[OCG] 03/17/16 Rulings

Another reversal, and new weekly rulings.

03/17/16 Rulings

Q: The only monster on my opponent’s field is a Dark Magician of Chaos that was Special Summoned by the effect of Dark Renewal. If I activate the effect of my Number S39: Utopia Prime, how does it resolve?
A: In this scenario, the Dark Magician of Chaos in your opponent’s Monster Zone will be destroyed by the effect of Number S39: Utopia Prime, however, Dark Magician of Chaos will be banished by its own effect when it leaves the field, so the part of the effect that inflicts damage to your opponent does not apply. (In this case, destroying the opponent’s monster will be the last part of the effect to resolve.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13107&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When resolving the effect of Magical Hats, Hieratic Seal From the Ashes is selected from the Deck and Special Summoned as a monster. If Hieratic Seal From the Ashes is sent to the Graveyard while treated as a monster, will its last effect activate?
A: If Hieratic Seal From the Ashes is Set by Magical Hats and treated as a monster, but is flipped face-up by an attack and destroyed by battle, the last effect will activate. Similarly, if Hieratic Seal From the Ashes is flipped face-up by Ceasefire and subsequently destroyed by an effect such as Raigeki Break, the last effect will activate. However, if Hieratic Seal From the Ashes is destroyed while it remains in face-down Defense Position, such as by Magical Hats at the end of the Battle Phase, and sent to the Graveyard, its last effect will not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10732&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Artifact Vajra and Artifact Scythe are both targeted by Artifacts Unleashed. If Book of Moon is chained, and Artifact Vajra is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Artifacts Unleashed resolve?
A: If either of the 2 monsters targeted by Artifacts Unleashed is changed to face-down Defense Position, you cannot perform the Xyz Summon using the 2 targeted monsters, and they will both remain in their Monster Zones. However, even in this case, the effect that prevents monsters on your field other than “Artifact” monsters from attacking is applied normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9790&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Granmarg the Rock Monarch is Special Summoned from the Deck by the effect of Ehther the Heavenly Monarch. After that, if Granmarg the Rock Monarch is banished by the effect of Karma Cut, what happens during the End Phase? In addition, if Granmarg the Rock Monarch is banished by the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, what happens during the End Phase?
A: In the first scenario, if a Granmarg the Rock Monarch that was Special Summoned by the effect of Ehther the Heavenly Monarch is then banished by Karma Cut, the effect that returns it to the hand during the End Phase is not applied. (Granmarg the Rock Monarch will remain banished.) Furthermore, if Granmarg the Rock Monarch is banished by the effect of Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss, it will return to the field during the End Phase, but the effect that returns it to the hand does not apply. (Granmarg the Rock Monarch will remain in the Monster Zone.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14699&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Gladiator Beast Augustus and a Gladiator Beast Laquari that was Special Summoned by the effect of that Gladiator Beast Augustus are both face-up in my Monster Zone. If Compulsory Evacuation Device is activated in this situation, what happens during the End Phase?
A: The effect of Gladiator Beast Augustus that Special Summoned Gladiator Beast Laquari from your hand was already applied, thus, even if Gladiator Beast Augustus leaves the field, the Special Summoned monster will be shuffled into the Deck normally. (Gladiator Beast Laquari returns to its owner’s Deck during the End Phase.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9596&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Set Aegis of Gaia in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone is destroyed by the effect of my Superheavy Samurai Thief, and Set to my Spell & Trap Zone. Then, if the Set Aegis of Gaia is activated, and I gain 3000 Life Points, but then Aegis of Gaia is destroyed by a card such as Mystical Space Typhoon, how is the effect that inflicts damage applied?
A: In this scenario, if Aegis of Gaia was Set on your side of the field by Superheavy Samurai Thief and destroyed after it was activated by the opponent of its owner, the effect that inflicts damage is applied on the field, so that the player that activated Aegis of Gaia (you) will take 3000 damage. (The owner, your opponent, does not take damage.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11510&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my PSY-Framelord Omega is banished by its own effect along with a card from my opponent’s hand, but my opponent uses the effect of their own PSY-Framelord Omega to return my copy to the Graveyard during my Standby Phase, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the card that was banished from your opponent’s hand will return to their hand normally during your next Standby Phase, but the PSY-Framelord Omega that was returned to the Graveyard while it was banished will not return to the field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14498&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Skill Drain is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, Shield Crush is activated by targeting a face-down Defense Position Big Shield Gardna on my field. At this point, when the effect of Big Shield Gardna activates, how does it resolve?
A: Skill Drain negates the effects of monsters that are face-up in the Monster Zone. In this scenario, when Shield Crush is activated by targeting the face-down Defense Position Big Shield Gardna, the effect of Big Shield Gardna activates. The effect of Big Shield Gardna changes it to face-up Defense Position, and negates the activation of Shield Crush. (Since Big Shield Gardna is flipped face-up due to its effect resolving, the effect is not negated by Skill Drain.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7239&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates Mind Control by targeting a face-down Defense Position Big Shield Gardna in my Monster Zone. If the effect of Big Shield Gardna is chained, but my opponent further chains Ceasefire, how do the effects resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving Ceasefire at Chain Link 3, Big Shield Gardna is flipped from face-down Defense Position to face-up Defense Position. At Chain Link 2, when resolving the effect of Big Shield Gardna, it cannot be changed to face-up Defense Position by its own effect. In this case, the activation of the Spell Card is not negated, so at Chain Link 1, the effect of Mind Control resolves and takes control of Big Shield Gardna.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7432&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During one of the turns that my Deck Devastation Virus is applying its effect, if my opponent draws a card for their normal draw, can I activate Commander of Swords?
A: In this scenario, when your opponent draws a card for their normal draw, the effect of Deck Devastation Virus that is already applying will resolve first, and if the drawn card is a monster with 1500 or less ATK, since it will be destroyed immediately by the effect of Deck Devastation Virus, you cannot activate Commander of Swords. But if the drawn card is a monster with higher ATK or a Spell/Trap Card, it will not be destroyed by the effect of Deck Devastation Virus, and you can then activate Commander of Swords.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8390&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Evo-Force by Tributing an Evoltile Gephyro on my field, and Special Summon an Evolsaur Vulcano. In this case, if I also have Evo-Price face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, will its effect activate?
A: Evo-Force Special Summons an “Evolsaur” monster and treats it as being Special Summoned by the effect of an “Evoltile” monster. In this scenario, the effect of Evolsaur Vulcano and the effect of Evo-Price can each be activated. (If you activate both effects, they form a Chain in any order.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9302&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Tour Guide From the Underworld, Archfiend Heiress, Stygian Security, and Fiendish Rhino Warrior are all face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this case, if I only have 2 available Monster Zones, can I activate the effect of Possessed Dark Soul?
A: Even in this scenario, you can activate the effect of Possessed Dark Soul. Since Possessed Dark Soul is Tributed to activate its effect, you will then have 3 available Monster Zones, and you (the player who activated the effect of Possessed Dark Soul) will choose Level 3 or lower monsters on your opponent’s field to take control of. (You will take control of the 3 chosen monsters, but the remaining Level 3 or lower monster will be destroyed and sent to the Graveyard instead.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9129&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Dance Princess of the Ice Barrier by revealing a Blizzed, Defender of the Ice Barrier and a Cryomancer of the Ice Barrier in my hand, targeting 2 of my opponent’s Set Spell/Trap Cards. If my opponent chains Mind Crush, and Cryomancer of the Ice Barrier is discarded from my hand, how does the effect of Dance Princess of the Ice Barrier resolve?
A: In this scenario, even if a monster that you revealed to activate the effect of Dance Princess of the Ice Barrier is no longer in your hand when resolving the effect, the targeted cards are returned to the hand normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9304&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Dance Princess of the Ice Barrier by revealing 2 “Ice Barrier” monsters in my hand, then targeting 2 of my opponent’s Set Spell/Trap Cards. If my opponent chains Emergency Provisions, so that one of the targeted Spell/Trap Cards is no longer on the field, how does the effect of Dance Princess of the Ice Barrier resolve?
A: In this scenario, if you activated the effect of Dance Princess of the Ice Barrier by targeting multiple cards, even if they are not all still on the field when the effect resolves, the remaining targeted cards are returned to the hand normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9301&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the first effect of Evil HERO Inferno Gainer by banishing it from the Graveyard. If Divine Wrath is chained, negating the activation, what will happen to its other effect?
A: If Evil HERO Inferno Gainer is banished to activate its first effect, but the activation is negated by Divine Wrath, the second effect of Evil HERO Inferno Gainer that Special Summons it does not activate. (Evil HERO Inferno Gainer will remain banished.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6826&keyword=&tag=-1

03/11/16 Ruling

Q: Can I activate Relieve Monster by targeting a Token?
A: You can target a Token when you activate Relieve Monster. In that case, the Token disappears when it leaves the field, but because it cannot be returned to the owner’s hand, the part of the effect that Special Summons a Level 4 monster from your hand is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11359&keyword=&tag=-1

Pretty much the same deal as the Harpie Dancer reversal, and is actually more in line with the English text as well.

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons