[OCG] 5/1/2014 OCG rulings

5/1/2014
Assorted rulings:

Q: If an Xyz Monster is Xyz Summoned using 3 copies of Star Seraph Scepter, does that Xyz Monster gain each of the effects that destroys a card on the field and draws a card?
A: In that case, that Xyz Monster gains the effect three times as a result of the effect of each copy of Star Seraph Scepter.
Therefore, when that Xyz Monster is Xyz Summoned, all the gained “•” effects activate forming a chain from links 1 to 3 and resolve properly.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13211&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of DNA Surgery is being applied declaring Genryuu-Type, Gongfu, Cosmic Dragon of Brilliance was Synchro Summoned using Chiwen, Cosmic Dragon of Light (Level 1/Tuner), Suanni, Cosmic Dragon of Fire (Level 4) and a Mecha Phantom Beast Token (Level 3).
In this case, can the effect of Gongfu, Cosmic Dragon of Brilliance that returns cards to the Deck be activated?
Also, if it can be activated, how many cards can be targeted?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be activated.
Also, in the proposed scenario, since there are 3 monster Attributes using Chiwen, Cosmic Dragon of Light (LIGHT), Suanni, Cosmic Dragon of Fire (FIRE) and a Mecha Phantom Beast Token (WIND), up to 3 cards can be targeted with the effect of Gongfu, Cosmic Dragon of Brilliance.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13212&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Archfiend Eater that Special Summons itself from the Graveyard the targeted monster is no longer on the field, so that it cannot be destroyed, how does the effect resolve?
A: In that case, the targeted monster cannot be destroyed, and the Special Summon of Archfiend Eater is not performed.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13213&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Stellaknight Deltatheros that prevents the opponent from activating effects when you Summon a monster is being applied, Satellaknight Deneb was Special Summoned by the effect of Celestial Aura activated as chain link 2.
Once that resolution is over, at the time the effect of Satellaknight Deneb’s effect is activated, can the opponent activate Divine Wrath?
A: In that case, the time “when you Normal or Special Summon a monster” is when Satellaknight Deneb is Special Summoned by the resolution of the effect of Celestial Aura, that is to say, it occurs during the resolution of the chain.
Once this resolution is over, the Special Summoned Satellaknight Deneb can activate its effect, and at the time that effect is activated, and since the opponent is not affected by the effect of Stellaknight Deltatheros, Divine Wrath can be activated in a chain.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13214&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If 2 face-up Ritual Monsters would be destroyed simultaneously by the effect of Torrential Tribute, can the effect of Hymn of Blessing that prevents that destruction of Ritual Monsters be applied?
A: Even in that case, the effect can be aplpied.
If it is applied, all face-up Ritual Monsters you currently control are not destroyed and remain on the field.
Furthermore, the effect of Hymn of Blessing can only be applied if face-up Ritual Monsters would be destroyed. If only face-down Ritual Monsters would be destroyed by the effect of Torrential Tribute, the effect of Hymn of Blessing cannot be applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13215&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: When entering the End Phase of the turn in which Saphira the Dragon Princess was Ritual Summoned, if that Saphira the Dragon Princess is returned to the hand by the effect of Compulsory evacuation Device, can the effect of Saphira the Dragon Princess be activated?
A: In that case, the effect cannot be activated.
Furthermore, during the End Phase of the turn in which Saphira the Dragon Princess was Ritual Summoned, if Compulsory Evacuation Device is activated in a chain to the effect of Saphira the Dragon Princess, returning that Saphira the Dragon Princess to the hand, the activated effect of Saphira the Dragon Princess resolves normally.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13216&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If you Normal or Special Summon a “Star Seraph” Monster when you have 2 copies of Star Seraph Sovereign in your hand, can the effects of each copy be activated in the same chain?
A: In that case, only the effect of 1 copy of Star Seraph Sovereign in the hand can be activated from that single occurence. (The effects of each copy of Star Seraph Sovereign cannot be activated in the same chain)
However, if you Normal or Special Summon a “Star Seraph” monster, and activate the effect of the first copy of Star Seraph Sovereign in the hand and Special Summon it, when that Special Summon is successful, it is possible to activate the effect of the second copy of Star Seraph Sovereign in the hand and Special Summon it.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13217&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can Elshadoll Nephilim be Fusion Summoned using 2 copies of Shadoll Roots that are being treated as Effect Monsters by their own effect as Fusion Materials?
A: While Shadoll Roots is being treated as an Effect Monster by its own effect in a Monster Zone, it is also treated as a “Shadoll” Monster.
Also, by applying the effect that allows you to substitute this card for a Fusion Material listed by Attribute in a “Shadoll” Fusion Monster, since this card can be used as a Fusion Material listed by Attribute other than DARK, Elshadoll Nephilim can be Fusion Summoned using 2 copies of Shadoll Roots as Fusion Materials, providing 1 of them is treated as a LIGHT monster.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13218&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If the monster targeted for the effect of Starcrossed Satellaknights is no longer face-up as a result of Book of Moon or Compulsory Evacuation Device being activated in a chain, how does it resolve?
A: Even in that case, the part of the effect that Special Summons of the “Tellaknight” monster with a different name from the Deck is still performed.
The part of the effect that returns the targeted monster to the owner’s Deck is not performed, but even in that case, the restriction to being unable to Special Summon monsters other than “Tellaknight” monsters while you control the Special Summoned monster is still applied.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13219&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can The Monarchs Storm Forth be activated if neither player controls any monsters?
A: Even in that case, The Monarchs Storm Forth can be activated.
Furthermore, the effect of The Monarchs Storm Forth is not only applied to monsters the opponent currently controls.
If during the turn The Monarchs Storm Forth has been applied the opponent Special Summons monsters afterwards, that monster can be used as a tribute when performing a Tribute Summon.

Q: While the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, if a Synchro Summon is performed using Shungei, Cosmic Dragon of Fire that has its effects negated as a Synchro Material, is the ATK and DEF of that Synchro Monster increased by the effect that increases its ATK/DEF by 500?
A: Even in that case, the ATK/DEF is increased.
Furthermore, if the effect of Skill Drain is being applied, the effects of that Synchro Monster are also negated by the effect of Skill Drain, but even in that case, the effect that increases ATK/DEF is not negated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13221&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Shadoll Falcon that Special Summons itself be activated if it is tributed for a Ritual Summon or used as a Fusion Material using Polymerization and sent to the Graveyard?
A: If Shadoll Falcon is tributed for a Ritual Summon and sent to the Graveyard, it is tributed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of the Ritual Spell Card.
Similarly, if Shadoll Falcon is sent to the Graveyard as a Fusion Material by a Fusion Summon using Polymerization, it is sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Polymerization.
In either case, the effect of Shadoll Falcon can be activated.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13222&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: If a face-down Defense Position Command Knight is flipped face-up by the Monster Effect of Entermate Tiptoad that switches a monster’s Battle Position and swaps its ATK and DEF, what does its ATK and DEF become?
A: In that case, Command Knight is changed to Attack Position.
Furthermore, its ATK and DEF at the time that are its written values of Original ATK (=1200) and Original DEF (=1900) are swapped. (At this time, its ATK and DEF become 1900 and 1200)
Afterwards, since Command Knight’s own effect that increases the ATK of Warrior-Type Monsters you control is applied, the final values are 2300 ATK and 1200 DEF.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13223&keyword=&tag=-1

Q: Can a monster with the same ATK and DEF values be targeted by the effect of Entermate Whip Viper?
A: Yes, it can.
If the ATK and DEF values are the same, the end result is that the values do not change, but the ATK and DEF values are swapped when the effect resolves.

Source: http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13224&keyword=&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons