Not many this time.
UPDATED ENTRIES
“What happens if the effect ‘you cannot Special Summon’ is reapplied during a Special Summon procedure or during a Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Summon?”
Q:
(A) If the Continuous Effect of a card such as Vanity’s Fiend is negated by my own Skill Drain, can I send that Skill Drain to the GY to Special Summon Diabellstar the Black Witch using its own effect?
(B) If the effect of my Domain of the True Monarchs is applying, and the only monsters in my opponent’s Monster Zone are 1 Tribute Summoned monster (Level 5) and 1 Level 2 Tuner, can they Synchro Summon a Level 7 Synchro Monster?
(C) If the effect of my Vanity’s Fiend is negated by my opponent’s Destiny HERO – Plasma, my opponent has no “Destiny HERO” monsters in their hand, and the only monsters in my opponent’s Monster Zone are the Destiny HERO – Plasma and 1 other “Destiny HERO” monster, can my opponent activate Polymerization to Fusion Summon Destiny HERO – Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer?
A:
(A) No, you cannot. (To Special Summon Diabellstar the Black Witch, you must send a card other than Skill Drain to the GY.)
Also, if the Continuous Effect of Vanity’s Fiend is being negated by your opponent’s Skill Drain, you cannot send your opponent’s Skill Drain to the GY to Special Summon Trap Eater.
(B) Your opponent cannot Synchro Summon. (Your opponent cannot send any monsters to the GY as Synchro Materials if they include the Tribute Summoned monster.)
If your opponent performs a Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Summon while the effect of your Domain of the True Monarchs is applying, they must choose monsters to Tribute or use as material so that a Tribute Summoned monster remains in their Monster Zone.
(C) Your opponent cannot activate Polymerization. (If Destiny HERO – Plasma leaves the Monster Zone, the effect of Vanity’s Fiend will apply again and prevent them from Special Summoning, so your opponent cannot Fusion Summon using Destiny HERO – Plasma as material.)
“After I activate Soul Crossing, if the activation of one of my cards or effects is negated, can I activate another effect?”
Q: The effect of my Soul Crossing, “Until the end of the next turn after this card resolves, you can only activate 1 card or effect per turn, not counting the effects of Divine-Beast monsters”, is applying. In this situation, if the activation of my card or effect (other than a Divine-Beast monster’s effect) is negated, can I activate the effect of another card other than a Divine-Beast monster’s effect?
A: No, you cannot.
Similarly, if the effect of Draw of Fate “For the rest of this turn after this card resolves, you cannot Set Spells/Traps, also you can only activate one more card or effect” has been applied, even if the activation of your card or effect is negated, you cannot activate another card or effect again that turn.
NEW ENTRIES
“If I banish Fallen of the White Dragon with the effect of Called by the Grave, will the effects of Fallen of Albaz be negated?”
Q: If Fallen of the White Dragon is banished by the effect of Called by the Grave, will the effect of Fallen of Albaz activated during that turn or the next turn be negated? Also, if Fallen of Albaz is banished by the effect of Called by the Grave, will the effect of Fallen of the White Dragon activated during that turn or the next turn be negated?
A: The effect is negated in both cases.
The same applies to the monster effects of Light Water Dragon and Water Dragon, and Odd-Eyes Arcray Dragon and Supreme King Z-ARC.
“Can I banish Killer Tune Mix to activate the effect of Killer Tune Loudness War during a turn I activated the effect of Killer Tune Mix?”
Q: Although the second effect of Killer Tune Mix can only be used once per turn, if I activated that effect this turn, can I still banish Killer Tune Mix to activate the effect of Killer Tune Loudness War?
A: Yes, you can. (The text “you can only use this effect once per turn” is ignored.) If you activate it, the effect “target 1 monster your opponent controls; destroy it” is applied.
Similarly, when activating the following effects, the “once per turn” text written on the card whose effect is being applied is not taken into consideration:
– Thunder Dragon Thunderstormech
– Killer Tune Playlist
“Can I activate Mitsurugi Prayers during a turn that I take no damage?”
Q: Can I activate Mitsurugi Prayers during a turn that I take no damage, due to my opponent activating Dark Ruler No More, etc.?
A: Yes, you can. (You can also activate it by Tributing a Reptile monster from your hand or field.)
You can still choose the second “●” effect when resolving Mitsurugi Prayers, but even if you do, you will not take any damage, so you cannot Special Summon a “Mitsurugi” monster from your hand or GY.
“What happens if the monster in my center Main Monster Zone switches zones with another monster while the effect of my Elvennotes ~Maddening Rhapsodia~ is applying?”
Q: While the first effect of my Elvennotes ~Maddening Rhapsodia~ is applying, so that my opponent’s monsters can only attack my monster in the center Main Monster Zone, an opponent’s monster declares an attack on my monster in the center Main Monster Zone. At this time, if I activate and apply the third effect of Elvennotes Dyina, what happens to the attack?
A: A replay occurs, so your opponent can choose to attack Elvennotes Dyina or stop the attack. (The effect of Elvennotes ~Maddening Rhapsodia~ does not force your opponent’s monsters to attack.)
RULING REVERSALS
Ruling changes that have occurred this month:
November 27: Vanity’s Fiend, Domain of the True Monarchs, etc.
Old Ruling: If an effect that prevents Special Summons is present but not applying, a Special Summon can still be performed such that the effect will begin reapplying during the process.
New Ruling: If an effect that prevents Special Summons is present but not applying, a Special Summon cannot be performed such that the effect will begin reapplying during the process.
November 27: Soul Crossing
Old Ruling: After the “●” effect of Soul Crossing has been applied, a card or effect whose activation has been negated does not count as your 1 effect (other than a Divine-Beast monster’s effect) that you are allowed to activate.
New Ruling: After the “●” effect of Soul Crossing has been applied, a card or effect whose activation has been negated still counts as your 1 effect (other than a Divine-Beast monster’s effect) that you are allowed to activate.
![[OCG] November 2025 Rulings Update](https://cdn.ygorganization.com/2020/07/Rulings_Banner_Small.png)
3 Comments
Konami be like “Lets make floodgates stronger! yay!”
That Soul crossing litteraly doesn’t make any sense. If the activation is negated, the activation didn’t happen. That’s how it has always been and like it will continue being for the interactions like “you can only activate this card/effect once per turn” VS Baronne style negates “Negate the activation”. Having to 2 rulings talking about the same mechanic but stating differently is complete BS. Come on.
This. Exactly what I was thinking with shogun shien and shi en interaction. Opponent can only activate one spell/trap. Negate that activation and boom they can’t activate anything else.
If this ruling only applies to one card it’s really weird. And if it applies to every instance of the interaction, it breaks so many cards.