Close Menu
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • News
      • OCG & TCG
      • Master Duel
      • Rush Duel
      • Set Spoilers
      • Forbidden & Limited Lists
    • Articles
      • Rulings
        • Summary of PSCT
      • Card Lores
      • Deck Building
      • Strategy Guides
      • Lists
        • TCG Only
        • OCG Only
    • Creative Decks
    • Wiki
    • Database
    • Newsletter
    • About Us
    YGOrganization
    YGOrganization
    FAQ Rulings Updates

    [OCG] September 2025 Rulings Update

    RedshiftBy RedshiftSeptember 30, 2025No Comments

    September updates.

     

     

    UPDATED ENTRIES

     

    “Which player discards due to the effect of Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi?”
    Q: If my opponent activates the effect, “When your opponent activates a card or effect (Quick Effect): You can activate this effect; your opponent can discard 1 card, or that effect is negated”, of Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi, and I discard a card, which player is considered to have discarded it?
    For example, if I discard Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World from my hand due to the effect of my opponent’s Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi, can I also target up to 2 cards on the field to destroy?
    A: Yes, you can. Cards discarded due to the effect of Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi are treated as discarded by the player who activated the effect of Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi (and they are considered to be discarded by a card effect).
    The same applies when applying the effect of General Raiho of the Ice Barrier.

    Source

     

    “What happens if I activate Mitsurugi Prayers while the damage I take is halved?”
    Q: The effect of my Pot of Prosperity that halves all damage my opponent takes is applying. In this situation, if my opponent activates Mitsurugi Prayers and applies its second effect, what happens?
    A: The damage your opponent takes is halved to 400, but because they still took damage, the effect of Mitsurugi Prayers is still applied as written and they can Special Summon a “Mitsurugi” monster.
    Similarly, if you activate the effect of Prank-Kids Lampsies during a turn you activated Pot of Prosperity, the damage your opponent takes is halved to 250, but you can still Special Summon a “Prank-Kids” monster from your Deck.

    Source

     

    “Can I Special Summon Cockadoodledoo using its second effect while the effect of Evilswarm Ophion is applying?”
    Q: If the effect of my opponent’s Evilswarm Ophion is applying, so that neither player can Special Summon Level 5 or higher monsters, can I Special Summon Cockadoodledoo as a Level 4 monster using its effect?
    A: No, you cannot.

    Source

     

    “Can I Special Summon Cockadoodledoo using its first effect during a turn I activated Worm Bait?”
    Q: If I activated Worm Bait, so that I cannot Special Summon any Level 3 or 4 monsters this turn, can I Special Summon Cockadoodledoo using either of its effects?
    A: You can still Special Summon it using either method.

    Source

     

    “If a monster I gained control of and is treated as a “D/D/D” monster due to the effect of D/D/D Headhunt is destroyed, can I activate the first monster effect of D/D/D Zero Doom Queen Machinex?”
    Q: If I gained control of my opponent’s monster that was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck with the effect of D/D/D Headhunt, so that it is treated as a “D/D/D” monster, and that monster is destroyed, can I activate the effect of D/D/D Zero Doom Queen Machinex that Special Summons it from the Extra Deck?
    A: Yes, you can. (This is because the effect references the card’s name while it is on the field.)
    The conditions for activating the effects of the following cards also refer to the card’s name while on the field:
    – Malefic Truth Dragon
    – Performage Plushfire (Pendulum Effect)

    Source

     

    “Can I activate the effect of Grandpa Demetto while the effect of Barrier Statue of the Abyss is applying?”
    Q: If the effect of Barrier Statue of the Abyss is applying, so that neither player can Special Summon monsters other than DARK monsters, can I activate the first effect of Grandpa Demetto?
    A: If the effect of Barrier Statue of the Abyss is applying, you cannot choose a monster with an original Attribute that is not DARK to be Special Summoned by the effect of Grandpa Demetto. (If you do not have any DARK Normal Monsters in your GY with 0 ATK or DEF, you cannot activate the first effect of Grandpa Demetto.)

    Source

     

    “If a monster effect that can only be used once per Duel is not resolved, can that effect be activated again during the current Duel?”
    Q: If the following situations occur during a Duel, can I activate the effect, “You can reveal this card in your hand; Special Summon 1 “Mitsurugi” monster from your Deck, then Tribute 1 monster you control”, of Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi again?
    (A) If the effect of Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi or its activation are negated.
    (B) If the effect of Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi is changed to “both players draw 1 card” by the effect of Number 75: Bamboozling Gossip Shadow.
    (C) If neither the activation nor the effect of Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi are negated, but another effect is applying when it resolves that prevents Special Summoning.
    A: In all of those cases, the effect of Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi has been used once, so you cannot activate its effect again during that Duel.
    The same applies to the following effects that can only be used once per Duel:
    – Revolution Synchron
    – Avance, Swordsman of the Nekroz
    – Blackwing – Steam the Cloak
    – Blackwing – Sharnga the Waning Moon
    – Blackwing – Zephyros the Elite
    – Blackwing – Hillen the Tengu-wind
    – Electromagnetic Turtle
    – Glow-Up Bulb
    – Spore
    – Red-Eyes Soul
    – Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force

    Source

     

    “Which monsters can be Special Summoned by the effect of Illusion Gate?”
    Q: Can I Special Summon the following monsters with the effect of Illusion Gate?
    (A) Monsters that can be Normal Summoned/Set but not Special Summoned, such as The Winged Dragon of Ra, Ancient Gear Golem, or Spirit monsters.
    (B) Cyber Laser Dragon, which states that it must be Special Summoned by the effect of Photon Generator Unit, or Elemental HERO Flame Wingman, which states that it must be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon.
    A:
    (A) They can be Special Summoned. (Even if The Winged Dragon of Ra or Ancient Gear Golem were sent to the GY without ever being Normal Summoned, they can still be Special Summoned ignoring their Summoning conditions.)
    (B) If a Cyber Laser Dragon was previously Special Summoned by the effect of Photon Generator Unit, or if an Elemental HERO Flame Wingman was previously Special Summoned by Fusion Summon, it can be Special Summoned ignoring its Summoning conditions. (The same applies to a Fusion Monster that does not state “Must be Fusion Summoned.” Even if you are Special Summoning it by an effect that ignores Summoning conditions, it must have been Fusion Summoned before. The same applies to Ritual, Synchro, Xyz, and Link Monsters.)
    An effect that ignores Summoning conditions allows you to Special Summon monsters that have their own Summoning conditions written in their text, as well as monsters without any specific Special Summoning conditions. (Even if a monster has text that restricts its Special Summoning methods, you can still Special Summon it ignoring that text.)
    Specifically, the following texts can be ignored:
    ● Text that restricts Special Summoning itself (such as the text “Cannot be Special Summoned” of Spirit monsters)
    ● Text that specifies how the monster must be Special Summoned (such as the conditions and procedures of Special Summon-only monsters)
    ● Text that restricts the method of Special Summoning (such as the text “Must be XX Summoned” of Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and Link Monsters)
    Note that you can only ignore the Special Summoning conditions written on the monster itself, and nothing else. Below are some examples of situations where you cannot Special Summon a monster even if the effect ignores Summoning conditions:
    ■ During a turn you activated Scapegoat, or if the effect of your opponent’s Vanity’s Ruler is applying, the reason you cannot Special Summon a monster is not because of that monster’s own text, so therefore it cannot be Special Summoned even by an effect that ignores Summoning conditions.
    ■ The text limiting the number of times a player can Special Summon a monster, “You can only Special Summon “XX(s)” once per turn”, does not count as a Summoning condition. This text must still be taken into account when Special Summoning a monster ignoring its Summoning conditions, and it cannot be Special Summoned more than the specified number of times.
    ■ Monsters that have not been properly Special Summoned before, such as a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster sent directly from the Extra Deck to the GY, cannot be Special Summoned even by an effect that ignores Summoning conditions. This is because the rules for Special Summon-only monsters prevent it from being Special Summoned, rather than the monster’s own text.

    Source

     

     

    NEW ENTRIES

     

    “If I Special Summon a monster from my opponent’s Deck or Extra Deck, does my opponent draw a card using the effect of Mulcharmy Fuwalos?”
    Q: During a turn my opponent activated the effect of Mulcharmy Fuwalos, I activate the last effect of Hecahands Gygas and Special Summon a monster from my opponent’s Deck to my Monster Zone. In this case, does my opponent draw a card using the effect of Mulcharmy Fuwalos?
    A: Your opponent draws a card.
    Similarly, if you Special Summon a monster from your opponent’s Deck or Extra Deck with the following effects, your opponent will draw a card with the effect of Mulcharmy Fuwalos:
    – Hecahands Xeno
    – Galaxy Hundred
    – Conscription

    Source

     

    “In which situations does the effect of my opponent’s Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON apply?”
    Q: In the following situations, does the effect of an Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON in my opponent’s Monster Zone, which states “each time a card(s) is added to your opponent’s hand by their card effect, inflict 900 damage to your opponent for each”, apply?
    (A) The effect of my Maxx “C”, Mulcharmy Purulia, Mulcharmy Fuwalos, or Mulcharmy Meowls are applied and I draw a card.
    (B) If a monster Special Summoned by the effect of The Great Mikanko Ceremony is returned to the hand during the End Phase.
    (C) If a card treated as an Xyz Material is added to my hand by the effect of my Overlay Network.
    (D) If a card is added to my hand by the effect of my Exchange or Gold Sarcophagus.
    A: In all of those cases, since a card was added to your hand by your own effect, the effect of your opponent’s Enneacraft – Aiza.LEON is applied.

    Source

     

    “What happens if I play Gaap the Divine Soldier while the effect of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir is applying?”
    Q:
    (A) What happens if I Special Summon Gaap the Divine Soldier in Attack Position while the Continuous Effects of Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir or Scareclaw Tri-Heart are applying?
    (B) What happens if I Special Summon Number 41: Bagooska the Terribly Tired Tapir in Defense Position, or Special Summon Scareclaw Tri-Heart, while the Continuous Effect of Gaap the Divine Soldier is applying?
    A: The result is that the effect of the monster placed on the field latest is the one that applies.
    (A) All monsters in the Monster Zone are changed to Attack Position.
    (B) All face-up monsters in the Monster Zone are changed to Defense Position.

    Source

     

    “In a situation where I can only Special Summon Tuner monsters, can I Special Summon a non-Tuner monster as a Tuner?”
    Q: If I am in a situation where I can only Special Summon Tuner monsters due to the effect of Killer Tune Synchro, Juke Joint “Killer Tune”, Killer Tune Cue, or Killer Tune Playlist,
    (A) Can I Synchro Summon Herald of the Arc Light using the Level 3 Martial Metal Marcher and a Level 1 monster as materials?
    (B) Can I Special Summon Infernoble Knight – Renaud using its first effect?
    (C) Can I activate the effect of Tenpai Dragon Genroku that Special Summons it from the hand?
    A:
    (A) No, you cannot. Since Herald of the Arc Light is not a Tuner in your Extra Deck, you cannot Synchro Summon it even if you use Martial Metal Marcher as a material.
    (B) No, you cannot.
    (C) The effect cannot be activated. Furthermore, if you are placed in a state where you can only Special Summon Tuners for the rest of the turn, such as by chaining Killer Tune Playlist to the first effect of Tenpai Dragon Genroku, Tenpai Dragon Genroku will not be Special Summoned and remains in your hand.

    Source

     

    “Can I chain Dominus Impulse to the second effect of Rex, Freight Fur Hire?”
    Q: Can I chain the effects of Dominus Impulse, Solemn Warning, or Tearlaments Rulkallos to the second effect of Rex, Freight Fur Hire?
    A: If the effect of Rex, Freight Fur Hire was activated by targeting a Monster Card, it includes the effect of Special Summoning a monster, so you can chain the effects of Dominus Impulse, Solemn Warning, or Tearlaments Rulkallos. If the effect of Rex, Freight Fur Hire was activated by targeting a Spell/Trap Card, you cannot chain any of these effects.

    Source

     

    “Can I activate an effect that targets a card on the field or in the GY by chaining to the second effect of my opponent’s Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA?”
    Q: When I activate an effect that targets a card my opponent controls, and my opponent activates the second effect of Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA as Chain Link 2, can I then activate an effect that targets a card on the field or in the GY as Chain Link 3?
    A: No, you cannot. Since Enneacraft – Asta.PIXEA is changed to face-up Defense Position as part of the procedure for activating its second effect, its third effect that states “After this card was flipped face-up, while it is in the Monster Zone, your opponent cannot target cards in the field or GY with card effects” is also immediately applied.

    Source

     

    “If an Eclipse Wyvern that activated its first effect is banished by an effect activated in the same Chain, can its second effect be activated?”
    Q: Due to another effect that was chained to the activation of the first effect of Eclipse Wyvern, that Eclipse Wyvern that activated its effect is banished face-up. In this case, can its second effect be activated after resolving the Chain?
    A: No, it cannot.

    Source

     

    “If I use the effect of Relinquished Anima to equip a card Special Summoned by the effect of Tiki Peace, what happens to its ATK?”
    Q: If a card is Special Summoned by the monster effect of Tiki Peace, and then equipped by the effect of Relinquished Anima, what happens to the ATK of Relinquished Anima?
    A: The ATK of Relinquished Anima does not increase, so it remains 0.

    Source

     

    “If a Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi that was not Ritual Summoned is Tributed and its last effect is activated, can the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained to it?”
    Q: When Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi is Tributed from the hand or Deck and its last effect is activated, can the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained to that activation?
    A: Yes, it can.
    Regardless of whether or not Ame no Murakumo no Mitsurugi can be Special Summoned from the GY, if its last effect is activated in the GY, the effect includes Special Summoning a monster from the GY. (If the effect is activated while it is banished, the effect does not include Special Summoning a monster from the GY, so the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion cannot be chained.)
    Similarly, if the effects of Futsu no Mitama no Mitsurugi or Ame no Habakiri no Mitsurugi are activated in the GY after they are Tributed from the hand or Deck, their effects include Special Summoning a monster from the GY, so you can chain the effects of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion, Underworld Goddess of the Closed World, Tearlaments Rulkallos, Solemn Warning, and Dominus Impulse.

    Source

     

    “Can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be chained to an effect that Tributes from the Deck?”
    Q: When the second effect of Mitsurugi Ritual is activated, can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be chained?
    A: No, it cannot. Although the Tributed monster is sent to the GY as a result, the effect itself is not considered one that sends a card from the Deck to the GY.

    Source

     

    “If the first effect of Shadow Severing Strike is activated after a Chain resolved in which only monsters were banished to activate monster effects, can the effects of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring or Dominus Purge be chained?”
    Q: If the first effect of Shadow Severing Strike is activated after a Chain resolved in which only monsters were banished to activate monster effects, can the effects of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring or Dominus Purge be chained?
    A: Yes, they can.

    Source

     

    “If I Special Summon a monster with an effect that can be activated when it is Special Summoned, but it is no longer face-up in the Monster Zone due to how the Chain resolved, can I still activate its effect?”
    Q: I activate the effect of Killer Tune Remix and Special Summon Killer Tune Mix from the GY, then immediately perform a Synchro Summon by sending Killer Tune Mix to the GY. In this case, can I still activate the first effect of Killer Tune Mix?
    A: No, you cannot.
    If the conditions for activating a monster’s Trigger Effect are met within a Chain, then once that Chain has finished resolving, if that card is still in the location where its effect can be activated, the effect will activate (or can be activated) by creating a new Chain Link.
    In the above scenario, since Killer Tune Mix was used as a Synchro Material and left the Monster Zone before its effect could be activated, its effect (which can only be activated in the Monster Zone) cannot be activated.

    Source

     

     

    RULING REVERSALS

     

    Ruling changes that have occurred this month:

     

    September 11: Crystal Seer
    Old Ruling: If you have exactly 1 card left in your Deck when the effect of Crystal Seer resolves, the effect is not applied.
    New Ruling: If you have exactly 1 card left in your Deck when the effect of Crystal Seer resolves, that card is excavated and added to your hand.

     

    September 11: Cockadoodledoo
    Old Ruling: If the effect of Evilswarm Ophion is applying, you can Special Summon Cockadoodledoo from your hand as a Level 4 monster using its second effect. Also, if it is a turn you activated Worm Bait, you cannot Special Summon Cockadoodledoo from your hand as a Level 3 or 4 monster using its effects.
    New Ruling: If the effect of Evilswarm Ophion is applying, you cannot Special Summon Cockadoodledoo from your hand as a Level 4 monster using its second effect. Also, if it is a turn you activated Worm Bait, you can Special Summon Cockadoodledoo from your hand as a Level 3 or 4 monster using its effects.

     

    September 11: Grandpa Demetto
    Old Ruling: If the effect of Barrier Statue of the Abyss is applying, you can Special Summon monsters with an original Attribute other than DARK with the first effect of Grandpa Demetto.
    New Ruling: If the effect of Barrier Statue of the Abyss is applying, you cannot Special Summon monsters with an original Attribute other than DARK with the first effect of Grandpa Demetto.

    Share. Facebook Twitter Reddit
    Redshift

    Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

    Related Articles

    [OCG] November 2025 Rulings Update

    November 30, 2025

    [OCG] October 2025 Rulings Update

    October 31, 2025

    [OCG] Structure Deck: Power of Fellows + Limited Pack GX: Osiris Red Rulings

    September 16, 2025

    Comments are closed.

    Recent Posts

    Instructor Decks for “Gias Charge of the Nova” [Deck Recipes]

    December 4, 2025

    Tellarknight Constellar, ft. TW03 Support [CDP]

    December 4, 2025

    Weave A Wonderful “Fairy Tail” Story! [BLZD]

    December 3, 2025

    [MW] Shooting Stars on the Galactic Market With Aliens

    December 3, 2025

    And The Next Saikyo Jump Promo Is… [RUSH DUEL]

    December 3, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) YouTube Discord RSS
    • Terms of Service / Privacy Policy
    • Contact Us
    © 2025 YGOrganization. All rights reserved.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.