[OCG] 03/30/17 Weekly Rulings Update

It’s been a rough month for the Goyo clan.

03/30/17 Rulings

Q: Under which circumstances can I activate the effect of Goyo Defender?
A: Special Summoning a Goyo Defender with the effect of another Goyo Defender is a Special Summon from the Extra Deck, so you need to Special Summon it to either an Extra Monster Zone or a Main Monster Zone pointed to by a Link Monster’s Link Markers. (At this time, all monsters on your field must be face-up EARTH Warrior-Type Synchro Monsters.)
For example, if your Goyo Defender and your opponent’s Decode Talker are face-up on the field, and there are no monsters in your Main Monster Zones, you can activate the effect of Goyo Defender and Special Summon a monster with the same name from your Extra Deck, or to the Main Monster Zone pointed to by the Link Marker of Decode Talker.
Likewise, if there are no monsters in the Extra Monster Zones and you Special Summoned a Goyo Defender from your Graveyard to your Main Monster Zone with Monster Reborn, you can activate the effect of Goyo Defender.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17343&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are no monsters in the Main Monster Zone, and the only monster in my Main Monster Zone is a Goyo Defender that was Special Summoned from the Graveyard with the effect of Monster Reborn. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Goyo Defender that Special Summons another Goyo Defender from my Extra Deck, but my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Goyo Defender to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: When resolving the effect of Goyo Defender that Special Summons another from your Extra Deck, even if it is in face-down Defense Position so that not all monsters on your field are face-up EARTH Warrior-Type Synchro Monsters, the effect is applied normally. (Even if there are 2 or more EARTH Warrior-Type Synchro Monsters on your field and one of them is changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect resolves normally.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17474&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Fusion Summoned Windwitch – Crystal Bell is face-up in the Extra Monster Zone. Windwitch – Crystal Bell has used its effect to gain the name and effects of Wandering Mummy. In this case, can I activate the copied effect of Wandering Mummy?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate the effect of Wandering Mummy gained by Windwitch – Crystal Bell. In that case, Windwitch – Crystal Bell will be changed to face-down Defense Position in the Extra Monster Zone. Then, if there are 2 or more face-down monsters in your Main Monster Zones, you will rearrange the positions of the face-down monsters in your Main Monster Zones only. (If there are no face-down monsters in your Main Monster Zones, the effect of Windwitch – Crystal Bell finishes resolving after it changes itself to face-down Defense Position.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7513&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the only monster on my field is in the Extra Monster Zone, can I activate Magical Hats?
A: You cannot activate Magical Hats if the only monster on your field is in an Extra Monster Zone. If you have monsters in both the Extra Monster Zone and your Main Monster Zone, resolve the effect of Magical Hats using a monster in your Main Monster Zone.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6232&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there are 5 monsters in my Main Monster Zones, can I activate the effect of Crystron Prasiortle, Crystron Smiger, Crystron Thystvern, or Crystron Rosenix that destroys a face-up card on my field and Special Summons a “Crystron” Tuner monster from my Deck?
A: The effect of a monster such as Crystron Prasiortle Special Summons a “Crystron” Tuner monster from your Deck, so if there are already 5 monsters in your Main Monster Zones, you can only activate the effect by targeting a face-up monster in your Main Monster Zone. (Face-up cards in your Spell & Trap Zones, Field Zone, or the Extra Monster Zone cannot be targeted.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=19576&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Spell/Trap Cards are Set in my endmost Spell & Trap Zones, or if Continuous Spell/Trap Cards, etc. are face-up in them, can I activate Amazing Pendulum?
A: Amazing Pendulum is a Spell Card that you can only activate if there are no cards in your Pendulum Zones. Face-up Spell/Trap Cards such as Continuous Spell/Trap Cards or Equip Spell Cards, or Set Spell/Trap Cards, will not be treated as cards in your Pendulum Zones. Therefore, even in this scenario, you can activate Amazing Pendulum.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6090&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: U.A. Blockbacker is face-up on my field. In this situation, my opponent Link Summons a Link Spider to their Extra Monster Zone. Afterward, can I activate the effect of U.A. Blockbacker?
A: Link Monsters have no DEF and cannot change their battle positions. You cannot activate the effect of U.A. Blockbacker when your opponent Special Summons a Link Monster.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8796&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After applying the effect of Ghostrick Socuteboss that destroys a monster on the field, for how long can the destroyed monster’s Monster Zone not be used?
A: Even if Ghostrick Socuteboss leaves the field, as long as you have at least 1 other “Ghostrick” monster remaining on your field, the effect that prevents that Monster Zone from being used will apply. Once there is no longer a “Ghostrick” monster on your field, that effect will stop applying.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13100&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I took battle damage from my opponent’s Hino-Kagu-Tsuchi, and its effect was activated. If Cyber Archfiend is face-up on my field, and and my entire hand is discarded before my normal draw during my Draw Phase, can I still activate the effect of Cyber Archfiend afterward?
A: The effect of Cyber Archfiend activates if you have no cards in your hand when your opponent ends their turn and you begin yours, and will be activated after you perform your normal draw. In other words, if you reach your turn with 1 or more cards in your hand, you will not have 0 cards in your hand at the start of your Draw Phase. Even if your entire hand is discarded before your normal draw by the effect of your opponent’s Hino-Kagu-Tsuchi, so that you are left with no cards in your hand, the effect of Cyber Archfiend will not activate.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=83&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Magical Hats, Special Summoning a Magician’s Left Hand and Magician’s Right Hand from my Deck face-down as Normal Monsters. During the same Battle Phase, Ceasefire is activated and flips all face-down monsters on the field face-up. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Performapal Sky Magician that returns a Continuous Spell Card on my field to the hand, by targeting either Magician’s Left Hand or Magician’s Right Hand?
A: Even if you Special Summoned Continuous Spell Cards with the effect of Magical Hats, they are only treated as Normal Monsters while they are in the Monster Zones, and cannot be targeted with the effect of Performapal Sky Magician.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12103&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lost World and Ultimate Conductor Tyranno are both face-up on my opponent’s field. Also, a Juraegg Token was Special Summoned to my field by the effect of Lost World, and I Tribute Summoned a Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King by Tributing a Continuous Spell and Continuous Trap Card. If I activate the effect of Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King that destroys a card on the field, which cards can I target?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of your opponent’s Lost World is applying, you cannot target the Ultimate Conductor Tyranno on your opponent’s field, but you can target either the Juraegg Token or Lost World. (Even if Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King is unaffected by Spell effects due to its own effect, the result is the same.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7517&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates Macro Cosmos, and I chain the effect of an Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring from my hand, which effects will be negated?
A: The effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring only negates the effect it was chained to. In this scenario, the effect of Macro Cosmos that can Special Summon a Helios – The Primordial Sun from the hand or Deck is negated, but the effect that banishes cards that would be sent to the Graveyard is not negated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7315&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I activate Revolving Stage, but also chain Needlebug Nest, what happens if there is only 1 Field Spell Card left in my Deck when Revolving Stage resolves?
A: The effect of Revolving Stage must Set 2 Field Spell Cards with different names from your Deck, one to each player’s side of the field. Therefore, the effect is not applied if you only have 1 Field Spell Card in your Deck when it resolves. (Not even 1 Field Spell Card can be Set.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12260&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: 2 copies of The Phantom Knights of Wrong Magnet Ring are Set in my Spell & Trap Zone. When my opponent’s monster declares an attack, if I activate both copies of The Phantom Knights of Wrong Magnet Ring by chaining one to the other, how will they resolve?
A: In this scenario, your opponent’s monster’s attack is negated by the effect of The Phantom Knights of Wrong Magnet Ring activated as Chain Link 2, and that copy is Special Summoned as a monster to your Monster Zone. Next, the effect of The Phantom Knights of Wrong Magnet Ring that was activated as Chain Link 1 resolves, but since you cannot negate an attack, it is not Special Summoned as a monster to your Monster Zone. (In that case, The Phantom Knights of Wrong Magnet Ring is sent to the Graveyard after it resolves, like other Normal Trap Cards.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11253&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.