Troll and Toad Ad

[OCG] 02/04/19 Rulings Update

Fantastic dragons and how to stop them.


02/04/19 Rulings

 

Q: When my opponent Link Summons Gaia Saber, the Lightning Shadow, I activate the effect of a Fantastical Dragon Phantazmay in my hand. If my opponent chains Call of the Haunted and Special Summons Protector of the Sanctuary, how does the effect of Fantastical Dragon Phantazmay resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of Fantastical Dragon Phantazmay resolves while the effect of your opponent’s Protector of the Sanctuary that prevents you from drawing is applying. In this case, Fantastical Dragon Phantazmay is Special Summoned from your hand normally, but you do not draw any cards or return any cards from your hand to the Deck. (The effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning Fantastical Dragon Phantazmay from your hand.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9421&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When attacking with a Number 39: Utopia that was Special Summoned by the effect of Number 39: Utopia Double, I activated Double or Nothing! and the attack was negated. In this case, what happens to Number 39: Utopia’s ATK?
A: In this scenario, since Number 39: Utopia was Special Summoned by the effect of Number 39: Utopia Double, its ATK is currently 5000. When the effect of Double or Nothing! is applied, the ATK of Number 39: Utopia becomes 10,000 during the Damage Step if it attacks again. (Even if the effect of Double or Nothing! is applied, Number 39: Utopia cannot attack directly.) When the Damage Step ends and the effect of Double or Nothing! stops applying, the ATK of Number 39: Utopia returns to 5000.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12787&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Performapal Lebellman (Pendulum Scale 1) and Performapal Skullcrobat Joker (Pendulum Scale 8) are in my Pendulum Zones. In this situation, can I activate the first effect of Pendulum of Souls?
A: In this scenario, you can activate the effect of Pendulum of Souls targeting 2 cards in your Pendulum Zones, including one with a Pendulum Scale of 1. However, it is not possible to reduce a Pendulum Scale lower than 1 with the effect of Pendulum of Souls, so in this case Performapal Lebellman’s Pendulum Scale will be increased by 1. (You can either raise or lower the Pendulum Scale of Performapal Skullcrobat Joker normally.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13245&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In this situation, can I activate Decode Destruction targeting my Decode Talker that is pointing to 3 monsters?
A: You can activate Decode Destruction even if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying. In that case, all 3 “●” effects will be applied when it resolves. When that Decode Talker destroys an opponent’s monster by battle and the “● 2+” effect is applied, the opponent’s monster is not banished due to the effect of Imperial Iron Wall. However, the “● 3” effect will still activate afterward and destroy all cards on your opponent’s field, including the monster that could not be banished by the “● 2+” effect.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11918&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I Synchro Summon Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake and activate its effect that destroys all other cards on the field. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: Even if Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake is in face-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, its effect is applied normally and destroys all cards on the field, except that Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake in face-down Defense Position.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22432&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: The effect of a face-up Cyber Valley in my Monster Zone was negated by the effect of my opponent’s Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake. In this situation, if my opponent’s Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake attacks Cyber Valley, can I activate the effect of Cyber Valley that draws a card and ends the Battle Phase?
A: When Cyber Valley is targeted for an attack, you can activate its effect even if its effects are being negated by the effect of Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake. In that case, Cyber Valley is banished as the cost of activating its effect, but the effect is still negated, so you do not draw a card and the Battle Phase does not end.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22431&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: A Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake that I own is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of a Dark Hole that was activated by either me or my opponent, can its effect that adds a “Speedroid” monster from my Deck to my hand be activated?
A: In this scenario, if a Hi-Speedroid Kitedrake that you own was sent from your opponent’s Monster Zone to your Graveyard, you cannot activate its effect. (It does not matter who activated Dark Hole.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22430&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: The 3 cards on my field are a Metalfoes Goldriver in my Pendulum Zone, a face-up Call of the Haunted in my Spell & Trap Zone, and a Dinowrestler Giga Spinosavate that was Special Summoned by the effect of that Call of the Haunted. In this situation, if I activate the Pendulum Effect of Metalfoes Goldriver and target Call of the Haunted, can I apply the last effect of Dinowrestler Giga Spinosavate?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Metalfoes Goldriver destroys Call of the Haunted, Dinowrestler Giga Spinosavate will be destroyed as well, so you can apply its effect that destroys another card on your field instead. In this case, the only other card you can destroy instead is Metalfoes Goldriver, so Metalfoes Goldriver is destroyed and Dinowrestler Giga Spinosavate remains in the Monster Zone. (Even in this case, the effect of Metalfoes Goldriver continues resolving and Sets a “Metalfoes” Spell/Trap Card from your Deck.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9017&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: While Dinowrestler Terra Parkourio is in my Monster Zone, I activate Metaverse. When resolving its effect, if I activate a World Dino Wrestling from my Deck, can I then activate the effect of Dinowrestler Terra Parkourio that adds a “Dinowrestler” monster from my Graveyard to my hand?
A: If you activate World Dino Wrestling using the effect of Metaverse, you cannot activate the effect of Dinowrestler Terra Parkourio.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15179&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: My opponent’s Superheavy Samurai Scarecrow and my Almarduk the World Chalice Guardragon are the Extra Monster Zone. In this situation, when those 2 monsters battle, can I activate the effect of my Almarduk the World Chalice Guardragon?
A: Even if your Almarduk the World Chalice Guardragon battles an opponent’s Link Monster with an original ATK of 0, you can activate its effect. In this scenario, Superheavy Samurai Scarecrow is destroyed by the effect, but since its original ATK is 0, your opponent takes no damage.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13244&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: My Crusadia Spatha and my opponent’s Orcust Brass Bombard battle each other, and both monsters are destroyed. After damage calculation, can I activate Crusadia Testament?
A: Even if your “Crusadia” Link Monster battles a monster with the same ATK and both monsters are destroyed, you can activate Crusadia Testament after damage calculation. (In this scenario, since Crusadia Spatha is a Link 2 monster, you draw 2 cards.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10928&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activate Manhunt, targeting my opponent’s Goe Goe the Gallant Ninja. If my opponent chains Forbidden Lance and makes Goe Goe the Gallant Ninja unaffected by Spell/Trap effects, what happens?
A: Even if Forbidden Lance is chained to Manhunt, and its effect is applied to the targeted monster, the activation of Manhunt was not negated, so it continues to target the targeted monster. Afterward, when the effect of Forbidden Lance stops applying, the effect of Manhunt will apply and take control of the targeted monster. (As a result, the part of the effect that prevents that monster from attacking or activating its effects is also applied.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=19174&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activate Manhunt, and take control of my opponent’s Goe Goe the Gallant Ninja. Afterward, if Book of Moon is activated and the targeted Goe Goe the Gallant Ninja is changed to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: If the monster you took control of with the effect of Manhunt is then changed to face-down Defense Position, it stops being targeted by Manhunt. The effect that takes control of the targeted monster stops applying, however control of the monster never returns to your opponent. Also, since the effect that prevents the monster from attacking or activating its effects also stops applying, that monster will be able to attack and activate its effects once it is flipped face-up. Furthermore, Manhunt itself remains face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone, and is not destroyed if that monster leaves the field.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11049&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.