Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 02/08/21 Rulings Update

Reversals and minor text fixes.

 

Q: When performing a Tribute Summon using my opponent’s monsters with the effect of Exchanging Souls, can I Tribute a monster that is unaffected by Spell effects?
A: Monsters that are unaffected by Spell effects can be Tributed for Tribute Summons. The effect of Exchanging Souls is one that performs a Tribute Summon, not one that Tributes monsters by a card effect.

Source

 

Q: If I activate the effect of Union Carrier, targeting an Invoked Elysium with multiple Attributes, which monsters can I equip to it?
A: Monsters equipped by the effect of Union Carrier must have the same Type as the targeted monster’s original Type, or the same Attribute as the targeted monster’s original Attribute. The effect of Invoked Elysium also treats it as a DARK, EARTH, WATER, FIRE, and WIND monster on the field, but its original Attribute is LIGHT and its original Type is Fairy. Therefore, you must equip a LIGHT monster or Fairy monster to it.

Source

 

Q: The effect of Imperial Order is applying. In this situation, I activate Monster Reborn, then chain Forbidden Droplet and send Monster Reborn to the Graveyard as the cost. In this case, can I apply the effect of Monster Reborn?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Monster Reborn is negated by Imperial Order. If the effect of Imperial Order is applying when resolving the effect of a Spell Card activated on the field, that effect will be negated. This is true whether or not the Spell Card itself is on the field when resolving its effect.

Source

 

Q: The effect of Royal Decree is applying. In this situation, I activate Back to the Front, then chain Forbidden Droplet and send Back to the Front to the Graveyard as the cost. In this case, can I apply the effect of Back to the Front?
A: Even in this case, the effect of Back to the Front is negated by Royal Decree. If the effect of Royal Decree is applying when resolving the effect of a Trap Card activated on the field, that effect will be negated. This is true whether or not the Trap Card itself is on the field when resolving its effect.

Source

 

Q: When activating the effect of Tamtam the Melodious Diva that was sent to the Graveyard as material for a Fusion Summon, can I target a Serenade the Melodious Diva with 400 ATK?
A: It is not possible to target a Serenade the Melodious Diva with 400 ATK with the effect of Tamtam the Melodious Diva that was sent to the Graveyard as material for a Fusion Summon.

Source

 

Q: When activating the effect of Tamtam the Melodious Diva that was sent to the Graveyard as material for a Fusion Summon, can I target a monster that has 0 ATK due to the effect of Ghost of a Grudge?
A: It is not possible to target a “Melodious” monster with 0 ATK with the effect of Tamtam the Melodious Diva that was sent to the Graveyard as material for a Fusion Summon.

Source

 

Q: If I activate the effect of Tamtam the Melodious Diva that was sent to the Graveyard as material for a Fusion Summon, what happens if Reverse Trap is chained?
A: In this case, the effect increases the ATK of the targeted monster by 500 instead of decreases it. As a result, since the targeted monster did not lose 500 ATK with this effect, the part of the effect that inflicts 500 damage to your opponent is also not applied.

Source

 

Q: It is during my Battle Phase that my Number 20: Giga-Brilliant with the effect granted by Digital Bug Centibit already attacked the first Defense Position monster. If Final Attack Orders is activated during the Battle Step when Number 20: Giga-Brilliant makes the second attack on a Defense Position monster, and the battle position of the opponent’s monster changes from face-up Defense Position to face-up Attack Position, what happens to the attack?
A: In this scenario, Number 20: Giga-Brilliant can attack all Defense Position monsters your opponent controls once each due to the effect granted by Digital Bug Centibit. However, if the battle position of the opponent’s monster changes to face-up Attack Position during the Battle Step due to the effect of Final Attack Orders, that Number 20: Giga-Brilliant cannot continue its attack. (Damage calculation is not performed and the attack ends.)

Source

 

Q: If Solemn Strike is activated when attempting to Link Summon a Sky Striker Ace – Shizuku, and the Special Summon is negated, can I activate The Monarchs Stormforth that turn?
A: You cannot Special Summon monsters from the Extra Deck during the turn you activate The Monarchs Stormforth. In this scenario, the Link Summon was negated by the effect of Solemn Strike, so you can activate The Monarchs Stormforth that turn.

Source

 

Q: There is already a non-Warrior monster face-up on my field, and the effect of Rivalry of Warlords is applying. In this situation, if my face-down Defense Position D.D. Warrior or D.D. Warrior Lady are attacked, can I activate their effects?
A: In that case, a D.D. Warrior or D.D. Warrior Lady that is flipped face-up by your opponent’s attack before damage calculation is sent to the Graveyard immediately after damage calculation due to the effect of Rivalry of Warlords. Therefore, the effect of D.D. Warrior or D.D. Warrior Lady cannot be activated.

Source

 

Q: Summoner Monk is face-up in the Monster Zone, and its effect that prevents it from being Tributed is applying. In this situation, if my opponent has successfully Normal/Special Summoned 5 or more monsters this turn, can I activate the effect of Nibiru, the Primal Being in my hand?
A: In this scenario, if there are other monsters on the field that can be Tributed, you can activate the effect of Nibiru, the Primal Being in your hand. When resolving the effect, all face-up monsters on the field are Tributed, but Summoner Monk is not Tributed at this time. If you could not Tribute any monsters because there were no other face-up monsters on the field when the effect resolved, Nibiru, the Primal Being cannot be Special Summoned and remains in your hand, and the Primal Being Token is also not Special Summoned. If at least 1 monster was Tributed, Nibiru, the Primal Being is Special Summoned normally, as is the Primal Being Token with ATK and DEF equal to the total ATK and DEF of the monsters Tributed by the effect.

Source

 

Q: The effect of Breakthrough Skill is activated, targeting Warrior Lady of the Wasteland. During the same turn, if that Warrior Lady of the Wasteland is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, can its effect be activated and applied?
A: The effects of Breakthrough Skill negate the effects of the monster that activate or apply on the field. Therefore, the effect of Warrior Lady of the Wasteland that activates in the Graveyard is not negated, so you can activate and apply it normally.

Source

 

Q: If a Chimeratech Fortress Dragon that was reduced to Level 5 by the effect of Mischief of the Yokai, etc. is Tributed to activate the effect of Castle Gate, how much damage is inflicted to my opponent?
A: The effect of Castle Gate inflicts damage to your opponent equal to the original ATK printed on the card. Since the printed original ATK of Chimeratech Fortress Dragon is 0, you cannot activate the effect of Castle Gate by Tributing a Chimeratech Fortress Dragon.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.