[OCG] Yu-Gi-Oh! Zexal Vol. 8 Promo Rulings

03/04/15 Rulings

Number S39: Utopia Lightning
• Being able to Xyz Summon this card by overlaying it on top of a Rank 4 “Utopia” monster on your side of the field is not considered a monster effect.
• Overlaying this card on top of a Rank 4 “Utopia” monster on your side of the field is considered a proper Xyz Summon.
• The (1) effect of this card is a Continuous Effect.
• The (2) effect of this card is a Quick Effect. (This effect does not target. Detaching 2 Xyz Materials from this card is the cost to activate this effect.)

Q: Number S39: Utopia Lightning is equipped with Rising Sun Slash. If Number S39: Utopia Lightning is gaining 500 ATK due to the effect of Rising Sun Slash, and then activates its effect during damage calculation, what does its ATK become afterward?
A: Even in this case, the ATK of Number S39: Utopia Lightning will be 5000 during damage calculation. (The ATK gained by Rising Sun Slash is not reapplied.) After damage calculation is finished, the ATK of Number S39: Utopia Lightning will return to the value resulting from the effect of Rising Sun Slash.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15302&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning is chained to Forbidden Scripture, how does each effect resolve?
A: In this case, the effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning was activated as Chain Link 2, so it resolves first and its ATK becomes 5000. Then, Forbidden Scripture resolves at Chain Link 1 and applies its effect, negating the effects of Number S39: Utopia Lightning and making it so that the original ATK and DEF of the battling monsters is applied during damage calculation. Therefore, the original ATK of 2500 and original DEF of 2000 is applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15303&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning be activated more than once during the same damage calculation?
A: This effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning can only be activated once per damage calculation. (It cannot be activated more than once in the same chain.) If Number S39: Utopia Lightning battles multiple monsters during the same turn, its effect can be activated once during each damage calculation.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15305&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning be activated during either player’s turn?
A: The effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning can be activated not only when it attacks an opponent’s monster, but when it is attacked by an opponent’s monster during your opponent’s turn as well.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15304&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Number S39: Utopia Lightning be activated even when it battles a Defense Position monster?
A: Yes, you can.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=15306&keyword=&tag=-1

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons