[OCG] Points of Interest from the New Rulebook

Master Rule 3, rulebook stuff, mostly Pendulum related

First things first, you can view the complete rulebook here: http://www.yugioh-card.com/japan/howto/rulebook_masterrule3_ver1.0.pdf

The no draw on turn 1 and both players can have a Field Spell thing are covered by ness already.

Page 13-14

PENDULUM MONSTERS

“Pendulum Summon” is a new form of summoning using Pendulum Monsters. By performing a Pendulum Summon, you can Special Summon a lot of monsters at once. The monsters you can bring out with a Pendulum Summon differ by the Pendulum Scale on Pendulum Monsters, but given the right conditions you can bring out high level monsters. You can only perform 1 Pendulum Summon per turn.

[Necessities for Pendulum Summoning]

If you want to Pendulum Summon, you have to first check the Pendulum Scales on the Pendulum Monsters. In the example above, the Pendulum Scale is 1. These numbers are different from the Level a monster naturally has. To perform a Pendulum Summon you need 2 Pendulum Monsters. So be sure to put 2 or more Pendulum Monsters with different Pendulum Scales in your Main Deck!

Pendulum Summoning Procedure

1. During your Main Phase, you can place Pendulum Monsters from your hand to your Pendulum Zones. This is done just like activating a Normal Spell or Continuous Spell, but in your Pendulum Zone, and after activation, they will still in the Pendulum Zones as long as they are not destroyed by card effects.

2. Once you have a Pendulum Monster in each Pendulum Zone, you can declare that you are performing a Pendulum Summon during your Main Phase. Check the Pendulum Scales on the Pendulum Monsters, then, Special Summon any number of monsters from your hand (up to as many as your open Monster Zones) whose Levels are numbers that are between the Pendulum Scales. This completes your Pendulum Summon.

I.E. For a Pendulum Summon performed using Pendulum Monsters with Pendulum Scales 1 and 8, you can Special Summon Level 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 monsters.

[Special Summoning from the Extra Deck]

If a Pendulum Monster would go from the field to the Graveyard, it does not go to the Graveyard but rather is placed on your Extra Deck Zone. When you declare that you are performing a Pendulum Summon, if there are any Pendulum Monsters in your Extra Deck, you can Special Summon those monsters as well. (Be aware that just like with the monsters you Special Summon from your hand, you have to check to make sure that Pendulum Monsters’ Levels that you want to Special Summon are between the Pendulum Scales on the Pendulum Zones.) The number of monsters you Special Summon when you perform a Pendulum Summon is entirely up to you, and it is possible for you to Special Summon only from the hand, only from the Extra Deck, or from both places.

Page 32

[About Monster Abilities]

Sometimes you will come across monsters that list their Ability next to their Type. An example being “Genbu no Shoukanshi” to the left which has “Flip” as its Ability. Other examples include “Union” or “Gemini”. Also, usually, the explanation for that Ability is written in the card’s text.

Example: [Spellcaster/Flip/Effect]

Page 59

-About Special Summoning Monsters

Special Summoning a monster is usually divided into 2 large categories. One way is Special Summoning a Special Summon Monster. This is done by performing certain specific steps, and is done without activating an effect. This includes Pendulum Summon, Xyz Summon, Synchro Summon, as well as Special Summoning monsters which have specific Summoning conditions. In the newest text going forward, these monsters will be denoted by [Type/Special Summon/Effect] in their text box. The other way is Special Summoning by using an effect. This way is different from the way detailed above in that it is done by using a Spell, Trap, or Effect Monster effect. This includes Fusion Summon, Ritual Summon, and Special Summon using Spells, Traps, or Effect Monster effects that Special Summon. A Special Summon performed this way usually cannot bring out Special Summon Monsters from your hand or Deck, or from the Graveyard without first fulfilling the Summoning condition. In addition, there are special monsters in this game like “Cyber Dragon”, which Special Summons itself similar to a Special Summon Monster, in that it does not start a chain when using its effect to Special Summon itself.

Page 63-64

-How to Place Pendulum Monsters in the Pendulum Zones

Pendulum Monsters are monsters, but they can be activated like Spell Cards and placed in the Pendulum Zones. (You cannot Set a Pendulum Monster into the Pendulum Zone.) While in the Pendulum Zone, they are treated as Spells, and apply their Pendulum Effects. (Their effects as Monsters are not applied.) (However, although they are treated as Spells, they are special cards that are not treated as a Normal, Continuous, Field, Equip, Quick-Play, or Ritual Spell Card.) Pendulum Monsters placed in your Pendulum Zones do not count towards you 5 card total in your Spell & Trap Zone. You cannot replace Pendulum Monsters that are in your Pendulum Zones like you can with Field Spell Cards. (They remain in the Zone as long as they are not destroyed.) As long as your Pendulum Zones are open, there is no limit to how many times you can place Pendulum Monsters into your Pendulum Zones per turn.

-About Pendulum Summons

When you perform a Pendulum Summon, it is important to be aware of the Pendulum Scales. For example, if you have 2 Pendulum Monsters in your Pendulum Zones with Pendulum Scales that are either the same or have a difference of 1, you cannot perform a Pendulum Summon, because there is no Level number that exists between them. (Even though you cannot perform a Pendulum Summon, you still gain the Pendulum Effects of the Pendulum Monsters in the Pendulum Zones.)

-About Adding Pendulum Monsters to your Extra Deck

A player can only start the Duel with an Extra Deck of 15 or less cards, containing only Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monsters. However, Pendulum Monsters can be added from the field to your Extra Deck during the course of a Duel. Even if your Extra Deck total goes over 15 during a Duel due to Pendulum Monsters being added to your Extra Deck, it does not count as breaking the rules of the game. If a Pendulum Monster exists as a card on the field and would be sent to the Graveyard (not just while they are in your Pendulum Zones), you add them to your Extra Deck. (The same thing happens if they are face-down on the field and would be sent to the Graveyard.) To differentiate the Pendulum Monsters from the other monsters in your Extra Deck, you place them face-up on your Extra Deck. (The number of Pendulum Monsters added to an Extra Deck, as well as their specific card information, are considered public knowledge and both players may check them at any time.) If a Pendulum Monster is sent from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard, or if they are used as Xyz Material and then sent to the Graveyard, they go into the Graveyard like normal. After a Duel has ended, remember to return the Pendulum Monsters that are added to the Extra Deck back to your Main Deck.

Eva

Number III, Eva is a master in the art of Blurography and a firm believer in not sleeping just to translate moonrunes for a card game.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons