[OCG] 03/05/15 Rulings

03/05/15 assorted rulings.

Q: Gravekeeper’s Ambusher is attacked while face-down, flipped face-up, and destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard. How will each of its effects be applied?
A: In this case, firstly, after damage calculation, you can activate and resolve the first effect of Gravekeeper’s Ambusher. Then, at the end of the Damage Step when Gravekeeper’s Ambusher is sent to the Graveyard, you can activate and resolve its second effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6530&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Gravekeeper’s Ambusher is Flip Summoned, and its first effect is activated by targeting a card in my opponent’s Graveyard. Torrential Tribute is chained to the activation, and furthermore Book of Moon is chained, targeting Gravekeeper’s Ambusher, so that the Flip Summoned Gravekeeper’s Ambusher is face-down when it is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. Can I activate its effect which adds a Necrovalley from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: In this case, Gravekeeper’s Ambusher is destroyed by Torrential Tribute and sent to the Graveyard while in face-down Defense Position. It is not treated as being sent to the Graveyard after being flipped face-up, so you cannot activate its second effect.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10491&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If an Attack Position Heroic Champion – Excalibur equipped with Magnum Shield activates its effect, what does its ATK become? Also, if an Attack Position Heroic Champion – Excalibur activates its effect, and then afterward it is equipped with Magnum Shield, what does its ATK become?
A: If an Attack Position Heroic Champion – Excalibur equipped with Magnum Shield activates its effect, its ATK becomes 4000. Also, if an Attack Position Heroic Champion – Excalibur activates its effect and its ATK becomes 4000, and then it is equipped with Magnum Shield, it gains ATK equal to its original DEF, so its ATK becomes 6000.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=16&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Chimeratech Overdragon is Fusion Summoned using 3 Fusion Material monsters. Its original ATK and DEF become 2400 as a result. If the effect of Shrink is applied, what does the ATK of Chimeratech Overdragon become?
A: The effect of Shrink halves the original ATK of the targeted monster until the end of the turn. In this case, the original ATK of Chimeratech Overdragon will become 1200, half of 2400. At the end of the turn, once the effect of Shrink stops applying, its ATK returns to 2400.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8230&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If De-Fusion is activated by targeting a Chimeratech Overdragon on my side of the field that was Fusion Summoned using a total of 6 Fusion Material monsters, how does De-Fusion resolve?
A: You can still activate De-Fusion by targeting Chimeratech Overdragon in this case. Chimeratech Overdragon will be returned to the Extra Deck, but you cannot apply the effect that Special Summons all of the Fusion Material monsters that were used for the Fusion Summon. (If 6 or more Fusion Material monsters were used for the Fusion Summon of Chimeratech Overdragon, you will not have enough available Monster Zones for all of them, so it is not possible to Special Summon all of them.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=279&keyword=&tag=0

Q: During the first turn of a Duel, or during a turn that the Battle Phase cannot be conducted because Soul Charge was activated, can the effect of Mermail Abyssmegalo which allows it to attack twice be activated?
A: During the first turn of a Duel, or during a turn that the Battle Phase cannot be conducted because Soul Charge was activated, it is not possible to activate that effect of Mermail Abyssmegalo.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8228&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Chronomaly Technology be activated while the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying? Also, if Imperial Iron Wall is chained to Chronomaly Technology, how does Chronomaly Technology resolve?
A: While the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying, Chronomaly Technology cannot be activated. Furthermore, if Imperial Iron Wall is chained to Chronomaly Technology, it is not possible to banish the targeted “Chronomaly” monster in your Graveyard, so the effect of looking at the top 2 cards of your Deck and adding 1 to your hand is not applied. Note that even in this case, you still cannot Special Summon monsters other than “Chronomaly” monsters this turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=112&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate the effect of Chronomaly Colossal Head, which changes a monster to face-up or face-down Defense Position, by targeting an Attack Position Mecha Phantom Beast Token or Emissary of Darkness Token?
A: Yes, you can. But since Tokens cannot exist face-down, you can only choose to change them to face-up Defense Position by the effect of Chronomaly Colossal Head.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8227&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When Lightning Chidori is Xyz Summoned, even if the opponent does not have any Set cards on their side of the field, will the first effect of Lightning Chidori still activate?
A: When Lightning Chidori is Xyz Summoned, even if the opponent does not have any Set cards on their side of the field, the effect of Lightning Chidori activates and starts a chain. (However, you do not select a target.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11299&keyword=&tag=0

Q: In my Monster Zone, only The Six Samurai – Zanji and The Six Samurai – Irou are present. The Six Samurai – Zanji attacks a Cyber Dragon on my opponent’s side of the field, and it is destroyed by battle. In this case, if I want to apply both effects of The Six Samurai – Zanji, what happens?
A: If you apply the effect of The Six Samurai – Zanji which allows you to destroy another “Six Samurai” monster instead when it would be destroyed by battle, you select the monster to destroy when damage calculation is performed, but that monster is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard at the end of the Damage Step. Then, it will be determined whether or not you can activate the effect of The Six Samurai – Zanji which allows you to destroy the monster that it attacked. In this case, because The Six Samurai – Irou is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard instead, The Six Samurai – Zanji becomes the only monster on your side of the field, and therefore you cannot activate its other effect. (Note that if you allow The Six Samurai – Zanji to be destroyed normally, you will still have The Six Samurai – Irou on your side of the field at the end of the Damage Step, so you can activate the effect of The Six Samurai – Zanji.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10494&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I Tribute Summon Dark Simorgh in face-up Attack Position, and then Special Summon Illusory Snatcher with its own effect in response, which Attribute does Illusory Snatcher become?
A: In this case, if you activate the effect of Illusory Snatcher and Special Summon it from your hand, its Attribute will be DARK. (It will not be treated as a WIND monster, nor will it be treated as both WIND and DARK.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6102&keyword=&tag=0

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Galaxy Wizard by Tributing it. If I chain Shared Ride to this effect, do I get to draw for that effect? Also, if I activate Shared Ride, but my opponent chains Gleipnir, the Fetters of Fenrir, will I get to draw for that effect?
A: In this case, if you chain Shared Ride to the effect of Galaxy Wizard, Shared Ride is applying when your opponent adds a “Galaxy” card from their Deck to their hand, so you will draw 1 card. Also, if your opponent chains Gleipnir, the Fetters of Fenrir to your Shared Ride, your opponent adds a “Nordic” monster from their Deck to their hand before Shared Ride is applying, so you will not be able to draw a card.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7961&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, Moulinglacia the Elemental Lord, Pyrorex the Elemental Lord, or Windrose the Elemental Lord are face-up in my Monster Zone. If Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. is returned to the top of my Deck by the effect of Raiza the Storm Monarch, will its effect which skips the Battle Phase of my next turn apply?
A: Even if Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. is returned to the top of your Deck by the effect of Raiza the Storm Monarch, the effect of skipping the Battle Phase of your next turn still applies.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12360&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, Moulinglacia the Elemental Lord, Pyrorex the Elemental Lord, or Windrose the Elemental Lord are face-up in my Monster Zone, and their effects are being negated by Skill Drain. In this case, if Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. leaves the field, will its effect which skips the Battle Phase of my next turn apply?
A: If Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. leaves the field while its effects are being negated by Skill Drain, the effect of skipping the Battle Phase of your next turn does not apply.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12644&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the first effect of Crystal Beast Cobalt Eagle is activated, targeting a face-up Crystal Beast Topaz Tiger, but Book of Moon is chained, so that Crystal Beast Topaz Tiger is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Crystal Beast Cobalt Eagle resolve?
A: In this case, if the targeted Crystal Beast Topaz Tiger is in face-down Defense Position when the effect of Crystal Beast Cobalt Eagle resolves, the effect of Crystal Beast Cobalt Eagle is not applied. (Crystal Beast Topaz Tiger remains on the field.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6628&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When I activate Abyss-strom, which is activated by sending a face-up Umi to the Graveyard, can I send Maiden of the Aqua, A Legendary Ocean, or Lemuria, the Forgotten City to the Graveyard?
A: To activate Abyss-strom, you can send A Legendary Ocean or Lemuria, the Forgotten City to the Graveyard. Note that you cannot activate it by sending Maiden of the Aqua to the Graveyard. (The effect of Maiden of the Aqua treats the field as if Umi is present, but its name is not treated as Umi.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6101&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate Psychic Tuning by targeting a Psychic-Type Xyz Monster in my Graveyard such as Chronomaly Crystal Chrononaut?
A: You can activate Psychic Tuning by targeting a Psychic-Type Xyz Monster in your Graveyard. The Xyz Monster Special Summoned by the effect of Psychic Tuning is treated as a Tuner monster, but since it does not have a Level, it cannot be used for a Synchro Summon. In addition, when the effect of Psychic Tuning activates after being sent to the Graveyard, since the Xyz Monster has no Level, no damage will be inflicted.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8229&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A face-up Defense Position Gem-Knight Pearl on my side of the field is attacked and destroyed by battle with an opponent’s Red Dragon Archfiend. In this case, after damage calculation, the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend activates to destroy all Defense Position monsters on my side of the field. Can I activate Xyz Block by detaching an Xyz Material from the Gem-Knight Pearl that was destroyed by battle?
A: In this case, the effect of Red Dragon Archfiend activates after damage calculation, before the destroyed Gem-Knight Pearl is sent to the Graveyard. If you activate Xyz Block, you can detach 1 Xyz Material from the destroyed Gem-Knight Pearl as the cost.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6639&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A face-up Bujingi Wolf on my side of the field that is originally owned by my opponent is banished by the effect of Dark Core. In this case, can I Special Summon Bujin Arasuda with its own effect?
A: In this case, if you are not the original owner of Bujingi Wolf, you cannot activate the effect of Bujin Arasuda.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10495&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the only “Madolche” monster on the field is controlled by my opponent when I Normal Summon Madolche Buttlerusk, can I activate its effect to add a Field Spell Card from my Deck to my hand?
A: Even if you do not have any other “Madolche” monsters on your side of the field, if your opponent has one on their side of the field, it is a situation in which there is another “Madolche” monster on the field, so therefore you can activate the effect of Madolche Buttlerusk.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=278&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I have Madolche Waltz on my side of the field, will its effect to inflict damage activate both when my “Madolche” monsters attack, and when they are attacked by an opponent’s monster?
A: If Madolche Waltz is face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone, its effect will activate after damage calculation, both when your “Madolche” monsters attack, and when they are attacked by an opponent’s monster. Note that if your “Madolche” monsters battle more than once per turn, the effect of Madolche Waltz will activate after each damage calculation.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=273&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons