[OCG] 02/01/18 Rulings

Featuring more hand-traps.

02/01/18 Rulings

Q: My opponent’s Decode Talker in the Extra Monster Zone is the only monster on the field. In this situation, when my opponent declares an attack with Decode Talker, can I activate the effect of Speedroid Menko in my hand?
A: Since Link Monsters cannot be in Defense Position, there are no monsters on your opponent’s field in this situation that the effect of Speedroid Menko can be applied to. Therefore, in this case, you cannot activate the effect of Speedroid Menko.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9807&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are no cards on my side of the field, and the only card on my opponent’s field is Shadow of the Six Samurai – Shien. In this situation, can I activate Evenly Matched from my hand?
A: Evenly Matched is activated by placing it face-up in your Spell & Trap Zone. You can only activate Evenly Matched if the number of cards on opponent’s field is greater than the number of cards on your field, including Evenly Matched itself. Therefore, in this scenario, you cannot activate Evenly Matched.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9097&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Skill Drain is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect is applying. In this situation, if I Special Summon Element Saber Uilado from my hand by its own effect, will any of its effects on the field be applied based on the Attributes of the monsters sent?
A: The effects of Element Saber Uilado that apply based on the Attributes of the monsters sent to activate its first effect are Continuous Effects. While the effect of Skill Drain is applying, those effects are negated, but if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying afterward, the appropriate effect(s) will apply.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10980&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Special Summoned a Watch Cat from my hand by its own effect this turn. If that Watch Cat is changed to face-down Defense Position by my opponent’s Book of Moon, am I still able to activate its effect during the End Phase that Sets a Continuous Spell Card from my Deck?
A: As in this scenario, if a Watch Cat that was Special Summoned this turn is in face-down Defense Position, you cannot activate its effect during the End Phase. If a Watch Cat that was changed to face-down Defense Position by an effect such as Book of Moon is then flipped face-up again during the same turn by the effect of Ceasefire, you can activate the effect of Watch Cat during the End Phase.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13823&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Normal or Special Summon Spectral Sea Outrawll and activate its effect targeting a Brotherhood of the Fire First – Bear in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes that Brotherhood of the Fire First – Bear, how does the effect of Spectral Sea Outrawll resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Spectral Sea Outrawll, if the targeted monster is no longer in the Graveyard, the Attribute and Level of Spectral Sea Outrawll do not change. Even in that case, since you activated an effect of Spectral Sea Outrawll, you cannot Special Summon any monsters other than Beast-Warrior-Type monsters this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9810&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates Mirror of the Ice Barrier, can I chain the effect of Haunted Mansion & Fortune Spirit from my hand?
A: When your opponent activates Mirror of the Ice Barrier, you can chain the effect of Haunted Mansion & Fortune Spirit. In that case, the activation is negated, so even if your opponent’s cards are banished that turn, none of the “●” effects will apply.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9826&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Link Summoned Troymare Goblin this turn and activated its effect that allows me to perform an additional Normal Summon to a zone it points to. In this situation, when performing that Normal Summon, can I Tribute that Troymare Goblin to Tribute Summon a monster?
A: When Normal Summoning a monster by applying the effect of Troymare Goblin, you must Normal Summon that monster to a zone that Troymare Goblin points to. You can perform a Tribute Summon when applying the effect of Troymare Goblin, but you cannot Tribute Troymare Goblin itself.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13820&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activate Mind Control and take control of my opponent’s Proxy Dragon. In this situation, can I activate Bound Link and target that Proxy Dragon?
A: You can activate Bound Link targeting a Link Monster under your control that your opponent owns. In this scenario, the targeted Proxy Dragon returns to your opponent’s Extra Deck, then you draw 2 cards, then place 2 cards from your hand on the bottom of the Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10632&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Light of Sekka, my opponent chains Solemn Judgment and negates the activation of Light of Sekka. During this turn, can I activate a second copy of Light of Sekka?
A: Each effect of Light of Sekka can only be used once per turn. Even if the activation of Light of Sekka is negated, you cannot activate a second copy that turn. Also, if the activation of Light of Sekka is negated, the part of the effect that prevents you from activating Spell/Trap Cards for the rest of the Duel is not applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9424&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Maxx “C” from their hand. If I chain Called by the Grave, and target that Maxx “C” sent to my opponent’s Graveyard, what happens?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Called by the Grave that was chained to the effect of Maxx “C”, that Maxx “C” is banished and the effects of Maxx “C” are negated until the end of the next turn. In this case, since the effect of Maxx “C” has been negated, your opponent does not draw any cards even if you Special Summon this turn.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10973&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.