[OCG] 02/05/15 Rulings

02/05/15 assorted rulings.

Q: If Heavy Mech Support Platform is destroyed while it is treated as an Equip Spell Card, are 2 Junk Counters placed on Machine Assembly Line?
A: When Heavy Mech Support Platform is destroyed as an Equip Spell Card, it is not treated as a Machine-Type monster being destroyed, so Junk Counters are not placed on Machine Assembly Line.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=104&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a face-down Machine-Type monster is destroyed by battle or by card effect, are 2 Junk Counters placed on Machine Assembly Line?
A: If a face-down Machine-Type monster is destroyed by an effect such as Dark Hole, Junk Counters are not placed on Machine Assembly Line. If a face-down Machine-Type monster is attacked, flipped face-up, and destroyed by battle, 2 Junk Counters are placed on Machine Assembly Line.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8630&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Anti-Spell Fragrance is chained to a Spell Card, such as Monster Reborn, what will happen to the effect of that Spell Card?
A: Once Anti-Spell Fragrance starts applying, a player cannot activate a Spell Card unless Set it during their last turn. This effect does not negate the effects of Spell Cards that have already been activated, so in this situation, the effect of Monster Reborn will resolve normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10752&keyword=&tag=0

Q; I control March of the Monarchs, as well as a face-up Tribute Summoned monster. If Book of Eclipse is activated, and that monster is changed to face-down Defense Position, will March of the Monarchs continue to affect it?
A: The effect of March of the Monarchs will still apply to monsters that were Tribute Summoned face-up and then changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Eclipse. (Then, even after that monster is flipped face-up again, March of the Monarchs will continue to affect it.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6109&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the ATK of Orbital 7 is greater than or equal to 2000, can its effect that makes its ATK become 2000 be activated?
A: If the ATK of Orbital 7 is 2000, this effect cannot be activated. If its ATK is greater than 2000, you can activate its effect by removing the You Got It Boss! Counter.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7408&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate Mask Change, but my opponent chains Enemy Controller, so that control of the targeted monster has changed, how does Mask Change resolve?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Mask Change is applied normally, sending the targeted monster to the Graveyard and Special Summoning a “Masked HERO” monster from your Extra Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=76&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Mind Crush be activated if I have 0 cards in my hand? Can it be activated if my opponent has 0 cards in their hand?
A: Mind Crush cannot be activated unless each player has at least 1 card in their hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=298&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate Mind Crush, but then chain my own Raigeki Break so that I have 0 cards in my hand, how does Mind Crush resolve? Also, if I activate Mind Crush, but my opponent chains the effect of their Maxx “C” so that they have 0 cards in their hand, how does Mind Crush resolve?
A: When Mind Crush resolves, if you have 0 cards in your hand, the effect that makes your opponent discard any copies of the declared card is still applied, but the effect that makes you discard if the opponent does not have the declared card in their hand is not applied. Also, when Mind Crush resolves, if your opponent has 0 cards in their hand, since they will not have the declared card in their hand, you must then discard 1 random card.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12603&keyword=&tag=0

Q: A Legendary Ocean and Lemuria, the Forgotten City are always treated as Umi, but can Mind Crush be activated by declaring either A Legendary Ocean or Lemuria, the Forgotten City?
A: No, it cannot. A Legendary Ocean and Lemuria, the Forgotten City are always treated as Umi, so if you want to declare them with Mind Crush, you must declare Umi. (In that case, the opponent would have to discard any copies of Umi, A Legendary Ocean, or Lemuria, the Forgotten City.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=277&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the first effect of Lightning Chidori is activated, targeting a Set monster, but Ceasefire is chained so that the targeted monster is flipped to face-up Defense Position, will it be returned to the bottom of the Deck?
A: If a card targeted by the first effect of Lightning Chidori is face-up when this effect resolves, the effect does not apply. (So the card is not returned to the bottom of the Deck.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=71&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the second effect of Lightning Chidori is activated, targeting a face-up monster, but Book of Moon is chained so that the targeted monster is changed to face-down Defense Position, will it be returned to the top of the Deck?
A: If a card targeted by the second effect of Lightning Chidori is face-down when this effect resolves, the effect does not apply. (So the card is not returned to the top of the Deck, and remains on the field.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=17&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Electric Virus is activated, but Book of Moon is chained so that the targeted Dragon or Machine-Type monster is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Electric Virus resolve?
A: In that case, the effect of Electric Virus does not apply. (Control of the targeted monster does not change.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=155&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving The Eye of Timaeus, can I apply the effect of Chain Material?
A: Unlike a normal Fusion Summon, using The Eye of Timaeus does not require you to use all of the listed Fusion Material monsters. Only the targeted monster is used as Fusion Material, so you cannot apply the effect of Chain Material.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=88&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the effect of Volcanic Shell is activated, but my opponent chains D.D. Crow and banishes that Volcanic Shell, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this case, if the Volcanic Shell that activated its effect is no longer in the Graveyard when its effect resolves, this effect will not apply. (You cannot add a Volcanic Shell from your Deck to your hand.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Can Reptilianne Rage be equipped to a Reptile-Type monster?
A: Yes, it can. In that case, it still gains 800 ATK.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=199&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving Viper’s Rebirth, if a monster other than a Reptile-Type monster exists in the Graveyard, how does the effect resolve?
A: Having only Reptile-Type monsters in your Graveyard is only a requirement for activating Viper’s Rebirth, so even if you have a monster other than a Reptile-Type in your Graveyard when it resolves, you will apply the effect normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=196&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a monster is Special Summoned by Celestial Transformation, then later changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon, will it be destroyed during the End Phase?
A: If a monster that was Special Summoned by Celestial Transformation is changed to face-down Defense Position, the effects of Celestial Transformation will stop applying, and the monster will not be destroyed during the End Phase. Also note that if that monster is flipped face-up again, its ATK returns to its original value, and it is still not destroyed during the End Phase.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=70&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If my opponent does not control any cards, can I activate the effect of Madolche Queen Tiaramisu? Also, when resolving the effect of Madolche Queen Tiaramisu, if my opponent does not control any cards, how does the effect resolve?
A: You cannot activate the effect of Madolche Queen Tiaramisu if your opponent controls no cards. When resolving the effect of Madolche Queen Tiaramisu, if your opponent controls no cards, although you still return the targeted cards to your Deck, you do not apply the effect of returning your opponent’s cards to the Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=18&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Will the effect of Temple of the Sun only apply to monsters that were Special Summoned from the Graveyard after it was activated?
A: The effect of Temple of the Sun will affect any monster that was Special Summoned from the Graveyard, regardless if it was Special Summoned before or after its activation.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=176&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the last effect of The Fabled Kudabbi that I control is activated, but I chain Phoenix Wing Wind Blast and discard 1 card, so that I now have less than 3 cards in my hand when the effect of The Fabled Kudabbi resolves, is its effect applied?
A: Even if you have less than 3 cards in your hand when resolving this effect, it is still applied normally. (The Fabled Kudabbi is destroyed.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=100&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I have 1 or 2 cards in my hand, so that neither effect of The Fabled Kudabbi is gained, is The Fabled Kudabbi still considered an Effect Monster?
A: Yes, The Fabled Kudabbi is still considered an Effect Monster even if it hasn’t gained either of its effects.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=87&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons