[OCG] 3/21 OCG ruling reviews

The OCG has reviewed quite a few rulings according to Master Rules 3. All of these start applying since 3/21 IN THE OCG ONLY, for now.

Q: Please explain the activation timing and the effect resolution of the effect of Honest that increases the ATK of a LIGHT monster.
A: During the Damage Step in which a LIGHT monster you control battles, it is possible to activate the effect from the Start of the Damage Step until Before Damage Calculation.
Furthermore, it cannot be activated during Damage Calculation.
(It cannot be activated in the same timing as Kuriboh)
Sending this card from the hand to the Graveyard is a cost.
The ATK increase is equal to the ATK of the opponent’s monster at the time of the resolution of the effect of Honest.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7285&tag=-1

Q: Can Null and Void be activated during the Damage Step?
For example, if the effects of Airknight Parshath, Sasuke Samurai #3 or The Bistro Butcher are activated during the Battle Phase, can Null and Void be activated in a chain?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=66&tag=-1

Q: Can Solemn Warning be activated in a chain to the effect of Super-Nimble Mega Hamster?
A: Whether or not to activate the effect of Super-Nimble Mega Hamster is decided when it’s flipped face-up.
Providing the effect is activated, Solemn Warning can be activated in a chain.
Furthermore, if the effect is not activated at the time Super-Nimble Mega Hamster is flipped face-up, since no chain is started, Solemn Warning cannot be activated.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12694&tag=-1

Q: If you activate the Field Spell Card Madolche Chateau while the opponent controls the Field Spell Card Necrovalley, is the effect of Madolche Chateau that returns all “Madolche” Monsters in your Graveyard to the Deck negated by the effect of Necrovalley?
A: The effect of Madolche Chateau is negated by the effect of the opponent’s Necrovalley, but Madolche Chateau remains on the Field Zone.
Furthermore, even if the effect of the opponent’s Necrovalley is being applied, since the effect of Madolche Chateau that makes the effects of “Madolche” Monsters return monsters to the hand instead of the Deck does not affect cards in the Graveyard, that effect is applied normally.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12359&tag=-1

Q: After an “Evilswarm” monster has been Special Summoned by the effect of Return from the Different Dimension, if that monster is affected by the effect of Infestation Pandemic, are those monsters banished during the End Phase?
A: Even in that case, the monsters are banished during the End Phase normally.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12761&tag=-1

Q: If multiple effects are activated during Damage Calculation, can they be activated separately without forming a chain?
A: No, they cannot.
For example, if the effects of Kuriboh and Injection Fairy Lily are activated, the effect of Kuriboh can be activated in a chain to the effect of Injection Fairy Lily, but the effect of Kuriboh cannot be activated in a new chain after the effect of Injection Fairy Lily resolves.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=7279&tag=-1

Q: How do you equip a face-up Petit Moth on the field with Cocoon of Evolution from the hand?
A: Cocoon of Evolution has an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand that targets 1 face-up Petit Moth you control.
It is a monster in the hand, but since it is equiped while treated as an Equip Card, this does not count as a Normal Summon.
Like other Spell Cards, it is counted as 1 of the cards in your Spell & Trap Zone.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=11281&tag=-1

Q: Can the effect of Blue-Eyes Shining Dragon that negates effects that target it be activated during the Damage Step?
A: No, it cannot.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=48&tag=-1

Q: While you control a Geartown in your Field Zone, if the opponent activates a new Field Spell Card, can the effect of Geartown that Special Summons 1 “Ancient Gear” Monster be activated?
Also, while you control a Geartown in your Field Zone, if you activate or set a new Field Spell Card, can the effect of Geartown that Special Summons 1 “Ancient Gear” Monster be activated?
A: It is possible to have Field Spell Cards on each Field Zone on both sides of the field.
Therefore, even if the opponent activates a new Field Spell Card while you control Geartown, your Geartown is not destroyed and its effect to Special Summon 1 “Ancient Gear” Monster cannot be activated.
Also, if you activate or set a new Field Spell Card while you control Geartown, this is performed after sending the activated Geartown to the Graveyard.
Even in this case, since Geartown is not destroyed, its effect to Special Summon 1 “Ancient Gear” monster cannot be activated.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=877&tag=-1

Q: Can Covering Fire be activated During Damage Calculation?
A: No, it cannot.
It can be activated from the Start of the Damage Step until Before Damage Calculation.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=34&tag=-1

Q: While the effect of Imperial Order is being applied, Venom Swamp is on the field and a monster with 500 or less ATK that has been equipped with Ring of Magnetism had a Venom Counter placed on itself.
If the effects of Ring of Magnetism and Venom Swamp start applying as a result of Imperial Order Leaving the Field, which effect is treated as being the one that reduces the ATK of the monster to 0?
Is the monster destroyed by the effect of Venom Swamp?
A: Even if the effect of Venom Swamp is being applied, if the monster’s ATK is not reduced to 0 by placing a Venom Counter on it, it is not destroyed by the effect of Venom Swamp.
In the proposed scenario, since the ATK became 0 as a result of the effect of Ring of Magnetism being re-applied, the monster is not destroyed by the effect of Venom Swamp.

Q: Please explain which monsters are affected by the effect of Ghostrick House.
A: The effect of Ghostrick House is applied to the monsters each player controls.
Regardless of which player activated this card, the monsters either player controls are unable to attack face-down monsters but can attack the opponent directly if the opponent only controls face-down monsters.
Furthermore, if each player controls a copy of Ghostrick House, the effect that halves the Battle Damage inflicted to a player is only applied once and the Battle Damage is halved normally.
(The damage is not reduced to 1/4th)

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=12878&tag=-1

Q: During Damage Calculation while battling with Doomcaliber Knight, if the opponent activates the effect of Bujingi Crane, what happens with the Damage Calculation?
A: The effect of Doomcaliber Knight is activated in a chain to the effect of Bujingi Crane, tributing itself.
In this case, Damage Calculation is not performed and the Damage Step ends.
Also, a replay is not triggered.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=9132&tag=-1

Q: While you control a Meklord Fortress in your Field Zone, if the opponent activates a new Field Spell Card, can the effect of Meklord Fortress that adds 1 “Meklord Emperor” Monster from the Deck to the hand be activated?
Also, while you control a Meklord Fortress in your Field Zone, if you activate or set a new Field Spell Card, can the effect of Meklord Fortress that adds 1 “Meklord Emperor” Monster from the Deck to the hand be activated?
A: It is possible to have Field Spell Cards on each Field Zone on both sides of the field.
Therefore, even if the opponent activates a new Field Spell Card while you control Meklord Fortress, your Meklord Fortress is not destroyed and its effect that adds 1 “Meklord Emperor” Monster from the Deck to the hand cannot be activated.
Also, if you activate or set a new Field Spell Card while you control Meklord Fortress, this is performed after sending the activated Meklord Fortress to the Graveyard.
Even in this case, since Meklord Fortress is not destroyed, its effect that adds 1 “Meklord Emperor” Monster from the Deck to the hand cannot be activated.

Q: Can Attack of the Cornered Rat be activated during the Damage Step?
Also, can the effect of Attack of the Cornered Rat be activated during the Damage Step?
A: The effect of an already face-up Attack of the Cornered Rat can be activated during the Damage Step, but not during Damage Calculation.
(It can be activated from the Start of the Damage Step until Before Damage Calculation)
Also, a face-down Attack of the Cornered Rat cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
However, providingthe effect is also activated while activating this face-down card, it can be activated during the Damage Step.
Furthermore, even in this case, it cannot be activated during Damage Calculation.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8447&tag=-1

Q: When the effect of a face-up Kuribon you control is activated during Damage Calculation, if the opponent activates the effect of Hedge Guard in a chain so that the ATK of Kuribon is higher than the ATK of the opponent’s monster, is the effect of Kuribon still applied?
A: If at the time of the resolution of the effect of Kuribon you would end up taking no Battle Damage as a result of the ATK of the opponent’s monster being reduced, since the part of the effect that reduces the Battle Damage you take to 0 cannot be applied, the part of the effect that increases the opponent’s Life Points and returns this card to the hand are not applied.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8791&tag=-1

Q: Does the effect of Venom Swamp that places a Venom Counter on each face-up monster during the End Phase start a chain?
Also, does the effect that destroy monsters whose ATK became 0 start a chain?
A: The effect of Venom Swamp that places a Venom Counter on each face-up monster during the End Phase starts a chain.
Also, the effect that destroy monsters whose ATK became 0 starts a chain.
It activates when the ATK of the monster becomes 0 and destroys it.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=6770tag=-1

Q: When a card the opponent controls that had Spell Counters placed on itself is destroyed, is the effect of your Magical Citadel of Endymion that places Spell Counters on itself equal to the number of Spell Counters the destroyed card had still applied?
A: Even in that case, the effect is applied.
Also, if both players have activated a Magical Citadel of Endymion and a card that had Spell Counters placed on itself is destroyed, the effect of both copies of Magical Citadel of Endymion is applied and the same number of Spell Counters is placed on each of them.

Source: www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=8203&tag=-1

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons