[OCG] 01/24/18 Rulings

I threw Solidman’s rulings in here, since there were only 2.

01/24/18 Rulings

Q: Super-Ancient Dinobeast is face-up in my Monster Zone, and DNA Surgery that was activated by declaring Dinosaur-Type is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if a non-Dinosaur-Type monster is Special Summoned from the Graveyard by the effect of Monster Reborn, can I activate the effect of Super-Ancient Dinobeast?
A: In this scenario, the effect of DNA Surgery is applied and the Special Summoned monster will be treated as Dinosaur-Type, so you can activate the effect of Super-Ancient Dinobeast.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13836&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Pendulum Halt is activated, can Mystical Refpanel be chained to it?
A: Pendulum Halt is not treated as a card that targets 1 player, so you cannot chain Mystical Refpanel to it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10456&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My Heroic Challenger – Excalibur is face-up in an Extra Monster Zone, with Elemental HERO Solidman and Elemental HERO Bubbleman attached as Xyz Materials. In this situation, if my opponent activates Space Cyclone and detaches Elemental HERO Solidman from Heroic Challenger – Excalibur and sends it to the Graveyard, can I activate the effect of Elemental HERO Solidman that Special Summons a “HERO” monster from my Graveyard?
A: If Elemental HERO Solidman is sent to the Graveyard as an Xyz Material by the effect of Space Cyclone, it is not treated as being sent from the Monster Zone to the Graveyard, so its effect cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21748&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When activating the effect of Elemental HERO Solidman that Special Summons a “HERO” monster from my Graveyard, can I target a Fusion Monster?
A: You can target a Fusion Monster in your Graveyard with the effect of Elemental HERO Solidman. However, you can only target a Fusion Monster that was first properly Special Summoned before being sent to the Graveyard, and can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard. (Monsters such as Elemental HERO Flame Wingman cannot be Special Summoned except by Fusion Summon, and cannot be targeted by the effect of Elemental HERO Solidman.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=21749&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Normal Summon a Destroymare Iblee, and activate its effect targeting a Troymare Goblin in my Graveyard. If my opponent chains Book of Moon and changes Destroymare Iblee to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: The effect of Destroymare Iblee is one that Special Summons the targeted Link Monster so that it becomes linked to Destroymare Iblee. Even if that Destroymare Iblee is in faced-down Defense Position when its effect resolves, it is still able to link with the Special Summoned monster, so that monster is Special Summoned normally.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10696&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: I Special Summon Tiamaton the Steel Battalion Dragon with its own effect to my leftmost Main Monster Zone, and activate its effect that destroys all other cards in its column. If my opponent chains Enemy Controller and takes control of Tiamaton the Steel Battalion Dragon, placing it in the center column, how does its effect resolve?
A: When the effect of Tiamaton the Steel Battalion Dragon resolves, it destroys all other cards in the column it is currently in. In this scenario, since Tiamaton the Steel Battalion Dragon changes control due to the effect of Enemy Controller, its effect resolves while it is in the center column, and all other cards in the center column are destroyed. (Even so, Tiamaton the Steel Battalion Dragon itself is not destroyed.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10694&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Bunilla is face-up in my Monster Zone, and Sekitoba is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this scenario, if Creature Swap is activated, and control of Bunilla is switched with Sekitoba so that both monsters are placed in the same column, will the effect of Sekitoba that destroys it activate?
A: Even in this scenario, when a monster changes control and is placed in the same column as Sekitoba, its effect that destroys it activates.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10590&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When my opponent activates the effect of PSY-Framegear Gamma, can I chain the effect of Haunted Mansion & Fortune Spirit from my hand?
A: When your opponent activates the effect of PSY-Framegear Gamma, you can chain the effect of Haunted Mansion & Fortune Spirit. (It does not matter if a PSY-Frame Driver is present in your opponent’s Graveyard or not at the time the effect is activated.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10463&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If Gem-Knight Seraphinite is face-up in my Monster Zone, and I performed an additional Normal Summon this turn using its effect, can I then activate the effect of Troymare Goblin when it is Link Summoned?
A: In this scenario, if you already performed an additional Normal Summon this turn using the effect of Gem-Knight Seraphinite, you cannot activate the effect of Troymare Goblin. However, even if Gem-Knight Seraphinite is face-up on your field, but you did not perform an additional Normal Summon this turn yet, you can activate the effect of Troymare Goblin when it is Link Summoned. Afterward, you can perform 1 additional Normal Summon using either the effect of Gem-Knight Seraphinite or the effect of Troymare Goblin. (You cannot gain an additional Normal Summon with both effects.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10457&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When I activate Limit Code, my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys it. In this case, what happens?
A: In this scenario, if Limit Code was destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon that was chained to its activation, you cannot place any counters on it, so you cannot Special Summon a “Code Talker” monster from your Extra Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10455&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: My opponent activates the effect of D Cubed and Special Summons 2 additional copies of D Cubed from their hand/Deck/Graveyard. In this case, can I activate Network Trap Hole?
A: In this scenario, you can activate Network Trap Hole if your opponent Special Summoned any copies of D Cubed from the Deck or Graveyard. In that case, only those monsters that were Special Summoned from the Deck or Graveyard are banished face-down. For example, if your opponent Special Summoned 1 D Cubed from their hand and 1 from their Graveyard, only the D Cubed Special Summoned from the Graveyard is banished by the effect of Network Trap Hole.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13812&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can I Special Summon Cosmic Blazar Dragon from the Extra Deck with the effect of Stirring Up a Serpent’s Nest?
A: Cosmic Blazar Dragon is a monster that cannot be Special Summoned except by Synchro Summon, so you cannot Special Summon it from the Extra Deck with the effect of Stirring Up a Serpent’s Nest.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10595&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.