[OCG] 01/07/16 Rulings

Ignore SHVI news, read rulings.

01/07/16 Rulings

Q: Can the player conducting the first turn of a Duel activate Ties of the Brethren during their Main Phase 1?
A: If there is a Level 4 or lower monster face-up in their Monster Zone, and the effect of Special Summoning 2 monsters from their Deck with the same Type, Attribute, and Level but with different names can be resolved properly, the player conducting the first turn of a Duel can activate Ties of the Brethren by paying 2000 Life Points.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13512&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Gozen Match is applying, can the second effect of Super Quantum Fairy Alphan be activated?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Gozen Match is applying, you cannot Special Summon any monsters other than LIGHT monsters, so the effect of Super Quantum Fairy Alphan cannot be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8732&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Super Quantum Fairy Alphan and Super Quantum Mecha Pilot Blue Layer are face-up in my Monster Zone. If I activate the second effect of Super Quantum Fairy Alphan by Tributing it, but my opponent chains Gozen Match, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, when resolving the effect of Super Quantum Fairy Alphan, if the effect of Gozen Match is applying, you cannot Special Summon any monsters other than WATER monsters, so the effect of Super Quantum Fairy Alphan cannot resolve. (You do not reveal any monsters in your Deck.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13511&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Starduston is the only monster on my side of the field, and a face-down Defense Position monster is the only one on my opponent’s side of the field. In this case, can I Normal or Special Summon new monsters to the field?
A: If Starduston is the only monster present in your Monster Zone, you can still Normal or Special Summon new monsters to the field. In this scenario, since the number of monsters on each player’s side of the field is the same, when you do Normal or Special Summon a new monster, you will then have more monsters than your opponent. Due to the effect of Starduston, Starduston itself will be destroyed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7986&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Starduston is the only monster on my side of the field, and an Evolzar Laggia with 2 Xyz Materials is the only one on my opponent’s side of the field. In this situation, when I attempt to Normal Summon Stygian Security, my opponent activates the effect of Evolzar Laggia and negates the Summon. In this case, will the effect of Starduston that destroys it if I control more monsters than my opponent be applied?
A: In this scenario, since the number of monsters on each player’s side of the field is the same, when you Normal Summon Stygian Security, you will then have more monsters than your opponent. However, if the Normal Summon is negated by the effect of Evolzar Laggia, the number of monsters on each side of the field will remain the same. Thus, the effect of Starduston that destroys it does not apply.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9001&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: There are 2 face-up copies of Spiral Spear Strike in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, my Gaia the Dragon Champion attacks a Defense Position monster, and the effect of Spiral Spear Strike allows it to inflict piercing battle damage to my opponent. In this case, can I activate the effects of both copies of Spiral Spear Strike that allow me to draw 2 cards and then discard 1?
A: In this scenario, if Gaia the Dragon Champion attacks a Defense Position monster and inflicts piercing battle damage to your opponent with the effect of Spiral Spear Strike, you can activate the effect of each copy that allows you to draw 2 cards and then discard 1, forming a Chain, and resolve them normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6087&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A face-up Jinzo in the Monster Zone is targeted by Mistaken Accusation. In this case, how is the effect of Mistaken Accusation applied?
A: If the effect of Mistaken Accusation is applied, neither player can activate cards or effects with the same name as the targeted card. In this scenario, since the effect of Jinzo is a Continuous Effect, even if Mistaken Accusation resolves, the effect of Jinzo continues to apply normally. It should be noted that Jinzo – Jector has an effect that makes its card name become “Jinzo” while it is face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, and so you cannot activate the Ignition Effect of Jinzo – Jector for the rest of this Duel.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11174&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When a face-up monster in my Monster Zone is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, I activate Chthonian Blast. If the targeted monster is a Beast King Barbaros that was Normal Summoned by its own effect without Tributing, how much damage does each player take?
A: The damage inflicted by the effect of Chthonian Blast is equal to half the destroyed monster’s ATK on the field. Therefore, in this case, since the targeted Beast King Barbaros has 1900 ATK on the field, each player takes 950 damage.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8812&keyword=&tag=-1

(The ruling incorrectly states that Chthonian Blast targets, but it does not. But that’s not really important for the ruling.)

Q: My opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon by targeting an Axe of Fools equipped to my monster. If I chain Tailor of the Fickle, and equip Axe of Fools to a different monster, will it still be destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon?
A: In this scenario, even if Axe of Fools is equipped to a different monster by the effect of Tailor of the Fickle, it is still the card targeted by your opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon. Therefore, Axe of Fools is destroyed by the effect of Mystical Space Typhoon.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8808&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Spell Economics is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that makes it so that I don’t pay Life Points to activate Spell Cards is applying. In this case, can I activate Psychic Blade?
A: Psychic Blade is activated by paying up to 2000 Life Points, in multiples of 100. In this scenario, due to the effect of Spell Economics, you are unable to activate Psychic Blade.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8807&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I activated the effect of Number 72: Shogi Rook this turn, so that all battle damage my opponent takes for the rest of this turn is halved. This turn, if my Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand activates its effect, so that it becomes unaffected by other card effects, and it attacks my opponent, will the battle damage it inflicts be halved?
A: If you activated the effect of Number 72: Shogi Rook this turn, even if a Divine Dragon Knight Felgrand that is unaffected by other card effects attacks, the battle damage is still halved.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7962&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Lion Alligator and Spawn Alligator are both Tributed to Tribute Summon The Tyrant Neptune. If The Tyrant Neptune was Set in face-down Defense Position, and later flipped face-up, what will its ATK and DEF be?
A: The Tyrant Neptune gains ATK and DEF equal to the original ATK and DEF of the monsters Tributed for its Tribute Summon when it is Summoned face-up. Therefore, even if The Tyrant Neptune is flipped face-up after it was Tribute Set, it does not gain any ATK or DEF. (Its ATK and DEF will remain 0.)

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6255&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Dark King of the Abyss that was the target of Skill Prisoner is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, if the effect of Forbidden Lance has been applied to Dark Armed Dragon, and the effect of Dark Armed Dragon is activated by targeting that Dark King of the Abyss, how does it resolve?
A: In this scenario, due to the effect of Forbidden Lance, Dark Armed Dragon is unaffected by Trap effects. Therefore, since it is unaffected by the effect of Skill Prisoner, its effect is not negated. The targeted Dark King of the Abyss is destroyed normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6161&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent’s Amazoness Swords Woman with 1500 ATK attacks my face-down Defense Position monster. If that monster is Stone Statue of the Aztecs with 2000 DEF, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the difference between the ATK of Amazoness Swords Woman and the DEF of Stone Statue of the Aztecs is 500, which would be inflicted as battle damage to your opponent, but due to the effect of Amazoness Swords Woman, you take the battle damage instead. In this case, since your opponent is not taking any battle damage as a result of attacking Stone Statue of the Aztecs, its effect is not applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6086&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: A Number 19: Freezadon with Shaddoll Beast as an Xyz Material and a Number 61: Volcasaurus with no Xyz Material are both face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, I activate the effect of Number 61: Volcasaurus, also applying the effect of Number 19: Freezadon to detach Shaddoll Beast in order to activate the effect. At this time, if Shaddoll Beast is sent to the Graveyard, can its effect that allows me to draw 1 card be activated?
A: In this situation, the attached Shaddoll Beast is sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Number 19: Freezadon rather than being detached from Number 61: Volcasaurus as a cost to activate its effect. Since Shaddoll Beast was sent to the Graveyard by a card effect, you can activate its effect.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6085&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons