[OCG] 03/27/2014 rulings

03/27/2014
Assorted rulings

Q: Can Chain Disappearance be activated in response to a Pendulum Summon?
A: Even if a monster(s) with 1000 ATK or less and a monster with more than 1000 ATK are Pendulum Summoned simultaneously, Chain Disappearance can be activated.
(In that case, only the monster(s) with 1000 or less ATK are banished by the effect of Chain Disappearance, and the same goes for the part of the effect that banishes cards with the same name in the opponent’s hand or Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13143&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the activation of a Pendulum Monster like Chronomancy Magician as a Spell Card is negated by Spell Vanishing, what happens?
A: In that case, the activation as a Spell Card of Chronomancy Magician is negated and it is destroyed. (In that case, since Chronomancy Magician is not treated as a card on the field it is sent to the Graveyard.)
Also, since cards with the same name in the opponent’s hand and Deck are sent to the Graveyard, all copies of Chronomancy Magician in the opponent’s hand and Deck are sent to the Graveyard.
Furthermore, copies of Chronomancy Magician in the Extra Deck are not sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13144&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a Pendulum Monster in a Monster Zone be targeted for the effect of Number 50: Blackship of Corn?
A: Yes, it can.
In that case, the Pendulum Monster is not sent to the Graveyard, and since it’s added to the Extra Deck, the opponent does not take 1000 damage.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13145&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the activation of a Pendulum Monster as a Spell Card is negated by Cursed Seal of the Forbidden Spell, do monsters of the same name become unusable afterwards?
A: In that case, the use of cards with the same name as that Pendulum Monster become as follows:
•It can be Normal Summoned.
•It cannot be activated as a Spell Card by placing it in a Pendulum Zone.
•The monster effects of that monster can be activated.
•The Pendulum Effect of cards with the same name that are already in the Pendulum Zone can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13146&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Chaos Trap Hole or the effect of Steelswarm Roach be activated in response to a Pendulum Summon?
A: For example, providing that a Level 4 and a Level 5 monster are Special Summoned simultaneously as a result of a Pendulum Summon, the effect of Steelswarm Roach can be activated.
In that case, the Pendulum Summon of the Level 5 monster is negated, but the Level 4 monster is Pendulum Summoned normally and successfully.
Similarly, providing that a DARK monster and an EARTH monster are Special Summoned simultaneously as a result of a Pendulum Summon, Chaos Trap Hole can be activated.
In that case, the Pendulum Summon of the DARK monster is negated, but the EARTH monster is Pendulum Summoned normally and successfully.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13147&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Pendulum Monster treated as an Xyz Material is detached, is it sent to the Graveyard?
A: A monster treated as an Xyz Material is not treated as a card on the field. The same applies to Pendulum Monsters treated as Xyz Materials.
Therefore, if a Pendulum Monster treated as an Xyz Material is detached, since this is not treated as sending a card from the field to the Graveyard, that Pendulum Monster is sent to the Graveyard.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13148&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is being applied, can Pendulum Monsters be activated as Spell Cards in the Pendulum Zones?
Also, while you control 2 Pendulum Monsters in your Pendulum Zones, if Anti-Spell Fragrance is activated, can you perform a Pendulum Summon?
A: If the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is being applied, Pendulum Monsters cannot be activated as Spell Cards in the Pendulum Zones.
Also, while you control 2 Pendulum Monsters in your Pendulum Zones, if Anti-Spell Fragrance is activated, you can perform a Pendulum Summon normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13149&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Solemn Judgment or Solemn Warning be activated in response to a Pendulum Summon?
Also, what happens if a Pendulum Monster is included in that Pendulum Summon?
A: They can be activated.
If a Pendulum Summon is negated, the monsters that would be Special Summoned by the Pendulum Summon are not considered to be sent from the field to the Graveyard.
Therefore, if there are Pendulum Monsters among the monsters that would be Special Summoned by the Pendulum Summon, they are sent to the Graveyard.
(The Pendulum Monsters are sent to the Graveyard whether they were chosen from the hand or the Extra Deck)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13150&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Spell Cards are declared by the effect of Number 16: Shock Master, is it impossible to activate Pendulum Monsters as Spell Cards?
Also, in that case, is it impossible to perform a Pendulum Summon?
A: If Spell Cards are declared by the effect of Number 16: Shock Master, is it not possible to activate Pendulum Monsters as Spell Cards.
Also, if you already have 2 Pendulum Monsters placed in your Pendulum Zones and afterwards Spell Cards are declared by the effect of Number 16: Shock Master, you can still perform a Pendulum Summon normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13151&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a Token Monster Special Summoned by the effect of Scapegoat is destroyed by battle or by card effects, can the effect of Supply Unit be activated?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Supply Unit can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13152&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: What does it mean that the effect of Cxyz Barian stop applying “during the opponent’s next End Phase”?
A: The effect of Cxyz Barian that makes it gain the name and effects of the targeted monster lasts until the opponent’s next End Phase from the point of view of the player who activated this effect.
(Even if this card changes control afterwards, the expiration timing does not change)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13153&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Number C39: Utopia Ray be Xyz Summoned by placing it on top of Number 39: Beyond the Hope?
A: Number 39: Beyond the Hope is a monster that is also treated as a “Utopia” card, but its name is Number 39: Beyond the Hope, not Number 39: Utopia.
Also, Number C39: Utopia Ray is a monster that can be Xyz Summoned by placing it on top of Number 39: Utopia.
Therefore, Number C39: Utopia Ray cannot be Xyz Summoned by placing it on top of Number 39: Beyond the Hope.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13154&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory has Number 39: Beyond the Hope attached to it as an Xyz Material, meeting the requirement of having an “Utopia” monster attached to it can it activate its “•” effect?
A: Since Number 39: Beyond the Hope is also treated as an “Utopia” card, in that case, the requirement of having an “Utopia” monster attached to it is met.
Therefore, Number C39: Utopia Ray Victory can activate its “•” effect.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13155&keyword=&tag=-1

Ruling reviews:

(These were added after the ones from 03/24, they also started applying since 3/21)

Q: Please explain the activation timing of the effect of Gem-Merchant that increases ATK and DEF.
A: Sending this card from the hand to the Graveyard is a cost to activate this effect.
Also, this effect can be activated from the Start of the Damage Step until Before Damage Calculation when an EARTH Monster you control battles.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9985&tag=-1

Q: In which timings of the Damage Step can the effect of Muzurhythm the String Djinn be activated?
A: It can be activated from the Start of the Damage Step in which a “Djinn” Xyz Monster you control battles.
Also, it cannot be activated during Damage Calculation.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12148&tag=-1

Q: Please explain the activation timing and the effect resolution of the effect of Blackwing – Kalut the Moon Shadow that increases ATK.
A: Sending this card from the hand to the Graveyard is a cost to activate this effect.
Also, this effect can be activated from the Start of the Damage Step until Before Damage Calculation when “Blackwing” Monster you control battles.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=2&stype=1&tag=-1&sort=2

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons