Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 03/12/22 Rulings Update

17 new rulings.

 

Q: When resolving the effect of Duel Tower Alcatraz at the start of the Battle Phase, please explain the order that each player performs the listed actions.
A: The turn player first decides whether or not to apply the effect, and if so, selects a monster from their Deck. (At this point, their opponent does not get to see the selected monster.) Next, the non-turn player decides whether or not to apply the effect, and if so, selects a monster from their Deck. (At this point, their opponent does not get to see the selected monster.) After that, if at least one player selected a monster, the monsters are revealed to both players.

Source

 

Q: I activated the effect of Makyura the Destructor this turn, so I can activate 1 Trap Card from my hand this turn. If my opponent activates a Trap Card while I have Red Reboot in my hand, do I have to pay half my Life Points to activate Red Reboot if I apply the effect of Makyura the Destructor? Also, if I activate Red Reboot from my hand without applying the effect of Makyura the Destructor, do I have to pay half my Life Points?
A: You can choose whether to apply the effect of Makyura the Destructor to activate Red Reboot from your hand, or the effect of Red Reboot itself to activate it from your hand. If you apply the effect of Makyura the Destructor, you do not pay half your Life Points. Also, if you pay half your Life Points to activate Red Reboot instead, the effect of Makyura the Destructor was not applied, therefore you can still apply its effect and activate another Trap Card from your hand that turn.

Source

 

Q: It is the End Phase, and I control a Naglfar, Generaider Boss of Fire and 4 Generaider Tokens Special Summoned by the effect of Generaider Boss Stage. When the Generaider Tokens would be destroyed by the effect of Generaider Boss Stage, can I apply the effect of Naglfar, Generaider Boss of Fire to destroy a “Generaider” monster or Beast-Warrior monster I control instead? If so, can I destroy 1 Generaider Token instead of the 4 Generaider Tokens?
A: When the Generaider Tokens would be destroyed during the End Phase by the effect of Generaider Boss Stage, you can apply the effect of Naglfar, Generaider Boss of Fire. However, the effect of Naglfar, Generaider Boss of Fire destroys another card instead of the one(s) that would be destroyed. When you apply this effect, you can only destroy a card that is not going to be destroyed, so you cannot destroy a Generaider Token instead and would have to destroy Naglfar, Generaider Boss of Fire.

Source

 

Q: When I activate the first effect of Barian’s Chaos Draw by sending Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One to the Graveyard, my opponent chains the effect of Artifact Durendal, so that the effect of Barian’s Chaos Draw becomes “Destroy 1 Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls.” The effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One can only be applied once per Duel per its own text, but can I still activate another Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One later during this Duel?
A: Yes, you can. In this case, the written effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One was not applied.

Source

 

Q: When I activate Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One, my opponent chains the effect of Artifact Durendal, so that the effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One becomes “Destroy 1 Spell/Trap Card your opponent controls.” The effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One can only be applied once per Duel per its own text, but can I still activate another Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One later during this Duel?
A: Yes, you can. The effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One written in its text can only be applied once per Duel. In this case, the written effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One was not applied, because the effect of Artifact Durendal was applied. Therefore, you can activate another Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One during this Duel.

Source

 

Q: When I activate the first effect of Barian’s Chaos Draw by sending Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One to the Graveyard, the effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One is applied and an Xyz Monster is Special Summoned. In this case, can I activate the effect of Bariantopia that attaches an opponent’s monster to the Special Summoned Xyz Monster?
A: No, you cannot. The Xyz Monster was Special Summoned by the effect of Barian’s Chaos Draw that was applying the effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One. It is not treated as a monster Special Summoned by the effect of Rank-Up-Magic – The Seventh One.

Source

 

Q: While I control Obsidian Dragon, I activate Wonders of Nature, and Special Summon a Level 4 or lower DARK Fairy, Spellcaster, Winged Beast, or Beast-Warrior monster from my hand and equip it with Wonders of Nature. In this case, is the effect of Obsidian Dragon applied?
A: Since Wonders of Nature continues to target the equipped DARK monster, the effect of Obsidian Dragon is applied, so the effects of Wonders of Nature are negated and it is destroyed.

Source

 

Q: I activated the monster effect of Go! – D/D/D Divine Zero King Rage and selected the effect “● Your opponent cannot activate card effects in their hand or GY.” Can my opponent activate Infinite Impermanence or Evenly Matched from their hand to the Spell & Trap Zone this turn?
A: No, they cannot.

Source

 

Q: I activated the second effect of Shiranui Style Success, targeting Shiranui Samurai. When I activate the first effect of that Shiranui Samurai, my opponent chains an effect that negates the activated effect. In that case, will the effect of Shiranui Samurai be negated?
A: No, it will not be negated.

Source

 

Q: I activated the second effect of Shiranui Style Success, targeting Shiranui Spectralsword Shade. When I activate the effect of that Shiranui Spectralsword Shade by Tributing it, my opponent chains an effect that negates the activated effect. In that case, will the effect of Shiranui Spectralsword Shade be negated?
A: Yes, it will be negated.

Source

 

Q: When performing a Fusion Summon with the effect of Ultimate Fusion and returning Fusion Material monsters to the Deck, if the materials include a Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Frisson that was Special Summoned by its own effect, where will the materials return to in the Deck?
A: If monsters other than Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Frisson also return to the Deck at the same time, they will all return to the Deck and ultimately the Deck is shuffled. (Afterward, Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Frisson will not be placed at the bottom of the Deck.) However, if all of the monsters returning to the Deck at the same time are meant to be placed on the bottom of the Deck, place them there in any order without shuffling the Deck.

Source

 

Q: If the card targeted by the effect of Hexe Trude cannot be destroyed because it is no longer on the field, can Hexe Trude still make 2 attacks on monsters this turn?
A: No, it cannot. Hexe Trude can only attack once this turn.

Source

 

Q: While I control Accel Synchro Stardust Dragon and a Tuner monster, I activate the second effect of Accel Synchro Stardust Dragon. When resolving the effect, what happens if that Tuner is no longer face-up in my Monster Zone?
A: Even in that case, you still Special Summon a Stardust Dragon from your Extra Deck. Afterward, the part of the effect that performs a Synchro Summon using materials you control is not applied.

Source

 

Q: The effect of Speedroid Tri-Eyed Dice was previously activated this turn. When I declare a direct attack with Number S39: Utopia the Lightning, which prevents my opponent from activating cards or effects while it battles, the attack is immediately negated by the effect of Speedroid Tri-Eyed Dice. Can my opponent still activate Mirror Force when the attack is declared?
A: Yes, they can. (The attack is negated immediately, so Number S39: Utopia the Lightning is no longer battling. But even so, the attack was declared.)

Source

 

Q: What combination of monsters can be Special Summoned by the first effect of The Great Soul?
A: If you Special Summon only 1 monster, you can Special Summon a “Resonator” monster or you can Special Summon a Level 1 Dragon monster. If you Special Summon 2 monsters, you can Special Summon 2 “Resonator” monsters, 2 Level 1 Dragon monsters, or 1 “Resonator” monster and 1 Level 1 Dragon monster.

Source

 

Q: A Signal Counter was placed on Ready! Set! Duel! by its own effect. What happens to the Signal Counter if the effects of Ready! Set! Duel! are negated?
A: Even if the effects of Ready! Set! Duel! are negated, the Signal Counter remains. (It is not removed.)

Source

 

Q: Can I activate the effect of Dinomorphia Kentregina by banishing Dinomorphia Frenzy during my Main Phase?
A: No, you cannot. If you wish to activate the effect of Dinomorphia Kentregina during your own Main Phase, you can only banish a “Dinomorphia” Normal Trap as cost that you could activate during your Main Phase. Dinomorphia Frenzy can only be activated during your opponent’s Main Phase, so this is not the case. However, if you activate the effect of Dinomorphia Kentregina during your opponent’s Main Phase, you can banish Dinomorphia Frenzy as the cost.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.