Introducing: HeroSync!

[OCG] 20th Anniversary Legend Collection Rulings

How to judge your Sins.


Rulings for the 20 new cards in the Legend Collection.

20TH-JPC00 Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon

  • This card is a “Blue-Eyes” monster.
  • This card’s effect that prevents it from being targeted or destroyed by your opponent’s card effects is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that destroys a card on your opponent’s field is an Ignition Effect.
  • This effect targets 1 card on your opponent’s field. Furthermore, if this card was Fusion Summoned using a monster whose original name is Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon as a material, you can target 2 or 3 cards on your opponent’s field instead. (In that case, when you activate the effect, you will choose whether the effect will target 1, 2, or 3 cards.)
  • You cannot activate this effect during your Main Phase 2 if Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon attacked during this turn.

Q: There are 2 copies of Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon and 1 Blue-Eyes White Dragon in my hand. In this situation, can I activate Polymerization and Fusion Summon a Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon?
A: The materials required to Fusion Summon Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon are 3 Blue-Eyes White Dragons. In this scenario, the effect of Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon that treats it as Blue-Eyes White Dragon is not applied while it is in your hand. Since you do not have 3 Blue-Eyes White Dragons in your hand to use as materials, you cannot Fusion Summon Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon with Polymerization.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22461&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: There are 3 copies of Blue-Eyes White Dragon in my Graveyard, which include a Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon whose name is treated as Blue-Eyes White Dragon by its own effect. In this situation, I activate Necro Fusion, and Fusion Summon Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon by banishing those 3 monsters face-down. When activating the effect of that Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon that was Fusion Summoned this way, can target 2 or 3 of my opponent’s cards?
A: In this scenario, even if Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon was Fusion Summoned by the effect of Necro Fusion and the materials were banished face-down, it was Fusion Summoned using a monster whose original name is Blue-Eyes Alternative White Dragon. Therefore, when activating its effect, you can target 2 or 3 of your opponent’s cards to destroy.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22462&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activate the effect of Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon, targeting 3 monsters on my opponent’s field. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns 1 of the targeted monsters to the hand, how does the effect of Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon resolve?
A: In this scenario, even if one of the cards targeted by the effect Blue-Eyes Alternative Ultimate Dragon is no longer on the field when the effect resolves, any remaining targeted cards are destroyed normally. (This card cannot attack during this turn as usual.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22460&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC01 Magician of Black Chaos MAX

  • This card’s effect that prevents your opponent from activating monster effects is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Tributing 1 monster in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect. (You can Tribute Magician of Black Chaos MAX itself, and you can also Tribute a face-down Defense Position monster.)
  • This card’s effect that adds a Spell Card from your Graveyard to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It targets 1 Spell Card in your Graveyard.)
  • This effect can be activated optionally at the end of the Damage Step when this card destroys an opponent’s monster by battle.
  • If this card battles a monster with the same ATK and both monsters are destroyed, you cannot activate this effect.

Q: My opponent Special Summoned a Magician of Black Chaos MAX this turn, and its effect that prevents me from activating monster effects was applied. During this turn, if I Xyz Summon a Paleozoic Anomalocaris, can I activate its effects?
A: When the effect of your opponent’s Magician of Black Chaos MAX is applied, you cannot activate monster effects for the rest of the turn. In this scenario, you cannot activate monster effects, even those of monsters such as Paleozoic Anomalocaris that are unaffected by other monsters’ effects.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22459&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC02 Exodia, Master of the Guard

  • The text that prevents this card from being Special Summoned is not an effect.
  • Winning the Duel when this card that was Normal Summoned by its own effect destroys a DARK Fiend-Type monster your opponent owns by battle is not an effect. It is a victory condition defined by this card’s text.
  • This card’s effect that allows you to Normal Summon it by Tributing 5 monsters is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect. (When Normal Summoning this card with this effect, it must be face-up. You cannot use this effect to Set this card in face-down Defense Position.)
  • This card’s effect that changes its ATK/DEF is a Continuous Effect.

Q: There are 2 copies of Double Coston and 1 Zombie Master in my Monster Zone. In this situation, can I Normal Summon an Exodia, Master of the Guard by applying its effect?
A: When Normal Summoning Exodia, Master of the Guard using its own effect, you can also apply the effect of Double Coston that treats it as 2 Tributes for the Tribute Summon of a DARK monster. In this scenario, it is possible to Normal Summon Exodia, Master of the Guard using its own effect and Tribute only those 3 monsters on your field by applying the effect of each Double Coston. In that case, the ATK/DEF of Exodia, Master of the Guard become 5200/3300.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22458&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activated Nightmare Archfiends and Special Summoned 3 Nightmare Archfiend Tokens to my opponent’s field. In this situation, if my Exodia, Master of the Guard that was Normal Summoned by Tributing 5 monsters destroys one of those Nightmare Archfiend Tokens by battle, do I win the Duel?
A: The victory condition described in the text of Exodia, Master of the Guard stipulates that it, while having been Normal Summoned by its own effect, destroys a DARK Fiend-Type monster your opponent owns by battle. In this scenario, since you were the player who activated Nightmare Archfiends, you are the owner of the Nightmare Archfiend Tokens, so the victory condition is not fulfilled.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22457&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I attacked my opponent’s face-down Defense Position monster with an Exodia, Master of the Guard that was Normal Summoned by Tributing 5 monsters. If that face-down monster is Night Assailant, and my Exodia, Master of the Guard is destroyed by its effect after damage calculation, do I win the Duel?
A: The victory condition described in the text of Exodia, Master of the Guard stipulates that it, while having been Normal Summoned by its own effect, destroys a DARK Fiend-Type monster your opponent owns by battle. In this scenario, Exodia, Master of the Guard battled a DARK Fiend-Type monster owned by your opponent, but since it was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by the effect of Night Assailant after damage calculation, the victory condition is not fulfilled.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22456&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

This ruling indicates that Exodia’s win condition kicks in at the end of the Damage Step, but it must remain on the field to still be treated as having been Summoned by its own effect.

Q: I activated DNA Surgery by declaring Fiend, and DNA Transplant by declaring DARK. In this situation, if my Exodia, Master of the Guard that was Normal Summoned by Tributing 5 monsters destroys a monster my opponent owns by battle, do I win the Duel?
A: The victory condition described in the text of Exodia, Master of the Guard stipulates that it, while having been Normal Summoned by its own effect, destroys a DARK Fiend-Type monster your opponent owns by battle. If the monster destroyed by battle is owned by your opponent, but treated as a DARK Fiend-Type monster by the effects of DNA Surgery and DNA Transplant, you will win the Duel with Exodia, Master of the Guard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22463&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC03 Palladium Oracle Mana

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons it is a Quick Effect that activates in the hand or Graveyard. (It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect does not target. It is activated by chaining directly to an opponent’s card effect that targets only 1 face-up Spellcaster-Type monster in your Monster Zone. (This includes the activation of a Spell/Trap Card, the activation of a Spell/Trap effect, or the activation of a monster effect.)
  • This card’s effect that prevents Level 7 or higher Spellcaster-Type monsters on your field from being destroyed by card effects is a Continuous Effect.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Dark Magician Girl from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)

Q: I activated Star Changer and increased my Palladium Oracle Mana to Level 7. If Palladium Oracle Mana is Level 7, is it prevented from being destroyed by card effects due to its own effect?
A: In this scenario, if Palladium Oracle Mana is Level 7 or higher due to another card effect, its own effect is applied to it, so it is not destroyed by card effects.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22455&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC04 Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon

  • This card is a “Red-Eyes” monster.
  • This card’s text that states it cannot be Normal Summoned/Set and must first be Special Summoned by Tributing a “Red-Eyes” monster from your hand or field is not an effect. It is the Special Summoning procedure of a Special Summon-only monster. (When Special Summoning this card this way, Tribute 1 other “Red-Eyes” monster in your hand or 1 “Red-Eyes” monster in your Monster Zone. This Special Summon does not start a Chain.)
  • If this card’s Special Summon by its own procedure is negated by Solemn Judgment, you cannot Special Summon another Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon that turn by this method.
  • If this card is sent to the Graveyard after being Special Summoned by its own procedure, you can then Special Summon it from the Graveyard with a card such as Monster Reborn.
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Level 7 or lower “Red-Eyes” monster from your Graveyard is a Trigger Effect. (It targets 1 Level 7 or lower “Red-Eyes” monster in your Graveyard other than Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • This effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning the targeted monster. (If Red-Eyes B. Dragon is Special Summoned by this effect, its ATK is doubled immediately.)

Q: When Special Summoning Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon from my hand by its own procedure, can I Tribute another Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon in my hand or on my field?
A: Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon is a “Red-Eyes” monster, so you can Tribute one from your hand or field when Special Summoning a different Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22454&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When activating the effect of Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon that Special Summons a Level 7 or lower “Red-Eyes” monster from my Graveyard, can I target a Fusion Monster such as Red-Eyes Black Dragon Sword or Red-Eyes Slash Dragon?
A: Both Red-Eyes Black Dragon Sword and Red-Eyes Slash Dragon are Level 7 or lower “Red-Eyes” monsters. However, Red-Eyes Black Dragon Sword is a monster that cannot be Special Summoned except by the effect of The Claw of Hermos, so it cannot be targeted by the effect of Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon. If Red-Eyes Slash Dragon was sent to the Graveyard after being Fusion Summoned, it can then be Special Summoned from the Graveyard by effects such as Monster Reborn, so it can also be targeted by the effect of Red-Eyes Alternative Black Dragon. (It is not possible to target a Red-Eyes Slash Dragon that was sent directly from the Extra Deck to the Graveyard.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22453&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC05 Neo Kaiser Glider

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Dragon-Type Normal Monster from your Graveyard is an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand. (It targets 1 Dragon-Type Normal Monster in your Graveyard.)
  • Discarding Neo Kaiser Glider itself and 1 other monster from your hand is the cost to activate this effect.
  • If there are no Dragon-Type Normal Monsters in your Graveyard that you can target, you cannot activate this effect.
  • This card’s effect that decreases the ATK of your opponent’s monsters is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)

20TH-JPC06 Malefic Divide

  • This card targets 1 “Malefic” monster in your Graveyard.
  • When targeting a Special Summon-only “Malefic” monster, it must be a monster that was sent to the Graveyard after being properly Special Summoned. (For example, you cannot target a Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon that was sent directly from the hand or Deck to the Graveyard without being Special Summoned.)
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • Banishing the Special Summoned monster during the End Phase does not start a Chain.

Q: Malefic World is face-up in my Field Zone, and Malefic Rainbow Dragon is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, can I activate Malefic Divide and target another Malefic Rainbow Dragon in my Graveyard?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Malefic Rainbow Dragon that states there can only be 1 face-up “Malefic” monster on the field is applying, you cannot activate Malefic Divide. If the effect of Malefic Territory is applying in this situation, you can activate Malefic Divide if you target a “Malefic” monster other than Malefic Rainbow Dragon. (But even if the effect of Malefic Territory is applying, you cannot target a “Malefic” monster with the same name as one that is already face-up in the Monster Zone.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22451&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Imperial Iron Wall is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that prevents players from banishing cards is applying. In this situation, can I activate Malefic Divide?
A: Malefic Divide can be activated even if the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is applying. Even in that case, the monster Special Summoned by its effect has the effect “banish it during the End Phase” applied to it. If the effect of Imperial Iron Wall is still applying during the End Phase, the Special Summoned monster is not banished and remains on the field, but its effects are still negated. (After that, during the End Phase of the following turn, the effect “banish it during the End Phase” will try to apply again.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22452&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC07 Malefic Selector

  • This card does not target.
  • Banishing 2 “Malefic” cards from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this card.
  • When activating this card, you can banish another copy of Malefic Selector from your Graveyard as part of the cost. Also, you can banish 2 cards with the same name (such as 2 copies of Malefic Red-Eyes B. Dragon) as the cost.
  • You cannot choose Malefic Selector as the card to add from your Deck to your hand. Furthermore, you cannot choose a card with the same name as the cards that were banished as the cost to activate Malefic Selector.

Q: I activate Malefic Selector by banishing Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon and Malefic Stardust Dragon from my Graveyard. Which cards can I add from my Deck to my hand with this effect?
A: The effect of Malefic Selector is to add 2 “Malefic” cards with different names from each other and the cards banished to activate Malefic Selector, from your Deck to your hand. (Furthermore, Malefic Selector cannot be added to your hand by this effect.) In this scenario, since you banished Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon and Malefic Stardust Dragon, you can add 2 “Malefic” cards with different names that are not Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Malefic Stardust Dragon, or Malefic Selector (for example Malefic Paradox Gear and Malefic Territory). Also, if there are no “Malefic” cards in your Deck that you can add to your hand, such as when the only “Malefic” cards in your Deck are Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon and Malefic Stardust Dragon, you cannot activate Malefic Selector by banishing those cards.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22450&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC08 Malefic Tune

  • This card’s effect to draw 2 cards is the effect that is applied by activating this card. (It does not target.)
  • You can activate this card during the Damage Step.
  • This card’s effect that adds a “Malefic” monster from your Deck to your hand starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect.

Q: Malefic World is face-up in my opponent’s Field Zone, Malefic Territory is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon and Malefic Red-Eyes B. Dragon are both face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, if Malefic Territory is destroyed by my opponent’s Mystical Space Typhoon, and either Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon or Malefic Red-Eyes B. Dragon is destroyed because there can only be 1 face-up “Malefic” monster on the field, can I activate Malefic Tune?
A: In this scenario, when one of your “Malefic” monsters is destroyed because the effect that only allows 1 “Malefic” monster to exist on the field started applying, the destroyed monster is not treated as being destroyed by battle or a card effect. Therefore, in this case you cannot activate the first effect of Malefic Tune, but you can activate the second effect of a Malefic Tune in your Graveyard.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22449&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: A Set Malefic Tune in my Spell & Trap Zone and a face-up Malefic Parallel Gear in my Monster Zone are both destroyed and sent to the Graveyard at the same time by the effect of Icarus Attack. At this time, can I activate the effect of Malefic Tuner that adds a “Malefic” monster from my Deck to my hand?
A: The effect of Malefic Tune that adds a “Malefic” monster from your Deck to your hand can only be activated if a face-up “Malefic” monster in your Monster Zone is destroyed except by battle while Malefic Tune is already in your Graveyard. If Malefic Tune and a “Malefic” monster are both destroyed and sent to the Graveyard at the same time, such as in this scenario, the effect of Malefic Tune cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22448&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC09 Dark Magic Twin Burst

  • This card targets 1 face-up Dark Magician in your Monster Zone.
  • The ATK of the targeted Dark Magician is increased by the total ATK of all copies of Dark Magician Girl that are present face-up in your Monster Zone, your opponent’s Monster Zone, your Graveyard, and your opponent’s Graveyard, at the time this effect resolves.
  • If the ATK of a Dark Magician Girl on the field has changed due to a card effect, the targeted Dark Magician will gain ATK based on the current ATK of that Dark Magician Girl.
  • After this effect resolves, even if Dark Magician Girl is no longer face-up on the field or in the Graveyard, or if the ATK of a Dark Magician Girl on the field has changed, the ATK increase that was already applied to the targeted Dark Magician does not change.

20TH-JPC10 Stardust Mirage

  • You can only activate this card if you have a face-up Level 8 or higher Dragon-Type Synchro Monster in your Monster Zone.
  • This card does not target.
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • If 2 or more monsters are Special Summoned by this card’s effect, they are considered to be Special Summoned simultaneously.

Q: I activate Stardust Mirage while Red Dragon Archfiend is face-up in my Monster Zone. If my opponent chains Raigeki Break and destroys Red Dragon Archfiend, how does Stardust Mirage resolve?
A: The effect of Stardust Mirage will apply normally even if you do not have a face-up Level 8 or higher Dragon-Type Synchro Monster in your Monster Zone when it resolves. At this time, you will Special Summon as many monsters as possible from your Graveyard that were destroyed by battle or by your opponent’s card effect this turn. In this scenario, since Red Dragon Archfiend was also destroyed by your opponent’s card effect and sent to your Graveyard, it can be Special Summoned.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22447&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC11 Magic Gate of Miracles

  • You can only activate this card if you have 2 or more face-up Spellcaster-Type monsters in your Monster Zone.
  • This card does not target.
  • Changing an opponent’s monster to Defense Position and taking control of that monster do not happen simultaneously.
  • You keep control of your opponent’s monster for as long as it remains on the field. Also, that monster cannot be destroyed by battle as long as it remains face-up on the field.

Q: The only monsters on my opponent’s field are a Duel Link Dragon and a Defense Position Duel Dragon Token. In this situation, can I activate Magic Gate of Miracles?
A: In this scenario, the only Attack Position monster on your opponent’s field is Duel Link Dragon, a Link Monster. Since Link Monsters cannot be changed to Defense Position, you cannot apply the effect of Magic Gate of Miracles that changes an opponent’s monster to Defense Position. Therefore, you cannot activate Magic Gate of Miracles in this case.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22446&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activated Magic Gate of Miracles and took control of my opponent’s Stardust Dragon. Afterward, if Book of Moon is activated and that Stardust Dragon is changed to face-down Defense Position, which effects of Magic Gate of Miracles will be applied?
A: Even if a monster you took control of with the effect of Magic Gate of Miracles is changed to face-down Defense Position, as in this scenario, control of that monster does not return to your opponent, however the effect that prevents that monster from being destroyed by battle no longer applies.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22445&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC12 Bond Between Teacher and Student

  • You can only activate this card if you have a card named Dark Magician face-up on your field.
  • This card does not target.
  • Special Summoning Dark Magician Girl from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard, and Setting 1 Dark Magic Attack, Dark Burning Attack, Dark Burning Magic, or Dark Magic Twin Burst from your Deck do not happen simultaneously.
  • You must apply the part of the effect that Special Summons Dark Magician Girl, but you can choose not to apply the part of the effect that Sets a Dark Magic Attack, Dark Burning Attack, Dark Burning Magic, or Dark Magic Twin Burst from your Deck.

Q: Dark Magician is face-up in my Monster Zone, and there are 4 cards Set in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this case, can I activate Bond Between Teacher and Student?
A: Even if you only have 1 available Spell & Trap Zone, as in this scenario, you can activate a Bond Between Teacher and Student from your hand. In that case, by placing Bond Between Teacher and Student in your last Spell & Trap Zone, you will have no usable Spell & Trap Zones remaining. The part of the effect that Special Summons Dark Magician Girl from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard is applied normally, but you cannot apply the part of the effect that Sets a Dark Magic Attack, Dark Burning Attack, Dark Burning Magic, or Dark Magic Twin Burst from your Deck. (The effect finishes resolving by Special Summoning Dark Magician Girl.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22444&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Dark Magician is face-up in my Monster Zone, 1 Dark Magician Girl is in my Graveyard, and no other copies of Dark Magician Girl are in my hand or Deck. In this situation, if I activate Bond Between Teacher and Student, but my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes Dark Magician Girl from my Graveyard, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, Bond Between Teacher and Student resolves while there are no copies of Dark Magician Girl in your hand, Deck, or Graveyard. Since you cannot Special Summon a Dark Magician Girl from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard, the part of the effect that Sets 1 Dark Magic Attack, Dark Burning Attack, Dark Burning Magic, or Dark Magic Twin Burst from your Deck also cannot be applied.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22443&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC13 Dark Sacrifice

  • This card does not target. It is activated by chaining directly to an opponent’s card effect that would destroy a card on the field. (This includes the activation of a Spell/Trap Card, the activation of a Spell/Trap effect, or the activation of a monster effect.)
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.
  • Negating your opponent’s card effect and sending 1 Level 3 or lower DARK monster from your Deck to the Graveyard do not happen simultaneously.
  • You cannot activate Dark Sacrifice if you do not have a Level 3 or lower DARK monster in your Deck.

Q: When my opponent activates Magical Dimension, can I chain Dark Sacrifice?
A: The part of Magical Dimension’s effect that destroys a monster on the field can be applied optionally by the player who activated it. Since it is not certain at the time it is activated that Magical Dimension will destroy a card on the field, Dark Sacrifice cannot be chained to it.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22442&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When my opponent activates Dark Sacrifice, can I chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring?
A: When your opponent activates Dark Sacrifice, you can chain the effect of Ash Blossom & Joyous Spring.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22441&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, if my opponent activates Dark Hole, can I chain Dark Sacrifice?
A: Even if the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying, you can activate Dark Sacrifice. In that case, your opponent’s card effect is negated normally, but the Level 3 or lower DARK monster that would be sent from your Deck to the Graveyard is banished instead.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22464&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: I activated Dark Sacrifice and sent Peten the Dark Clown from my Deck to the Graveyard. In that case, can I activate the effect of Peten the Dark Clown?
A: Dark Sacrifice is activated by chaining directly to an opponent’s card or effect that would destroy a card on the field. If you send Peten the Dark Clown to from your Deck to the Graveyard after negating that card’s effect, you cannot activate the effect of Peten the Dark Clown.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22472&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

In other words, since the negated effect will always be a lower Chain Link and be treated as the last thing to happen, Peten’s effect misses timing.

20TH-JPC14 Cubic Ascension

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Vijam the Cubic Seed from your Deck and performs damage calculation is the effect that is applied by activating this card. (It does not target. It can be activated when an opponent’s monster declares an attack, either directly or on a monster.)
  • This effect Special Summons Vijam the Cubic Seed from your Deck and performs damage calculation. (A replay does not occur from Special Summoning Vijam the Cubic Seed.)
  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Vijam the Cubic Seed(s) from your hand, Deck, or Graveyard starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect. This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • If you activated the second effect of Cubic Ascension while only your opponent had a monster in the Monster Zone, you can choose to apply the part of the effect that Special Summons 2 more copies of Vijam the Cubic Seed after Special Summoning the first one.
  • Special Summoning the first Vijam the Cubic Seed and Special Summoning up to 2 more copies of Vijam the Cubic Seed do not happen simultaneously.

Q: When my opponent’s monster declares an attack, can I activate 2 copies of Cubic Ascension by chaining one to the other?
A: You can activate 2 copies of Cubic Ascension in the same Chain when an attack is declared. In that case, the effect of the Cubic Ascension that was activated as Chain Link 2 is applied normally, but the effect of the Cubic Ascension that was activated as Chain Link 1 only Special Summons Vijam the Cubic Seed, and finishes resolving.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22440&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When my opponent’s Evilswarm Thunderbird declares an attack, I activate Cubic Ascension. If my opponent chains the effect of that Evilswarm Thunderbird and banishes it, how does Cubic Ascension resolve?
A: In this scenario, your opponent’s attacking Evilswarm Thunderbird is no longer on the field, so the effect of Cubic Ascension Special Summons a Vijam the Cubic Seed from your Deck, but it does not become the attack target and damage calculation is not performed. (You do not proceed to the Damage Step.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22439&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: When I activate the second effect of a Cubic Ascension from my Graveyard, if my opponent chains the effect of Maxx “C”, how many cards will be drawn?
A: When resolving the second effect of Cubic Ascension, after Special Summoning the first Vijam the Cubic Seed, you can choose whether or not to Special Summon up to 2 more afterward. If you only Special Summon the first Vijam the Cubic Seed, your opponent will only draw 1 card with the effect of Maxx “C”. If you Special Summon up to 2 copies of Vijam the Cubic Seed after Special Summoning the first one, your opponent will draw a total of 2 cards with the effect of Maxx “C”.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22438&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC15 Malefic Paradox Gear

  • This card’s effect that Special Summons a Malefic Parallel Gear from your Deck and adds a “Malefic” monster from your Deck to your hand is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target. Tributing this face-up card in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate its effect.)
  • Special Summoning Malefic Parallel Gear from your Deck and adding a “Malefic” monster from your Deck to your hand do not happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that allows you to banish it from your field or Graveyard when Special Summoning a “Malefic” monster by its own procedure is not classified as an Ignition, Trigger, Quick, or Continuous Effect.
  • When applying this effect, you can Special Summon a “Malefic” monster by its own procedure even if you do not have the monster written in its text in your Deck/Extra Deck. (For example, you can Special Summon a Malefic Cyber End Dragon by banishing Malefic Paradox Gear even if you do not have Cyber End Dragon in your Extra Deck.)

Q: If I do not have a face-up Field Spell Card in my Field Zone but my opponent has a face-up Field Spell Card in theirs, can I activate the effect of Malefic Paradox Gear?
A: Even if the only face-up Field Spell Card on the field is in your opponent’s Field Zone, you can activate the effect of Malefic Paradox Gear.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22437&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: Skill Drain is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that negates the effects of all face-up monsters on the field is applying. In this situation, can I Special Summon a Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon by banishing a Malefic Paradox Gear?
A: If the effects of Malefic Paradox Gear on the field are being negated, as in this scenario, you cannot apply its effect that allows you to banish it when Special Summoning a “Malefic” monster by its own procedure. Therefore, when Special Summoning a Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon, you must banish a Blue-Eyes White Dragon from your Deck.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22465&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: My opponent activated Called by the Grave and banished a Malefic Paradox Gear from my Graveyard. During the same turn, can I Special Summon a Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon by banishing a Malefic Paradox Gear?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Called by the Grave banished Malefic Paradox Gear, a Malefic Paradox Gear on the field will have its effects negated, so you cannot banish it to Special Summon a “Malefic” monster. Note however that this effect of a Malefic Paradox Gear in your Graveyard will not be negated by Called by the Grave, so you can banish a Malefic Paradox Gear from your Graveyard to Special Summon Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22471&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC16 Malefic Territory

  • This card’s effect that activates a Malefic World from your Deck is the effect that is applied by activating this card. (It does not target.)
  • The effect that prevents players from targeting cards in the Field Zones with card effects is applied as long as the Malefic World that was activated by this effect is face-up in the Field Zone. (The effect will apply even if Malefic Territory is no longer on the field, as long as that Malefic World is still on the field.)
  • This card’s effect that changes the “There can only be 1 face-up “Malefic” monster on the field.” effects of “Malefic” monsters does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that negates the effects of “Malefic” monsters during the Battle Phase does not start a Chain.

Q: Malefic World is face-up in my opponent’s Field Zone, Malefic Territory is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and Malefic Stardust Dragon is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone. In this situation, can I Special Summon a Malefic Cyber End Dragon?
A: The effect of Malefic Territory that changes the “There can only be 1 face-up “Malefic” monster on the field.” effects of “Malefic” monsters to “There cannot be face-up “Malefic” monsters on the field with the same name.” is applied to both players, not just the player who activated Malefic Territory. In this scenario, since Malefic Stardust Dragon is face-up in your opponent’s Monster Zone, you cannot Special Summon your own Malefic Stardust Dragon, but you can Normal or Special Summon other “Malefic” monsters. Therefore, you can Special Summon a Malefic Cyber End Dragon from your hand.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22436&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC17 Cubic Dharma

  • This card’s effect that sends a “Cubic” card from your hand to the Graveyard and draws a card starts a Chain. (It does not target.)
  • Sending a “Cubic” card from your hand to the Graveyard and drawing a card happen simultaneously.
  • This card’s effect that prevents you from taking battle damage from battles involving your “Cubic” monsters does not start a Chain.
  • This card’s effect that adds a “Cubic” monsters from your Graveyard to your hand starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (It targets 1 “Cubic” monster in your Graveyard. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect, also you can only activate this effect during your Main Phase.)

Q: Macro Cosmos is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone, and its effect that banishes any card that would be sent to the Graveyard is applying. In this situation, can I activate the effect of Cubic Dharma that sends a “Cubic” card from my hand to the Graveyard and draws a card?
A: The effect of Cubic Dharma can be activated even if the effect of Macro Cosmos is applying. In that case, the “Cubic” card that would be sent from your hand to the Graveyard is banished instead, and you cannot draw a card.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22435&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC18 Cubic Omen

  • This card’s effect that places Cubic Counters on your opponent’s monsters is the effect that is applied by activating this card. (It does not target, and it cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • You can only activate Cubic Omen if you have at least 1 face-up “Cubic” monster in your Monster Zone and your opponent has at least 1 face-up monster in their Monster Zone.
  • This card’s effect that makes it so that your opponent takes damage each time a “Cubic” monster on your field destroys a monster with a Cubic Counter on it by battle starts a Chain and activates in the Graveyard. (It targets 1 face-up “Cubic” monster in your Monster Zone. Banishing this card from your Graveyard is the cost to activate this effect. This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)
  • Inflicting damage to your opponent does not start a Chain. (The damage is inflicted immediately upon reaching the end of the Damage Step when the targeted monster destroys a monster with a Cubic Counter on it by battle.)

Q: A Buster Gundil the Cubic Behemoth with 3000 ATK is face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, I activate Cubic Omen and place a Cubic Counter on my opponent’s Blue-Eyes White Dragon. Then, if I activate the second effect of Cubic Omen, targeting my Buster Gundil the Cubic Behemoth, and that Buster Gundil the Cubic Behemoth battles my opponent’s Blue-Eyes White Dragon, what happens?
A: In this scenario, Buster Gundil the Cubic Behemoth and Blue-Eyes White Dragon both have 3000 ATK so they are both destroyed by battle. Even in this case, the effect of Cubic Omen is applied, so your opponent takes damage equal to the original ATK of Blue-Eyes White Dragon (3000).

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22434&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: A Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission that was Special Summoned by its own effect is face-up in my opponent’s Monster Zone, and has a Cubic Counter on it. If I activate the second effect of Cubic Omen, and the targeted “Cubic” monster destroys my opponent’s Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission by battle, what happens?
A: In this scenario, the Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission that was Special Summoned by its own effect is placed on the bottom of the Deck when it is destroyed by battle, instead of being sent to the Graveyard. Even in this case, the effect of Cubic Omen is applied, so your opponent takes damage equal to the original ATK of Destrudo the Lost Dragon’s Fission (1000).

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22467&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

20TH-JPC19 Card of Spirit

  • This card does not target.
  • The effect of this card finishes resolving by adding a card to each player’s hand and shuffling the remaining cards into the Decks. (Adding to the hand and shuffling cards back into the Deck happen simultaneously.)
  • The card each player chooses from their own Deck is not shown to their opponent. Also, neither player can look at the 4 cards that are randomly picked from their Deck by their opponent.
  • If either player has 4 cards or less in their Deck, Card of Spirit cannot be activated.

Q: If I activate Card of Spirit, but my opponent chains Mistake, what happens?
A: In this scenario, Card of Spirit resolves while the effect of Mistake that prevents players from adding cards from their Deck to their hand except by drawing is applying. As a result, the effect of Card of Spirit cannot be applied. (No part of the effect is applied.) Also, if the effect of Mistake is already applying, Card of Spirit cannot be activated.

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22433&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Q: If I activate Card of Spirit, but then Needlebug Nest is chained so that the number of cards left in my Deck is 4 or less, what happens?
A: Card of Spirit can only be activated and resolved if both players have at least 5 cards in their Deck. In this scenario, if a player has 4 cards or less in their Deck as a result of an effect that was chained to Card of Spirit, its effect will not be applied. (No part of the effect is applied.)

Source: https://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugiohdb/faq_search.action?ope=5&fid=22466&keyword=&tag=-1&request_locale=ja

Redshift

Number VI of The Organization, Redshift is a firm believer that the toilet paper should be pulled outward from the top of the roll, not the bottom.