[OCG] 4/17/14 Rulings

4/17/14
Assorted rulings

Q: Do cards like King of the Swamp, etc. apply their effects to substitute for Fusion Materials while in the Deck?
A: No, cards like King of the Swamp and Goddess with the Third Eye cannot apply their effect while in the Deck.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13184&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Non-Fusion Area is chained to Polymerization or Power Bond, so that you are unable to Fusion Summon, do you still send the Fusion Material monsters to the Graveyard?
A: No. If you are unable to perform the Fusion Summon, the effect to send the materials to the Graveyard is not applied.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13198&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If De-Fusion is used to return a Fusion Monster to the Extra Deck, and all of the Fusion Material monsters used for its Fusion Summon are present in the Graveyard, does the player have to Special Summon them?
A: When resolving De-Fusion, it always returns the Fusion Monster to the Extra Deck, but the player using it chooses whether or not to Special Summon the Fusion Material monsters used for its Fusion Summon from the Graveyard. (They can choose not to Special Summon.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13199&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Ritual Monster is sent from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard without first being properly Special Summoned, can it be Special Summoned with Fulfillment of the Contract? Also, if a Fusion Monster is sent from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard without first being properly Special Summoned, can it be Special Summoned by Re-Fusion?
A: A Ritual or Fusion Monster that was not first Special Summoned properly cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with Fulfillment of the Contract or Re-Fusion.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13195&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Necrovalley is on the field, is it possible to activate Preparation of Rites?
A: Yes, even if Necrovalley is active, Preparation of Rites can be activated. In that case, you can only resolve the effect which adds 1 Ritual Monster from the Deck to the hand.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13196&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Number 39: Utopia is a monster that is Xyz Summoned using 2 Level 4 monsters as Xyz Material, so while Number 39: Utopia has 2 Xyz Materials, can the effect of Overlay Eater be used to attach a third Xyz Material to it?
A: Even though Number 39: Utopia is Xyz Summoned using 2 Level 4 monsters as Xyz Material, that does not mean it can only have up to 2 Xyz Materials attached to it. The effect of Overlay Eater can be used to attach a third Xyz Material to Number 39: Utopia.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13190&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Generation Force is activated, but an effect is chained so that you no longer control an Xyz Monster when Generation Force resolves, does its effect still apply?
A: When resolving Generation Force, if you no longer control an Xyz Monster, it still resolves normally.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13189&keyword=&tag=0

Q: What does it mean that Black and White Wave requires a face-up Xyz Monster with a Synchro Monster as Xyz Material to activate?
A: Black and White Wave requires an Xyz Monster that currently has a Synchro Monster attached as Xyz Material. (It does not matter if the Synchro Monster was used as an Xyz Material for the Xyz Summon, or was attached by the effect of Overlay Eater, etc.) Note that the Xyz Monster must be face-up.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13192&keyword=&tag=0

Q: When resolving Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force, since it Special Summons a Rank 5 or higher monster at resolution and is then sent to the Graveyard after being used, can its effect to add itself to the hand be used immediately afterward?
A: In order to activate the second effect of Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force, it must be present in your Graveyard at the time that you Special Summon a Rank 5 or higher Xyz Monster. Therefore, when a Rank 5 or higher monster is Special Summoned by resolving Rank-Up-Magic Argent Chaos Force, it cannot be added to the hand afterward.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13187&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Barbaroid, the Ultimate Battle Machine is destroyed by battle along with a monster with the same ATK, does it still inflict 1000 damage to the opponent?
A: If Barbaroid, the Ultimate Battle Machine is destroyed by battle along with a monster with the same ATK, the effect to inflict 1000 damage does not activate.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=10433&keyword=&tag=0

Q: Does the effect of Grisaille Prison apply to Synchro and Xyz Monsters that are Summoned after it has already resolved?
A: Yes, the effect of Grisaille Prison applies to Synchro and Xyz Monsters that are Summoned after it has already resolved.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13186&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If Intercept Wave is used, then during the End Phase, will it only return Synchro Monsters to the Extra Deck if they were changed to Defense Position when it resolved?
A: During the End Phase, the effect of Intercept Wave to return Synchro Monsters to the Extra Deck will apply to them even if they were not changed to Defense Position when it resolved. (Intercept Wave returns any face-up Synchro Monster present on the field during the End Phase, regardless of whether or not it was changed to Defense Position.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13191&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If cards like Gravity Bind or Burden of the Mighty are already face-up on the field when Ritual Buster resolves, do their effects continue to apply?
A: If they were already active when Ritual Buster resolves, their effects will continue applying.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13197&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If the card Synchro Material is used on a monster, and that monster is then flipped face-down by Book of Moon, will the effects of Synchro Material still apply to it?
A: If a monster that was affected by Synchro Material is flipped face-down, the effect of Synchro Material no longer applies. (Even if the monster is subsequently flipped face-up again, the effect of Synchro Material no longer applies.)
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13194&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If a Synchro Monster targeted by Synchro Control is flipped face-down by Book of Moon, so that it is face-down when resolving Synchro Control, does its effect still apply?
A: If Book of Moon is chained to Synchro Control and flips the target face-down, control of the targeted monster does not change.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13193&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If you activate Sacred Serpent’s Wake, but the number of different kinds of monsters (Ritual, Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz) is reduced before resolving it, how do you resolve the effect?
A: Sacred Serpent’s Wake is activated by selecting an an applicable effect based on the number of different kinds of monsters you control (and also by selecting a target for that effect). Thus, even if the number of different kinds of monsters at resolution is lower than when the card was activated, you still resolve the effect that was selected at activation.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13185&keyword=&tag=0

Q: If I activate Dimension Slice, and the opponent chains Bottomless Trap Hole, so that the monster that was Special Summoned in order to trigger Dimension Slice is no longer on the field when it resolves, is the targeted card still banished?
A: Yes, the target will still be banished as usual.
http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=13188&keyword=&tag=0

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons