July ruling updates and reversals.
UPDATED ENTRIES
“If multiple monsters, including Link Monsters, are Special Summoned at the same time, will the effect of Topologic Bomber Dragon activate?”
Q: While my Topologic Bomber Dragon is in the Extra Monster Zone, I Special Summon Honeybot and RAM Clouder from my GY with the effect of Soul Charge. If RAM Clouder is Special Summoned to a Main Monster Zone that Honeybot is pointing to, does the effect of Topologic Bomber Dragon activate?
A: “If another monster is Special Summoned to a zone a Link Monster points to” refers to when a monster is Special Summoned to a zone pointed to by a Link Monster that is already in the Monster Zone. Therefore, unless Honeybot or RAM Clouder are Special Summoned to a zone pointed to by Topologic Bomber Dragon or another Link Monster already in the Monster Zone, the effect of Topologic Bomber Dragon will not activate.
Similarly, the following effects cannot be activated even if multiple monsters including a Link Monster are Special Summoned at the same time in a linked state, unless those monsters are Special Summoned to a zone pointed to by a Link Monster already in the Monster Zone:
– Sea Archiver
– Tindangle Base Gardna
“If a monster I gained control of with the effect of Borreload Dragon is temporarily banished, what happens to it?”
Q: I gained control of an opponent’s monster with the effect of Borreload Dragon. In this situation, if I banish that monster with the effect of Interdimensional Matter Forwarder, what happens?
A: The banished monster returns to your Main Monster Zone, and nothing else happens. (The effect “send it to the GY during the End Phase of the next turn” is no longer applied, so control of the monster does not return, and it is not sent to the GY during the End Phase of the next turn.)
Similarly, if you temporarily banish a monster you gained control of with the effect of Eldlich the Mad Golden Lord, control of that monster does not return to the opponent, and the effect “it cannot attack or activate its effects this turn” is no longer applied. (The monster can now attack and activate its effects.)
“If a Master Peace, the True Dracoverlord that I own is destroyed by battle or card effect while in my opponent’s control, can I activate its second effect?”
Q: A Master Peace, the True Dracoverlord that I own is now in my opponent’s Monster Zone after being Tribute Summoned. In this situation:
(A) If Master Peace, the True Dracoverlord is destroyed by battle, can I activate the effect “If this Tribute Summoned card is destroyed by battle, or by an opponent’s card effect while in its owner’s Monster Zone: You can skip your opponent’s next Main Phase”?
(B) If Master Peace, the True Dracoverlord is destroyed by my opponent’s effect, can I activate its effect?
A:
(A) Yes, you can. (You, the original owner, can activate the effect.)
(B) No, you cannot. (Regardless of whether it was destroyed by your effect or your opponent’s effect, neither player can activate the effect.)
The same applies to the following monster effects:
– Geomathmech Magma
– Geomathmech Final Sigma
– Chasma, Dragon Ruler of Auroras
– Hiita the Fire Charmer, Ablaze
– Wynn the Wind Charmer, Verdant
– Dharc the Dark Charmer, Gloomy
– Aussa the Earth Charmer, Immovable
– Eria the Water Charmer, Gentle
– Lyna the Light Charmer, Lustrous
– Dark Alligator
– Infernalqueen Salmon
– Revendread Executor
– Minerva, the Exalted Lightsworn
– Silent Swordsman
– Silent Magician
– Abyss Actor – Sassy Rookie
“If N.As.H. Knight is not face-up in the Monster Zone when resolving its effect, how does its effect apply?”
Q: When resolving the effect of N.As.H. Knight, if another effect has been applied so that N.As.H. Knight is in the following situations, how will the effect be applied?
(A) It is changed to face-down Defense Position, or its control has switched to the opponent.
(B) It is placed in the Spell & Trap Zone, or has left the field.
A:
(A) Apply the effect as written. (The monsters are attached as materials to the face-down Defense Position N.As.H. Knight, or N.As.H. Knight whose control has switched to the opponent.)
(B) No part of the effect is applied. (The cards that would have been attached as materials are not sent to the GY.)
As examples, the same applies to the effects of the following cards that attach cards to themselves as Xyz Materials:
– Full Armored Dark Knight Lancer
– Number 101: Silent Honor ARK
– Number C101: Silent Honor DARK
– Number C9: Chaos Dyson Sphere
– Number C5: Chaos Chimera Dragon
– Number 5: Doom Chimera Dragon
– Number 79: Battlin’ Boxer Nova Kaiser
– Epurrely Plump
– Epurrely Noir
– Epurrely Happiness
– Epurrely Beauty
– The “●” effect gained from Purrely Pretty Memory
– Dingirsu, the Orcust of the Evening Star
– Melffy Mommy
– Divine Arsenal AA-ZEUS – Sky Thunder
– Wonky Quartet
– Digital Bug Corebage
– Goblin Biker Big Gabonga
– Time Thief Redoer
– Ghostrick Angel of Mischief
– Super Quantal Mech Beast Magnaliger
– Tellarknight Ptolemaeus
– Kashtira Arise-Heart
– Materiactor Gigaboros
– Mereologic Aggregator
– Cyber Dragon Infinity
– D/D/D Deviser King Deus Machinex
NEW ENTRIES
“If Light and Darkness Dragonlord is in the Monster Zone, what happens if a monster effect and a Spell/Trap effect are chained to each other?”
Q: While my opponent controls a Cross-Sheep, Megalith Portal, and Megalith Emergence, and I have Light and Darkness Dragonlord face-up in my Monster Zone, my opponent activates the effect of Megalith Emergence and Special Summons a “Megalith” monster from their GY to a zone Cross-Sheep points to.
In this case, how do the effects of my opponent’s Cross-Sheep and Megalith Portal, and my Light and Darkness Dragonlord, activate?
A: Regardless of whose turn it is, your opponent can first activate the effect of Cross-Sheep and Megalith Portal on the Chain.
If your opponent activates the effect of Megalith Portal as Chain Link 1 and the effect of Cross-Sheep as Chain Link 2, the effect of your Light and Darkness Dragonlord will activate as Chain Link 3, so the activation of Cross-Sheep’s effect is negated.
Even if your opponent activates the effect of Cross-Sheep and Chain Link 1 and the effect of Megalith Portal as Chain Link 2, the effect of your Light and Darkness Dragonlord will still activate as Chain Link 3 due to the activation of Cross-Sheep’s effect, but since it did not activate by chaining directly to the effect of Cross-Sheep, the activation of that effect is not negated. Only the part of the effect that reduces the ATK/DEF of Light and Darkness Dragonlord is applied. (The effect of Light and Darkness Dragonlord activates if a Spell/Trap Card or a monster effect is activated, so the activation of a Spell effect that is not the activation of the card itself does not count towards these activation requirements.)
“Can I send a Pendulum Monster to the GY as part of the cost of activating Forbidden Droplet?”
Q: When activating Forbidden Droplet, can I send a Pendulum Monster Card from my hand, Monster Zone, Spell & Trap Zone, or Pendulum Zone to the GY as part of the cost?
A: You can send Pendulum Monster Cards from your hand to the GY.
However, you cannot choose Pendulum Monster Cards on the field (including if they are face-down) for the cost of activating Forbidden Droplet. The same applies if the Pendulum Monster Cards are treated as Equip Spells, Continuous Spells, or Continuous Traps due to other effects. (This is because when a Pendulum Monster Card on the field would be sent to the GY, it is added face-up to the Extra Deck instead.)
Furthermore, if the Continuous Effect of G.B. Hunter is applying, you will then be able to send Pendulum Monster Cards from the field to the GY, so you can send Pendulum Monster Cards from the field to the GY as part of the cost of activating Forbidden Droplet.
“While the effect of Guilt-Gripping Morganite is applying, can I activate the effect of True Draco Heritage and Normal Summon without Tributing?”
Q: The effect of Guilt-Gripping Morganite that states “You can Normal Summon Level 5 or higher monsters without Tributing” is applying. If I activate the second effect of True Draco Heritage during this Duel, can I Normal Summon a “True Draco”/”True King” monster without Tributing?
A: No, you cannot. A Tribute Summon is a Normal Summon performed by Tributing a monster, so if you activate the effect of True Draco Heritage to perform a Tribute Summon, you must Tribute.
The same applies to the following effects:
Monster effects
– Proof of Pruflas
– Capricious Darklord
– Tessera the Primal Squire
– Ehther the Heavenly Monarch
Spell effects
– Spell Card “Soul Exchange”
– Disciples of the True Dracophoenix
– Soul Crossing
Trap effects
– True King’s Return
– True Draco Apocalypse
– Escalation of the Monarchs
“After a Chain resolves in which I activate Shipping Error, which player can activate the effect of Droll & Lock Bird?”
Q: When my opponent activates an effect that adds a card from their Deck to their hand, I chain Shipping Error. I add the card I chose from my Deck to my opponent’s hand as a result, but after the Chain resolves, which player can activate the effect of Droll & Lock Bird?
A: You can activate its effect.
When you apply the effect “Your opponent takes 1 card from their Deck for you to add to your hand”, you choose the card to be added to the hand, but your opponent (the player who activated the original effect that adds a card from the Deck to the hand) is the one adding that card to their hand.
Therefore, this fulfills Droll & Lock Bird’s activation requirement, “If a card(s) is added from the Main Deck to your opponent’s hand”.
“When resolving the second effect of Megalith Nortra Phulra, what happens if the card that was the target of the effect whose activation is being negated is no longer there?”
Q: My opponent activates the first effect of S:P Little Knight targeting my Megalith Nortra Phulra, I activate the second effect of Megalith Nortra Phulra as Chain Link 2, and my opponent activates the second effect of S:P Little Knight as Chain Link 3, targeting itself and that Megalith Nortra Phulra.
In this case, the Megalith Nortra Phulra that was the target of the first effect of S:P Little Knight (whose activation was negated when the effect of Megalith Nortra Phulra resolved) is no longer the target of the effect, but can I still apply the part of the effect “you can Tribute 1 monster your opponent controls”?
A: Yes, you can.
“If I add Magician of Chaos from my GY to my hand with the first effect of Miasma Necromancer, which monster’s effects can I no longer activate?”
Q: If a Magician of Chaos whose name is treated as “Dark Magician” in the GY is added to my hand by the first effect of Miasma Necromancer, which monster’s effects can I no longer activate?
A: You will be unable to activate the effects of monsters named “Magician of Chaos”. (The name of the card is referenced after it is added to your hand.)
Therefore, you can still activate the effects of the following monsters whose names are treated as “Dark Magician” in the Monster Zone or GY:
– Dark Magician of Destruction
– Dark Magician the Magician of Black Magic
– Magician of Dark Illusion
Similarly, if you add Dark Magician Girl the Magician’s Apprentice from your GY to your hand with the effect of Miasma Necromancer and then Special Summon it using its own effect, its name is treated as “Dark Magician Girl” in the Monster Zone, so you can activate its effect that adds Shining Sarcophagus from your Deck to your hand.
“Can I chain the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion to the second monster effect of Solfachord Solfeggia?”
Q:
(A) When the second effect of Solfachord Solfeggia is activated without Tributing it, can the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained?
(B) When the second effect of Solfachord Solfeggia is activated by Tributing it, can the effect of Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion be chained?
A:
(A) You cannot activate it.
(B) You can activate it. (Whether or not there are any monsters in the GY that can be Special Summoned when activating the effect does not matter.)
“If a monster in the GY targeted by Quadogmatika Beast is no longer in the GY when the effect resolves, what happens?”
Q: If Quadogmatika Beast is activated by targeting a monster in the GY, but that monster is banished due to another effect, what happens?
A: The part of the effect “send 1 monster from your Extra Deck, or 1 “Dogmatika” monster from your Deck, with an equal or higher ATK to the GY, and if you do, Special Summon the targeted monster” is not applied. (The targeted monster is no longer the correct target for Quadogmatika Beast if it leaves the location it was targeted in.)
However, the part of the effect “Until the end of your next turn after this card resolves, you cannot Special Summon from the Extra Deck” still applies.
“Can I activate the first effect of Magnifistorming Sovereign Tyranny in situations where I cannot draw cards?”
Q:
(A) Can I activate the first effect of Magnifistorming Sovereign Tyranny if a card effect is preventing me from drawing cards?
(B) Can I activate the first effect of Magnifistorming Sovereign Tyranny if I have no cards in my Deck?
A:
(A) Yes, you can. In that case, you apply the effect “● Shuffle them into the Deck”, but you do not draw a card. After that, the effect “● WIND monsters you control will gain 300 ATK/DEF for the rest of this turn” is applied.
(B) Yes, you can. In that case, you apply the effect “● Shuffle them into the Deck, then draw 1 card” as written. After that, the effect “● WIND monsters you control will gain 300 ATK/DEF for the rest of this turn” is applied.
“If I add a Normal Monster to my hand with the effect of Fusion Recruitment, which other card can I add to my hand?”
Q: I revealed Timaeus the United Magidragon with the effect of Fusion Recruitment, and added the Normal Monster Dark Magician to my hand. In this case, can I choose any of the following cards to add to my hand with the part of the effect that states “then if you added a Normal Monster, you can add a second such monster”?
A Dark Magician (the Normal Monster)
B Dark Magician Girl
C Dark Magician of Destruction, whose name is treated as “Dark Magician” in the GY
A: You can choose any of those cards to add to your hand. (Dark Magician of Destruction will return to your Extra Deck.) However, you cannot add to your hand the card you discarded to activate this effect.
“If a monster equipped with Tragic Twin Threads cannot be destroyed by card effects, can I activate the effect of Tragic Twin Threads?”
Q: My monster with 0 ATK is equipped with both Tragic Twin Threads and Mikanko Water Arabesque. In this case, the equipped monster cannot be destroyed by card effects, but if my opponent Special Summons a monster with 2000 ATK from the Extra Deck, can I activate the effect of Tragic Twin Threads?
A: Yes, you can. (If you do, only your opponent’s targeted monster is destroyed, and you take 2000 damage. Afterward, your opponent takes 2000 damage.)
Even if the monster equipped with Tragic Twin Threads cannot be destroyed by card effects due to the effect of Mikanko Water Arabesque or other such cards, you can still activate the effect of Tragic Twin Threads to destroy the equipped monster and the targeted monster. If you successfully destroy at least 1 monster, you take damage equal to the total original ATK of the destroyed monsters, then inflict damage to your opponent equal to the damage you took.
Also, even if the monster Special Summoned from the Extra Deck cannot be destroyed by Spell effects or is unaffected by Spell effects, you can still activate the effect of Tragic Twin Threads.
“If Contact “C” is face-up in my Monster Zone, can I activate the second effect of Yum☆Yum☆Yummys?”
Q: Contact “C” is face-up in my Monster Zone, and its effect “This card’s controller cannot Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Summon unless they use this card as material” is applying. In this situation, can I activate the second effect of Yum☆Yum☆Yummys?
A: Yum☆Yum☆Yummys does not use any Synchro Materials when resolving that effect, and the effect sends the targeted monsters to the GY and Special Summons a Synchro Monster (treated as a Synchro Summon). Therefore, if Contact “C” is face-up in your Monster Zone, you cannot activate the second effect of Yum☆Yum☆Yummys.
RULING REVERSALS
Ruling changes that have occurred this month:
July 4: Granmarg the Mega Monarch
Old Ruling: If Granmarg the Mega Monarch was Tribute Summoned by Tributing an EARTH monster, its effect will only draw a card if at least 1 targeted face-down card was destroyed by its effect.
New Ruling: If Granmarg the Mega Monarch was Tribute Summoned by Tributing an EARTH monster, its effect will draw a card even if no cards were destroyed by its effect.
**Note: The change I noted at the end of June was reversed on Granmarg’s basic information page less than a week later, so the card now works like it always has before. The June change was most likely an oversight by Konami, rather than an actual, intended change in card function.
July 17: Topologic Bomber Dragon
Old Ruling: If Topologic Bomber Dragon is already on the field, and multiple monsters including a Link Monster are Special Summoned simultaneously so that any of the Special Summoned monsters are linked to (being pointed to by) the Special Summoned Link Monster, this causes the effect of Topologic Bomber Dragon to activate.
New Ruling: If Topologic Bomber Dragon is already on the field, and multiple monsters including a Link Monster are Special Summoned simultaneously so that any of the Special Summoned monsters are linked to (being pointed to by) the Special Summoned Link Monster, this does not cause the effect of Topologic Bomber Dragon to activate.
**Note: This change also applies to Sea Archiver and Tindangle Base Gardna, as noted in the Q&A above.
![[OCG] July 2025 Rulings Update](https://cdn.ygorganization.com/2020/07/Rulings_Banner_Small.png)