[OCG] 02/11/16 Rulings

Tonight’s rulings.

02/11/16 Rulings

Q: Can Rank-Up-Magic Soul Shave Force be activated by targeting Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon?
A: The effect of Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon that makes it unaffected by other card effects is a Continuous Effect and only applies while it is face-up in a Monster Zone. When resolving Rank-Up-Magic Soul Shave Force, its effect Special Summons the targeted monster from the Graveyard and then Special Summons an Xyz Monster that is 2 Ranks higher using it as an Xyz Material. Therefore, the effect of Rank-Up-Magic Soul Shave Force will be applied without being influenced by the effect of Raidraptor – Ultimate Falcon. (The effect will Special Summon a Rank 12 monster from the Extra Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11302&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Gladiator Beast Alexander be Pendulum Summoned from the hand?
A: Gladiator Beast Alexander is a Normal Summon-able monster, but when Special Summoning it by a card effect, it can only be Special Summoned by the effect of a “Gladiator Beast” monster. However, since a Pendulum Summon is not a Special Summon by card effect, Gladiator Beast Alexander can be Pendulum Summoned.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9075&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When resolving the effect of The Eye of Timaeus, can the effect of Fusion Tag be applied?
A: With The Eye of Timaeus, unlike with a regular Fusion Summon, you do not use multiple Fusion Material monsters, and only the targeted “Dark Magician” monster is used as the Fusion Material for the Fusion Summon. Therefore, when resolving the effect of The Eye of Timaeus, the effect of Fusion Tag cannot be applied. (The effect of Fusion Tag does not change the name of the affected monster.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12652&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Chimeratech Fortress Dragon be targeted with Fusion Tag? If so, by applying the effect of Fusion Tag, can Chimeratech Fortress Dragon be used as a Fusion Material monster?
A: Chimeratech Fortress Dragon can be targeted with Fusion Tag. However, Chimeratech Fortress Dragon can never be used as a Fusion Material monster, so it cannot be used as one even by applying the effect of Fusion Tag.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9928&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate the effect of Bug Matrix by targeting a face-up Digital Bug Rhinocebus in my Monster Zone. If Forbidden Lance is chained, making Digital Bug Rhinocebus unaffected by Spell effects, how will the effect of Bug Matrix resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Bug Matrix, if the targeted monster has become unaffected by the effects of Spell Cards, the effect of attaching an Insect-Type monster from your hand to it as an Xyz Material is not applied. (The Insect-Type monster will remain in your hand.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12419&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If I have no monsters in my Monster Zone, but there is a monster in my opponent’s Monster Zone, can I activate the effect of Fuyu Sakura that banishes monsters from my opponent’s Extra Deck?
A: Even in this case, since the number of monsters on your opponent’s side of the field is greater than the number of monsters on your side, you can activate the effect of Fuyu Sakura.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11301&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Majespecter Unicorn – Kirin is activated, by targeting itself and a face-down monster my opponent controls, but Book of Eclipse is chained so that Majespecter Unicorn – Kirin is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, even if the Pendulum Monster targeted with the effect of Majespecter Unicorn – Kirin is changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect resolves normally. (The 2 targeted monsters are returned to the hand.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10634&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Mask of Restrict is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect is preventing both players from Tributing cards, what happens to any Amorphage cards in my Pendulum Zone during my Standby Phases?
A: While the effect of Mask of Restrict is applying, neither player can Tribute cards for any reason. Therefore, when applying the maintenance costs of cards such as Amorphage Gastrimargia, etc., since you cannot Tribute a monster, they are destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10633&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: During my turn, I activate the effect of CXyz Barian Hope, and it gains the name and effects of Number 61: Volcasaurus. During my opponent’s turn, if they activate Mind Control and gain control of CXyz Barian Hope, which effects can they activate?
A: In this scenario, CXyz Barian Hope is still being treated as Number 61: Volcasaurus and has its effects. In that case, your opponent cannot activate the original effect of CXyz Barian Hope that allows it to gain the name/effects of a “Number” monster. Note that the effect of CXyz Barian Hope that increases its ATK by 1000 for each Xyz Material attached to it still applies, and your opponent can also activate the copied effect of Number 61: Volcasaurus.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10586&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: DNA Surgery was activated by declaring Insect-Type. In this situation, if a monster that isn’t originally an Insect-Type monster is destroyed by battle or card effect and sent to the Graveyard, can the effect of Verdant Sanctuary be activated?
A: If a monster that is not originally an Insect-Type monster but is treated as one by the effect of DNA Surgery is destroyed by battle or card effects and sent to the Graveyard, the effect of Verdant Sanctuary cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9442&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates Mind Control by targeting an Exploder Dragonwing on my side of the field that is currently gaining 400 ATK by the effect of Power Supplier. If control of Exploder Dragonwing is switched to my opponent, what happens to the ATK gain from the effect of Power Supplier?
A: The effect of Power Supplier is one that continually targets the affected monster(s). In this scenario, even if control of the targeted Exploder Dragonwing is switched, the 400 ATK gain from the effect of Power Supplier will remain.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9441&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Savage Colosseum is face-up in the Field Zone, my Luster Dragon attacks an opponent’s face-down Defense Position monster. As a result, if that monster is Jowls of Dark Demise, and its effect allows my opponent to take control of Luster Dragon, will the effect of Savage Colosseum activate at the end of the Damage Step?
A: In this scenario, your Luster Dragon that attacked switched control to your opponent’s side of the field. Even in this case, the effect of Savage Colosseum will activate at the end of the Damage Step, but it will be your opponent who controls Luster Dragon that gains Life Points.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9074&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is applying, can Last Resort be activated?
A: When resolving Last Resort, Ancient City – Rainbow Ruins is activated from your Deck. While the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is applying, players cannot activate Spell Cards without first Setting them, so Last Resort cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6166&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates a Pendulum Monster as a Spell Card by placing it in their Pendulum Zone, I chain Solemn Judgment and negate the activation. In this case, is it possible to then activate the effect of Van’Dalgyion the Dark Dragon Lord that Special Summons it from my hand? If so, when its effect activates after being Special Summoned, how does it resolve?
A: In this scenario, if a Pendulum Monster is activated as a Spell Card by placing it in the Pendulum Zone, the effect of Solemn Judgment is considered to have negated the activation of a Spell Card, and the effect of Van’Dalgyion the Dark Dragon Lord that Special Summons it from the hand can be activated. Furthermore, in that case, since the activation of a Spell Card was negated, the effect of Van’Dalgyion the Dark Dragon Lord will inflict 1500 damage to your opponent.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6165&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When resolving the effect of Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin, if I check my opponent’s hand but there are no monsters in it, what happens?
A: When you look at your opponent’s hand when resolving the effect of Neo-Spacian Aqua Dolphin, if there are no monsters in your opponent’s hand, the effect finishes resolving. (Neither player will take 500 damage.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=72&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons