[OCG] 03/26/15 Rulings

03/26/15 assorted rulings.

Q: If Vanity’s Emptiness is chained to either Monster Gate or Reasoning, how will each resolve?
A: If the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying when Monster Gate resolves, since you cannot Special Summon any monsters, the part of the effect that excavates cards is also not applied. (Therefore, no cards are sent to the Graveyard or Special Summoned.) Also, if the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying when Reasoning resolves, since you cannot Special Summon any monsters, the part of the effect that excavates cards is also not applied. (Therefore, no cards are sent to the Graveyard or Special Summoned.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9460&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During the turn my opponent has activated Threatening Roar, can I declare an attack with Elemental HERO Wildheart?
A: The effect of Threatening Roar is not one that affects Elemental HERO Wildheart. Thus, during the turn your opponent has activated Threatening Roar, Elemental HERO Wildheart cannot declare an attack.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6057&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate Mask Change II by targeting a Pendulum Monster?
A: Yes, you can. In this case, the Pendulum Monster is placed face-up in the Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard, but the part of the effect that Special Summons a “Masked HERO” monster from your Extra Deck with the same Attribute and a higher Level is applied normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6528&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my opponent has activated Scapegoat this turn so that they cannot Special Summon monsters, can I Special Summon Gilasaurus and Dynatherium using their own effects?
A: In this situation, even if your opponent cannot Special Summon monsters, you can Special Summon Gilasaurus and Dynatherium with their own effects.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6334&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If there are monsters on my opponent’s side of the field, can my face-up Defense Position Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster attack directly with its effect?
A: Yes, it can.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9224&keyword=&tag=0
(Yes, that is a new OCG ruling reversal.)

Q: Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster declares an attack on a monster while in face-up Attack Position, but the opponent activates Enemy Controller during the Battle Step, and as a result Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster is switched to Defense Position. What happens to its attack?
A: In this situation, a replay occurs. You can choose to attack directly using the effect of Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster, in which case its ATK is halved during damage calculation, or you can choose not to attack.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=102&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a face-up Defense Position Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster declares an attack, can my opponent activate Dimensional Prison?
A: Yes, they can. In that case, Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster is banished by the effect of Dimensional Prison.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10094&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Field Spell Card is face-up in my Field Zone. In this situation, if I activate the second effect of Ancient Pixie Dragon, but Mystical Space Typhoon is chained so that the Field Spell Card is destroyed, how does the effect of Ancient Pixie Dragon resolve?
A: If Mystical Space Typhoon is chained to the effect of Ancient Pixie Dragon, so that there is no longer a face-up Field Spell Card on the field when its effect resolves, the targeted monster is not destroyed.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8803&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Call of the Haunted is activated in a chain to the activation of a Field Spell Card, Special Summoning Ancient Pixie Dragon, can its effect to draw 1 card be activated afterward?
A: In this situation, since the Field Spell Card has already been activated, even if Ancient Pixie Dragon is Special Summoned in a chain by Call of the Haunted, its effect to draw 1 card cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7801&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Big Bang Shot and the monster equipped with it are both destroyed at the same time by Icarus Attack, will the equipped monster be banished by the effect of Big Bang Shot?
A: If Big Bang Shot and the monster equipped with it are both destroyed at the same time by Icarus Attack, the effect of Big Bang Shot that banishes the equipped monster is not applied, so the destroyed monster is sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7823&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate the effect of Number C6: Chronomaly Chaos Atlandis by targeting a face-down Defense Position monster?
A: Yes, you can target a face-down Defense Position monster with this effect. It should be noted that even if the face-down equipped monster is a “Number” monster, and Number 6: Chronomaly Atlandis is attached as an Xyz Material, you cannot activate the effect that makes your opponent’s Life Points become 100. (In order to activate this effect, Number C6: Chronomaly Chaos Atlandis needs to be equipped with a face-up “Number” monster.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7268&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a monster other than a “Number” monster be equipped to Number C6: Chronomaly Chaos Atlandis by its effect?
A: Number C6: Chronomaly Chaos Atlandis can be equipped with any monster on the opponent’s side of the field, including a monster other than a “Number” monster. However, in order to activate its effect that makes your opponent’s Life Points become 100, Number C6: Chronomaly Chaos Atlandis must be equipped with 1 or more “Number” monsters by its own effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6497&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can the effect of Chronomaly City Babylon be activated by banishing a “Chronomaly” Xyz Monster from the Graveyard?
A: To activate the effect of Chronomaly City Babylon, you must banish a “Chronomaly” monster with a Level, and you must target a monster with the same Level as the banished monster. Therefore you cannot activate the effect by banishing a “Chronomaly” Xyz Monster. (Also, you cannot Special Summon a “Chronomaly” Xyz Monster with this effect either.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7276&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When I Normal Summon Chronomaly Gordian Knot, can I Special Summon another Chronomaly Gordian Knot from my hand?
A: You can Special Summon Chronomaly Gordian Knot with the effect of another Chronomaly Gordian Knot. In that case, because they both have the same Level, the part of the effect that changes the Special Summoned monster’s Level is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11273&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Chronomaly Gordian Knot is activated, but Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device is chained so that Chronomaly Gordian Knot is no longer face-up on the field when its effect resolves, is the effect applied?
A: In this situation, the effect of Chronomaly Gordian Knot resolves normally. It should be noted that if Chronomaly Gordian Knot is no longer face-up on the field, the part of the effect that changes the Special Summoned monster’s Level is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6082&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Xyz Remora is Special Summoned by its own effect, and then activates its other effect to Special Summon 2 Level 4 Fish-Types monsters from the Graveyard, but the opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow so that one of the 2 targeted monsters is no longer in the Graveyard when the effect resolves, is the effect applied?
A: Even if one of the monsters targeted by the effect of Xyz Remora is no longer in the Graveyard when its effect resolves, the other remaining monster is Special Summoned normally. (That Special Summoned monster’s effects are negated, it cannot attack or change its battle position, and cannot be used as Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon, except for a WATER Xyz Monster.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=243&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the monster equipped with Gagagarevenge is used as an Xyz Material, but the Xyz Summon is negated by Solemn Judgment, will the effect of Gagagarevenge still activate?
A: Even in this situation, since Gagagarevenge was sent to the Graveyard because the equipped monster was used as Xyz Material, its effect will activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=202&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Elemental HERO Thunder Giant is activated, but Book of Moon is chained so that the monster targeted by its effect is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve? In addition, if the effect of Elemental HERO Thunder Giant is activated, but Book of Moon is chained so that Elemental HERO Thunder Giant itself is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: If the monster targeted by the effect of Elemental HERO Thunder Giant is changed to face-down Defense Position, it is not possible to confirm whether or not that monster has a lower original ATK than this card’s ATK, so that monster is not destroyed. In addition, if Elemental HERO Thunder Giant is changed to face-down Defense Position, it is not possible to confirm whether or not its ATK is higher than the original ATK of the targeted monster, so that monster is not destroyed.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7826&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Heraldic Beast Twin-Headed Eagle is activated, but Book of Moon is chained so that the targeted Xyz Monster is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Heraldic Beast Twin-Headed Eagle resolve?
A: If the Xyz Monster targeted by the effect of Heraldic Beast Twin-Headed Eagle is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, the 2 targeted monsters in the Graveyard are not attached to it as Xyz Materials, and remain in the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=173&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Umbral Horror Ghoul was used during my previous turn, and its ATK has become 0, can I activate its effect once more during this turn? Also, if I activate the effect of Umbral Horror Ghoul, but my opponent chains Ghost of a Grudge so that its ATK becomes 0, how does its effect resolve?
A: If the ATK of Umbral Horror Ghoul is already 0, its effect cannot be activated. Also, if the effect of Umbral Horror Ghoul is activated, but your opponent chains Ghost of a Grudge so that its ATK becomes 0, you cannot apply the effect which Special Summons a monster from your hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=131&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons