Cardfight Coalition

[OCG] 02/04/20 Rulings Update

New year new rulings.

 

Q: Can I target a Spellbook Library of the Crescent in my Graveyard with Spellbook of the Master?
A: You can target Spellbook Library of the Crescent with Spellbook of the Master. (In that case, the effect is applied normally.) However, if you activated a Spell Card this turn other than a “Spellbook” Spell Card, you cannot target Spellbook Library of the Crescent with Spellbook of the Master.

Source

 

Q: Gladiator Beast Lanista is treated as a Gladiator Beast Hoplomus due to its own effect. In this situation, if that Gladiator Beast Lanista battles and activates its effect at the end of the Battle Phase, can I Special Summon a Gladiator Beast Spartacus?
A: In this scenario, since Gladiator Beast Lanista is treated as Gladiator Beast Hoplomus, its effect that activates on the field is treated as the effect of a Gladiator Beast Hoplomus. Therefore, you can Special Summon a Gladiator Beast Spartacus, which cannot be Special Summoned by card effects other than the effect of Gladiator Beast Hoplomus.

Source

 

Q: I Normal Summoned a Mekk-Knight Orcust Girsu in a column that only had Lib the World Keymaster in the Extra Monster Zone. If I activated the first effect of Mekk-Knight Orcust Girsu, but chain World Legacy Monstrosity from my hand and place it in the Spell & Trap Zone in that same column, will Mekk-Knight Orcust Girsu become a Tuner monster?
A: In this scenario, there was only 1 other card in the same column as Mekk-Knight Orcust Girsu when its effect was activated, but 2 other cards in that column when the effect resolves. In this case, after sending an “Orcust” (or “World Legacy”) card from your Deck to the Graveyard, Mekk-Knight Orcust Girsu becomes a Tuner monster.

Source

 

Q: Can I chain the effect of Stardust Dragon to the effect of Landscaper Goldilocks?
A: When activating the effect of Landscaper Goldilocks, you select 1 of your Main Monster Zones to move it to. At this time, if there is at least 1 card in a column that would be destroyed when applying the effect of Landscaper Goldilocks, the effect of Stardust Dragon can be chained to it.

Source

 

Q: If I activate the effect of Dragonmaid Strahl by chaining to the effect of Archnemesys Eschatos, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, the activation of Archnemesys Eschatos’ effect is negated, but since Archnemesys Eschatos cannot be destroyed by card effects, it is not destroyed by the effect of Dragonmaid Strahl. Even in that case, Dragonmaid Strahl returns to the Extra Deck and you Special Summon a House Dragonmaid from your Extra Deck.

Source

 

Q: I activate Monster Reborn, targeting an Ancient Warriors – Wise Zhuge Kong in my Graveyard, while the only monster in my Monster Zone is Ancient Warriors – Graceful Zhou Gong. If my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys my face-up Ancient Warriors Saga – One Hundred Thousand Arrows, can I then activate its second effect?
A: In this scenario, after resolving Mystical Space Typhoon that was activated as Chain Link 2, destroying Ancient Warriors Saga – One Hundred Thousand Arrows, the effect of Monster Reborn at Chain Link 1 Special Summons Ancient Warriors – Wise Zhuge Kong from your Graveyard. While these effects on the Chain are still resolving, the effect of the sent Ancient Warriors Saga – One Hundred Thousand Arrows cannot be activated, but you can choose to activate it after that Chain finishes resolving. In this case, when you would choose whether or not to activate the effect, since you have 2 “Ancient Warriors” monsters with different Attributes in your Monster Zone, you can activate it.

Source

 

Q: An Ancient Warriors Loyal Guan Yun is the only monster in my Monster Zone, and it attacks and destroys an opponent’s monster by battle. At this time, if I activate the effect of an Ancient Warriors – Great Cao De in my hand by sending Ancient Warriors Saga – One Hundred Thousand Arrows to the Graveyard, can I then activate the second effect of that Ancient Warriors Saga – One Hundred Thousand Arrows?
A: In this scenario, Ancient Warriors Saga – One Hundred Thousand Arrows is sent to the Graveyard as cost to activate the effect of Ancient Warriors – Great Cao De that Special Summons it from your hand. While this effect is still resolving, the effect of the sent Ancient Warriors Saga – One Hundred Thousand Arrows cannot be activated, but you can choose to activate it after that effect finishes resolving. In this case, when you would choose whether or not to activate the effect, since you have 2 “Ancient Warriors” monsters with different Attributes in your Monster Zone, you can activate it.

Source

 

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this case, if the effect of Diviner of the Heralds is activated when it is Normal or Special Summoned, how does it resolve?
A: In this scenario, the Fairy monster that would be sent from your Deck or Extra Deck to the Graveyard is banished instead due to the effect of Macro Cosmos. In that case, Diviner of the Heralds does not increase its Level.

Source

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.