[OCG] 02/12/15 OCG rulings

02/12/2015
Assorted rulings

Q: If you control a Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer in a Monster Zone, so that its effect that prevents the opponent from banishing cards in the Graveyard is being applied, can the opponent activate Karma Cut?
A: Even in the proposed scenario, the opponent can activate Karma Cut.
Since the effect of Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer is being applied, cards with the same name in the Graveyard cannot be banished by the effect of Karma Cut. Only the monster on the field targeted by Karma Cut is banished.
Furthermore, if Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer is targeted for the effect of that Karma Cut, the Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer on the field is banished, and afterwards cards with the same name in the Graveyard are banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=2&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to the effect of Gladiator Beast Darius that Special Summons a monster from the Graveyard, so that Gladiator Beast Darius is flipped to face-down Defense Position, how does this resolve?
A: Even in the proposed scenario, the “Gladiator Beast ” monster in the Graveyard is Special Summoned normally.
Furthermore, since the Special Summoned monster is disconnected from being targeted by the effect of Gladiator Beast Darius, the effect that negates the effects of the Special Summoned monster and that would return it to the Deck if Gladiator Beast Darius leaves the field is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you control a Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer in a Monster Zone, so that its effect that prevents the opponent from banishing cards in the Graveyard is being applied, can the opponent activate Fiend Comedian?
A: Since the effeect of Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer is being applied, the opponent cannot banish cards in the Graveyard by card effects.
Therefore, the opponent cannot activate Fiend Comedian.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=90&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Mecha Phantom Beast Warbluran be used as a Synchro Material for the Synchro Summon of a Synchro Monster that is not a Machine-Type monster?
A: Yes, it can.
In that case, the effect that Special Summons a Mecha Phantom Beast Token does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=98&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can you control 2 or more copies of DZW – Chimera Clad?
Also, if 2 copies of DZW – Chimera Clad are equipped to the same “Number C39” monster, how many attacks can it perform?
A: You can control 2 or more face-up copies of DZW – Chimera Clad. (You can also equip 2 copies of DZW – Chimera Clad to the same “Number C39” monster)

Also, even of 2 copies of DZW – Chimera Clad are equipped to the same “Number C39” monster, it can only attack the same monster once again.
(It is no different from being equipped with only 1 copy of DZW – Chimera Clad)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=133&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If DZW – Chimera Clad becomes an Equip Card and is equipped by the effect of Relinquished, are the effects that prevent it from being destroyed in battle or that allow it to attack once again applied?
A: Even if DZW – Chimera Clad becomes an Equip Spell Card by the effect of Relinquished, each of its effects are applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=143&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A monster equipped with DZW – Chimera Clad performed an attack and the effect of DZW – Chimera Clad that reduces ATK and allows it to attack once again was activated.
After the part of the effect that reduces the ATK of the monster to 0 is performed, can any card like Mystical Space Typhoon be activated before the consecutive attack is performed?
A: If the ATK of an opponent’s monster becomes 0 by the effect of DZW – Chimera Clad, before the attack declaration performed by the effect of DZW – Chimera Clad occurs, cards like Mystical Space Typhoon can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=146&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Rank-Up-Magic Limited Barian’s Force be activated targeting a Bujintei – Susanowo Special Summoned by the effect of Bujincarnation?
Also, if it can be activated, Xyz Monsters of which Type can be Special Summoned?
A: Rank-Up-Magic Limited Barian’s Force can be activated by targeted a Bujintei – Susanowo that was Special Summoned by the effect of Bujincarnation.
Even in that case, since the restriction of being unable to use the monster Special Summoned by the effect of Bujincarnation as an Xyz Material, except for the Xyz Summon of a Beast, Beast-Warrior or Winged-Beast-Type Xyz Monster is applied, only Beast, Beast-Warrior or winged-Beast-Type monsters can be Xyz Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6386&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During a turn in which the effect of Ghostrick Vanish was used, are “Ghostrick” cards or face-down Defense Position mosnters that appear on the field afterwards, like a Ghostrick Mansion activated afterwards also affected by the effect that prevents them from being targeted or destroyed by card effects?
A: The effect of Ghostrick Vanish is not only applied to “Ghostrick” cards and face-down Defense Position monsters you control at the time of the resolution of its effect, but also “Ghostrick” cards and face-down Defense Position monsters that appear on the field afterwards.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6488&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: At the time Ghostrick Scare is activated, can face-down Defense Position monsters that are not “Ghostrick” monsters be targeted?
A: It is possible to only target face-down Defense Position monsters that are not “Ghostrick” monsters.
In that case, only the part of the effect that changes those monsters to face-up Defense Position is performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7638&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If an Embodiment of Apophis treated as a monster after activating its own effect is destroyed in battle by a Thought Ruler Archfiend, can the effect that increases your LP be activated?
A: In the proposed scenario, the effect of Thought Ruler Archfiend cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7089&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control Speed Warrior and Junk Warrior face-up.
When a Sonic Warrior is sent to the Graveyard and its effect that increases the ATK of Level 2 or lower monsters activates, Star Changer is activated, increasing the Level of Speed Warrior by 1 so that it became 3. In that case, is the ATK of Speed Warrior increased?
Also, in the same situation, the Level of Junk Synchron was reduced by 1 by the effect of Star Changer being activated in a chain so that it becames 2. In this case, is the ATK of Junk Synchron increased?
A: The effect of Sonic Warrior is applied to all face-up Level 2 or lower monsters in your Monster Zones when that effect resolves.
In the proposed scenarios, the effect is not applied ot the Speed Warrior that became Level 3 by the time the effect resolves, and it is applied to the Junk Warrior that became Level 2 by the time the efect resolves, increasing its ATK.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7095&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Forbidden Lance is used on a Bujingi Quilin Special Summoned by the effect of Bujincarnation, for the Xyz Summon of which Types of monster can it be used for?
A: Even if Forbidden Lance is used on a monster Special Summoned by the effect of Bujincarnation, the restriction that prevents using that monster from being used as an Xyz Material except for the Xyz Summon of a Beast, Beast-Warrior or Winged-Beast-Type monster is still applied.
Therefore, it cannot be used as an Xyz Material, except for the Xyz Summon of a Beast, Beast-Warrior or Winged-Beast-Type monster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8608&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: It is your next turn after Dora of Fate was activated targeting a Level 5 monster the opponent controls.
If Double Summon is activated and 2 Level 4 monsters are Normal Summoned, can damage be inflicted twice by the effect of Dora of Fate?
A: No, it cannot.
The effect of Dora of Fate that activates during your next turn after activation when you Normal Summon a monster that is 1 Level lower than the targeted mosnter can only be used once.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8659&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Crimson Blader battles with a monster with the same ATK and both are destroyed in battle, does its effect that prevent the opponent from Normal and Special Summoning LEvel 5 or higher mosnters activate?
A: The effect of Crimson Blader is an effect that activates on the field at the end of the Damage Step.
In that case, since Crimson Blader is sent to the Graveyard at the End of the Damage Step, its effect does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8794&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Is it possible to not flip any monsters the opponent controls face-down by the effect of Ghostrick Scare?
A: If there is 1 or more “Ghostrick” monsters among the monsters flipped face-up by the effect of Ghostrick Scare, it is not possible to flip 0 monsters the opponent controls to face-down Defense Position. At least 1 monster must be flipped to face-down Defense Position.
(If 2 “Ghostrick” monsters are flipped to face-up Defense Position, it is possible to only flip 1 monster the opponent controls to face-down Defense Position)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8801&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Number C39: Utopia Ray is Xyz Summoned by placing it on top of Number 39: Utopia, can the effect of Xyz Change Tactics be activated?
A: Even in that case, since this is treated as an Xyz Summon, the effect of Xyz Change Tactics can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9045&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent activates the effect of D.D. Crow in a chain to the activation of Bujincarnation, so that the targeted monster in the Graveyard is banished by the time the effect resolves, how does this resolve?
A: In that case, the effect of Bujincarnation is not applied. (Not even 1 monster is Special Summoned)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9508&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Ghostrick Scare was activated targeting two face-down Defense Position monsters.
If Compulsory Evacuation Device is activated in a chain to that activation, so that at the time of the resolution of the effect of Ghostrick Scare 1 of the targets has left the field, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, the effect resolves.
The remaining target is flipped to face-up Defense Position, and face-up monsters the opponent controls up to the number of “Ghostrick” monsters among those flipped cards are chosen and flipped to face-down Defense Position.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10012&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: can Ghostrick Scare be activated even if the opponent controls no face-up monsters?
A: Yes, it can.
Only the part of the effect that flips the targeted monsters to face-up Defense Position is performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10423&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Number C39: Utopia Ray V is Special Summoned by the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force or Rank-Up-Magic Limited Barian’s Force, can the effect of Xyz Change Tactics be activated?
A: In that case, since it is considered as an Xyz Summon being performed, the effect of Xyz Change Tactics can be activated.
However, for the case of Rank-Up-Magic Barian’s Force, if the part of the effect that attaches an Xyz Material to the monster is performed, the effect of Xyz Change Tactics cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10735&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Rebound be activated in a chain to the activation of Madolche Tea Break?
A: A Spell or Trap Card that has its activation negated by Madolche Tea Break is not considered to be on the field.
Therefore, since Madolche Tea Break is not an effect that would return cards on the field to the hand, Rebound cannot be activated in a chain to the activation of Madolche Tea Break.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11493&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The opponent has a Proto-Cyber Dragon and Cyber Dragon in their Graveyard.
If Karma Cut is activated targeting a Proto-Cyber Dragon the opponent controls in their Monster Zone, which mosnters in the Graveyard are banished?
A: The effect of Proto-Cyber Dragon that treats its name as Cyber Dragon is a Continuous Effect that is only applied on the field.
If Proto-Cyber Dragon is banished by the effect of Karma Cut, it is not treated as Cyber Dragon.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, the Cyber Dragon in the opponent’s Graveyard is not banished by the effect of Karma Cut. The Proto-Cyber Dragon in the opponent’s Graveyard is banished.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12445&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the opponent activates Gift Card in a chain to the activation of the effect of Number S39: Utopia Prime that destroys cards, you no longer have 10 LP during the resolution of the effect, but does the effect resolve?
A: At the time the effect of Number S39: Utopia Prime is activated, you pay LP until you have 10 left as a cost.
Even if at the time of the resolution of the effect of Number S39: Utopia Prime you no longer have 10 LP as a result of the effect of the opponent’s Gift CArd, the effect resolves normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12879&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons