000 Life Points instead?
A: Even if a face-down Defense Position monster on your field would be destroyed by a card effect, you can apply the effect of Vampire Grimson and pay 1000 Life Points instead.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9538&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Special Summoned Lafarl, Hero of the Skyfang Brigade while I have 2 other “Skyfang Brigade” monsters with different names on my field. At this time, if I activate its effect that excavates cards from the top of my Deck, but my opponent chains Mistake, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Lafarl, Hero of the Skyfang Brigade resolves while the effect of Mistake is applying. In this case, you excavate cards from the top of your Deck normally, but the card that would be added to your hand is sent to the Graveyard instead, while the other excavated cards are shuffled into your Deck. Note that if the effect of Mistake is already applying, that effect of Lafarl, Hero of the Skyfang Brigade cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9427&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my Dyna, Champion of the Skyfang Brigade is destroyed by my opponent’s card effect and sent to the Graveyard, I activate the effect of Skyfang Brigade Training and target that monster. If my opponent chains D.D. Crow and banishes Dyna, Champion of the Skyfang Brigade from my Graveyard, how does the effect of Skyfang Brigade Training resolve?
A: If the monster targeted by the effect of Skyfang Brigade Training is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, you do not Special Summon a monster from your Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9337&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are 3 or more Spell Cards in my Graveyard, and only 1 card in my Deck. In this situation, can I activate Sky Striker Startup: Engage?
A: You can activate Sky Striker Startup: Engage even if you only have 1 card in your Deck, as long as that card is a “Sky Striker” card other than another Sky Striker Startup: Engage. In that case, since you will have no cards left in your Deck after you add that “Sky Striker” card to your hand, you cannot draw a card afterward.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13232&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While there are 2 Spell Cards in my Graveyard, I activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit and Special Summon 1 Sky Striker Ace Token. After it resolves, that Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit is sent to the Graveyard, and I will have 3 Spell Cards in my Graveyard. In this case, will the ATK and DEF of the Sky Striker Ace Token become 1500?
A: The ATK and DEF of the Sky Striker Ace Token are determined when the effect of Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit resolves. Even if the number of Spell Cards in your Graveyard changes afterward, the ATK and DEF of the Sky Striker Ace Token does not change. In this scenario, since you had 2 Spell Cards in your Graveyard when Sky Striker Battlegear: Hornet Bit resolved, the Token’s ATK and DEF are both 0.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11299&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Sky Striker Battlegear: Widow Anchor and take control of my opponent’s Sky Striker Ace Kagari. Afterward, when that Sky Striker Ace Kagari battles a monster in my opponent’s Monster Zone, it is destroyed by battle and sent to my opponent’s Graveyard. At this time, if Sky Striker Ace Rei is in each player’s Graveyard, can either player activate its effect that Special Summons it?
A: The effect of Sky Striker Ace Rei that Special Summons it can be activated by whoever controlled Sky Striker Ace Kagari on the field. In this scenario, Sky Striker Ace Kagari is destroyed and sent to your opponent’s Graveyard, but since it was not on your opponent’s field, they cannot activate the effect of Sky Striker Ace Rei.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8161&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Sky Striker Ace Shizuku is in the Extra Monster Zone, equipped with Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base. In this situation, when Sky Striker Ace Shizuku battles a monster with the same ATK and both monsters are destroyed, does the effect of Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base that draws 1 card activate?
A: The effect of Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base activates at the end of the Damage Step. In this scenario, since the equipped Sky Striker Ace Shizuku and the opponent’s monster were destroyed by battle, Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base is also destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. (In this case, the effect of Sky Striker Battleship: Hercules Base does not activate.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12840&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero?
A: While the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, you can activate the effect of a Sky Striker Airspace: Area Zero on your field. When its effect resolves, if a “Sky Striker” card was excavated and the targeted monster is sent to the Graveyard, it’s banished instead.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8158&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Special Summoned a Lilith, Lady of Lament from my opponent’s Graveyard with the effect of Monster Reborn, then activated its effect by Tributing it to Set a Normal Trap Card from my Deck. Afterward, can I activate the effect of a Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair in my Graveyard that Special Summons it?
A: Even if your opponent is the original owner of the Tributed DARK monster, as long as a DARK monster was Tributed from your Monster Zone, you can activate the effect of a Darkest Diabolos, Lord of the Lair.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10290&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Black Illusion Ritual to Ritual Summon Relinquished, can I apply the effect of Lair of Darkness in my Field Zone and Tribute an opponent’s face-up DARK monster instead of my own?
A: The effect of Lair of Darkness allows you to Tribute an opponent’s face-up DARK monster instead of your own to activate a card or effect. The effect Black Illusion Ritual Tributes monsters for the Ritual Summon when it resolves. (Tributing is not a cost.) Therefore, you cannot apply the effect of Lair of Darkness when performing a Ritual Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10684&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, I activate End of the World, Tributing a Demise, King of Armageddon in my hand and Ritual Summoning Ruin, Queen of Oblivion. During the End Phase of this turn, will the effect of Lair of Darkness Special Summon Shadow Tokens?
A: The effect of Lair of Darkness Special Summons a Token for each monster that was Tributed this turn while Lair of Darkness was face-up on the field. Even if you Tribute a monster from your hand for a Ritual Summon, as in this scenario, a Shadow Token will be Special Summoned.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8145&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lair of Darkness is face-up in my Field Zone, but Imperial Order is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that negates all Spell Card effects on the field is applying. In this situation, if I Tribute a monster to Tribute Summon Mobius the Frost Monarch, and use its effect to destroy Imperial Order, will the effect of Lair of Darkness Special Summon Shadow Tokens during the End Phase?
A: Even if monsters were Tributed while the effects of Lair of Darkness were being negated by Imperial Order, as in this scenario, the Tributed monsters are still Tributed while Lair of Darkness was face-up on the field. During the End Phase, since the effect of Imperial Order is no longer applying, a Shadow Token will be Special Summoned.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8112&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Lair of Darkness from my hand, I then chain Tyrant’s Tantrum by Tributing 2 monsters on my field. Then, if I proceed to my End Phase without any more monsters being Tributed, will the effect of Lair of Darkness Special Summon Shadow Tokens?
A: As in this scenario, if a monster was Tributed by a card that was chained to the activation of Lair of Darkness, it is not treated as a monster that was Tributed while Lair of Darkness was face-up on the field. In this case, since no monsters were Tributed after Lair of Darkness resolved, the effect of Lair of Darkness will not Special Summon any Shadow Tokens during the End Phase.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7800&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Special Summon Destiny HERO – Disk Commander from my opponent’s Graveyard with the effect of Monster Reborn, and activate its effect to draw 2 cards. During the same Duel, can my opponent activate the effect of a Destiny HERO – Disk Commander?
A: The effect of Destiny HERO – Disk Commander is one that each player can only use once per Duel. Even if you Special Summoned your opponent’s Destiny HERO – Disk Commander and use its effect, your opponent can still use the effect once during the same Duel.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8114&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Odd-Eyes Mirage Dragon and Odd-Eyes Persona Dragon are in my Pendulum Zones, and Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon is face-up in my Extra Deck. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Odd-Eyes Phantasma Dragon that Special Summons it from my hand, but my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys one of the cards in my Pendulum Zone, what happens?
A: Even if you only have 1 or no cards in your Pendulum Zone when resolving the effect of Odd-Eyes Phantasma Dragon that Special Summons it from your hand, the effect is applied normally. (Odd-Eyes Phantasma Dragon is Special Summoned, and you cannot Pendulum Summon during the same turn.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21814&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Odd-Eyes Mirage Dragon and Odd-Eyes Persona Dragon are in my Pendulum Zones, and Odd-Eyes Phantom Dragon is face-up in my Extra Deck. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Odd-Eyes Phantasma Dragon that Special Summons it from my hand, but my opponent chains Mind Crush and discards Odd-Eyes Persona Dragon to the Graveyard, what happens?
A: As in this scenario, if Odd-Eyes Phantasma Dragon is not in your hand when its effect resolves, it is not Special Summoned, however you still cannot Pendulum Summon during the same turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21813&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.