[OCG] 02/18/16 Rulings

Onward.


02/18/16 Rulings

Q: When returning a Level 5 or higher Dragon-Type monster to my hand with the effect of A Wingbeat of Giant Dragon, can I choose a Fusion or Synchro Monster that is face-up in my Monster Zone?
A: Yes, you can. Note that since the chosen Fusion or Synchro Monster is not returned to your hand, the part of the effect that destroys all Spell/Trap Cards on the field is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12317&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent has a face-up Fire Formation – Tensu in their Spell & Trap Zone, while I have no cards on my side of the field. In this situation, if my opponent activates a Fire Formation – Tenki, can I chain a Typhoon from my hand?
A: In this scenario, your opponent now controls 2 or more Spell/Trap Cards while you control none, so you can activate Typhoon from your hand.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12986&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of my opponent’s Waboku is applying. During my Battle Phase, if my Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon attacks, will my opponent take battle damage?
A: The effect of Waboku does not affect the attacking monster, so in this scenario, if Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon attacks, your opponent will not take any battle damage.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12988&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If there are no Normal Monsters in my hand or Deck, can I activate Light Shrine? Also, if there are no Normal Monsters in my hand or Deck, can I activate the second effect of Light Shrine?
A: Even if there are no Normal Monsters in your hand or Deck, you can activate Light Shrine. Also, if there are no Normal Monsters in your hand or Deck, you cannot activate the second effect of Light Shrine.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12834&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Doomcaliber Knight and Gaia Drake, the Universal Force are both face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, when my Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon attacks Gaia Drake, the Universal Force, I activate the second effect of Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon during damage calculation, but the effect of my opponent’s Doomcaliber Knight is activated in a chain. In this case, am I able to further chain the effect of Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon that can negate the activation of a monster effect?
A: In this scenario, when the effect of Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon activates during damage calculation, and the effect of Doomcaliber Knight is chained to it, the other effect of Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon can be chained. In that case, although the effect activation of Doomcaliber Knight is negated, since it was already Tributed and sent to the Graveyard, it cannot be destroyed by the effect of Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon, so Crystal Wing Synchro Dragon does not gain any ATK. (Its other effect will increase its ATK by that of Gaia Drake, the Universal Force, which is 3500, and damage calculation is conducted.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12836&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my opponent activates Performapal Monkeyboard from their hand to their Pendulum Zone, can I chain the first effect of Number 38: Titanic Galaxy?
A: When you activate a Pendulum Monster from your hand to your Pendulum Zone, it is considered activating a Spell Card, so the effect of Number 38: Titanic Galaxy can be chained. (In this scenario, Performapal Monkeyboard is attached to Number 38: Titanic Galaxy as an Xyz Material.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12833&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I want to Special Summon D/D/D Oracle King d’Arc with the Pendulum Effect of D/D/D Oblivion King Abyss Ragnarok, what happens?
A: When resolving the Pendulum Effect of D/D/D Oblivion King Abyss Ragnarok, the targeted monster is Special Summoned and damage is inflicted simultaneously. (The effect that halves all battle damage that your opponent takes for the rest of the turn is also applied at this time.) Since the effect of D/D/D Oracle King d’Arc is a Continuous Effect, it will be applied after it is successfully Special Summoned. Therefore, in this case, the part of the effect of D/D/D Oblivion King Abyss Ragnarok that inflicts 1000 damage to you is applied normally, and you take the damage. (You do not gain Life Points from the effect of D/D/D Oracle King d’Arc.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13506&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If my Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon (ATK 2500) battles my opponent’s Photon Circle (ATK 1000), which of their effects that either doubles the battle damage my opponent takes or halves it, respectively, is applied?
A: In this scenario, the result is dependent on which of these monsters is the attacking monster. (It will never be the case that both of their effects are applied at once.) If your Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon attacks your opponent’s Photon Circle, the effect of Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon doubles the battle damage your opponent takes. (In other words, since the ATK difference is 1500, your opponent will take 3000 damage.) On the other hand, if your opponent’s Photon Circle is attacking your Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon, the battle damage your opponent takes is halved by the effect of Photon Circle. (In other words, since the ATK difference is 1500, your opponent will take 750 damage.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12352&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Evil HERO Lightning Golem was Special Summoned with Dark Fusion this turn. If control of Evil HERO Lightning Golem is switched to my opponent due to the effect of Creature Swap, whose card effects will be unable to target that Evil HERO Lightning Golem this turn?
A: The effect of Dark Fusion prevents the Special Summoned monster from being targeted by the opponent’s card effects, from the perspective of the player that activated it. Thus, even if control of the Special Summoned monster is switched with Creature Swap, the player that is unable to target it with card effects does not change.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6776&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Revival Gift by targeting a Dark Resonator in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow, and banishes the targeted Dark Resonator, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Revival Gift, if the targeted Tuner monster is no longer in your Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned. Even in that case, the part of the effect that Special Summons 2 Gift Fiend Tokens to your opponent’s side of the field applies normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6775&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Infinity Dark that is treated as an Effect Monster after applying the effect of Super Double Summon is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this case, if Book of Moon is activated, and Infinity Dark is changed to face-down Defense Position, will it return to the hand during the End Phase due to the effect of Super Double Summon?
A: If an Infinity Dark that is treated as an Effect Monster due to the effect of Super Double Summon is changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon, it does not return to the hand during the End Phase.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9990&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Stardust Dragon be chained to the activation of Fire Formation – Yoko?
A: When Fire Formation – Yoko is activated, the player activating it has the option of targeting a face-up card their opponent controls, in which case the effect will discard 1 Beast-Warrior-Type monster and destroy that card. If a face-up card is targeted when Fire Formation – Yoko is activated, it is considered as a card effect that would destroy a card on the field, so the effect of Stardust Dragon can be chained. If Fire Formation – Yoko is activated without targeting a card, it is not considered a card effect that would destroy a card on the field, so the effect of Stardust Dragon cannot be chained.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10216&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Calming Magic is applying. In this situation, if Giant Germ is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, will the effect of Giant Virus activate?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Giant Virus activates and creates a Chain. In that case, the effect inflicts 500 damage to the opponent normally, but due to the effect of Calming Magic, monsters cannot be Summoned, so no additional copies of Giant Germ can be Special Summoned from the Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8428&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Calming Magic is applying. In this situation, can the effect of Evil Thorn be activated?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Evil Thorn can be activated by Tributing it. In that case, the effect inflicts 300 damage to the opponent normally, but due to the effect of Calming Magic, monsters cannot be Summoned, so no additional copies of Evil Thorn can be Special Summoned from the Deck.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6054&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Will the effect of Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster that prevents “Destiny HERO” monsters from being destroyed by battle and reduces the battle damage I take to 0 if they battle still apply even if Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster is Special Summoned other than by the effect of Clock Tower Prison?
A: The second effect of Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster is applied even if it is Special Summoned by a method other than the effect of Clock Tower Prison.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7470&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: After Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster is Special Summoned by the effect of Clock Tower Prison, its effect is activated, destroying all non-“Destiny HERO” monsters I control and then Special Summons up to 2 “Destiny HERO” monsters from my Graveyard. During this turn, if Compulsory Evacuation Device is activated, and Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster leaves the field, will its effect that prevents “Destiny HERO” monsters from being destroyed by battle and reduces the battle damage I take to 0 if they battle continue to apply this turn?
A: If a Destiny HERO – Dreadmaster that was Special Summoned this turn is returned to its owner’s hand by the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device, and is no longer face-up on the field, its second effect will continue to apply for the rest of this turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8829&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons