[OCG] 01/08/2014 OCG rulings

01/08/2015
Assorted rulings:

Q: Can the effects of Blade Armor Ninja or Daigusto Phoenix that allow a monster to attack twice during the same Battle Phase be activated during the first turn?
A: Since a Battle Phase cannot be conducted during the first turn, the effects of Blade Armor Ninja or Daigusto Phoenix cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Does the effect of Soul Absorption activate if a Sheep Token you control is banished by the effect of an opponent’s Caius the Shadow Monarch?
A: If a Token Monster like a Sheep Token is targeted for the effect of Caius the Shadow Monarch, at the time it would leave the field it stops existing, and as a result, a card is not banished.
Therefore, in the proposed scenario, the effect of Soul Absorption does not activate.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=75&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a monster you control is destroyed in battle and is not sent to the Graveyard but returned to the DEck by the effect of the opponent’s Evigishki Merrowgeist, does the effect of Supply Unit activate?
A: Even in that case, the effect of Supply Unit activates.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=85&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While Anti-Spell Fragrance is being applied, can Spiritual Message – I and others be placed face-up by the effect of Destiny Board?
A: Placing Spiritual Message – I and others in the Spell & Trap Zone by the effect of Destiny Boadr is not treated as activating a Spell Card.
Therefore, even if the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is being applied, they are not set on the field and are placed face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone instead.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=84&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: An Embodiment of Apophis Special Summoned and treated as a Monster Card by its own effect the opponent controls targeted a Fiend-Type monster you control for an attack and Hate Buster was activated.
In this case, what happens with the part of the effect that inflicts damage?
A: In the proposed scenario, if Hate Buster is activated, the opponent’s Embodiment of Apophis and your Fiend-Type monster that was targeted for an attack are destroyed normally.
Furthermore, the part of the effect that inflicts damage equal to the ATK of the opponent’s monster inflicts damage equal to the Original ATK of the opponent’s Embodiment of Apophis treated as a Monster Card, ultimately inflicting 1600 damage to the opponent.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=93&keyword=&tag=-1

A Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle was Special Summoned from the hand by the effect of Relay Soul.
At the time that Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle is destroyed, its effect to place itself in the Spell & Trap Zone as a Continuous Spell Card was used.
Afterwards, if that Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle in the Spell & Trap Zone is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by Mystical Space Typhoon, do you lose the Duel as a result of the clause of Relay Soul?
A: In the proposed scenario, if Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle is treated as a Continuous Spell Card by its own effect, the part of the effect that reduces all damage that you take to 0 is no longer applied.
Also, if Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle is treated as a Continuous Spell Card by its own effect, since it is no longer treated as a Monster Card on the field, even if it’s afterwards destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, the clause that makes you lose the Duel is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=94&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Necrovalley is being applied, can the effect of Nekroz of Trishula that banishes cards be activated?
A: While the effect of Necrovalley is being applied, cards from the Graveyard cannot be banished.
Therefore, the effect of a Ritual Summoned Nekroz of Trishula cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=115&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a monster with 0 ATK be targeted for the effect of Number 36: Chronomaly Fork Höyük that reduces the ATK of an opponent’s monster to 0?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=162&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If an Amulet Dragon Fusion Summoned by the effect of The Eye of Timaeus is targeted by the effect of De-Fusion, can Dark Magician be Special Summoned by the effect of De-Fusion?
A: An Amulet Dragon Special Summoned by the effect of The Eye of Timaeus is Fusion Summoned using only Dark Magician as a Fusion Material for the Fusion Summon instead of using the necessary group of Fusion Materials of DarK Magician + 1 Dragon-Type Monster that is required for a regular Fusion Summon.
De-Fusion can be activated targeting an Amulet Dragon, but in that case, only the part of the effect that returns that Amulet Dragon to the Extra Deck is performed.
(The part of the effect that Special Summons all the Fusion Materials cannot be applied)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=167&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Blackfeather Darkrage Dragon be activated if it is destroyed in battle and you take Battle Damage?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated.
In that case, the part of the effect that sends cards from the top of the Deck to the Graveyard is applied normally.
(Furthermore, even if there are monster cards among the cards that were sent to the Graveyard, the last thing to happen after resolving this effect is considered to be sending cards from the Deck to the Graveyard)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=178&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control a face-up Kickfire in your Spell & Trap Zone.
In this case, if multiple FIRE monsters are destroyed simultaneously by the effect of Dark Hole and sent to the Graveyard, how many Counters are placed on Kickfire?
A: Providing no counters have been placed on Kickfire this turn, even if multiple FIRE monsters are destroyed by the effect of Dark Hole, counters are placed on Kickfire.
Furthermore, the number of countres that are placed on Kickfire at that time is equal to the number of face-up FIRE monsters that were destroyed.
For example, if 2 face-up FIRE monsters and 1 face-down FIRE monster are destroyed by the effect of Dark Hole, 2 counters are placed on Kickfire.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=179&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Shadow Impulse be activated when a Synchro Monster and a non-Synchro Monster you control are destroyed simultaneously and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Dark Hole?
Also, can Shadow Impulse be activated when 2 Synchro Monsters you control are destroyed simultaneously and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Dark Hole?
A: In either case, Shadow Impulse ben activated.
Furthermore, if 2 Synchro Monsters are destroyed simultaneously and sent to the Graveyard and Shadow Impulse is activated, it is activated by targeting 1 of the 2 Synchro Monsters.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=180&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Soul Charge be activated when you have less than 1000 LP?
A: Even in that case, Soul Charge can be activated.
If monsters are Special Summoned during the resolution of Soul Charge, since you lose 1000 LP for each of those Special Summoned monsters, you lose the Duel as a result.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=187&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Stardust Dragon be activated in a chain to ZERO-MAX?
A: Providing there is a face-up monster with an ATK lower than the Original ATK of the targeted monster at the time of the activation of ZERO-MAX, since ZERO-MAX would destroy a monster on the field, the effect of Stardust Dragon can be activated in a chain.
Also, if that is not the case, since ZERO-MAX would not destroy a monster on the field, the effect of Stardust Dragon cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=192&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Book of Moon is activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Blackfeather Darkrage Dragon, flipping Blackfeather Darkrage Dragon to face-down Defense Position, how does this resolve?
A: Even in that case, the part of the effect that sends 5 cards from the top of the Deck to the Graveyard resolves normally.
(Furthermore, even if there are monster cards among the cards that were sent to the Graveyard, the last thing to happen after resolving this effect is considered to be sending cards from the Deck to the Graveyard)

Q: If Mask of Remnants is revealed as the top card of the Deck by the effect of Destiny HERO – Diamond Dude, can its effect be activated?
A: In that case, since Mask of Remnants is a Normal Spell Card, it is sent to the Graveyard normally.
However, the effect of that Mask of Remnants that was sent to the Graveyard cannot be activated by the effect that allows you to activate it during the Main Phase of your next turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8380&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: You control a face-up Umi, Tornado Wall and Imperial Customs.
In this scenario, if Umi stops existing on the field by being destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon or similar, is Tornado Wall destroyed?
A: In the proposed scenario, at the time the part of the effect that destroys Tornado Wall when Umi stops existing on the field would be applied, the effect of Imperial Customs is applied.
Therefore, Tornado Wall is not destroyed.
Furthermore, even if afterwards Imperial Customs is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, so that its effect is no longer applied, Tornado Wall remains on the field.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8576&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A High-Spell Roid Maken Dhama was Special Summoned by its own effect this turn.
Can a Beast-Warrior-Type monster be Normal Summoned using the effect of Fire Formation – Tensu during this turn?
A: During a turn in which High-Spell Roid Maken Dhama is Special Summoned by its own effect, you cannot perform Normal Summons.
The effect of Fire Formation – Tensu cannot be used during that turn.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14802&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: The effect of Isolde, Belle of the Underworld was activated during this turn.
If Zombie World is applied during that turn, can the effect of Level Eater in your Graveyard be activated?
A: In the proposed scenario, since the Level Eater in your Graveyard is treated as a Zombie-Type monster, its effect can be activated even if the effect of Isolde, Belle of the Underworld was activated and only Zombie-Type monsters can be Special Summoned.
Furthermore, in that case, if Zombie World is destroyed by a Mystical Space Typhoon being activated in a chain to the activation of the effect of Level Eater, since the Original Type of Level Eater is Insect-Type, only the part of the effect that lowers a Level is performed and Level Eater is not Special Summoned.
(Afterwards, since the effect of Zombie World is no longer applied, the effect of Level Eater cannot be activated)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14803&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon that allows it to attack up to two monsters be activated if the opponent controls no monsters?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated.
Furthermore, if after the activation the opponent still controls no monsters, Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon can perform 1 direct attack during the Battle Phase.
(If a direct attack is declared, it is no longer possible to perform attacks on monsters)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14804&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon that allows it to attack up to two monsters be activated during the first turn or in a turn in which Soul Charge was atcivated?
A: If the Battle Phase cannot be conducted, since Number 95: Galaxy-Eyes Dark Matter Dragon cannot perform attacks, its effect cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14805&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While you have 1500 LP, the opponent decalred a direct attack with Masked HERO Anki using its effect.
At this time, can you activate Stardust Re-Spark?
A: In the proposed scenario, the Masked HERO Anki that declared a direct attack has 2800 ATK. Since your LP is 1500, this is a case where a Special Summoned monster the opponent controls is performing a direct attack with higher ATK than your LP.
Therefore, you can activate Stardust Re-Spark.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14806&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the opponent controls monsters, Masked HERO Anki declared a direct attack through its effect that allows it to attack directly.
If Forbidden Chalice is activated during that Battle Step, negating the effects of Masked HERO Anki, what happens with the attack?
Also, if Forbidden Chalice is activated during the Damage Step, negating the effects of Masked HERO Anki, what happens with the attack?
A: If Forbidden chalcie is activated during the Battle Step, negating the effects of Masked HERO Anki, since it becomes unable to declare a direct attack, a replay is triggered.
(You choose whether to target an opponent’s monster for an attack or stop the attack)
Also, if Forbidden Chalice is activated during the Damage Step, negating the effects of Masked HERO Anki, a replay is not triggered and the direct attack continues normally.
Furthermore, in that case, since the effects of Masked HERO Anki are negated, the Battle Damage inflicted to the opponent by that direct attack is not halved.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14807&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Shadow Impulse be activated when a face-up Ultimaya Tzolk’in you control is destroyed by battle or a card effect and sent to the Graveyard?
A: In the proposed scenario, Shadow Impulse can be activated.
Since Ultimaya Tzolk’in is a Level 12 Dragon-Type monster, the monster that would be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck would be Red Nova Dragon
(If there are no copies of Red Nova Dragon in the Extra Deck, Shadow Impulse cannot be activated)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=14808&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons