[OCG] 02/09/18 Rulings

These are more rulings for Flames of Destruction cards, as well as rulings for the 3 previously-TCG-exclusive cards from our Legendary Dragon Decks set, released in the OCG’s Rarity Collection 20th Anniversary Edition.

02/09/18 Rulings

Q: My Decode Talker is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my opponent’s Altergeist Meluseek is in the Main Monster Zone that it points to. In this situation, if I activate the effect of a Backup Operator in my hand targeting that Altergeist Meluseek, what happens if my opponent chains Vanity’s Emptiness?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Backup Operator resolves while the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is applying. In that case, since you cannot apply the part of the effect that Special Summons Backup Operator from your hand, you cannot return the targeted monster (Altergeist Meluseek) to the hand and it remains on the field. Also, while the effect of Vanity’s Emptiness is already applying, you cannot activate the effect of Backup Operator.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12171&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate the effect of Background Dragon in my Graveyard, but my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes it, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if Background Dragon is no longer in your Graveyard when its effect resolves, the effect is not applied. (The Level 4 or lower Dragon-Type monster in your hand cannot be Special Summoned and remains in your hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11713&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The Shallow Grave is activated while my Topologic Trisbaena is in the Extra Monster Zone. When it resolves, if both players Special Summon their monsters to zones that Topologic Trisbaena points to, what happens?
A: Even in this scenario, the effect of Topologic Trisbaena will activate. In this case, both monsters Special Summoned by the effect of The Shallow Grave are banished along with all Spell/Trap Cards on the field. (Your opponent takes 500 damage for each of their cards banished by this effect.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11873&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Trickstar Bella Madonna is in the Extra Monster Zone, and my Trickstar Candina in my Main Monster Zone is linked to it. In this situation, when my opponent activates Compulsory Evacuation Device targeting Trickstar Bella Madonna, but I chain the effect of Trickstar Lycoris in my hand and return Trickstar Candina to the hand, how does Compulsory Evacuation Device resolve?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Trickstar Lycoris, Trickstar Bella Madonna will no longer be pointing to Trickstar Candina, and as long as Trickstar Lycoris was not Special Summoned to a zone that Trickstar Bella Madonna points to, the effect of Trickstar Bella Madonna that makes it unaffected by activated effects of other cards will apply. Since Compulsory Evacuation Device resolves while that effect is applying, Trickstar Bella Madonna is unaffected and remains on the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11916&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Troymare Griffin is in the Extra Monster Zone, and its effect that prevents monsters from activating their effects unless they are linked is applying. In this situation, if a Linkuriboh in my Main Monster Zone is linked to Troymare Griffin, can I activate its effect by Tributing it when an opponent’s monster attacks?
A: In this scenario, Linkuriboh is linked to a monster, so you can still Tribute it to activate its effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12158&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are 2 copies of Zombie Master face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if I have Vampire Sucker in my Extra Monster Zone, can I Tribute both of my opponent’s monsters to Tribute Summon a Level 7 or higher monster?
A: When Tribute Summoning a Level 7 or higher monster, you can apply the effect of Vampire Sucker and Tribute any necessary Zombie-Type monsters from your opponent’s field. If there are 2 or more Zombie-Type monsters on your opponent’s field, you can Tribute them both for a Tribute Summon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12156&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Cybersal Cyclone, targeting a Hieratic Seal of the Celestial Spheres in my opponent’s Extra Monster Zone. If my opponent chains the effect of Hieratic Seal of the Celestial Spheres by Tributing it, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if the Link Monster targeted by the effect of Cybersal Cyclone is not on the field when it resolves, its effect is not applied. (You cannot banish a Link Monster with the same Link Rating from your Graveyard, nor can you destroy a face-up card in your opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12370&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating Sponsored Reborn, can I target a Element Saber Molehu, Element Saber Uilado, and Phosorage the Elemental Lord in my Graveyard?
A: When activating Sponsored Reborn, all 3 targets must be monsters that can be Special Summoned. In this scenario, since Phosorage the Elemental Lord cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard, it cannot be included as a target when activating Sponsored Reborn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10606&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While I only have a Code Talker in my Graveyard, I activate Limit Code. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes Code Talker from the Graveyard, how does Limit Code resolve?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of D.D. Crow that was chained to Limit Code, there will be no Cyberse-Type Link Monsters in your Graveyard, so you cannot place any counters on Limit Code, nor can you Special Summon a “Code Talker” monster from your Extra Deck and equip it. (After the Chain finishes resolving, Limit Code is sent to the Graveyard.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12396&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Cyber Dragon Core whose effects are being negated by the effect of Effect Veiler is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if I activate Finite Infinity, can I target that Cyber Dragon Core?
A: In this scenario, since the effects of Cyber Dragon Core have already been negated by the effect of Effect Veiler, you cannot activate Finite Infinity by targeting it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12400&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I Special Summon Dark Magician the Dragon Knight with the effect of Eternal Soul?
A: The effect of Dark Magician the Dragon Knight treats it as Dark Magician while on the field or in the Graveyard, so you can Special Summon it with the effect of Eternal Soul after it was Fusion Summoned and sent to the Graveyard. If Dark Magician the Dragon Knight was sent to the Graveyard after being Special Summoned by the effect of Cyber-Stein, etc., you cannot Special Summon it with Eternal Soul.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21753&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon by its own procedure, can I send a Pendulum Monster in the Extra Monster Zone to the Graveyard as a material?
A: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon by its own procedure, you must send 1 “Cyber Dragon” monster and 1 or more monsters in the Extra Monster Zone to the Graveyard as materials. Pendulum Monsters on the field are added face-up to the Extra Deck when they would be sent to the Graveyard, so they cannot be sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon. Even Pendulum Monsters that are in face-down Defense Position in the Extra Monster Zone cannot be used.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21751&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon by its own procedure, can I send a face-down Defense Position monster in the Extra Monster Zone to the Graveyard as a material?
A: When Special Summoning Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon by its own procedure, you can send your own face-down Defense Position monster in the Extra Monster Zone to the Graveyard as a material. You cannot send an opponent’s face-down Defense Position monster in the Extra Monster Zone to the Graveyard as material.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21752&keyword=&tag=-1

Note: This is important, because even though the second material for Chimeratech Megafleet Dragon is “1+ monsters in the Extra Monster Zone”, you cannot use your opponent’s face-down monsters as you are unable to verify that the material is usable or unusable. (For example, a Pendulum Monster, or a monster such as another Megafleet that states it cannot be used as Fusion Material.) This is true even though you had previously seen the opponent’s monster face-up but it was changed to face-down Defense Position.

Q: Odd-Eyes Arc Pendulum Dragon and Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon are in my Pendulum Zones. In this situation, after I activate and resolve the Pendulum Effect of Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon during my End Phase, can I activate the Pendulum Effect of Odd-Eyes Arc Pendulum Dragon?
A: Even if Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon is destroyed by its own Pendulum Effect as in this scenario, you can activate the Pendulum Effect of Odd-Eyes Arc Pendulum Dragon afterward. In that case, since Odd-Eyes Pendulum Dragon was added face-up to the Extra Deck instead of sent to the Graveyard, you must be able to Special Summon another “Odd-Eyes” monster from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21750&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.