Close Menu
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    • News
      • OCG & TCG
      • Master Duel
      • Rush Duel
      • Set Spoilers
      • Forbidden & Limited Lists
    • Articles
      • Rulings
        • Summary of PSCT
      • Card Lores
      • Deck Building
      • Strategy Guides
      • Lists
        • TCG Only
        • OCG Only
    • Creative Decks
    • Wiki
    • Database
    • Newsletter
    • About Us
    YGOrganization
    YGOrganization
    FAQ Rulings Updates

    [OCG] December 2025 Rulings Update

    RedshiftBy RedshiftDecember 31, 2025No Comments

    December updates.

     

     

    UPDATED ENTRIES

     

    “Which Fusion Monsters can be Special Summoned with the effect of Metamorphosis?”
    Q: Can the following monsters be Special Summoned by the effect of Metamorphosis?
    (A) “Shaddoll” Fusion Monsters and monsters such as Blue-Eyes Tyrant Dragon that state “Must first be Fusion Summoned” or “Must first be either Fusion Summoned, or Special Summoned from your Extra Deck by…”
    (B) “Elemental HERO” Fusion Monsters that state “Must be Fusion Summoned”.
    (C) Naturia Exterio, which states “A Fusion Summon of this card can only be done with the above Fusion Materials”.
    (D) A Pendulum/Fusion Monster such as Starving Venemy Dragon that is face-up in the Extra Deck.
    A:
    (A) and (B) They cannot be Special Summoned.
    (C) It can be Special Summoned.
    (D) If Starving Venemy Dragon was properly Special Summoned (by Fusion Summon) previously and is now face-up in the Extra Deck, it can be Special Summoned. (In that case, since Starving Venemy Dragon is also a Pendulum Monster, it must be Special Summoned to an Extra Monster Zone or a zone a Link Monster points to.)
    A Special Summon by the effect of Metamorphosis is not a Fusion Summon, so monsters that must be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon or must first be Special Summoned by Fusion Summon cannot be Special Summoned by its effect.
    However, the text “A Fusion Summon of this card can only be done with the above Fusion Materials” only restricts the materials required for the Fusion Summon, so it does not restrict the monster from being Special Summoned by methods other than Fusion Summoning, and therefore the monster can be Special Summoned by the effect of Metamorphosis.
    Similarly, the following monsters whose Fusion Summons must use the listed Fusion Materials can also be Special Summoned by the effect of Metamorphosis:
    – Fiend Skull Dragon
    – Ryu Senshi
    – Dark Balter the Terrible
    – Arcana Knight Joker
    – Cyber End Dragon
    – Cyber Twin Dragon
    – Cyber Blader
    – Super Vehicroid Jumbo Drill
    – Destiny End Dragoon
    – Chimeratech Rampage Dragon

    Source

     

    “When the second effect of End of the World Ruler is activated, can a card that responds to an effect ‘that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster’ be chained?”
    Q:
    (A) When the effect of End of the World Ruler that applies the effect of a Ritual Spell Card is activated, can the effect of a card such as Dominus Impulse that responds to an effect that includes Special Summoning be chained?
    (B) When the effect of End of the World Ruler is activated by banishing Throne of Archfiends, can the effect of a card such as Ghost Belle & Haunted Mansion that responds to an effect that includes Special Summoning from a specific location be chained?
    A:
    (A) Yes, it can be activated.
    Similarly, the following effects can be chained to the second effect of End of the World Ruler:
    – Tearlaments Rulkallos
    – D/D/D Wave High King Caesar
    – Ekto Enneacraft – “tromarIA”
    – Solemn Warning
    – Dark Staring at the Blue Sky
    – Branded Retribution

    Also, the following effects that apply the effect of a Ritual Spell are also considered effects that Special Summon a monster:
    – Chef de Nouvelles
    – Transonic Bird
    – Urgent Ritual Art
    – Stars Align across the Milky Way

    (B) No, it cannot be activated.
    Similarly, the following effects cannot be chained:
    – Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring
    – Underworld Goddess of the Closed World

    Source

     

    “During a turn I activated Mitsurugi Ritual, can I select the same “●” effect of Mitsurugi Ritual again when activating the effect of End of the World Ruler?”
    Q: During a turn I activated Mitsurugi Ritual by selecting the first “●” effect, can I banish another Mitsurugi Ritual from my Deck and select the first “●” effect again when activating the effect of End of the World Ruler?
    A: Yes, you can. When applying the effect of a Ritual Spell using the effect of End of the World Ruler, the text of cards such as Mitsurugi Ritual (“you can only use each effect of ‘Mitsurugi Ritual’ once per turn”) and Nekroz Kaleidoscope (“You can only use this effect of ‘Nekroz Kaleidoscope’ once per turn”) are ignored.
    Also, during a turn you banished Mitsurugi Ritual from your Deck and selected its first “●” effect to activate the effect of End of the World Ruler, you can still activate the first “●” effect of the actual card Mitsurugi Ritual. (The same applies to its second effect.)
    The the following effects that apply the effect of a Ritual Spell also ignore the texts “you can only use each effect once per turn” and “you can only use this effect once per turn” of Ritual Spells:
    – Chef de Nouvelles
    – Transonic Bird
    – Urgent Ritual Art
    – Stars Align across the Milky Way

    Source

     

    “Can I activate an effect that ‘changes an attack target and performs damage calculation’ when effects such as ‘monsters that can attack must attack this card’ or ‘cannot be targeted for attacks’ are applying?”
    Q:
    (A) If the effect of my Puppet Rook that states “Monsters your opponent controls that can attack must attack this card” is applying, can I activate the effect of Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy that changes an attack target to it and performs damage calculation?
    (B) If the effect of my Gentlemander that states “Your opponent’s monsters cannot attack any monsters, except this one” is applying, can I activate the effect of Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy?
    (C) If the effect of my Mekk-Knight Crusadia Avramax that states “their monsters cannot target monsters for attacks, except this one” is applying, can I activate the effect of Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy?
    (D) If the effect of my opponent’s The Legendary Fisherman that states it “cannot be targeted for attacks” is applying, can I activate the second “●” effect of Attack Guidance Armor by targeting The Legendary Fisherman?
    A: These effects can be activated in all of these situations. If activated, your Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy or your opponent’s The Legendary Fisherman become the new attack targets and damage calculation is performed.
    Effects that change attack targets and perform damage calculation can still change attack targets to monsters that cannot be targeted for attacks in normal battles, and damage calculation will be performed.
    The following effects that change an attack target and perform damage calculation can also be activated and applied normally:
    – Construction Train Signal Red
    – Giant Kra-Corn
    – Superheavy Samurai Blowtorch
    – Decoy Dragon
    – Ancient Lamp
    – Dark Spirit of Banishment
    – Gagaga Samurai
    – Dispatchparazzi
    – Eye of Illusion
    – Roulette Spider
    – Attack Guidance Armor
    – Evolutionary Bridge
    – Heroic Advance
    – Cubic Ascension
    – Magical Arm Shield

    Source

     

    “Can I add End of the World or Cycle of the World to my hand with the effect of Pre-Preparation of Rites?”
    Q: Can I add End of the World or Cycle of the World to my hand with the effect of Pre-Preparation of Rites?
    A: Yes, you can.
    The Ritual Monster you add from your Deck or GY to your hand must be either Ruin, Queen of Oblivion or Demise, King of Armageddon. (You cannot activate Pre-Preparation of Rites in this case unless End of the World or Cycle of the World are in your Deck, and either Ruin, Queen of Oblivion or Demise, King of Armageddon are in your Deck or GY.)
    Furthermore, you cannot add Demise, Agent of Armageddon, Demise, Supreme King of Armageddon, Ruin, Angel of Oblivion, Ruin, Supreme Queen of Oblivion, or End of the World Ruler to your hand.

    Source

     

    “When resolving the effect of Orgoth the Relentless, what happens if Orgoth the Relentless itself is no longer face-up in the Monster Zone?”
    Q: I activated the effect of Orgoth the Relentless. If my opponent chains an effect that makes it so that Orgoth the Relentless is no longer face-up in the Monster Zone when its effect resolves, what happens?
    A: In this scenario, only the die roll is performed. (The part of the effect that increases its ATK/DEF and any “●” effects are not applied.)

    Source

     

     

     

    NEW ENTRIES

     

     

    “If King of the Skull Servants is unaffected by Spell effects, does the effect of Wight Reanimator still apply?”
    Q: The effect of The Lady in Wight is applying. In this situation, if my King of the Skull Servants attacks a Defense Position monster, will my opponent take piercing battle damage due to the effect of Wight Reanimator?
    A: The first effect of Wight Reanimator is one that affects King of the Skull Servants, so it does not apply if King of the Skull Servants is unaffected by Spell effects.

    Source

     

    “Can I activate the effect of Elvennotes ~Homecoming Parallelism~ by sending Promethean Princess, Bestower of Flames to the GY?”
    Q: If the effect of Promethean Princess, Bestower of Flames is applying, can I activate the effect of Elvennotes ~Homecoming Parallelism~ by sending that Promethean Princess, Bestower of Flames to the GY?
    A: No, you cannot.
    To activate the effect of Elvennotes ~Homecoming Parallelism~, you must have the right combination of a monster that can be sent to the GY as the cost and a monster that can be Special Summoned by referencing its original Attribute prior to declaring the effect’s activation or paying the cost.
    In this scenario, if you were to send Promethean Princess, Bestower of Flames to the GY, you could only Special Summon a non-FIRE monster, but since the effect of that Promethean Princess, Bestower of Flames that has not been sent to the GY yet is applying, there is no valid combination of monsters that can be sent and that can be Special Summoned by referencing their Attributes.
    Similarly, the following effects cannot be activated by sending Promethean Princess, Bestower of Flames to the GY:
    – Elvennotes ~Maddening Rhapsodia~
    – Elemental Training

    Source

     

    “If a card is added to my hand, which effect can be activated first: My Forbidden Crown or my opponent’s Droll & Lock Bird?”
    Q: I activated Reinforcement of the Army and added a Level 4 or lower Warrior monster from my Deck to my hand. Afterward, I want to activate Forbidden Crown and my opponent wants to activate the effect of Droll & Lock Bird. In this case, which effect can be activated first?
    A: As the turn player, you can activate Forbidden Crown first as Chain Link 1. However, if you activate Forbidden Crown, your opponent cannot activate the effect of Droll & Lock Bird as Chain Link 2 due to the text “Neither player can activate monster effects in response to this card’s activation” of Forbidden Crown. (After this Chain resolves, your opponent cannot activate the effect of Droll & Lock Bird because it is no longer the timing where “a card(s) is added from the Main Deck to your opponent’s hand” due to the effect of Reinforcement of the Army.)
    If players wish to activate multiple card effects at the same time, they can follow the priorities listed below and create a Chain for Priority 1 and Priority 2 effects in order, then they can activate Priority 3 effects by confirming each other’s responses and building the Chain.
    – Priority 1: Mandatory effects.
    – Priority 2: Effects of revealed cards (such as face-up cards on the field or cards in the GY) that can be activated optionally at that time, and effects that can be activated if the card leaves the field.
    – Priority 3: Effects of hidden cards (such as Set cards on the field or cards in the hand), effects that have to be chained directly to another card/effect activation, and effects that can be activated freely at any time.
    Forbidden Crown and Droll & Lock Bird are both Priority 3 effects, so the player with priority at the time can activate their effect. After the effect of Reinforcement of the Army resolves, you as turn player have priority, so if there are no Priority 1 or 2 effects, you can activate the first Priority 3 effect.

    Source

    **Note: This ruling is describing the OCG’s mechanic of “priority levels”, which determine how effects are placed on a Chain in addition to Spell Speeds. Since priority levels of effects have never been explained in any TCG ruling sources, it is assumed these rules don’t exist in the TCG, and Spell Speed limits where certain effects can be placed on the Chain. These differences were highlighted in another ruling published earlier this year.

     

    “If I banish Mitsurugi Ritual to activate the effect of End of the World Ruler, when do I choose the effect?”
    Q: If I banish Mitsurugi Ritual to activate the effect of End of the World Ruler, which applies the effect of the banished Ritual Spell, when do I choose which which effect to activate?
    A: When activating the effect of End of the World ruler, you declare which “●” effect you wish to activate before confirming a response from your opponent.
    The same applies to the following effects that apply the effect of Mitsurugi Ritual:
    – Transonic Bird
    – Urgent Ritual Art
    – Stars Align across the Milky Way

    Source

     

    “Can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be chained to the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Antimatter Dragon?”
    Q: When the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Antimatter Dragon is activated, can the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring be chained?
    A: You can only chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring if the effect of Galaxy-Eyes Antimatter Dragon was activated by detaching a Monster Card as cost. If its effect was activated by detaching a Spell/Trap Card, the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring cannot be chained.

    Source

     

     

    RULING REVERSALS

     

    Ruling changes that have occurred this month:

    December 11: Various die-rolling effects
    Old Ruling: When resolving a die-rolling effect, if the action that directly depends on the die roll cannot be applied, the die roll is not performed. Specifically-changed rulings on the database:
    – If Orgoth the Relentless is not face-up in a Monster Zone when its effect resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    – If Musical Sumo Dice Games is not in a Main Monster Zone when its effect resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the first monster effect of Vaylantz Mad Marquess resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    – If there are no Monster Cards in your Spell & Trap Zone that can be Special Summoned when the second monster effect of Vaylantz Mad Marquess resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the “● Defense Position” effect of Morphtronic Telefon resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    – If the targeted card is no longer in the GY when the third effect of Thunder Ball resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the “● Attack Position” effect of Morphtronic Smartfon resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the “● Defense Position” effect of Morphtronic Smartfon resolves, no part of its effect is applied.
    New Ruling: When resolving a die-rolling effect, if the action that directly depends on the die roll cannot be applied, the die roll is still performed. Specifically-changed rulings on the database:
    – If Orgoth the Relentless is not face-up in a Monster Zone when its effect resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.
    – If Musical Sumo Dice Games is not in a Main Monster Zone when its effect resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the first monster effect of Vaylantz Mad Marquess resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.
    – If there are no Monster Cards in your Spell & Trap Zone that can be Special Summoned when the second monster effect of Vaylantz Mad Marquess resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the “● Defense Position” effect of Morphtronic Telefon resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.
    – If the targeted card is no longer in the GY when the third effect of Thunder Ball resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the “● Attack Position” effect of Morphtronic Smartfon resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.
    – If you have no cards in your Deck when the “● Defense Position” effect of Morphtronic Smartfon resolves, only the die roll is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.

    December 15: Gentlemander
    Old Ruling: If the effect of Gentlemander is applying, its controller cannot activate the effect of Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy that changes an attack target to itself.
    New Ruling: If the effect of Gentlemander is applying, its controller can activate the effect of Number 38: Hope Harbinger Dragon Titanic Galaxy that changes an attack target to itself and resolve it normally.

    December 30: Kryuel
    Old Ruling: If the targeted monster is no longer in the Monster Zone when the effect of Kryuel resolves, or if the effect activated without a monster to target, no part of its effect is applied.
    New Ruling: If the targeted monster is no longer in the Monster Zone when the effect of Kryuel resolves, or if the effect activated without a monster to target, only the coin toss is performed, but the remainder of the effect is not applied.

    December 30: Magical Merchant
    Old Ruling: If you have no Spells/Traps in your Deck when the effect of Magical Merchant resolves, you excavate your entire Deck and then shuffle the cards back into the Deck.
    New Ruling: If you have no Spells/Traps in your Deck when the effect of Magical Merchant resolves, no part of the effect is applied.

    Share. Facebook Twitter Reddit
    Redshift

    Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

    Related Articles

    [OCG] November 2025 Rulings Update

    November 30, 2025

    [OCG] October 2025 Rulings Update

    October 31, 2025

    [OCG] September 2025 Rulings Update

    September 30, 2025

    Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

    Recent Posts

    [OCG] December 2025 Rulings Update

    December 31, 2025

    [BLZD] Convex Knight & Northern Cross Fire

    December 31, 2025

    Lead Your Foes Astray With “Diabrocken of the Ghost Light”! [BLZD]

    December 30, 2025

    “Saturnius’ Orb” Reprint [RD/AP02]

    December 30, 2025

    R.B. Orcust Sky Striker [CDP]

    December 29, 2025
    Facebook X (Twitter) YouTube Discord RSS
    • Terms of Service / Privacy Policy
    • Contact Us
    © 2025 YGOrganization. All rights reserved.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.