[OCG] 02/20/15 & 02/26/15 Rulings

A wild ruling appears!

02/20/15 promo card rulings.

Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius
• The first effect of this card is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)
• Since the first effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is not activated in response to its Normal or Special Summon, cards such as Torrential Tribute cannot be activated in the same chain.
• If Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius was Normal or Special Summoned this turn, but it then left the field such as by being destroyed, you cannot activate its first effect.
• The second effect of this card is an Ignition Effect.
• If Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius destroyed an opponent’s monster by battle this turn, but it then left the field such as by being destroyed, you cannot activate its second effect.

02/20/15 assorted rulings.

Q: If the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is activated, but Divine Wrath or Skill Drain negates the activation or effect, can I Special Summon monsters other than “Raidraptor” monsters this turn?
A: If the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius, or its activation, is negated, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters other than “Raidraptor” monsters is not applied. Therefore, you can Special Summon monsters other than “Raidraptor” monsters this turn.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15307&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius destroys a face-down Defense Position Tsukuyomi by battle, but is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Tsukuyomi. Can I still activate the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius during Main Phase 2?
A: If an Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius which destroyed an opponent’s monster by battle was changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of Tsukuyomi, even if Book of Taiyou is used during Main Phase 2, you cannot activate the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15308&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius destroyed a Pendulum Monster by battle this turn, can I activate its second effect?
A: When Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius destroys a Pendulum Monster by battle, that monster is placed face-up in the Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Even in this case, you can activate the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius during your Main Phase 2.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15309&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I activate Monster Reborn, and Special Summon a monster other than a “Raidraptor” monster. During Main Phase 2 of the same turn, can I activate the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius?
A: Even if you already Special Summoned a monster other than a “Raidraptor” monster this turn, you can activate the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius. (Afterward, you cannot Special Summon monsters other than “Raidraptor” monsters for the rest of the turn.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15310&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius battled a monster with the same ATK, and both monsters were destroyed, can I activate its second effect?
A: The second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is activated during your Main Phase 2 after Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius destroyed a monster by battle. Therefore, you cannot activate this effect if Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is in your Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15311&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius destroyed a Token or an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster by battle this turn, can I activate its second effect?
A: Yes, you can.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15312&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is activated, but Mistake is activated in a chain, how does the effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius resolve?
A: In this case, it is not possible to resolve the effect of adding a “Rank-Up-Magic” Quick-Play Spell Card from your Deck to your hand. (You do not look through your Deck for the card.) Note that even in this case, since the effect was activated, you still cannot Special Summon monsters for the rest of this turn, except “Raidraptor” monsters.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15313&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If either the first or second effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is activated, but Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device is activated in a chain, so that Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is no longer face-up on the field when its effect resolves, how will the effect be applied?
A: When resolving its effect, if Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is not face-up on the field, the effect is applied normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15314&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius is Normal or Special Summoned during Main Phase 2, can I activate its first effect?
A: Yes, you can. (However, if you activated this effect during your Main Phase 1, you cannot activate it again during your Main Phase 2.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15315&keyword=&tag=0

Q: While the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, can I activate the first effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius?
A: Even while the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, you can activate the first effect of Raidraptor – Tribute Lanius. The “Raidraptor” card that you select from your Deck is banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15316&keyword=&tag=0

02/26/15 assorted rulings, FROM THE FUTURE.

Q: I control a Chaofeng, Legend of the Yang Zing which was Synchro Summoned using Effect Veiler (Level 1), Suanni, Fire of the Yang Zing (Level 4), and Magma Dragon (Level 4) as its Synchro Materials. In this case, can my opponent activate the effect of Elemental HERO Electrum which shuffles all banished cards into their owner’s Decks?
A: In this situation, while the first effect of Chaofeng, Legend of the Yang Zing is applying, your opponent cannot activate the effects of monsters whose original Attribute is FIRE. Therefore, since the original Attribute of Elemental HERO Electrum is LIGHT, its effect of shuffling all banished cards into their owner’s Decks can be activated normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15317&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, Moulinglacia the Elemental Lord, Pyrorex the Elemental Lord, or Windrose the Elemental Lord on my side of the field are destroyed during my opponent’s turn by Raigeki Break. During my next turn, if I do not perform my Battle Phase, how will the effect that skips the Battle Phase of my next turn be applied?
A: In this case, if you choose not to conduct your Battle Phase, the effect will not be applied. (Also, the Battle Phase of your next turn will not be skipped.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Multiple copies of Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, Moulinglacia the Elemental Lord, Pyrorex the Elemental Lord, and/or Windrose the Elemental Lord are face-up in my Monster Zone. If Dark Hole is activated, so that these monsters are all destroyed simultaneously, how will their effects that skip the Battle Phase of my next turn be applied?
A: In this situation, even if multiple copies of Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. are destroyed simultaneously, only the Battle Phase of your next turn will be skipped. (This is no different than having only a single copy leave the field.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, Moulinglacia the Elemental Lord, Pyrorex the Elemental Lord, or Windrose the Elemental Lord is in face-down Defense Position. If Compulsory Evacuation Device is then activated, and the face-down Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. leaves the field, how will the effect that skips the Battle Phase of my next turn be applied?
A: If a face-down Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. leaves the field, its effect that skips that skips the Battle Phase of your next turn is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11315&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, Moulinglacia the Elemental Lord, Pyrorex the Elemental Lord, or Windrose the Elemental Lord that I originally own changes control to my opponent’s side of the field due to the effect of Creature Swap. If Ring of Destruction is then activated, and Grandsoil the Elemental Lord, etc. leaves the field, how will the effect that skips the Battle Phase of my next turn be applied?
A: If a Grandoil the Elemental Lord, etc. that you originally own is destroyed while on your opponent’s side of the field, its effect will be applied to the player that controlled it. (In this case, the effect is applied to your opponent, and the Battle Phase of their next turn will be skipped.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12262&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer is face-up in my Monster Zone, can my opponent activate Miracle Fusion?
A: If all the required Fusion Material monsters are on the field, Miracle Fusion can be activated. If any of the required Fusion Material monsters are in the Graveyard, Miracle Fusion cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13407&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Neo-Spacian Grand Mole on my side of the field attacks a Yubel on my opponent’s side of the field. In this case, how are the effects of each monster applied?
A: The effect of Yubel which inflicts damage to the opponent activates and resolves before damage calculation. On the other hand, the effect of Neo-Spacian Grand Mole activates and resolves at the start of the Damage Step. Therefore, if you activate the effect of Neo-Spacian Grand Mole, both it and Yubel return to their owner’s hands, and the effect of Yubel does not activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12844&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Power Pickaxe be equipped to an Xyz Monster?
A: Yes, it can. In that case, since the Xyz Monster does not have a Level, the effect of Power Pickaxe cannot be activated.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=81&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate Overwind by targeting a face-up Wind-Up Zenmaister in my Monster Zone?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, its ATK and DEF are doubled normally. During the End Phase, it will be returned to the Extra Deck instead of the hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11168&keyword=&tag=0

Q: I use the effect of Forgotten Temple of the Deep to banish a monster during my opponent’s turn, and then again during my own turn. During my End Phase, how will the effect that Special Summons each monster banished by this effect apply?
A: If you banish a monster during your opponent’s turn with Forgotten Temple of the Deep, and then another during your turn, both monsters will be Special Summoned during your End Phase at the same time. In this case, if you only have 1 available Monster Zone, the player who activated the effect of Forgotten Temple of the Deep will choose 1 monster to Special Summon and send the other monster to the Graveyard.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9492&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can I activate Forgotten Temple of the Deep during the turn I activated Pot of Duality? In addition, during the turn I activated Pot of Duality, can I activate the effect of Forgotten Temple of the Deep which banishes a monster on my side of the field?
A: During the turn you activated Pot of Duality, you can activate Forgotten Temple of the Deep. In addition, even during the turn you activated Pot of Duality, you can activate the effect of Forgotten Temple of the Deep which banishes a monster on your side of the field. Note that during your End Phase, the effect that Special Summons the banished monster will start a chain, but the monster will not be Special Summoned. (The banished monster will remain banished.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9507&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Odd-Eyes Dragon attacks and destroys a face-down Defense Position Man-Eater Bug by battle. After damage calculation, when the effect of Man-Eater Bug activates, Divine Wrath is activated, negates the activation, and destroys it. In this case, will the effect of Odd-Eyes Dragon activate?
A: When Divine Wrath is chained to the effect of Man-Eater Bug after damage calculation, Man-Eater Bug is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by its effect. At the end of the Damage Step, because Man-Eater Bug was not destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard by Odd-Eyes Dragon, the effect of Odd-Eyes Dragon does not activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8338&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I have Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster on my side of the field, will Theban Nightmare gain ATK by its own effect?
A: After being activated, Embodiment of Apophis becomes a monster, but it is still also treated as a Trap Card. However, instead of using a Spell & Trap Zone, it is placed in the Monster Zone, so it is not considered a card in your Spell & Trap Zone. Therefore, if you have no other cards in your Spell & Trap Zone or any cards in your hand, Theban Nightmare will gain 1500 ATK.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=89&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the only monster on my opponent’s side of the field is a face-up Defense Position Superheavy Samurai Big Benkei, when it attacks while in Defense Position, can I activate Mirror Force?
A: In this case, if there are no Attack Position monsters on your opponent’s side of the field, you cannot activate Mirror Force.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7099&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Cyber Dragon Nova that I originally own changes control to my opponent’s side of the field due to the effect of Creature Swap. If my opponent later activates Torrential Tribute, and the destroyed Cyber Dragon Nova is sent from my opponent’s side of the field to my Graveyard, can I activate its last effect?
A: No, you cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11317&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Cyber Dragon Nova on my side of the field is Tributed by my opponent to Special Summon their Lava Golem. In this case, can I activate the last effect of Cyber Dragon Nova?
A: No, you cannot.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6094&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can a Fusion Monster Special Summoned by the effect of Cyber Dragon Nova attack or activate its effects?
A: Yes, it can.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11316&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Fusion Monster is Special Summoned by the effect of Cyber Dragon Nova, is its Special Summon treated as a Fusion Summon? When resolving this effect of Cyber Dragon Nova, are the correct Fusion Material monsters required?
A: The Special Summon performed by the effect of Cyber Dragon Nova is not treated as a Fusion Summon. A Fsusion Monster that cannot be Special Summoned except by Fusion Summon, such as Ultimate Ancient Gear Golem, cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of Cyber Dragon Nova. In addition, since the Special Summon is not a Fusion Summon, even without the correct Fusion Material monsters, you can still Special Summon a Fusion Monster with the effect of Cyber Dragon Nova.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11263&keyword=&tag=0

This is the future we chose..

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons